User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 109 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 109
  2. Negative: 11 out of 109

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JeremyC.
    Nov 17, 2003
    6
    Very nice graphics and an excellent idea for a game. But it stops there. First of all all the levels are ridiculously linear, and this is meant to be a stealth game? This game is full of try, die, and load again. It got very frustrating having to do the same things over and over again just to get killed in the same place. The A.I. is ridiculous. Sometimes you stand practically in broad Very nice graphics and an excellent idea for a game. But it stops there. First of all all the levels are ridiculously linear, and this is meant to be a stealth game? This game is full of try, die, and load again. It got very frustrating having to do the same things over and over again just to get killed in the same place. The A.I. is ridiculous. Sometimes you stand practically in broad daylight and they don't see you, other times when it is pitched dark they turn and put a bullet through your head. One time i had a gun to one guys head, i aimed at his comrade, over the guys shoulder, who began firing with an ak-47 at full blast I fell back dead while the guy i was using as a human shield walked away. Also it seems that if you throw a grenade at a group of guys if they notice it then it does no damage. More then a dozen times i saw a group of three or four guys so i threw a grenade they say 'GRENADE' and it blows up in their faces but they aren't hurt. Also this game is stuck in the middle of two worlds. I wish they had either made it more stealthy where their is very little action or else more SWAT like with infiltration and assassination. As is, it is ridiculous, in one mission you sneak through the entire level only to be confronted at the end by having to fend off an attack of over ten well armed guys while you are stuck with Mr. Cantaim Sam and his pathetic weaponry. Meanwhile three American soldiers stand at the back and wait for you to finish. The objectives and missions were more suited for an RPG or FPS, Splinter Cell needs to get some better designed levels and AI. Expand
  2. D.N.
    Nov 21, 2002
    4
    Poor controls, bad camera add up to a frustrating experience. Excellent graphics though.
  3. SimonA.
    Dec 16, 2003
    1
    Without doubt the greatest load of rubbish ever made for the xbox.
  4. LazyLewis
    Jul 7, 2003
    7
    Yes the graphics are great! But the game play is Very, Very straight forward! I felt as if I was playing a movie, not a game. Were have the games that allow a bit of choice gone? This game left you a corridor and you had to go straight ahead! All doors locked! But graphics are still eye popping and sound is also up to scratch! Over all nice to look at! Boring to play!
  5. LilBo
    Mar 10, 2003
    9
    Two words. Practically PERFECT! This game is incredible, beautiful graphics, great gameplay, challenging yet not too hard. My only complaint is the camera. It's rather annoying.
  6. MattR.
    Aug 1, 2003
    10
    At times infuriatingly difficult (CIA level, anyone), this game is also the most rewarding. The graphics are stunning, and arguably the best on any platform, ever. The lighting is incredible, and adds what Metal Gear lacks: realistic tension. I also enjoyed the real-life mood of the game, from the one-shot one -kill approach, to the concept of sound being a give-away, to the lack of At times infuriatingly difficult (CIA level, anyone), this game is also the most rewarding. The graphics are stunning, and arguably the best on any platform, ever. The lighting is incredible, and adds what Metal Gear lacks: realistic tension. I also enjoyed the real-life mood of the game, from the one-shot one -kill approach, to the concept of sound being a give-away, to the lack of idiotic level-end bosses. When will the Metal Gear series (and Nintendo, for that matter) grow up and realize that an espionage thriller loses all luster when after skulking around with your mullet, you have to shoot a certain character 243 times in the head in order to keep playing? That is SO 1988! Expand
  7. Mark
    Jul 14, 2004
    7
    I dont know what is so amazing in this game. I think Splinter Cell is good game, but not so good what everybody say.
  8. JesperN.
    Nov 19, 2002
    10
    This is Game of the Year.
  9. J.Smile
    Nov 29, 2002
    8
    Splinter Cell is o.k, but NOT exceptional!! The gadgets and the stealth actions are pretty cool. The game itself is quite linear to play..... Well, maybe I just have to wait for HALO 2....
  10. VitalyK.
    Dec 10, 2002
    10
    One of the best games for X-box out there the visuals are awesome if not the best ever the story mode is complex and really deep once you get into the game. There are many gadgets and weapons that changes gaming in every espect possible. The levels are long if not huge and deeply designs along with the most beautiful lightning affects ever. You could play with the curtains for hours. The One of the best games for X-box out there the visuals are awesome if not the best ever the story mode is complex and really deep once you get into the game. There are many gadgets and weapons that changes gaming in every espect possible. The levels are long if not huge and deeply designs along with the most beautiful lightning affects ever. You could play with the curtains for hours. The control is easy and not hard to get everything alse about the game that i mentioned is also great. i think this is a must have game for the year and for the holiday season. Expand
  11. AlexP.
    Feb 24, 2003
    9
    Amazingly fun game! Best graphics ever, neat gadgets. My only wish is that I wish I could save anywhere, but the current system is not too bad. Some parts took me days to complete. Wish more games looked and played this smoothly. The controls could be a little more intuitive.
