User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 27
  2. Negative: 4 out of 27

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. bobdabuilder
    Apr 27, 2006
    7
    besides the fact its basically a gta rip off(you can free roam and kll anyone) its great!
  2. ArmandilloD.
    Sep 7, 2005
    1
    This game is just BORING... the city is very boring... missions are boring etc... Wannebe gta, but fails badly ALMOST everything sucks in this game.
  3. ChrisB
    Jan 28, 2005
    6
    True Crime was one of the first games I got for Xbox. It's clearly meant to be a GTA-killer - it has many of the same gameplay elements. The problem is execution. Where GTA and GTA-VC feel like very "solid", with seamless passage between driving and on foot action, True Crime feels awkward in both. The cars don't handle well, and the fighting is more geared towards fans of True Crime was one of the first games I got for Xbox. It's clearly meant to be a GTA-killer - it has many of the same gameplay elements. The problem is execution. Where GTA and GTA-VC feel like very "solid", with seamless passage between driving and on foot action, True Crime feels awkward in both. The cars don't handle well, and the fighting is more geared towards fans of fighting games. There are special moves and combos and things like that. The missions themselves are very run of the mill, and are direct ripoffs from Grand Theft Auto - kill this guy, drive across town in a certain amount of time, etc etc, but True Crime is completely devoid of the humor or originality that some of the missions in Grand Theft Auto game possess. It's also a lot shorter than any of the previous GTA games. One thing that's pretty good about True Crime is the enormous map. It's HUGE. Most of LA is in this game. It's not as impressive now that GTA San Andreas has come out, but True Crime deserves credit for the being the first game of it's kind to have a game world this big. It's a shame the huge city isn't used more by the game. The other problem is that there isn't a whole lot going on. True Crime's city doesn't seem to have as much "life" to it as Grand Theft Auto series games do. There are random crimes that you can choose to help solve, but there isn't a big variety of them at all, and they're pretty boring once you've done a few. While I didn't experience any of the crash bugs that other people have, I did find a few cutscene bugs (the wrong cutscene playing for example). All in all, it's a shoddy GTA rip off, and your much better served picking up ANY of the GTA games if you want this type of game, especially GTA: San Andreas. Collapse
  4. GamerBoy
    Sep 17, 2004
    8
    I like this game because it is Huge in the citys. The game has 400 miles of map witch i think is very good for a Xbox game. but they have not a very BIG database of people that walk the streets. I think the fuuny bit of this game is the way you can stop the people and check them it's cool. Also the way that nick fight it very cool, i would gave the sorryline a 7 out of 10 because it I like this game because it is Huge in the citys. The game has 400 miles of map witch i think is very good for a Xbox game. but they have not a very BIG database of people that walk the streets. I think the fuuny bit of this game is the way you can stop the people and check them it's cool. Also the way that nick fight it very cool, i would gave the sorryline a 7 out of 10 because it is all the same for game of this sort! and do you not think they the "game maker" so have put in better car or for all those gta loavers out there a honda V1 bike I like this game in the whole but they may have to edit bits for the next True Crime game Thanks, GAMERBOY Expand
  5. HolleH.
    May 18, 2004
    5
    Fighting scenes are good but driving are not so great as in GTA series and shooting scenes are stupid and music sucks against Vice City.
  6. K.F.
    Apr 22, 2004
    3
    Very poor.
