User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 8 out of 52

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanielM
    May 10, 2005
    4
    I go with the IGN review - game is just as they describe it (i.e. pants). Jedi Academy is a much much better light sabre experience - the player is in total control of the sabre movements, no restricted camera angles. Sure, graphics may not be 100% but the game play is way better (if you want to be a Jedi, play that game , not this). That's why I had high hopes for the game and I am I go with the IGN review - game is just as they describe it (i.e. pants). Jedi Academy is a much much better light sabre experience - the player is in total control of the sabre movements, no restricted camera angles. Sure, graphics may not be 100% but the game play is way better (if you want to be a Jedi, play that game , not this). That's why I had high hopes for the game and I am afraid the game fails on those critical points. Collapse
  2. JayS.
    May 13, 2005
    8
    This is just good ol' hack n' slash fun. Do you remember the old TMNT arcade game? This is a jedi version of that. Honestly, I miss the arcade world of gaming, where enemies come in droves and there's always a boss waiting at the end of each level. This game scratches the itch of those who reminisce about the age of the big quarter munchers. If you want an in-depth, This is just good ol' hack n' slash fun. Do you remember the old TMNT arcade game? This is a jedi version of that. Honestly, I miss the arcade world of gaming, where enemies come in droves and there's always a boss waiting at the end of each level. This game scratches the itch of those who reminisce about the age of the big quarter munchers. If you want an in-depth, interactive world, go with KOTOR and Jedi Academy. Revenge of the Sith was made for classic arcade fun, and in that sense, it brings balance to the force. Expand
  3. XERO
    May 23, 2005
    9
    Great hack and slash fun.....not as e-z as people are saying...a real fun game.
  4. ChuckT.
    May 6, 2005
    9
    Very close to the Lord of the rings game in terms of the infrastructure. The good news, you are playing the movie. The bad news, it's a spoiler - there will be no surprises by the time you get to the theater. Graphics, game play, action and overall coolness get A+'s.
  5. RaZBawden
    May 7, 2005
    10
    I am giving this game a 10 for two main reasons. 1) if you ever want to know what its like to be a jedi and fight with a lightsaber, this is the game. 2) The game is realatively short (about 8 hours) however, it is one of the most replayable games I have ever played. You can actually unlock a battle arena where you play as Yoda!! I can't see where IGN is coming from?!? I sounds good I am giving this game a 10 for two main reasons. 1) if you ever want to know what its like to be a jedi and fight with a lightsaber, this is the game. 2) The game is realatively short (about 8 hours) however, it is one of the most replayable games I have ever played. You can actually unlock a battle arena where you play as Yoda!! I can't see where IGN is coming from?!? I sounds good and looks good. The combos are difficult to perform, but that is what makes the game fun and challenging. I recommend it to anybody who like Star Wars. Finally Lucas Arts gets it right. Expand
  6. IliyasH.
    May 9, 2005
    9
    i don't know what the IGN guy is smoking but he obviously isn't qualified to review games. Only the mentally impaired or Treki Fanatics would pass up this game. ROTS is loads of fun with incredible graphics and sound. A definite must buy.
  7. ChrisH.
    May 10, 2005
    9
    This was a really cool game for the genre of action adventure although not as good as god of war in the graphics dept the fighting is almost of the same caliber. the reason i gave it a nine is because the graphics arent as good as could be but they are very good. Ps. fps master maybe you should go outside and do something cause it sounds like your a little to wrapped up in the whole videoThis was a really cool game for the genre of action adventure although not as good as god of war in the graphics dept the fighting is almost of the same caliber. the reason i gave it a nine is because the graphics arent as good as could be but they are very good. Ps. fps master maybe you should go outside and do something cause it sounds like your a little to wrapped up in the whole video game world. Expand