  12. HoraceP.
    Apr 30, 2003
    9
    This game was one of the best I've played on the XBOX. There were some missions that were not givin enough instruction, but overall it was an awesome game.
  13. BubbaFresh
    Apr 5, 2003
    10
    8.4 user rating with 62 votes is an insult to this spectacular game.
  14. M
    May 30, 2003
    8
    Ronald A., before you start rambling on about a game you dislike, use some DAMN periods. Everything you typed was practically gibberish.
  15. MatthijsOtterden
    Jun 1, 2003
    10
    It's just a top game!!
  16. DerekO.
    Jan 11, 2004
    10
    Awesome.
  17. CarloL.
    May 6, 2004
    10
    If you give this game a rating lower than a 10, then you suck balls.
  18. R.Bradley
    Nov 22, 2002
    8
    I hate to be one of the few that gives it less than a 10, but a 10 it isn't. The game is very linear and the only real options in solving a mission involve whether you kill those you encounter. Some portions require you to do some precision jumping, and this trial-and-error aspect makes the lack of a "save on demand" feature very annoying. HALO and Morrowind it is not, but it is I hate to be one of the few that gives it less than a 10, but a 10 it isn't. The game is very linear and the only real options in solving a mission involve whether you kill those you encounter. Some portions require you to do some precision jumping, and this trial-and-error aspect makes the lack of a "save on demand" feature very annoying. HALO and Morrowind it is not, but it is still a lot of fun, and is worth the purchase for the new elements the game introduces. Expand
  19. AdamR.
    Dec 2, 2002
    10
    This game is really good. It is so realistic.
  20. TomC.
    Dec 3, 2002
    10
    This is truly a great game!!! 2 bad I only have the demo. I am getting the real game very very very very very soon!!!I play the demo like 5 times a day!!!
  21. CraigP.
    Dec 4, 2002
    10
    In one word: amazing.
  22. PatI.
    Dec 8, 2002
    10
    Can't imagine a much better game. It's the game I've been waiting for - Stealth, action, and realistic environments. I thought Metal Gear Solid 2 was the King of Stealth/Action but Splinter Cell has definitely unseated it - - very convincingly I might add. Whilt Halo was an excellent shooter, this game hits all the right buttons. (I like the dark environments and story line Can't imagine a much better game. It's the game I've been waiting for - Stealth, action, and realistic environments. I thought Metal Gear Solid 2 was the King of Stealth/Action but Splinter Cell has definitely unseated it - - very convincingly I might add. Whilt Halo was an excellent shooter, this game hits all the right buttons. (I like the dark environments and story line better -But Halo is great for multiplayer) Expand
  23. Mike
    Apr 14, 2003
    9
    Splinter cell is a verry cool game only sometimes a bit to difficult. and bullits...... there must be more bullits in the game because i only found bullits once in the game and i am at the third or fourth mission (government building at the elevator)
  24. AndrewZ.
    Apr 29, 2003
    10
    Perfect game. Stealth simulation taken to the extreme! Definitely a "must have".
  25. ChristianO.
    May 1, 2003
    9
    The only almost-meaningful problem with the game is the limbs going through walls. Love everrything else. OPSAT isn't in color, and I wonder why. My PDA is in Color.
