10 Things I Hate About You

10 Things I Hate About You Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 195 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: A re-telling of Shakespeare's "The Taming of the Shrew," set in a modern-day Seattle high school.

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. 100
    It's a celebration of young American women, finding them smarter, tougher, shrewder, more rigorous, more persistent and more honest than any movie in many a moon.
  2. 90
    It goes straight to the top of the class. O can there be such a thing as too keen a guilty pleasure, particularly when the whole genre is knowingly pitched to audiences as a trashophile's delight? No, there cannot.
  3. What really elevates it, though, is the film's sharp wit and tender heart, both of which are conveyed beautifully by the fresh-faced cast.
  4. 70
    Anyone who hates '80s pop will find this movie awfully tiresome, but Stiles and her underage Petruchio (Australian actor Heath Ledger, as hunky as his name) are charismatic and bold enough to carry any romantic comedy.
  5. 63
    And yet ... gee, the movie is charming, despite its exhausted wheeze of an ancient recycled plot idea.
  6. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    60
    10 Things doesn't take much time before ditching its pitch idea in favor of a mishmash of newer formulas, never quite settling on a cogent game plan or directorial tone.
  7. It wimped out by blanding down the story and the characters to the point where she isn't really a shrew and he isn't really a maniac.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. AliceM.
    Mar 24, 2008
    10
    Relates to children of this era and tells them the story of Taming of the Shrew in a modern world. If Shakespeare was here today he would of Relates to children of this era and tells them the story of Taming of the Shrew in a modern world. If Shakespeare was here today he would of approved most probably! Expand
  2. Helen
    Jan 2, 2009
    10
    Love the film, but agree with the San Francisco Chronicles review, the charachters change far to much and it just seems to unrealistic. still Love the film, but agree with the San Francisco Chronicles review, the charachters change far to much and it just seems to unrealistic. still a great film! Expand
  3. Oct 18, 2014
    9
    Featuring what is to this day considered one of Julia Stiles finest performances (if not her finest), as well as a remarkably brilliantFeaturing what is to this day considered one of Julia Stiles finest performances (if not her finest), as well as a remarkably brilliant performance by Heath Ledger, making this teen flick one of the best teen movies to come out of the 90s. Expand
  4. SpencerD.
    Oct 27, 2008
    8
    What Brings It Up: Simply put, it's funny. What Brings It Down: Like most teen movies, it's kind of a silly plot. Overall, I'm What Brings It Up: Simply put, it's funny. What Brings It Down: Like most teen movies, it's kind of a silly plot. Overall, I'm not too fond of the teen genre, but this film sets an example that other ten films should strive to achieve. Expand
  5. Jun 12, 2015
    8
    Classic teen movie. Who could not love this movie? One of the best ever, with a great cast and an interesting story... (for what it is) PurelyClassic teen movie. Who could not love this movie? One of the best ever, with a great cast and an interesting story... (for what it is) Purely enjoyable. Expand
  6. Apr 29, 2015
    7
    I watched this again about a year ago and I still enjoyed the movie. Laugh out loud moments, and waves of nostalgia for my younger years.I watched this again about a year ago and I still enjoyed the movie. Laugh out loud moments, and waves of nostalgia for my younger years.

    Heath Ledger was funny and entertaining (and so young!).
    Expand
  7. Jul 3, 2016
    6
    WHAT I LIKED: '10 Things I hate about you' is actually a lot of fun because it doesn't take itself too seriously, but still manages to buildWHAT I LIKED: '10 Things I hate about you' is actually a lot of fun because it doesn't take itself too seriously, but still manages to build characters that we can connect to and care about.
    WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: Striking the balance on that though is always going to be tricky, and thus this film can't get away from just how cringe-worthy it is, but in taking itself less seriously, it ends up fairly story-less
    VERDICT: For what it is it's one hell of an enjoyable ride - even if it doesn't quite hit the right balance between emotional moments, and spoof comedy.
    Expand

See all 32 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.