  7. Adam
    Mar 16, 2004
    1
    Firstly I finished this game in 3 nights, and 1 night was spent trying to get my status from bad cop back to good cop, it was just crap they spouted about having an option of being either of these as you cannot complete the game fully without being good. The game crashed relentlessly, my hand brake would lock on occasionally. There are very few different crimes to assist in which gets Firstly I finished this game in 3 nights, and 1 night was spent trying to get my status from bad cop back to good cop, it was just crap they spouted about having an option of being either of these as you cannot complete the game fully without being good. The game crashed relentlessly, my hand brake would lock on occasionally. There are very few different crimes to assist in which gets very tedious. Coupled with a bizarre nonsensical storyline and no repeat gameplay, this was and remains my biggest disappointment in an Xbox title and I've owned a few stinkers. The game was far too easy, I finished the last portion of the game without stopping or saving. LA is mundane to drive around in, most of the map is pointless some of my time was spent repeatedly failing at getting across town in time for a needless mission. Do the right thing, avoid it, or trade yours in after a week like I did. Expand
  8. Loothor
    Feb 27, 2004
    6
    The control set suffers from extremely poor design and implementation. Unfortunately, this takes a lot of the fun out of what could be a very fun game. Other than that, the map is great but not really taken advantage of and the graphics in general are fair at best. The game's best feature is it's soundtrack, which unfortunately is probably the thing most people care the least The control set suffers from extremely poor design and implementation. Unfortunately, this takes a lot of the fun out of what could be a very fun game. Other than that, the map is great but not really taken advantage of and the graphics in general are fair at best. The game's best feature is it's soundtrack, which unfortunately is probably the thing most people care the least about. If you loved the latest GTA games you will like this game. Cast a very suspicious eye upon anyone who tells you this game is as good or better than other games in this category, however. Expand
  9. Kvan33
    Dec 30, 2003
    7
    Overrated game. Controls are very frustrating. None of the modes (driving, fighting, & shooting) are done very well. The graphics are painfull. I mean is it too much to ask to be able to read a highway exit sign? However, I have to give credit for the ambitious nature of this game. It is fun roaming the L.A. landscape, and there is plenty of it. Don't get your expectations too hight Overrated game. Controls are very frustrating. None of the modes (driving, fighting, & shooting) are done very well. The graphics are painfull. I mean is it too much to ask to be able to read a highway exit sign? However, I have to give credit for the ambitious nature of this game. It is fun roaming the L.A. landscape, and there is plenty of it. Don't get your expectations too hight and check your brain at the door. Then enjoy. Expand
  10. JamesH.
    Dec 30, 2003
    4
    The one thing that really amazed me about this game was the scale to which the developers mapped Los Angeles. The playing area encompasses 240 square miles and this must have entailed an immense amount of effort and time to achieve. Its a shame then that this environment is left largely unused and there is no motivation to expore it (no hidden packages like Vice City). The parts of the The one thing that really amazed me about this game was the scale to which the developers mapped Los Angeles. The playing area encompasses 240 square miles and this must have entailed an immense amount of effort and time to achieve. Its a shame then that this environment is left largely unused and there is no motivation to expore it (no hidden packages like Vice City). The parts of the game that take place in this enourmous environment are largely limited to intervention in street crimes and car chases. The latter of which is pretty good fun for the first dozen or so times (shooting out the perps gas tank in slo-mo to make the car flip over is pretty cool) but eventually becomes a little dull. The rest of the game takes the form of mini missions which involve either sneaking around a building to reach an objective or shooting lots of bad guys using Max Payne style bullet time dives. This too is pretty good fun but after a while this too becomes a little tedious. There are also several fight sequences where your character is called upon to fight a boss (or series of bosses). These fights can be tricky and luckily these missions can usually be skipped in order to progress the game. All these game elements can be improved by a kind of RPG style 'levelling up system' and some of these upgrades are helpful for getting you through some of the tougher parts of the game. Ultimately this game dissapoints on two levels. Firstly that whilst all the game types are enjoyable enough (for a little while anyway) there is no real overall feeling of coherence between them, nor is the enourmous game world truly used as at least half the plot takes part in confined locations. Secondly and perhaps most importantly the game is too short. It took me about 8-10 hours to complete it and there really is no motivation to continue playing once done.... Expand
  11. Mr.BT
    Nov 20, 2003
    6
    A mish-mash of the best parts of other games (max payne, gta, vigilante 8) dumbed down into an awkwardly controlled linear storyline. There is nothing new or fantastic about this title, and I wish I didn't buy it. The free-roaming is handled poorly with collision detection problems and pretty dull landscape graphics. A rental at best.
  12. MarcusC.
    Nov 16, 2003
    9
    True Crime is just a few steps away from perfection. Yes this game has it's problems but what game doesn't.Most of the reviews that I see online try to compare this game to GTA series. Which is just plain stupid. Both Vice city and True Crime are great games but just because you can drive and shoot in a game doesn't make them similiar or linked more than tennis games to True Crime is just a few steps away from perfection. Yes this game has it's problems but what game doesn't.Most of the reviews that I see online try to compare this game to GTA series. Which is just plain stupid. Both Vice city and True Crime are great games but just because you can drive and shoot in a game doesn't make them similiar or linked more than tennis games to hockey games.I say that if you cant decide: TAKE THEM BOTH! Bottomline is that: True Crime is an excellent game with endless amount of playtime due to the random crimes engine. Go buy it! Expand
  13. MatthewS.G.
    Nov 11, 2003
    10
    I would like to give it a 10, but ever since I got it, it's been giving me all these damned DISC READ ERROR messages, I wonder if anyone else has this problem?