  26. RonaldA.
    May 24, 2003
    0
    not one off the best games. it has so many faults you can discover. i am not impressed by the leveldesign, one straight line. you may have different ways off solving a problem, but it is still the same road, same guard, same challenge. the AI is stupid. sometimes they dont even see you when they are near you, and the stealth meter is at the quarter off the leftside. they can notice me not one off the best games. it has so many faults you can discover. i am not impressed by the leveldesign, one straight line. you may have different ways off solving a problem, but it is still the same road, same guard, same challenge. the AI is stupid. sometimes they dont even see you when they are near you, and the stealth meter is at the quarter off the leftside. they can notice me from a distance, but when they are near me they wont notice you. the guards go trough walls when you hide the bodys off them, the weapon off them sticks out off the door, even when you are also aiming and walk to a wall, your weapon goes trough it. when a guard notices you, and i knock him out before he shoots, the other guards come running to you while they are a mile away. and sometimes (this is rarely) a guard aims at you, and does not shoot, not walk, just stands still. so i walk to him slowly, walk behind him and knock him out. and the alarm system is stupid. if the alarms goes this much, the game is over. what happens then when the alarms goes this much, i sometimes activate the alarms 3 times, and the levelchallenge is still the same. i shoot a light before a guards eye and this is what happens: it happens infront of him and says, how the h#ll? curious? or they notice you, while i am hidden in a shadow on an roof. there is an level where i cant kill a single guy so this is what happens: i am on a roof, a guard notices me, but i hide, so what does the guard do: throw grenades, but the grenades bounce back, so they are caught in the explosion (and lambert says: what in godnames are you doing fisher? i did not do anything!) i see a dog with a guard. i shoot the dog, but the guard does not care, i killed it infront off him, and he walks as there is nothing happenend. the split jump is cool, but you can use it at 3 USEFUL places. also the guards dont take bodydamage. when i shoot his arm so that he cannot shoot, or his leg so that he cannot walk, nothing like that. you have the searchlights in some levels, i shoot the guard that is infront off the spotlight and i walk in the spotlight the alarm goes off, but there is no guard infront off it. and you cant shoot the spotlight, and you cant shoot every light. there where lights i wanted to shoot, but it could not be shot. and the graphics then, cool lighting/shadow effects, no denying. but look at the environments, so boring, it does not have lost off detail. and sam fisher, sometimes the camera would zoom in at fisher, he has a bit blocky face, and his ears are blocky. and the muscles are painted, not separate textures. the muscles just stay the same, even if you climb a pipe. you should see the muscles pump up when you are doing a hard activity (now you may say that not other games have that such thing, but look at mgs, it does have such a thing). by the way, his arms has a strange form. there is an area where i shoot all the lights, and there a 3 guards. it is totally dark, they cant see anything. so i grab a guy from behind, and walk to a guard, and he knows that i am taking him hostage, but it could be your comrade, so why is he aiming at me. and if i aim at him with the guard hostage, he hits me right away, how can you aim at the dark so perfect? also in the last level, you have to take a guy hostage, so you can use him to open the vault, i just gave him a elbow, he is knocked out, but it is game over. lambert says to you: what did you fisher? fisher: i killed him. with one elbow in his face, but the guards can not be killed. the rain effects then, they should leave that out. it is bothersome to the gameplay! when i aim with my weapon, the camera comes right behind your back and you can notice that the rain is going trough you. so realistic. in a shootout, the guards stay at one place most off the times. they are scripted to stay there, shoot, duck. they dont move from their places to other places. i could go on, but this enough. way to overrated splinter cell. Expand
  27. LesliePoo
    Jun 24, 2003
    6
    What is the hype all about, it isn't that ''special''... the graphics are (compared to other games) not as good and astounding, it also got a lot of bugs wich don't give splintercell that ''special'' award, but its one hell of a spy game, its just that I really don't like way it's so lineair and boring... the sound reaaly makes What is the hype all about, it isn't that ''special''... the graphics are (compared to other games) not as good and astounding, it also got a lot of bugs wich don't give splintercell that ''special'' award, but its one hell of a spy game, its just that I really don't like way it's so lineair and boring... the sound reaaly makes me pissed because it is always the same shite the german-like voices say, "Get out, there must be arbeit" or something dopey they say, damn get it right with your games now!!! Don't get mad and looney because it isn't my type of game, end of story Expand
  28. J.Hill
    Jul 25, 2003
    10
    It is awesome, pure and simple. Those who complain about the clipping and physics (bodies going through walls) are ignorant as to software development. Is it irritating? Yes. Is it a worth-while trade off for what the devs spent their time and energy on? ABSOLUTELY! Same thing with the linearity issue. I don't like it either, but I am educated enough on games and software in general It is awesome, pure and simple. Those who complain about the clipping and physics (bodies going through walls) are ignorant as to software development. Is it irritating? Yes. Is it a worth-while trade off for what the devs spent their time and energy on? ABSOLUTELY! Same thing with the linearity issue. I don't like it either, but I am educated enough on games and software in general to understand that it was a design choice, not a short coming. When you see what the designers and devs have done in this game, it is pretty obvious to anyone with common sense why they had to design it in a linear fasion (perhaps to release it sometime this decade?). If you are tentative and may not like stealth/spy genre, go rent it. If you are into the black-ops genre, quite thinking and go get this game, you will not be disappointed. Collapse
  29. Josh
    Aug 24, 2003
    7
    Very nice looking game. Best in stealth ever,but I'm not real happy with games that a player has to have a strategy guide before the 3rd level. Very hard, probably because you have to do what the exactly what the game allows, nothing more nothing less!!!!!!