  8. EricS.
    May 10, 2005
    3
    I won't deny that it's addictive hacking apart battle droids, clone troopers and fellow force users for a few hours. But in the end, "Episode III" is a shallow and repetitive experience. In fact, figting bad AI constitutes pretty much the whole game and there really isn't all that much variety in the foes you face. They can all be defeated by tapping the y and x buttons I won't deny that it's addictive hacking apart battle droids, clone troopers and fellow force users for a few hours. But in the end, "Episode III" is a shallow and repetitive experience. In fact, figting bad AI constitutes pretty much the whole game and there really isn't all that much variety in the foes you face. They can all be defeated by tapping the y and x buttons repeatedly. Combos are hardly necassary even on hard difficulty, making it so almost no skill is involved. The in-game graphics are decent at best, but those in the cut scenes look shoddy and unfinished. It looks like they were still in developement, but Lucas Arts was determined to have the game out by a deadline. Episode III's presentation suffers from this, just like KOTOR II. The story was told badly, the voice acting was pathetic (especially Anakin) and the dialogue was by far the worst in any Star Wars game I've played. Worst of all, I was able to beat the game all in one sitting. Once again, a game's difficulty is ruined by the desire to appeal to "everyone". I would have expected at least 5 to 10 more hours of game play. The "ultimate Jedi action experience" proves to be just another bad movie game. If you are a big Star Wars fan like me, resist the temptation to buy this game, and just rent it. Lucas Arts needs to be shown that customers won't pay for lousy products such as this. Expand
  9. egvrttt
    May 22, 2005
    10
    It kicks ass with great graphics.
  10. JasonS.
    May 24, 2005
    1
    This game BLOWS, BLOWS, BLOWS. Everything IGN said is completely on the ball - and then some. Even the versus stuff is pathetic. if you like being hit repeatedly with no way of getting out of attack range, then try playing against the computer with it controlling Greivous. Frustrating beyond belief. Anyone who has played the Jedi Outcast games will be throwing their controllers at the This game BLOWS, BLOWS, BLOWS. Everything IGN said is completely on the ball - and then some. Even the versus stuff is pathetic. if you like being hit repeatedly with no way of getting out of attack range, then try playing against the computer with it controlling Greivous. Frustrating beyond belief. Anyone who has played the Jedi Outcast games will be throwing their controllers at the screen - now those games had true "Jedi action." Expand
  11. SexyLando
    May 5, 2005
    10
    This game is awesome! It is the Ultimate Jedi ACTION experience with an emphasis on the ACTION! I recommend to anyone that loves a good action game or LOTR gaems. Kudos Collective/LEC!
  12. AndrewM.
    May 7, 2005
    10
    This game is great, i cant understand why IGN gave it such a low score, i used to trust those guys, well thats okay cause you still have to play this awesome game
  13. BillyW.
    May 7, 2005
    9
    This is a great Star Wars action game, with an emphasis on the ACTION. It's got great visuals, tight controls and is a lot of fun. So much fun that you want to play and play and play and that's kind of a problem, because it's short. If you only care about the single player, it's about 4-5 hours. I suggest playing on HARD mode, which is just about right. There's a This is a great Star Wars action game, with an emphasis on the ACTION. It's got great visuals, tight controls and is a lot of fun. So much fun that you want to play and play and play and that's kind of a problem, because it's short. If you only care about the single player, it's about 4-5 hours. I suggest playing on HARD mode, which is just about right. There's a ton of other stuff other than the single player game, so I think it's worth the $, especially the 2-player duels. It's like SW Soul Calibur! Highly recommended! Expand
  14. BlueFalcon
    May 8, 2005
    8
    I'm only through level 1, but so far I'm pretty impressed. I think fans of star wars will be pleased in general. It's way better than the clone wars game, that's for sure.
