Superman: The Man of Steel Xbox

  • Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Nov 19, 2002
Metascore
44

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 14 out of 19
Buy On
  1. Game Informer
    48
    You should avoid this game like you would skinny-dipping with your grandparents. [Jan 2003, p.110]
  2. 47
    Superman can be more difficult to control than a pop diva who's just won a Grammy.
  3. Xbox Nation Magazine
    40
    Where the game fails, and fails miserably, is with its choice of enemies and challenges. [Feb/Mar 2003, p.86]
  4. 40
    No matter how many bonuses are unlocked or how many special guests show up, the core gameplay of Superman: The Man of Steel is boring.
  5. You do get to take on all of the classic villains in Metropolis—Braniac 13 and Lex Luthor, among others—but not before fighting through a number of mind-numbing missions with unrecognizable characters.
  6. 40
    The ridiculous frustration in the early levels will deplete most gamers' patience.
  7. 40
    It's just a shame that more care wasn't taken to make his life seem less repetitive and more diverse.
  8. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    35
    It's not as mind-blowingly awful as the old N64 "Superman" stinker, but it is outclassed by nearly every other comic-book game out there. [Feb 2003, p.154]
  9. netjak
    34
    Gorgeous cities and interesting villains aside, it is the developer’s fundamental inability to provide interesting challenges for Superman that make this title a flop.
  10. Poor control, graphics, level and mission design. These are flaws, and major ones at that. Where the game really fails, though, is that not for one second while I was playing it did I ever feel like I was controlling Superman. Is there anything worse that you can say about a Superman game?
  11. Superman’s problems, however, lie in the game’s control and play mechanics. The action is tedious, the moves are sluggish, and the enemies are annoying.
  12. Play Magazine
    20
    Every task is spelled out. Superman's world is flat and lifeless, and the arthritic man of steel does indeed move as if he were indeed made of the substance. [Jan 2003, p.80]
  13. Entertainment Weekly
    16
    Superman's flying speed is disappointingly slower than a speeding bullet. When it comes to thrills, this title is strictly smallville. [29 Nov 2002, p.114]

Awards & Rankings

67
#67 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2002
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 3 out of 5
  1. Oct 21, 2013
    2
    Superman is tedeous game The repeat tics missions will bore you out The game was developed poorly and it looked like developers didn't trySuperman is tedeous game The repeat tics missions will bore you out The game was developed poorly and it looked like developers didn't try This game isn't for everyone The controls are confusing and annoying Full Review »
  2. BillR.
    Mar 29, 2004
    0
    The controls are confusing at the begining and the whole thing is too repetitive.
  3. MichaelL.
    Jul 8, 2003
    6
    The game isn't for everyone, and I agree that the missions are boring and repetitive. If I was not a die hard Superman fan (and if the The game isn't for everyone, and I agree that the missions are boring and repetitive. If I was not a die hard Superman fan (and if the price didn't drop down to $20) I never would have purchased the game. Full Review »