User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 497 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 497

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 7, 2011
    1
    I feel so sorry for James Franco being stuck with such horrible direction. I felt like I was seeing a 60s movie with the sepia tones over the flashbacks. How ridiculous. The shot through the bottom of the water bottle was so trite (and also a little disgusting). I guess it was hard to make a movie about stupid guy getting caught in bad situation because of his own stupidity but a director might have made a difference. The movie is horrible and a waste of money. Expand
  2. Nov 26, 2010
    3
    I don't usually go to movies where I know the ending unless I have read the book and the book was great. This is a interesting story with a message. The message however was blurred for me by what seem to be overreaching attempts to be creative. The crowded hustle and bustle flashes were out of place and could have been done much better to fit the film. Instead they are just a distraction. James Franco is very good in his role as Aron Ralston which is fortunate for the filmmaker because he's really the only character in the film. Expand
  3. Jan 10, 2011
    0
    Guy is roaming around canyons. Meets 2 chicks randomly and establishes himself as a bad ass by being a quirky but funny and amusing wackjob. They invite him to a party later. Oh how bad ass you are, canyon-biker-adventurer guy. Guy randomly taking pictures of things. Guy jumps down dangerous crevice for no reason, and immediately gets arm jammed. Rest of movie is guy yelling about his arm jammed, and trying to get his arm unstuck. Memories, nightmare and premonitions as filler in between his trying to get his arm unstuck. Pretty much a lot of the same stuff you see from survival adventure movies/books. Reminds me of the "stuck in mt everest" survival stories, but much more boring. A lot of it relies on shock and gore. People who have lurked the internets for too long will not find this interesting. Expand
  4. Feb 6, 2011
    0
    I found it to be extremely boring and actually and a struggle to keep from leaving midway through. Perhaps if one is stricly looking for "artistic content" or some philosophical extension on the :meaning of life" perhaps one can see the interest. Have a movie about a half wit who does a series of stupid mistakes and shows off to a couple oif girls, and then get an Oscar nomination for this! Bottom line a complete waste of time and money even to see it as a rental! Expand
  5. Apr 21, 2011
    0
    A waste of time - reading a five line storyline is just as rewarding as seeing this film. Sure, it's a true and painful story, but you don't have to give high scores out of sympathy for a guy stupid enough to get himself into that situation. And, there's no higher meaning to this film/story and no fundamental truth to be learned. There's even not enough beautiful scenery to make it worthwhile.
  6. Aug 5, 2011
    3
    I didn't like this movie. Honestly it is pretty much boring. The acting is good but it is totally wasted here. There are only a few parts were it gets interesting and then after a few minutes it gets boring again. i don't know why this movie has positive reviews.
  7. Feb 26, 2011
    0
    go to work and stop climbing rocks like a baby! immature guy!
    go to work and stop climbing rocks like a baby! immature guy!
    go to work and stop climbing rocks like a baby! immature guy!
  8. Mar 3, 2011
    0
    After watching the first 15 minutes, during which not one meaningful word or sentence had been uttered, but which nauseated me because of the horrible fast-switch editing (it felt like a commercial for Nike), I fast forwarded because everything was just so extremely predictable and boring. In addition, in the first 5 minutes of the movie, there are at least 20 brand names clearly visible. That is usually not done, unless you get paid for it the brands.
    I cannot believe that this flick was nominated for an Oscar...how low can you go ?
    Expand
  9. May 21, 2011
    1
    The thing about Aaron Ralston is - thereâ
  10. Feb 18, 2011
    3
    This feels like a long Music Video. The could be much more focus on storytelling and skip the creative play with new camera functions. There was so much more potential to tell a great adventure story with lots of "real" flashbacks as well some more information about the rescue at work. Movies like these should also not be afraid to provide a much longer epilogue to give perspective to the events and the life of a nut case. Expand
  11. Mar 6, 2011
    0
    Not a single negative review by critics? Looks so strange to me.None even acquainted with the story by Jack London "Love of life"?.Ok Ok everybody just doing his job-critics,producers and movie goers.The bottom line?I am sorry for all aforementioned ..and actors as well..
  12. Jun 11, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Is it watchable? No. Plot: Super-duper idiot steps on loose boulder wedged between canyon. Falls down. Nothing happens for 1.5 hours apart from him doing stupid stuff like drinking all his water instantly. Looks at knife. Knife is blunt. Checks again 1 second later. Is sharp as can be. Cuts arm off (takes suprisingly long.). Puts wound in bag which he urinated in. Runs off. Helicopter spawns out of nowhere to whisk him off. The end! Review: it sucks badly. Expand
  13. Oct 7, 2011
    2
    Insanely dull, highly linear storyline (if there's even a storyline) that gives no surprise - i knew how it was going to end right at the start of the incident... And the protagonist claims he's an engineer in front of a real engineer that is me? With his various stupid, un-engineering acts? C'mon, a very very bad move. To invoke empathy & **** With its ****ty, 'incoherent' rock music soundtrack? i dun think so... Expand
  14. Mar 26, 2012
    3
    What a shame. After such a glorious win for Danny Boyle for Slumdog, this is unfortunately a piece of trash. I give credit where credit is due though. The directing style was different, and it was an unusual story from the rest of Hollywood crap. However, in the end it did nothing for me. James Franco was annoying and mediocre at best. It was dreadful to watch and the second time I saw it was worse. Collapse
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Damon Wise
    Jan 3, 2011
    80
    A surprisingly fun, effervescent against-the-odds drama that offers an upbeat moral without the usual punishing survival-story clich├ęs. Not for the faint-hearted, mind.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Nov 24, 2010
    91
    It's gory and gut-wrenching but strangely life-affirming.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Nov 24, 2010
    100
    127 Hours -- just like "Slumdog Millionaire" -- is a masterful slice of four-star cinema, featuring an irresistible performance by James Franco, breathtaking cinematography, and the kind of deep, searching soul that is absent from so much of what comes out of Hollywood.