Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter Image
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter you can play as a Ghost, the best trained and equipped soldier the US Army has to offer. The year is 2013 and an insurgency has broken out in Mexico City, and it is your job to infiltrate the city and attempt to restore order. You will need to rely on your superior equipment, weaponry, and training to succeed against a larger force of enemies. Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter also features both cooperative and competitive multiplayer. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. With 16 players and 16 guns blazing, the game is violent bliss, and certainly a war demanding to be fought over and over again. [Apr 2006, p.58]
  2. GRAW is brimming with atmosphere, has brilliant, open levels and challenging AI that will put your shooting skills to the test. [April 2006, p.74]
  3. This Advanced Warfighter tries to follow along the same evolutionary path as the Xbox 360 title, but it can only make half the effort. [May 2006, p.106]
  4. If you're envying all the fun your buddies are having with their 360s and Advanced Warfighter, you're better off staying with "Halo 2" and the recent "Far Cry: Instincts" than springing for this -- you'll be in for a disappointment.
  5. Unfortunately, it's obvious that Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter was developed as a glimmering next-gen title and subsequently shoe-horned into the power-challenged Xbox. The result is simply too much for the Xbox to handle. It feels stripped down and lacking in too many crucial areas.
  6. In reality, what's here is competant, but this version just doesn't stack up to any Xbox Ghost Recon--next-gen or otherwise. [Jun 2006, p.76]
  7. 50
    The problem with Advanced Warfighter isn't that it's a lesser beast than the 360 release; that's to be expected. It's that the game fails to stack up against the better recent Xbox shooters like "Far Cry" and "Black."

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 4 out of 12
  1. DanaQ.
    Apr 19, 2006
    10
    Great game on Xbox Live!
  2. JamieMoore
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    I really liked the graphics...the story line was good too!
  3. JeremyD.
    Feb 26, 2007
    9
    This game is an all around good game. The campaign mode is a bit confusing but the mutiplayer mode is fun and full of different options so I can never be bored. Expand
  4. AaronB
    Mar 10, 2006
    5
    Don
  5. BarryD.
    Mar 11, 2006
    5
    I am disgusted, angry and pissed off! Ubisoft abandoned the Xbox for the 360. I am sure the 360 version is great but they did no even try to give us hard core loyal Xbox ghost a decent game. it is a step backward. Summitt Strike makes this look like a PS1 game. What happened to the load out screen? everyone is carrying a sniper rifle?! this is not Ghost Recon. I have invested hundreds of hours online playing Ghost Recon and now after waiting and anticipating a great game I get garbage like this and we are supposed to like it. Its not about the fans or loyalty anymore its all about the market share. I guess if I want a decent version I must but a 360. But I wonder if that version is all hype too!? Again I am totally disgusted true fans don't waste your money! Expand
  6. May 20, 2013
    3
    Terrible game that brought nothing of interest to fans of previous games in the series. A crappy port which at least will waste your time, at most jaundice you to the entire series. Not unplayable bad, but poorly executed, clunky and dull. Collapse
  7. Elijah
    Mar 23, 2006
    1
    For the mere price of 50$ you can pick this worthless shell of a game that is great on the X-box360. That's the key here, GRAW is only good on the 360 on the normal x-box it is simply crap. Bad Graphics, bad gameplay, idiot A.I. and extreme lack of fun along often glitchy controls, and let's not forget that the game lags frequently in single player mode, make this the most dissapointing game i've played this year. Ubisoft have officially left current gen owners behind. Anyone who thinks this game is good has really low standards. If anyone would be willing to lay down fifty bucks for this game then they should use the fifty bucks to get a catscan. Ubisoft should be ashamed of themselves they had been on streak of delivering great game after great game. Everything has to an end and i guess. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: "Splinter Cell Conviction" and Other Tom Clancy Games

    Ranked:
    Published: April 13, 2010
    How does the newest Splinter Cell game compare to previous titles in the series, and to other Tom Clancy games? Check out our rankings.