• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Mar 29, 2005
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 24
  2. Negative: 9 out of 24
  1. The online and System Link support is the real draw as it comes off without a hitch.
  2. Look, kids- if Spikeout were a movie, the year would be 1987, Michael Dudikoff and Caroline Munro would star in it, Richard Lynch or Henry Silva would be the main bad guy, it would run on cable six times a month, and you'd be glued to the tube every single time it came on just for the action scenes and ridiculous ending.
  3. 78
    The Live play is done much better than it has any right to, especially when one considers the likely shoestring budget given for this.
  4. Ultimately Spikeout: Battle Street is a decent and mildly refreshing old school beat-em-up, but it could be better.
  5. 7 / 7 / 7 / 7 - 28 [Vol 851]
  6. If you've beaten "Streets of Rage" twenty times and need a modern-day equivalent, look no further, because this is an amazingly fun multiplayer game that brings back that old-school feeling with 3D class.
  7. 70
    At its core, Spikeout is what "The Bouncer" always wanted to be, but never was, a fast, action-packed brawler with little pretense to being anything else.
  8. 70
    Only truly hardcore fans will need to own their own copy; as competent and polished as it is for the genre, it's also a throwback.
  9. The gameplay remains somewhat fun as you mix up combos and techniques, alone or with a friend, but the difficulty level is questionable and some parts of the game came up lacking.
  10. The four-player Xbox Live mode may offer some thrills for devoted brawler fans, but everyone else will want to stay away from this stale relic. [June 2005, p.132]
  11. 55
    The single-player mission, graphics, dialog, music, animation, AI, and level design are all so shockingly retro in all of the worst senses, that one wonders if this game weren't really designed about 20 years ago and just recently uncovered from some sort of lost chest of unwanted arcade titles that never got the green light.
  12. With a game relying on Live so much, neglecting the offline gameplay quality only makes matters worse because if people don't buy it there aren't people to play with online. Double edged sword Sega, learn from it.
  13. The animation is well done and the various blows look like they actually have some impact but since nothing changes from point A to point Z, it won't matter after awhile.
  14. The problems of the game are uh, rooted in its arcade roots. The content is worthless and clumsily executed. [July 2005, p.61]
  15. This genre still has potential, but Spikeout just doesn't tap it. [June 2005, p.80]
  16. If you're a huge Dreamcast or Sega fan then the online side of Battle Street may warrant a rent. But, for the other 99.9% of Xbox gamers, we'd say leave the past in the past.
  17. Levels feature numerous boss battles and a stream of identikit foot soldiers, but merrily send the player back to square one when their lone life is over and make the singleplayer story mode an agonising exercise in self-abuse. [June 2005, p.88]
  18. In the end, it feels more like an after pub game than one that you'd spend a whole summer mastering. Simple, easy and ultimately boring, you should pick it up for a fiver if you can.
  19. The environments that you'll be fighting through are your typical urban fare, and they all look bland and devoid of any life. The character models are pretty blocky, and the fighting moves you'll see all look very stiff.
  20. We wanted to like Spikeout, we really did, but less than a day of enduring what the game had to 'offer' and having so many flaws thrown in our faces was more than enough to convince us never to play it again. [June 2005, p.115]
  21. 30
    Sega dropped the ball on this one. Don't touch it unless you need to cure insomnia, and even then, there are ways that are more readily available and are better for your health.
  22. 20
    Do yourself a favor. Take that money and go buy an old Sega Genesis and a copy of Streets of Rage. You'll spend less money, and have a much better time. Honest.
  23. Had Sega stuck to its rumoured plan of releasing this on the Dreamcast five years ago, we'd probably have given it a more favourable write up.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 3 out of 5
  1. SamuelJ.
    Jun 21, 2005
    4
    No brotherman on the game? Well thank you Lord, for that would be a great transgression against my people to play a role in this shoulda been Dreamcast title in 2000. May He have mercy on their souls for this release.... Full Review »
  2. Ryan
    Jun 3, 2005
    9
    By reading the diffrent reviews about Spikeout around the net, it seems that very few people knew about this Sega classic. I was fortunate enough to enjoy this game back in 1999 when I was living in Japan. Spikeout: Digital Battle and the updated Spikeout: Final Edition was such a huge hit there, that Sega arcades in Akihabra and Shinjuku have more then half of their basement floor area dedicated to Spikeout machines (and it is rare to find an empty machine to boot.) Although the home port is several years late, I'm a happy camper that this game is finally made it to my living room. Although I do agree with all the diffrent reviews about this game (such as bad ai, outdated graphics and its difficulty level.) the fun factor, especially when playing with 3 other people is possibly the best in its genre. Many people who dislike the game say that the gameplay is not deep and it is a pure botton masher. The reality is, you wont get very far in the game if you just mash bottons because this game has loads of combos, team combos and juggles. There is nothing more funny and satisfying to pull out 100 plus team combos on one poor boss together with your spikeout buddies. Though I have to admit that despite of all the great new characters and content, the graphics seems to be watered down compared to the original arcade version. Also playing solo is a brutal and painful experience unless your a hardcore fan (then again, even in the arcade version, going solo is not a good idea). So solitary players might get fustrated going through the game in story mode. All I can say is although the port lacks polish and somewhat flawed in its execution, the extras, the diffrent game paths, the great multiplayer support makes this one a good title to pick up especially for those who want oldschool Street of Rage/ Final Fight action. Full Review »
  3. AB
    Apr 4, 2005
    4
    When I played Battle Street I quickly realized that it would be better as a Streets of Rage game. This isn't because the gameplay is reminiscent of the classic series, but because I was quickly filled with Rage from playing it. And yes, the game is as bad as that joke. Full Review »