World Series Baseball 2K3 Xbox

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 1 out of 13

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DRGreenthumbMD
    Jun 8, 2003
    8
    Realistic simulation but wish the players looked more true to life!
  2. KeithY.
    Mar 14, 2003
    10
    Graphics are incredible, very smooth camera w/no shimmering when panning the field. When pitching, turn off vibration, strike zone and pitch cursor - this forces you to be honest as a pitcher, since your location when throwing strikes shouldn't be automatic. Batting w/cursor is tough to learn, but worthwhile. Go to Big League Challenge and use all 8 players with perfect strikes until Graphics are incredible, very smooth camera w/no shimmering when panning the field. When pitching, turn off vibration, strike zone and pitch cursor - this forces you to be honest as a pitcher, since your location when throwing strikes shouldn't be automatic. Batting w/cursor is tough to learn, but worthwhile. Go to Big League Challenge and use all 8 players with perfect strikes until you get the hang of hitting liners/placement. But again, the best feature IMHO is to pitch as described above. Expand
  3. PedroG.
    Mar 19, 2003
    10
    I have not played a better baseball game in my lifel and I have played just about all since the days of Tony La Russa Baseball for the Sega - Genesis. This game is beautiful (eye candy is always a must for sport-simulation). The gameplay and control is out of this world. Franchise is great, even better than lastyear's. The only thing I don't like about the game is the power I have not played a better baseball game in my lifel and I have played just about all since the days of Tony La Russa Baseball for the Sega - Genesis. This game is beautiful (eye candy is always a must for sport-simulation). The gameplay and control is out of this world. Franchise is great, even better than lastyear's. The only thing I don't like about the game is the power swing option. When Barry Bonds comes to the plate he does not choses between a power and a contact swing. Expand
  4. ToneyM.
    Mar 19, 2003
    10
    WSB for the Xbox last season was a really good game w/ a few pot holes. Visual Concepts & Blue Shift filled every pot hole and then some in WSB2K3. The game plays so smooth it hard to complain about anything. If you're having trouble w/ something you can either adjust it or turn it off or on. It's the best looking and the best playing baseball game out there. It may not have all WSB for the Xbox last season was a really good game w/ a few pot holes. Visual Concepts & Blue Shift filled every pot hole and then some in WSB2K3. The game plays so smooth it hard to complain about anything. If you're having trouble w/ something you can either adjust it or turn it off or on. It's the best looking and the best playing baseball game out there. It may not have all the little things some of these other baseball games have but the amount of stuff missing between all the games are so small you wouldn't miss it anyway. It has one thing all the other games are missing the ESPN license. The best in sports videogames and the world wide leader in sports = sports gaming heaven. Don't bother w/ the rest when you could be playing w/ the best WSB2K3. Expand
  5. CharlesP.
    Apr 2, 2003
    8
    This is definitely one of the best baseball titles I have come across in a very long time. I really have only one complaint: Where is the Xbox Live support? I really expected to be able to play this online after every other Sega 2K3 game did. What gives? Anyway, it's still fun. I just wish I could play with people that won't raid my fridge and drink my beer (because they are This is definitely one of the best baseball titles I have come across in a very long time. I really have only one complaint: Where is the Xbox Live support? I really expected to be able to play this online after every other Sega 2K3 game did. What gives? Anyway, it's still fun. I just wish I could play with people that won't raid my fridge and drink my beer (because they are 2000 miles away). Expand
  6. RobertR.
    Mar 13, 2003
    9
    So life-like you may catch yourself falling asleep, and forget you're PLAYING the game. With 3 different batting modes, (Regular curser, Curse and Power Meter, and Timing) you have all the competition games beat. Great graphics and crowd noise. Center field camera for when you are playing the CPU looks like television coverage and ESPN presentation are great innovations. Don?t rent, So life-like you may catch yourself falling asleep, and forget you're PLAYING the game. With 3 different batting modes, (Regular curser, Curse and Power Meter, and Timing) you have all the competition games beat. Great graphics and crowd noise. Center field camera for when you are playing the CPU looks like television coverage and ESPN presentation are great innovations. Don?t rent, save the $6.00 and buy it! Expand
  7. Dave
    Mar 17, 2003
    9
    WORLD SERIES BASEBALL 2K3 is definitely one of the best sports console games I have ever had the pleasure of playing. The game plays true to the sport of baseball while remaining extremely addictive in the gameplay. I highly recommend purchasing WS2K3 without hesitation. Graphics: 9 The only thing that prevented me from giving the graphics a perfect score was the crowd and dugout. WORLD SERIES BASEBALL 2K3 is definitely one of the best sports console games I have ever had the pleasure of playing. The game plays true to the sport of baseball while remaining extremely addictive in the gameplay. I highly recommend purchasing WS2K3 without hesitation. Graphics: 9 The only thing that prevented me from giving the graphics a perfect score was the crowd and dugout. Sound/Commentary: 9 It would have been nice to have have a more serious baseball dialogue between the announcers like All Star Baseball. Gameplay: 10 This is one of the most realistic gameplay experiences within a sports game. Longevity:10 I will be playing this game until the next edition of WS2K3 is released. This game is an absolute keeper. Buy it now. Expand
  8. JamesD.
    Apr 18, 2003
    9
    The only bad things i can say about this game is that it is to easy to steal bases,and there is no autofield which really dosent hurt the game , but i have played about fifteen games and already have over 100 stolen bases some guys have 2 or 3 steals a game and yes i have the ai turned up to legend and my slowest guys steal at will ,my user team is the kansas city royals.
  9. AllenD.
    Apr 29, 2003
    10
    10, 10, 10, 10...This game is a TEN! I love this game!
  10. GeorgeVas.
    Jul 10, 2003
    10
    I think that this game is mad hot but the base runners aren't as good as i thought it was going to be.
  11. JasonG.
    Jul 26, 2003
    9
    This game sounds really cool,i haven't bought it yep but i heard lots of good things about this game the only problem i heard about is that it is hard to hit the ball. Overall this game rocks.
  12. AdiJ.
    Mar 11, 2003
    9
    Simply a great game! Graphics the best in baseball games to date, those crappy graphics in ASB do not even compare. The unbelievable Franchise is exactly that -- unbelievable. The gameplay is unbelievable with tremendous catches and great player and stadium models. A whole lot more that bring the game of baseball to life. As any other game or anything on this world it's not perfect, Simply a great game! Graphics the best in baseball games to date, those crappy graphics in ASB do not even compare. The unbelievable Franchise is exactly that -- unbelievable. The gameplay is unbelievable with tremendous catches and great player and stadium models. A whole lot more that bring the game of baseball to life. As any other game or anything on this world it's not perfect, but those tiny flaws are barely if not present at all!!! If you have some cash to spend smartly on a game, buy this one . It's a keeper! Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Last year I called "World Series Baseball" the Mona Lisa of video baseball. This time around, it's even better. [Apr/May 2003, p.88]
  2. An amazing-looking game with some pretty serious muscle under the hood. If only the game actually played better - especially the batting - you'd have the "Madden" of baseball games. [Apr 2003, p.65]
  3. Sega Sports has made a few tweaks and improvements that push WSB 2K3 into a class all by itself.