• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Island Thunder Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ghost Recon just got an all-new jungle warfare experience. In Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Island Thunder, you lead an elite team of U.S. Army Green Berets in a mission to stop a drug-funded warlord from sabotaging Cuba's free elections. Island Thunder takes you deep into the heart of CubaGhost Recon just got an all-new jungle warfare experience. In Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Island Thunder, you lead an elite team of U.S. Army Green Berets in a mission to stop a drug-funded warlord from sabotaging Cuba's free elections. Island Thunder takes you deep into the heart of Cuba with eight missions, plus five desert missions you can download via Xbox Live. Compete in 12 expansive maps against your friends on split-screen multiplayer, system link, and enhanced Xbox Live play. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. This game oozes replay value. From the Xbox Live! to the improved interface, this game has legs.
  2. My only real beef about this and every Tom Clancy game, PC or otherwise, is the inability to step over small rocks or other obstacles coupled with no jump function. I know for a fact that Green Berets can either climb or jump over objects over 11 inches high.
  3. I wouldn’t consider scooping Island Thunder unless you are a Live subscriber, because as good as the game’s story and single-player missions can be, there’s simply not enough levels and gameplay here for going solo.
  4. Continues the good work of the original release, and takes full advantage of the expanding Live universe. Few games today really represent value for money, but Gamestyle is confident in stating that this release is certainly money well spent.
  5. 8 / 7 / 8 / 8 - 31 silver [Vol 796; 19 Mar 2004]
  6. The appeal of this Island Thunder expansion, however, is limited to only those who loved the original, played it to exhaustion and are looking for some new content to rekindle their interest.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. UiUi
    Feb 8, 2004
    10
    Best game ever besides the first ghost recon.
  2. Justin
    Aug 13, 2003
    10
    This Game Is Awesome!.....Whoever thinks this game Sucks, Can Go Back to playing Mario.....A++++++ Awesome
  3. BOrluk
    Aug 16, 2003
    10
    The best FPS for grown-ups. An absolutely fantasic and multi-hour addictive game. If you have Xbox Live! you have to play this game. A must The best FPS for grown-ups. An absolutely fantasic and multi-hour addictive game. If you have Xbox Live! you have to play this game. A must have until we get a true sequel to the original Ghost Recon for Xbox. Collapse
  4. Greg
    Aug 20, 2003
    9
    I love this game to death! The only complaint I have about it is that there is no third-person view. I really liked that option in the I love this game to death! The only complaint I have about it is that there is no third-person view. I really liked that option in the "SOCOM: US Navy Seals" Expand
  5. FSWMaster
    Jul 2, 2004
    9
    This is a great piece of software. Probably the greatest since the first Ghost Recon. Rainbow 6 is all about moving indoors and trying to This is a great piece of software. Probably the greatest since the first Ghost Recon. Rainbow 6 is all about moving indoors and trying to keep your bone-headed team mates from getting killed. They are nothing alike. Also the graphics were not re-done but do look better with less draw-in, the sound is still up there with the best and plenty of atmoshere, although the game is a little short. Too bad Ghost Recon 2 won't be set on the events of the Middle East: that would make it as great as FSW or Close Combat, if not better. As for Greg, I know you were probably hung up on the lackluster PS2 with it's dead-ass graphics and sound hardware, as most PS2 geeks, I mean freaks, are, but please don't ever compare a good but arcadey PS2 "game" to any great XBOX "experience". In real life you don't see yourself from behind so first-person views will always be more realistic. Expand
  6. SimonT.
    Jul 8, 2004
    8
    Another merciless outing into the world of Tom Clancy's Ghost recon which plunges you deep into the hear of Cuba. This game offers a Another merciless outing into the world of Tom Clancy's Ghost recon which plunges you deep into the hear of Cuba. This game offers a wide range of team members with the cool capacity of upgrading them as the game progresses not a bad game at all especially with online firefights and downloadable content via xbox live. Expand
  7. MikeR.
    Jul 29, 2003
    5
    This game is not good, this game is a remake of the other. I'm sick of playing these Tom Clancy game's that are all the same. You This game is not good, this game is a remake of the other. I'm sick of playing these Tom Clancy game's that are all the same. You want a real Tom Clancy game, play the soon to be released Rainbow Six 3. I got to Beta Test this game and it was just like the other, at one point I opened up my Xbox to make sure it WAS'NT the other game. And whats with the cross fire???? I seen better cross fire on a RPG game for crying out loud. Now, I do understand that this game was a some-what add on to the other, But even add on's have improved things that make it look ALITTLE different. No, I'm sorry, you'll be better off keeping your money and you first copy of Ghost Recon instead of buying this one, and wait till RAINBOW SIX, trust me I got to see this game in action, and it's everything that this game is and 20 times the game of any Tom Clancy game, with Splinter Cell grachics and the works. Also the Cross fire on RB3 is'nt a joke like this one, instead of the mostly-used cross fire that grows bigger when further away from a enemy, it grows smaller to have a twice of better shot and real feel to it. Unless you do not have the first Ghost Recon, then it may be a good idea to pick this one up, but if you do, then this is just a joke, unless you like the same game's just for the same joy that you would other wise get from a much better title, Trust me, there are better title's coming to store's very soon, and this would be a waste of money AND enjoyment if this was the one you choose to buy...... Expand

See all 14 User Reviews