  14. PaulI.
    Nov 11, 2003
    10
    This game is 1 of the best games ever. exceeds gta in everyway, the blowing up cars (wiv a nicely timed shot to the gas tank) the fightin sequences ....everything is amazing. u have to own this game! u choose to be a bad or good cop , u choose to arrest, kill shoot or neutralize shoot ur criminals. frisk people whenever you want makes u feel that bit more like a cop! get it!!
  15. Jimbob
    Nov 11, 2003
    10
    Cool.
  16. BrianK.
    Nov 11, 2003
    10
    True Crime Streets of L.A. is a really great game!! Way bigger,better,and more depth than GTA3 and Vice!! U just gotta get this game for Christmas!!!!!
  17. RavenX301
    Nov 10, 2003
    10
    P.S---WAY better then Vice City (A.K.A- way more depth)
  18. TarasI.
    Nov 7, 2003
    10
    this game is the best ,sweet graphics and game play .P.S.beter then vice city.
  19. DanT.
    Nov 6, 2003
    9
    Great stuff...takes a couple hours to really "get it". By that I mean, you have to know which crimes you're capable of responding to without killing anybody -- because if you accidentally kill dudes you lose points, and you need points in order to "level up" your skills, which make everything easier. Graphics are basically flawless...the one thing that really warrants frustration (so Great stuff...takes a couple hours to really "get it". By that I mean, you have to know which crimes you're capable of responding to without killing anybody -- because if you accidentally kill dudes you lose points, and you need points in order to "level up" your skills, which make everything easier. Graphics are basically flawless...the one thing that really warrants frustration (so far) is the camera. All the controls are fully customizable, except for the horizontal movement on the right thumbstick. I haven't gotten used to it turning left when I think it'll go right, but that just takes practice. Complicated controls, which usually makes for a better game (I think) . There's tons of stuff to do. In summation, I have to mention how cool it is when you're busting a criminal and he jacks a car, so you jack a car and chase after him, firing your gun out the window, etc. It's like a cop movie...and very well done. Highly recommended. Expand
  20. ThijqD.
    Nov 6, 2003
    10
    This game is great!
  21. Dave
    Nov 5, 2003
    9
    Well first of all, I think it's a great game. very expansive, with certain cars more predominant in certain areas of the enormous map. At first I was thinking the game kind of sucked. Took some getting used to the controls, and you need to go to the upgrade places to learn new skills, which ultimately make the game much better, and adds incentive to go about the city and solve random Well first of all, I think it's a great game. very expansive, with certain cars more predominant in certain areas of the enormous map. At first I was thinking the game kind of sucked. Took some getting used to the controls, and you need to go to the upgrade places to learn new skills, which ultimately make the game much better, and adds incentive to go about the city and solve random crimes to earn these upgrades. The only agitating thing is when some little bastard makes a run for it and you have to chase his ass all over the place, just to have him steal someone else's car if you're not careful and drive off in it. Cool stuff though, drive around town, shoot out tires to stop a vehicle, or the gas tank for an interesting outcome. The AI drivers also seema little more intelligent, clog up a road? they'll back up and try to drive around, or run over you if you don't pay attention. Annoying sometimes? yes. But more interesting for sure. Overall it's a fun game with tons of replay value, and incentive to go on. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. But undeniably, Luxoflux have delivered BIG on their biggest undertaking to date, and have thus elevated True Crime: Streets of LA to sequel-worthy status.
  2. As a place, Los Angeles simply isn't as much fun as Liberty or Vice. Too much of this silicon LA exists simply because the designers wanted to show that it could be done rather than because it serves any gameplay purpose. [Christmas 2003, p.107]
  3. The hand-to-hand combat is, despite a handful of unlockable combos, pure button-mashing chaos. There's a clever fight in which you shove your opponent into a fiery stove, but that's the only strategic scrap.