  15. FPSMaster
    May 8, 2005
    5
    Star Wars fans, like the ones below, never cease to amaze me. I swear Lucas Arts could just give you a game that consists of a main menu only, and you'd still give it a 10. Face it people, this game sucks. Star Wars games have already seen the best days they will ever see in gaming with Republic Commando, KOTOR 1 and Battlefront. Battlefront 2 will be crucified for doing nothing Star Wars fans, like the ones below, never cease to amaze me. I swear Lucas Arts could just give you a game that consists of a main menu only, and you'd still give it a 10. Face it people, this game sucks. Star Wars games have already seen the best days they will ever see in gaming with Republic Commando, KOTOR 1 and Battlefront. Battlefront 2 will be crucified for doing nothing different, just like KOTOR 2. Even playing as Han Solo in Mercenaries was more like Star Wars than this gaming garbage. You guys need to play more games or something before thinking garbage like this is anything above 5.0 material. Thankfully, the last movie will be over soon and hopefully the game license will soon follow. These sequels are getting worse than the GTA series. Expand
  16. SWFan
    May 9, 2005
    9
    I love star wars, and I have seen pathectic star wars games, but this is the best with KOTOR. Graphics are fabulous, and the game has captured the movie perfectly, like the duel on Mustafar. Lovely set of como's, but very difficult to pull off, the way you have to press the buttons is difficult, but worth it. Excellent multiplayer, especially when you can play as Darth Vader. Motion I love star wars, and I have seen pathectic star wars games, but this is the best with KOTOR. Graphics are fabulous, and the game has captured the movie perfectly, like the duel on Mustafar. Lovely set of como's, but very difficult to pull off, the way you have to press the buttons is difficult, but worth it. Excellent multiplayer, especially when you can play as Darth Vader. Motion capture really makes it stand out in the lightsaber field compared to the likes of KOTOR and Jedi Knight, and it can easily be seen, which makes it feel much more real. Sound is great to. My only bad point is, the voice actor for Anakin sounds wierd when he says stuff like "your power is nothing compared to the dark side". Beware there are preview clips of the movie before and after each misson, so some things will be given away. Small bit to short, but some bits arent easy. IGN is wierd. Overall, superb. Get this game, I think it could appeal to anyone. This really is the ultimate jedi action experience. Expand
  17. BillyH.
    May 9, 2005
    10
    This game was excellent in that you are able to defeat characters from the movies that seem unbeatable. It is extremely addictive and really gives you a sence of being a Jedi searching for power, or trying to save the Republic. The multiplayer version is also the best of any game I have ever seen. Being able to fight as Count Dooku, Yoda, Anikan, Darth Vader, mace Windu, and many others This game was excellent in that you are able to defeat characters from the movies that seem unbeatable. It is extremely addictive and really gives you a sence of being a Jedi searching for power, or trying to save the Republic. The multiplayer version is also the best of any game I have ever seen. Being able to fight as Count Dooku, Yoda, Anikan, Darth Vader, mace Windu, and many others is a real treat that makes this game outstanding. This is the best Lightsaber action video game I have ever seen. Expand
  18. JohnL.
    Oct 21, 2005
    9
    The only reason why they gave this such a low rating is that because they probably don't have the skills, tactics or brains to see any good in this great game. IN OTHER WORDS THEY ARE NOOBS AT HACK & SLASH GAMES. And it doesn't take 17 tries to beat Windu or Grievous. You just have to know their weakness and use force saber strikes- to do this just hold onto your last combo move The only reason why they gave this such a low rating is that because they probably don't have the skills, tactics or brains to see any good in this great game. IN OTHER WORDS THEY ARE NOOBS AT HACK & SLASH GAMES. And it doesn't take 17 tries to beat Windu or Grievous. You just have to know their weakness and use force saber strikes- to do this just hold onto your last combo move button longer, and it will be undodgeable if they do nothing except block) To beat Windu, simply try to get into a position where he is running and do nothing. He will still be running into nowhere and it will give you time to heal and regenerate force points, while he doesn't and keep running around. And when he does a mind trick, he will circle you doing nothing.) And to beat Grievous, just simply select your last move in a combo as Y- Obi-Wan will do a kick or perform the universal launcher (sending them into the air on impact). (By the way, im 13) It is probably the second best Star Wars game i have (after Knights of the Old Republic) I'm pretty surprised at the people who gave low ratings for this game. And yes, the Battle Droids are easy to beat, but they're DROIDS! They hardly have any large platings on them to give them more protection, so what do you expect? The only points that need improvement for me is that when they jump it should be more loose and free. Expand
  19. F.Me
    Apr 26, 2005
    10
    The best game ever.