  30. JeffM.
    Dec 8, 2004
    10
    This game rocks it changed the way I look at stealth gaming and I still have yet to play Pandora Tomorow but I know it will be good.
  31. JayZ.
    Feb 3, 2004
    7
    A spectacular piece of eye candy, no doubt, but the AI was either too smart for humans or too incompetent for 3-year olds. Good storyline but way too much trial and error. Its just too bad there isn't an online co-op mode too play around with like Socom. Great game that just lacks depth.
  32. HitmanD.
    Apr 18, 2004
    9
    Awesome game, all the people rating it below 9 are doing so cos they sucked at it and find it too hard.
  33. MaccaMan
    Nov 15, 2002
    10
    What a great game this is. The graphics are far superior to any game on any console. This game rocks. It?s better than mettle gear solid easily. This is a must buy for any XBOX owner. I love the fact that this game uses stealth excellently in conjunction with brute force. You are able to meddle with anything in the game, from radios to walls. Amazingly realistic and incredibly fun and What a great game this is. The graphics are far superior to any game on any console. This game rocks. It?s better than mettle gear solid easily. This is a must buy for any XBOX owner. I love the fact that this game uses stealth excellently in conjunction with brute force. You are able to meddle with anything in the game, from radios to walls. Amazingly realistic and incredibly fun and thinking game-play. :) Expand
  34. BradS.
    Nov 18, 2002
    10
    Thanks a lot gamespot! I can't beleive you published that review! I am very disappointed in you, please go unf.... yourselves.
  35. HarryJ.
    Nov 18, 2002
    10
    Splinter Cell is just MAGNIFICENT!
  36. JordanC.
    Nov 20, 2002
    10
    I played the demo, best game I have ever played.
  37. BurnBit
    Nov 22, 2002
    10
    Amazing! This is better than any James Bond movie!!
  38. MikelK.
    Nov 23, 2002
    10
    This game is so cool.
  39. [Anonymous]
    Nov 25, 2002
    10
    Deeper, more satsifying stealth experience than MGS. Unreal graphics and sound. Highly reccomended.
  40. JeiEl
    Nov 29, 2002
    10
    F***ing cool game!! Game of year!!
  41. TomS.
    Nov 6, 2002
    10
    I haven't played the full version, but I have a demo, and boy is it great. I thought Metal Gear Solid was revoultionary in all of the abilities that you have; this blows it away. Not only is Sam Fisher more of a bad ass than Solid Snake, he looks a hell of a lot better too. This game has the best graphics of any game before it. Any game! And the stealth action is the best to date; if I haven't played the full version, but I have a demo, and boy is it great. I thought Metal Gear Solid was revoultionary in all of the abilities that you have; this blows it away. Not only is Sam Fisher more of a bad ass than Solid Snake, he looks a hell of a lot better too. This game has the best graphics of any game before it. Any game! And the stealth action is the best to date; if you're not hiding you will almost certainly be killed. What a game! Expand
  42. AnishK.
    Dec 15, 2002
    10
    Splinter Cell is by far the greatest game ever created. The graphics are absolutely stunning and the sound is spectacular. The game is incredibly imersive and the level design is better than anything else out there. This is what videogames are all about. In a word: FLAWLESS.
  43. JoshB.
    Dec 6, 2002
    10
    J. Smile says that Splinter Cell is too linear, and then pines for Halo 2 - Well, the original Halo had arrows on the floors telling you which way to go, and locked doors that you weren't supposed to go through - hows that for linear? Don't get me wrong - I have both games and fully believe they are the two best games ever made. I'm just bothered that people knock this game J. Smile says that Splinter Cell is too linear, and then pines for Halo 2 - Well, the original Halo had arrows on the floors telling you which way to go, and locked doors that you weren't supposed to go through - hows that for linear? Don't get me wrong - I have both games and fully believe they are the two best games ever made. I'm just bothered that people knock this game for being linear, when the game type doesn't really lend itself to open-endedness? If you or I worked for the NSA, do you think they'd tolerate us working in our own manner or at our own pace? HELL NO!!!!! You get an objective, and you go out there and accomplish it, that's the way it works. As for the game itself, it is beautiful, stunning, and all of my PS2 & Vice City-owning friends are jealous and constantly begging to play it. Splinter Cell is a work of genius, congratulations to the people who made this, and good luck to Sony, you can only hope that some day, you can get a game that looks half as good and plays half as smoothly!!!!! Expand
  44. GregO.
    Dec 8, 2002
    10
    This game is what every video game needs to have, action, 10/10 graphics, great gameplay, and sweet story.
