• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Aug 4, 2004
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LuosN.
    Aug 5, 2004
    9
    It feels like picking up an old friend. and to me thats not a bad thing. i could care less if they didnt change some things. The game stands up on its own.
  2. Buried-in-the-BOX
    Aug 4, 2004
    5
    This game is nothing more than a quick cash in before games like Halo 2 and Close Combat come out. You can barely tell you're playing a new game because it looks exactly the same as the first one and your team mates are still as bone-headed as ever standing in the middle of a doorway, pulling the pin from a grenade, with his weapon holstered, throwing the grenade and getting killed. This game is nothing more than a quick cash in before games like Halo 2 and Close Combat come out. You can barely tell you're playing a new game because it looks exactly the same as the first one and your team mates are still as bone-headed as ever standing in the middle of a doorway, pulling the pin from a grenade, with his weapon holstered, throwing the grenade and getting killed. These Rainbow games were realistic until about a year ago. Now, people want something that is as realistic as FSW or the equivalent, one that shows your teammates have some intelligence and act as a real person would. Online is the same as always. Boring, glitch filled and stale. We need something different to play online now. Halo 2 will make this game be forgotten as quickly as it came upon us! Expand
  3. MichaelR.
    Aug 5, 2004
    6
    For people complaining that it's not a new game, well, it's NOT. The key clue is the whole "Rainbow Six 3" section of the title. I don't know about you, but that certainly lead me to believe that the play mechanics would pretty much be the same. Anyhow, sarcasm aside, I did spend a lot of time on RS3 in the past, but I really don't care to play the game anymore and For people complaining that it's not a new game, well, it's NOT. The key clue is the whole "Rainbow Six 3" section of the title. I don't know about you, but that certainly lead me to believe that the play mechanics would pretty much be the same. Anyhow, sarcasm aside, I did spend a lot of time on RS3 in the past, but I really don't care to play the game anymore and don't really understand how I played it so much online. Any game where you can shoot someone with an M1 shotgun in the back of the head at point-blank range and NOT kill them = not really worth the time or frustration. Expand
  4. UgoC.
    Aug 6, 2004
    10
    Better singleplayer than the first -and great multiplayer.
  5. MikeM.
    Aug 9, 2004
    10
    This games rocks. It is like getting an expansion pack for the classic R6 3 game. The terrorists even scream louder when you hit them with the gernade launcher :).
  6. Joethecop
    Aug 26, 2005
    10
    The best game ever invented by humans!
  7. DarrenM.
    Aug 29, 2004
    7
    It's more of an itch than an addiction. The single player campaign mode is tedious and the AI is terrible, even if it is an upgrade from the even more terrible R63 AI. But no one buys this game on the Xbox for the offline stuff, right? The Live play is a bit more refined than the old standard-- some of the guns have been revised to fix problems with the worn old cow (sniper rifles It's more of an itch than an addiction. The single player campaign mode is tedious and the AI is terrible, even if it is an upgrade from the even more terrible R63 AI. But no one buys this game on the Xbox for the offline stuff, right? The Live play is a bit more refined than the old standard-- some of the guns have been revised to fix problems with the worn old cow (sniper rifles have crosshairs when not zoomed in?) but a lack of new weapons in the base release (mostly) make liars out of the game's advertisers. The online play is still as glitchy as before, but get this-- it is an ALL NEW series of glitches! Within days of release, there was a tidal wave of complaints to RS/US to release a patch to fix spawn killing in Total Conquest, and a patch to fix falling through the floors, randomly spawning in the wrong spawn or halfway across the stage from your team, and leaning through walls. I play this game like a craven fiend, but for the life of me I cannot figure out why. It's stinktastic, really. Viva La Fable! Expand
  8. JackB.
    Aug 24, 2007
    9
    Awsome game with great weapons, and a not so bad squad. Although one of the people on your team dies really quickly, the graphics are good, and the missions are intense, overall, a steler game.
  9. StivenB.
    Jan 16, 2005
    7
    OK, I should point out that if you have not played any of the earlier RS6 games then take this rating as a 8.5. If you played the first then you would have to be quite serious to go out and get this one. The game play, voices and about 85% of the game is nearly the same as the first version. In my opinion its really an extra 10 levels to play onto of the first version but nothing overly OK, I should point out that if you have not played any of the earlier RS6 games then take this rating as a 8.5. If you played the first then you would have to be quite serious to go out and get this one. The game play, voices and about 85% of the game is nearly the same as the first version. In my opinion its really an extra 10 levels to play onto of the first version but nothing overly new. The AI is pretty much average. You can shoot a terrorist dead and the terrorist right next to him with still stand completely still so that you can pot him off as well given that he should have run or hid after his mate hit the floor. Don't get me wrong, still great game play and good graphics but this game should have moved above the benchmark set in the first version. As such, its kept it at the same level. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. 8 / 7 / 7 / 7 - 29 [Vol. 848]
  2. 100
    The new multiplayer modes are extremely good fun and highly addictive, the maps are much bigger and Xbox Live 3.0 is in full force with clan matches, voice and text messaging and even team lobbies with level maps to plan attacks.
  3. For any fan of the tactical shooter fan out there this is one of those games that is just plain fun.