User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 96
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 96
  3. Negative: 8 out of 96

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChrisW.
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    This game is flawless. It is 100 times better than the first game. The graphics are great and the battle fields are awesome.This game is must if you like starwars at all!
  2. JamesR.
    Nov 19, 2005
    10
    I have not yet played BF2 but from what i hear the gameplay kicks *** and sounds alot better than BF1 .The commesials made the game sound interesting to and watching them makes me want the game more and this is a lot comeing from a 12 year old kid.
  3. RobertT.
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    Great get this game. its like halo2
  4. BlueFalcon
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    I have to disagree w/ a lot of the people saying it's not improved from the previous game. BF2 has 4 player split screen. That alone is a major addition in my mind. The flight missions are completely unique compared to the previous game. There's a lot of new playable characters too, including jedi and sith. All in all this is one of the best games on xbox, and I'm not even I have to disagree w/ a lot of the people saying it's not improved from the previous game. BF2 has 4 player split screen. That alone is a major addition in my mind. The flight missions are completely unique compared to the previous game. There's a lot of new playable characters too, including jedi and sith. All in all this is one of the best games on xbox, and I'm not even a huge star wars fan. Expand
  5. Lucas38
    Nov 9, 2005
    8
    Ultimately, Battlefront 2 is a better game with the addition of Jedi playability, space battles, and some pretty decent maps. My kids and I play all the time, which leads to a heated debate about the overall quality of BF2! On one hand BF2 is a great shooter with plenty of replay value, on the other hand, the graphics are NOT even close to Battlefront I! "Are you nuts?" you ask. Well Ultimately, Battlefront 2 is a better game with the addition of Jedi playability, space battles, and some pretty decent maps. My kids and I play all the time, which leads to a heated debate about the overall quality of BF2! On one hand BF2 is a great shooter with plenty of replay value, on the other hand, the graphics are NOT even close to Battlefront I! "Are you nuts?" you ask. Well simply compare Mos Eisley in BF1 to BF2, and you see there is no comparison! Mos Eisley in BF1 ACTUALLY looks hot and sunny, whereas BF2 looks flat and dull (looks more like "Jedi Academy"), same goes for the Naboo Theed map which look impressive in BF1 and boring in BF2, and Endor in BF1 has excellent lighting effects, seriously! Look at the way the light cuts through the trees and the atmosphere actually looks hazy like in a wooded area! The maps in BF1 are lush and painterly while BF2 maps are flat! For me, this element adds to the game play. Expand
  6. Battlefront2iscool
    Nov 4, 2005
    10
    The greatest Star Wars--or sci-fi war game- in all of time. This game BLOWS Battlefront 1 out of the water. Wether you're sabotaging capital ships, planting time bombs, or blowing stuff you'll have a blast with the new classes and the new battlefields. If you don't want this game, you are the lowest form of human being. May the Force be With you :)!
  7. TomP.
    Nov 4, 2005
    9
    More fun than the first one!
  8. Mudie
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    This is the greatest game ever. But i wish they still had Cloud City. and Darth Maul is a beast!!!!
  9. MarcoN.
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    It is the best Star Wars game ever!!!
  10. Ben
    Oct 31, 2005
    8
    Wow!! Take a good game, make it better and you've got Battlefront 2. If you liked the first one you are going to love this, if you didn't then get a life.
  11. NeilR.
    Oct 30, 2005
    10
    I managed to get this 2 days early (thanks to the local supermarket not having a clue about release dates!), and ive been playing it solidly since. Its a fantastic game, like the original. All the basic elements are there, but now with so much more. The space combat, although short, adds a new twist. The new enviroments are a lot of fun, and the classics are still there. Graphically its a I managed to get this 2 days early (thanks to the local supermarket not having a clue about release dates!), and ive been playing it solidly since. Its a fantastic game, like the original. All the basic elements are there, but now with so much more. The space combat, although short, adds a new twist. The new enviroments are a lot of fun, and the classics are still there. Graphically its a lot better, also now there is more of a stratergy element as you have to earn points to buy classes of player (the bothan spy is a lot of fun, watch how the enemy disintergrate!) If you like the orignal, you must own this. Expand
  12. PaulB.
    Nov 12, 2005
    9
    Awesome gameplay although they edtited in to many objectives instead of the old fashioned first to 0 loses.