  20. DimitriK.
    May 14, 2005
    10
    I have this game and i loved it so much that i've almost finished in one night because i played it for so long i really think its got excellent graphics and the way you control the force is amazing i recon its just great. and i recomend this game to any one above the age of 9.
  21. JerryK.
    May 14, 2005
    8
    This is the best Star Wars game out there. Buy it , steal it, burn it off on to your hard drive, whatever it takes. GET THE GAME !
  22. SamE.
    May 27, 2005
    9
    Much better than anybody seems to say. I have really enjoyed it and felt like I was really in the movie! The replay of the last mission that unlocks Darth Vader is extremely tough but very satisfying when you finally get it. This game is what Jedi Power Battles, Obi-Wan, and Masters of Teras Kasi should have been!
  23. mattwright
    May 5, 2005
    10
    insane
  24. ChrisT.
    May 5, 2005
    10
    The Best STAR WARS TRILOGY game of all time!!!!!
  25. Justin
    May 6, 2005
    8
    Excellent Star Wars game, one of the best I've ever played. Jedi combat is amazing, and the controls finally let you feel like your actually dueling with lightsabers. But its way too short! Only 5-8 hours of gameplay.
  26. SUPERSABER
    May 6, 2005
    9
    Awesome game, fun, lots of replay value and focused game design. Definantly one of the best "movie" games I've played in awhile and certainly the best Lightsaber action out there!
  27. MarkA.
    May 6, 2005
    9
    This game is awsome!!! Ive only played the first and second level, but it has great graffics and stuff !
  28. R.T.
    Jun 27, 2005
    4
    This game is completely linear and sucks in execution. The voiceovers are horrible, and graphics are mediocre. The gameplay doesn't suck as much. Here's the breakdown: Graphics: 30 It doesn't use the power of the X-BOX but the character models are detailed. Sound: 50 The voiceovers are horrible but some force powers and lightsaber effects are forgiveable. Gameplay: 60 In This game is completely linear and sucks in execution. The voiceovers are horrible, and graphics are mediocre. The gameplay doesn't suck as much. Here's the breakdown: Graphics: 30 It doesn't use the power of the X-BOX but the character models are detailed. Sound: 50 The voiceovers are horrible but some force powers and lightsaber effects are forgiveable. Gameplay: 60 In some areas it's completely broken though it's mostly responsive. Longevity: 40 Even with the versus mode and co-op implemented, it'll quickly get boring but the lightsaber fights are worth the rental. Overall (not an average): 40 Come on, all of you Star Wars fans deserve better than this crap. It satisfies in some areas like unlocking Darth Vader. Don't buy it, rent it if you feel curious. Expand
  29. CaptainDoom
    Jul 21, 2005
    1
    This game BLOWS! its a total wad. I guess if your a child that just wants to hit buttons and dont care about CTS then you could be mildly entertained. It would be somewhat tolerable but the save points are so far in few between that you end up repeating the nonsense over an over again. Why bother. its a waste of time. Play KOTOR.
