• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Nov 21, 2002
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. The best mech simulator ever made, embarrassing even de facto favorites like the "Mechwarrior" series on the PC. [Winter 2002, p.86]
  2. 100
    Not only is it an immersive and convincing gameplay experience, but it will undoubtedly be a bit of collector's item.
  3. It's been a long time since a game has made my heart race quite like Steel Battalion... a one-of-a-kind game that will thrill you like no other. [Dec 2002, p.132]
  4. 91
    You get a gaming experience out of Steel Battalion that you just can't get from any other game. [Jan 2003, p.57]
  5. 90
    It’s really a thinking man’s shooter that plays out like an explosive game of chess—a very, very hard game of chess with limited continues.
  6. It's just too ambitious, too immersive, and too freakin' cool to be anything but captivating. [Jan 2003, p.89]
  7. 87
    As the great sage Ferris Bueller once said, "I must be honest here, I love driving it. I highly recommend picking one up. [It's so choice.]"
  8. It's slow, it's difficult, it's unapologetically complicated...but it's also incredibly realistic, unique, and engrossing. [Jan 2003, p.204]
  9. Isn’t as much of a game as it is an experience. The controller definitely adds to that experience. Just seeing the way the lights flash during the startup sequence is incredible.
  10. 83
    Once I got to that level of expertise and got to the essence of Steel Battalion, I was constantly reminded of the poor AI and unimpressive visuals.
  11. 82
    Oh no, the main feature of this game is the amazing, sometimes lush graphics, and the beast of a controller you get to play this game with.
  12. For those with the cash, it's well worth it. [Feb 2003, p.95]
  13. There is nothing else quite like this, and until the sequel, there never will be. Get this at your peril - your life social life will soon be gone afterwards.
  14. No other title has ever gone so far in attempting to capture a realistic feel to mech combat, and Capcom would deserve acclaim for the attempt alone, even if it were not so well executed.
  15. Repetitive in the long-term. But, as a gaming experience, it can't be beaten by anything else on Xbox or other games machines. [Xbox Gamer]
  16. An incredible, if flawed, experience. You'll need some tolerance and patience, but ultimately, if you want in on the most realistic mech game ever devised, this is it... To paraphrase the legendary Ferris Bueller: Steel Battalion is so choice. If you have the means, we highly recommend picking one up.
  17. An absolutely stunning effort, a combination of hubris and execution that left me giddy with delight. [Dec 2002, p.66]
  18. SB's gameplay falls short when compared with its flashy presentation, and the result is an amazing showpiece but a less-than-stellar game.
  19. You can't escape the technical limitations, the little niggles, the frustration of having to start over every time your flick-and-tap skills desert you, and having to perform that boot-up sequence every single time, and the stupidity of Daytona-level pop-up in an Xbox-exclusive game.
  20. This entire control system is nothing but a novelty. Some will disagree but the way this game is constructed, I had more fun playing "MechAssault."
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    I bought Xbox only for Steel Battalion and the sequel online version. I admit that the game design is maniac with its fps-style pilot seat with the outstanding gun turret aiming and driving system. Although the bulky huge controller looks so stupid, I have never had that feeling of depth being a robotic pilot. It is a futuristic humanoid simulator in favor of middle and close combat tactics. Tekki (Steel Battalion) is almost 10 years old next year in 2012. The concept is still unique and vivid even today. I am ready for 2nd coming to xbox360. Full Review »
  2. MarkR.
    Mar 27, 2004
    9
    This is a fantastic simulation- despite the fantasy/ sci-fi/ futuristiky premise. The graphics are perfectly suited to the game, and the grainy, video-feed style adds to the incredible immersion that the game offers. This is a rewarding title, that gets better as the user's skills progress. I would thoroughly reccomend this game to fans of *proper* mech sims- not for the Phantom Crash die hards- the pace is deliberately cumbersome. In a word, awesome. Full Review »
  3. MechMan
    Jan 23, 2004
    10
    This game is great!!! a bit pricey, but kinda worth it ... i have to disagree with "lord fudgington" on the best thing since sliced bread .. since when was sliced bread the best thing????? what ever happened to the wheel ??? anyway fudgyman go back to eating your sliced bread, i will play steel battalion!!!! like a real man!!! ! Full Review »