  13. NoahP.
    Nov 15, 2005
    8
    BF2 is a great game. It really delivers. BF1 only had up to 2-player split-screen mode, but BF2's 4-player split-screen is as good as the campaign. Also, the space battles are great. You gotta get the hang of 'em first to have a really good time, but it's SO satisfying to blow an enemy fighter outa' the sky. Finally, the jedi game play is GREAT. All in all, BF2 is a BF2 is a great game. It really delivers. BF1 only had up to 2-player split-screen mode, but BF2's 4-player split-screen is as good as the campaign. Also, the space battles are great. You gotta get the hang of 'em first to have a really good time, but it's SO satisfying to blow an enemy fighter outa' the sky. Finally, the jedi game play is GREAT. All in all, BF2 is a pretty good game. And I'm not really big on Star Wars. Expand
  14. Eric
    Nov 16, 2005
    8
    I thought it wasn't bad but it wasn't as good as the first one, I also didn't like that you had to start out with one type of person.
  15. SeamusS.
    Nov 7, 2005
    9
    Great game, but a few drawlbacks, like not being able to play CIS or Reabls in campain mode. But other wise a compleatly awsome game.
  16. Matt
    Jan 25, 2006
    9
    Online play is where the game shines. The solo player mode is simply training. Those without XBOX live should stick to BF1... for those with...this game is simply too fun.
  17. ApplesM
    Mar 24, 2009
    9
    This game made me go searching for it after buying a 360 (3 years after the system's release). Not perfect (occasional glitch, inconsistent AI, blah, blah, blah. Those things don't mar the overall experience. Added dialogue between soldiers makes it feel more like a battlefield. People who played online would agree that vehicles are overpowered (I once scored 121 kills with the This game made me go searching for it after buying a 360 (3 years after the system's release). Not perfect (occasional glitch, inconsistent AI, blah, blah, blah. Those things don't mar the overall experience. Added dialogue between soldiers makes it feel more like a battlefield. People who played online would agree that vehicles are overpowered (I once scored 121 kills with the rebel skiff on an online match). For those who complain that it lost it's battlefield feel, I don't get it. Even the heroes make thinks feel more immediate. There's nothing like 5 human players trying to gun down darth vader. Also, they released DLC maps both rhen vars, cloud city, and one more. In an age where shooters all fit into a similar mold of shiny graphics and ultra-realistic physics, this game is good unadulterated fun. Also, the graphics aren't "worse than the original". The original used excessive bloom and fade effects, covering up the unsightly graphical blemishes and making it difficult to snipe. I hope BF3 (now confirmed) brings back the naboo plains though. Expand
  18. BenjaminK.
    Nov 12, 2005
    10
    As much fun or more than Halo itself.If you like Star Wars you better own this game.
  19. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Why havent they made a battlefront 3??? wow they are so stupid but anyways this game was so amazing and you can be jedis and stuff and there was more to it than the first one
  20. Jul 4, 2014
    9
    i enjoyed playing Star Wars: Battlefront II for Xbox.it very fun play and relax on a star wars game shooting
    one thing i enjoy was playing with lightsabers in it as well
  21. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    Man, this is a really fun game to play. It has that old feeling to it, plus a great gameplay. This is a game that need's to be more enhanced. Play it, and you'll have blasts of fun.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Great fun but far from perfect, mainly due to a handful of little niggles.
  2. A fun romp that stays interesting no matter how you play it. It has its share of flaws, but for fans, this is the first Star Wars game to have it all.
  3. Take away the costumes and the lasers and you've still got an excellent example of how to produce multiplayer bedlam. [Dec 2005, p.110]