  30. Swage
    Jul 8, 2005
    2
    I fired up the game after renting it ( i own kotr 1&2,and jedi knight academy, battlefront, republic commando. I have completed all these titles. Episode 3 down right sucks. I played it for about 15 minutes and said "what the hell was lucas arts thinking." The game play sucks and does not utilize the xbox enviroment. When compared to kotr ( knights of the old republic and jedi accademy I fired up the game after renting it ( i own kotr 1&2,and jedi knight academy, battlefront, republic commando. I have completed all these titles. Episode 3 down right sucks. I played it for about 15 minutes and said "what the hell was lucas arts thinking." The game play sucks and does not utilize the xbox enviroment. When compared to kotr ( knights of the old republic and jedi accademy this game can not compete. Basically i fealt as if I was playing a glorified version of zelda. I hate the actual movie clips in the games. I prefer animations. Glad i did not buy this game... And Lucas arts stop rushing games kotr's 2 plot was a mess. Dont buy Episode 3 unless you like wasting your time and money. Expand
  31. Rick
    Sep 1, 2005
    9
    This game while not as good as the first still had all the epic story telling nad great action fans of the first game would love. This was a worthy follow up and in the words of a jedi using mind control You will like this game
  32. QuintonA.
    Jan 27, 2006
    9
    This game is so awesome! I mean all the stuuff from fighting the Droids all the way to the ultimate confrontation with Anakin and Obi-Wan. You unlock Bonus missions and you can increase your skills along the way. this game is great and people watching and reading this comment don't listen to the people who gave it 2 and 3's cause they don't know how to rate games!
  33. SamuelJ.
    Jun 15, 2005
    4
    Why is it that the brother man always has to hidden in the game. Oh, he's "unlockable". So that mean he is locked up? Why can't the brother man ever be free, not too mention a poor graphical, lame gameplay excuse for garbage. If I ever get may hands the creators of this bad joke, I will strike them down with great vengeance and furious anger.
  34. PatrickH.
    Jun 23, 2005
    9
    Absolutely loved every minute of this game. While short, there are many moves and techniques that are fun to try upon repeating levels. An absolute must.
  35. JacobO.
    Jun 28, 2005
    10
    This game is the best. How could anyone give it a bad rateing. It has clips from the movie and 2 altenate endings.
  36. GeneralS.
    Aug 22, 2005
    3
    Could this game be any more boring! Battlefront is still the beat star wars game ive played. The only bits i really enjoyed were the movie clips.I well wasted my money buying that crap so i sold it a few days ago.If theres gonna be a jedi game u should be talking part in the huge battles wasting droids, that would be soooooo much fun!!!!
  37. Feb 13, 2011
    7
    This is not one of the best Star Wars games out there but it is a solid and fun experience, the game is a solid hack and slash button masher, the controls are good but like I said you'll mostly use them for button mashing, the graphics aren't that good but they get the job done, the sound is phenomenal from the good voice acting to the great sound effects and the classic Star Wars tunes,This is not one of the best Star Wars games out there but it is a solid and fun experience, the game is a solid hack and slash button masher, the controls are good but like I said you'll mostly use them for button mashing, the graphics aren't that good but they get the job done, the sound is phenomenal from the good voice acting to the great sound effects and the classic Star Wars tunes, all in all if your looking for a good Star Wars game look no further. Expand
  38. Jan 12, 2011
    6
    There are much better star wars games than this one, which is based on a movie, but other games such as Jedi academy is far better than this one so i can't say it's good...
  39. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    The gameplay is fun and it is entertaining, It was fun to play through the movie and go through all these battles. I also loved how they added the extra mission where it was Anakin who beat Obi Wan, That was great. I really enjoyed the game and played it countless times. The difficulty was a bit uneven though making it a bit too tough at times but overall it was great.
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 44
  2. Negative: 8 out of 44
  1. Never before has the Jedi experience been this visceral and accessible at the same time, and Revenge of the Sith has something for hardcore fans and curious onlookers alike. The Force is strong with this one.
  2. Smooth animation, a fantastic soundtrack and plenty of variety in the use of combat and force powers make this a game that's engaging and fun to play through.
  3. 70
    The ultimate Jedi action experience? It just might be.