Tiger Woods PGA Tour 2004 Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: While professional golfer Tiger Woods has no equal on the PGA Tour, you now have the chance to build a golfer that's even better. Take your custom golfer through the trials and tribulations of all the courses in Tiger Woods PGA Tour 2004, earning cash to spend on new digs and advanced equipment. Use the analog stick to shape any shot type such as the flop or punch. Go head-to-head against the computer, a friend, or an online player with PS2's network adapter. With all the top competition on some of the most famous fairways and greens ever, this is the one of the most complete golf experiences yet. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. The level of customization is simply astounding. In addition to the typical options like face, hair color, eye color and facial hair, players can change the structure of their cheek, chin and jaws. And not just the appearance, but the width, height and length too. [Oct 2003, p.84]
  2. What is astounding is the replay value and depth added to the off the course shenanigans... Just like in real life, the coming of Tiger has changed the sport forever. [Oct 2003, p.139]
  3. EA's improved everything in this game, from graphics to putting to new arcade modes that help pass the time. There's just no better golf game out there. [Oct 2003, p.136]
  4. Hands down the most playable, enjoyable golf game released to date.
  5. The beauty of Tiger is its simplicity and depth at the same time. [Nov 2003, p.110]
  6. Even if EA Sports had left every other aspect of the game identical to Tiger Woods 2003, the staggering number of new, playable courses alone makes 2004 worthwhile.
  7. Imitating a swing with the analogue stick is still as satisfying as ever, and the balance between control and room for error is nigh-on perfect. However, it would have been nice to see a few more changes to keep the experience fresh. [Oct 2003, p.122]

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. AndrewH.
    Oct 1, 2003
    10
    This game is awesome. I never thought golf could be so col. All modes are fun, and I highly recommend this game.
  2. MattS.
    Sep 29, 2003
    10
    It's colorful and addictive.
  3. MatC.
    Sep 30, 2003
    10
    Addictive, satisfying, and not intimidating. There's a great tutorial to start that is fully interactive, and the face generator is just awesome. I *am* me on that game, little belly & all. If all you've ever played are the pre-Tiger games from back in the day that were click-click-click to swing, you are in for a real treat. If anything, it's a little on the easy side to start, and that gets you going quickly. The drawback about the EA bio is that you'll know how long you've played this game... expect big numbers there. Expand
  4. KyleR.
    Sep 18, 2003
    9
    2003 was sweet! I saw the preview for this game and it only gets better you can now create your own golfer costimizing pretty much everything, cant wait for this game. Expand
  5. Gingerfoot
    Nov 24, 2003
    9
    Hey listen, this game is sweet. really impressive graphics and lots of courses and golfers. the hook of the game is, no daubt...the 'game-face' feature, where you can play god and make people from scratch. i have made myself, which is freaky to see how much he looks like me. i also made a really ugly lady, which is just plain old sick fun. also lots of things to buy, from apparel to golf related items. sooo, let's talk about the GAME shall we?...because all this stuff above are like "extra" fun arent they?...yes they are, and the golf engine i am sad to say is not very impressive, simply and plainly because they have skipped the precision swing difficulty the previous games had. meaning, when you use your thumbstick to swing, it's all a perfect shot each time. so all you need to do to beat your opponents is smartly measure the wind and distance on the long shots and pay attention to your green curve while putting. baaaah!. this quickly becomes boring, no matter how many crazy golfers you create and no matter what crazy course you are on, the game is predictable somehow...its just easy. what makes me give a 9 for this game stands on the whole package design and features that makes you come back for more. the courses are just mind blowing...it really feels like you are there, playing golf with tiger and other guys who one ever cares about. to be able to make clones of your friends in a CGI world is like a game by itself. definetally a buy and a nice "zen" title for your xbox library. later kids.... Expand
  6. MrSatan
    Oct 31, 2003
    8
    Very good golf game. Probably the best golf game I ever palyed. But they could have added better multiplayer games.
  7. MitchB.
    Feb 3, 2004
    1
    Hey man, tiger is not a bad drop ay? but the game was very ordinary. Although the game has superb sound and graphics, my major disappointment is that it's way too easy man, ya know what im sayin? I was able to build up my all player's attributes to 110% in quick time, and even bought all the lucky band-aids and lucky underwear etc. This game is so simple man, I was able to score a 60 under for one of the tournament matches. I managed to string together so many birdies, that the commentator stopped saying stuff about the amount of birdies i had stringed together. Maybe tiger woods 2005 will be a little more challenging. I mean geez, even Mario Golf was more of a challenge! Expand

See all 12 User Reviews