  45. FranF.
    Jan 15, 2003
    8
    This game will blow you away for sure! Even the most cynical individual will drop their glass jaw in awe of the graphics. While I still hold MGS2 dear in my heart, Splinter Cell comes close. It ditches the oddball storyline of it's cousin in favor of a more real-world situation. No super-terrorist vampires here, folks. However, this game is about stealth and that means one little This game will blow you away for sure! Even the most cynical individual will drop their glass jaw in awe of the graphics. While I still hold MGS2 dear in my heart, Splinter Cell comes close. It ditches the oddball storyline of it's cousin in favor of a more real-world situation. No super-terrorist vampires here, folks. However, this game is about stealth and that means one little screw up and it could mean starting from the last time you saved. But trust me, when you start your first mission ziplining into a burning building, just be sure not to stare too much. After all, you gotta play the game too. :) Expand
  46. BlaD.
    Mar 11, 2003
    10
    Good game buy it now!
  47. BruceF.
    Apr 24, 2003
    10
    Its great.
  48. BenardB.
    Apr 28, 2003
    0
    This game sucks!!
  49. 2-D
    Apr 28, 2003
    9
    Very good game but the PC version can be better control wise.
  50. SeanoB.
    Jun 16, 2003
    10
    It's worth the $$$!!
  51. IanC.
    Aug 12, 2003
    10
    One awesome game! It would be a tie with MGS.
  52. JustinM.
    Jan 18, 2004
    9
    One of my favorite games eva. The ai could use a little improvement but the game was awesome.
  53. JuanC.
    Nov 15, 2002
    10
    Played the demo and I having been playing the demo over and over again because a lot of times you notice new ways to finish and to unlock extra lock doors with a limited lock picks.
  54. Alex
    Nov 18, 2002
    10
    First one at my local EB to get this game seeing how I picked it up soon as the packages arrived. Playing about 8 hours into this game all I can say is "WOW". Not only did it surpasse my expectations but it killed my lust for all my other games I currently own. This game is the kind that makes you wonder why you wasted your time playing all those other games in the past.
  55. Zman
    Nov 18, 2002
    10
    FU..ING BAD ASS! ONE OF THE BEST THIS YEAR!!
  56. JimS.
    Nov 18, 2002
    10
    Wow this game is unbeliveable from the graphics to the gameplay! This game will go unmatched for a while, so do yourself a favor and buy this and forget metal gear solid 2.
  57. BobH.
    Nov 22, 2002
    10
    This is the game that Metal Gear Solid 2 should have been. A true masterpiece of gameplay, graphics, and story. Run, don't walk, and buy it now!
  58. CharlieM.
    Nov 23, 2002
    10
    This is a great game. metal gear solid 2 is no match compared to this game. this game has great graphics and fun game play. this game is almost as good as the mighty Halo.
  59. DrewT.
    Nov 23, 2002
    10
    Canidate for game of the year. A complete blast and for the "4" rating, the controlls are fine. A must have for the shooter lovers. Complete recommendation!!!!!!
  60. HeweyR.
    Nov 24, 2002
    10
    My pick for game of the year. Controls are easy, graphics are great, and it has a great story.
  61. Vududude
    Nov 26, 2002
    9
    Absolutely amazing graphics. The tension that the game creates had my heart pounding. I'm not giving it a 10 though, since there are a few annoying quirks in the game. But overall I'm having as much fun playing this game as Halo.
  62. Merxx
    Nov 29, 2002
    10
    Totally insane cool. Its in my head !! Its in my head !! I've started looking at shadows for places to hide--- In my kitchen !! Great story ! Great graphics, Great camera control. Great everything !! This game goes to eleven (11). Halo peer, HalfLife killer. I'm making to much noise !! (You'll get it when you play the game)
  63. MatC.
    Dec 13, 2002
    10
    Game of the year. From UbiSoft?? The world must be just about done... Fantastic, though linear play. That's what this game is - it's action w/ problem solving. If you have a short fuse, get a strategy guide. It's HARD.
  64. CannibalClown
    Dec 22, 2002
    10
    Halo and Splinter Cell r, hands down, the best games in the world.
  65. AlexS.
    Dec 26, 2002
    10
    THIS GAME ROCKS. Has the best graphics on any system.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 46
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 46
  3. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. 84
    If ever there was a game to show off the Xbox, this is it.
  2. This is a very linear game, and... one can't but feel it's a wasted opportunity to limit the player's freedom in choosing how to approach a situation.
  3. 100
    Realistic scenarios in realistic environments add to Splinter Cell’s tantalizing world of covert operations. With a strong overall package of incredible features, the stealth/action genre has a new hero.