The Godfather Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You can move up the ranks of the Corleone crime family in The Godfather. In the game based on the book and movie, you go from humble beginnings of petty crime and rise to be the most powerful crime lord in all of New York. The Godfather features customizable characters and a persistentYou can move up the ranks of the Corleone crime family in The Godfather. In the game based on the book and movie, you go from humble beginnings of petty crime and rise to be the most powerful crime lord in all of New York. The Godfather features customizable characters and a persistent gameworld, where your decisions affect how other characters interact with you. Marlon Brando, James Caan, and Robert Duvall return to the franchise to voice characters in the game as well. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 58
  2. Negative: 1 out of 58
  1. The actual hand to hand (or baseball bat to hand) combat is excellent too; targeting in the same way, you use both thumbsticks to combat your opponent, one for moving you or your opponent, you can throw or ram your foe into the wall with this stick too - and the other stick is generally for hitting them. Use both together for best results!
  2. It's hardly a unique video game, but it is a very fun one and at the end of the day that's what counts.
  3. 85
    The game is entertaining and challenging missions, excellent writing, terrific voice acting, and the way it recaptures the feeling of one of the greatest American films of all time.
  4. 80
    The game creates a distinctive, unflattering view of criminal life in the 40's, and the huge virtual city the Godfather offers is rife with missions and opportunities.
  5. The action is bloody and satisfying, the story plays out like exceptionally well-written fan-fiction and the spirit of the movie and its characters are intact.
  6. 70
    For any other legacy, this game would be just fine. For the iconic Godfather series, it really could have been something with more of a Brando weight. But even though it's more of a Tony Soprano, The Godfather: The Game still manages to deliver a solid gangster experience.
  7. For such a costly flagship title to provide neither the promised statement of mainstream grown-up appeal nor even polished, lesser disposable thrills is a landmark failure. [May 2006, p.92]

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. ScottT.
    Mar 20, 2006
    10
    Very rich and deep gameplay. You just do not get the full sense of the game until you are at least 2 hours in.
  2. ReggieM.
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    Great, deep game. What does Yahoo games know?
  3. NikkH.
    Apr 12, 2006
    10
    Ok, either im missing somthing, or you guys havent played the game. It is very much like grand theft auto, but much better. It is set in the Ok, either im missing somthing, or you guys havent played the game. It is very much like grand theft auto, but much better. It is set in the 30s, with the godfather, i mean, with the fun of wacking a guy, or just chasing down supply trucks( my favorite) what more do you need? But, it is a difficult, way to difficult to take out a warehouse, so dont try unless you are willy to be frustrated. Collapse
  4. Boddhs
    Mar 22, 2006
    9
    Great game! All godfather fans SHOULDbplay this, and of course every GTA fan too, as this game is ablot like gta, which is not a bad thing Great game! All godfather fans SHOULDbplay this, and of course every GTA fan too, as this game is ablot like gta, which is not a bad thing after all, is it? Expand
  5. DanielX.
    Apr 19, 2006
    8
    This game definately has it's memorable moments. Whether I was planting the gun for Michael Corleone to find, taking my first warehouse, This game definately has it's memorable moments. Whether I was planting the gun for Michael Corleone to find, taking my first warehouse, or killing all 4 rival dons in one mission, this game was a blast to play. The flaws in this game are few, but have a big impact on the game. For starters, there was only like 12 missions, after that there was really no structure left to follow. So after completing these missions in about an hour or two, i was left to take out businesses for the remainder of the game. After about the tenth hour of this it gets to be numbingly repetitive. Another flaw is the insane easiness of the actual game. I think i died maybe 5 or 6 times throughout the entire game. The graphics are excellent, but are hurt by the fact that there are maybe 5 cars in the game and 10 different models of people. Now enough of the bashing. This game features some of the most entertaining videos and plots i have ever experienced. From the opening scene where my father is murdered, I was completely enthralled in this game. I actually experienced pride in my role for the Corleone family. I was willing to fight and die for the family. It was a great game that should be played for years. Expand
  6. LucaG.
    Mar 26, 2006
    8
    This game has hints of the game Mafia. Not that I didn't enjoy Mafia, but it does remind me of it. So if you hated Mafia then I would This game has hints of the game Mafia. Not that I didn't enjoy Mafia, but it does remind me of it. So if you hated Mafia then I would say this game is not for you. Two things that would have been nice... co-op mode and being able to issue orders to other family members (follow, attack, guard etc.) All in all I would recommend it, it's worth playing. And if you're a Godfather movie fan, that just makes it all the better IMHO. Expand
  7. Playa
    Mar 22, 2006
    4
    Okay, now that everyone who must have worked on the game has voted, I'll give my impression as a player. Weak, aggravating and Okay, now that everyone who must have worked on the game has voted, I'll give my impression as a player. Weak, aggravating and unsatisfying gameplay. Could have been so much more, so much better. What does depth matter if the surface and moment-to-moment gameplay stinks? At least I got my receipt. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews