• Publisher: Aspyr
  • Release Date: Oct 18, 2005
  • Also On: PC
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JesseM.
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    This game is hilarious!
  2. FPSMaster
    Nov 6, 2005
    6
    Most repetitive and boring game to ever grace the Xbox. The fact that they just had to put "made with the Halo engine" logo on the box should tell you it isn't worth buying because they knew without that no one would care. Just like Advent Rising's "million dollar contest" logo, the game wasn't good enough to sell on it's own meris but instead they had to try to give Most repetitive and boring game to ever grace the Xbox. The fact that they just had to put "made with the Halo engine" logo on the box should tell you it isn't worth buying because they knew without that no one would care. Just like Advent Rising's "million dollar contest" logo, the game wasn't good enough to sell on it's own meris but instead they had to try to give you incentive to buy it. Rent this garbage at most. The grainy filter over the entire game will make you hate it if nothing else. Expand
  3. CalebH.
    Oct 24, 2005
    10
    Great game! It is funny and lots of fun. Graphics....while not top notch are perfectly suited for the genre. It has amazing animations as well!! I recommend any fan of comedy, spoofs, or a great videogame to go get this now!
  4. TonyP.
    Oct 25, 2005
    6
    Much like Destroy All Humans in many ways, from your mission of rampant destruction to the retro future past, and even the humor, Stubbs also has the exact same setbacks as well. The humor gets old, the story is lacking, the gameplay unvaried, and like DAH, it's insanely short.
  5. MarkB.
    Nov 7, 2005
    9
    Great Game. Hilarious story and definitely a fresh game. Must Play this one. My only gripe is that it's too short, I could have played this game for another week!
  6. JamesH.
    Dec 16, 2005
    8
    Great game, funny, the insane mode is almost as hard as legendary mode in halo (so if you found the game too short maybe you should consider making it harder). That said, playing it on coop will definately lead to a short game because as in halo you can do the "respawn" cheeze that keeps any part from being that difficult. Of course, short is relative, at coop the game takes about 8 hours Great game, funny, the insane mode is almost as hard as legendary mode in halo (so if you found the game too short maybe you should consider making it harder). That said, playing it on coop will definately lead to a short game because as in halo you can do the "respawn" cheeze that keeps any part from being that difficult. Of course, short is relative, at coop the game takes about 8 hours to beat. All the game really needed was a way to extend its life, as the gameplay in it is great. Anything, such as keeping score to the number of brains eaten or kills in a level that could add some competition to coop would had helped (you can kill your buddy if you feel like it... hmmm). For most people this is a must rent at blockbuster, where you get to enjoy it for two weeks. Expand
  7. SubZero
    Oct 26, 2005
    3
    Most ridiculous game ever. I could not even figure out what the hell the point of the game is. There seems to only be a single button for attacking, one button that "eats peoples brains" (how stupid.) and a button that farts (wtf?) They don't teach you a single thing about how to play, they just expect you to walk around and have fun eating peoples brains for some reason.. Maybe a 4 Most ridiculous game ever. I could not even figure out what the hell the point of the game is. There seems to only be a single button for attacking, one button that "eats peoples brains" (how stupid.) and a button that farts (wtf?) They don't teach you a single thing about how to play, they just expect you to walk around and have fun eating peoples brains for some reason.. Maybe a 4 year old might think its funny, but I think its lame. 3 out of 10 for this wack game. Expand
  8. CharlieM.
    Oct 27, 2005
    9
    I bought this as recommended by a game store owner and it had me instantly calling friends over to check it out. Incredibly funny game, brings out a much needed zombie sympathy and has a very distinctive and clever look and feel.
  9. StubbsG.
    Dec 8, 2005
    7
    I rented this with a friend and played it on Co-op mode and we beat in two days. This is a very funny and amusing game. The setting and humor are great, and the music is really really funny. "Mr Sandman" "Lollipop" and others. I just wish they had "If I only had a brain" on there. This game is really short, and repetitive, but its a great rental (wouldn't even recommend buying it). I I rented this with a friend and played it on Co-op mode and we beat in two days. This is a very funny and amusing game. The setting and humor are great, and the music is really really funny. "Mr Sandman" "Lollipop" and others. I just wish they had "If I only had a brain" on there. This game is really short, and repetitive, but its a great rental (wouldn't even recommend buying it). I don't understand Sub Zero's gripe, there's not much to figure out. You can hit, and eat people's brains, then use guns and stuff of people you possess later. And yes, you fart, throw your spleen, throw your hand to possess people and bowl with your head. It's great. The strangest part is that you don't understand your characters "motive" until the very end. I wish there were more mini games like the dancing one, so funny. A great love story this is. Expand
  10. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    Clean, brain-munching fun, which meets the criteria for insane zombie chaos and humor all wrapped into one little gore-filled gift of entertainment. If you can't enjoy a little shuffle of the feet and the squealing of a 50's teenager as he runs away in fear from your undead legion, then you're "brain-dead"...yeah, its horrible. Not this game though.
  11. Jul 1, 2015
    8
    disclaimer it only gets this high rating due to me having so many fun memories in the game its no perfect game but its so cool because you are the zombie! much like fallout 3 its a futuristic setting in the 50s so expect bad music. although all these traditional songs are done by amazing bands like deth cab for cutie and flaming lips thats so awesome! throughout the game you will rise as adisclaimer it only gets this high rating due to me having so many fun memories in the game its no perfect game but its so cool because you are the zombie! much like fallout 3 its a futuristic setting in the 50s so expect bad music. although all these traditional songs are done by amazing bands like deth cab for cutie and flaming lips thats so awesome! throughout the game you will rise as a zombie in a city known as punchbowl you eat peoples brains to start your own Apocalypse and ruin the city and end the world! how can you say thats not fun and super cool. you have many powers like farting to stun enemies because zombie farts are really bad! also you can posses people with your arm and make them shoot there freinds. and you have gut bombs to throw. the game is just sci-fi in the most entertaining funny gory way. but all games have some problems right? well this game is about 4 hours long WTF! and the controls are so odd so be very prepared. i mean the soundtrack is probably longer then this game i cant get over it. and you have to just love zombies or you will not like it. but its worth a purchase now its real cheap and a ton of zombie fun in a really cool innovative way! Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 55
  2. Negative: 2 out of 55
  1. It's the best rental you'll ever make.
  2. Pass gas to stun your opponents, eat human brains, roll your own head around like a bowling ball, and use your own guts as a grenade in this great new action game.
  3. A pretty addictive action game with a rather dark sense of humour that actually works well most of the time, and good comedy in video games can be very hard to come by.