Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Christy Lemire
    Apr 18, 2014
    75
    Darkly funny and deeply twisted, 13 Sins grabs you from its startling opening sequence and doesn’t let go.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Lowe
    Apr 16, 2014
    60
    Creepy enough to get the job done, but not sufficiently extreme to fulfill the initial setup.
  3. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    Apr 16, 2014
    60
    [Webber's] performance is crazy good, and so emotionally charged that viewers may be forgiving of a finale overloaded with silly twists.
  4. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Apr 17, 2014
    50
    13 Sins is occasionally inventive but mostly uninvolving.
  5. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Apr 17, 2014
    50
    The horror flick 13 Sins is passable enough when it comes to dialing up the suspense, but the “Saw” formula of a mysterious voice guiding our hero through a series of depravities has gone a bit stale.
  6. Reviewed by: Nick Prigge
    Apr 13, 2014
    50
    Daniel Stamm's film is solidly helmed, if expectedly over-reliant on unnecessarily grisly comeuppances that leave nothing to the imagination.
  7. Reviewed by: Nikola Grozdanovic
    Apr 28, 2014
    42
    This is one of those mind games that lean too heavily on the mindless to be thoroughly enjoyable, turning sadistic pleasure into harmless boredom.
  8. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Apr 16, 2014
    42
    When the fly trapped in the spider's web is as clueless and selfish as the sap played by Mark Webber in 13 Sins, it's hard to muster much sympathy.
  9. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Apr 16, 2014
    40
    This ultimately isn’t a film about human fallibility, but about high-concept grotesquerie for its own sake.
  10. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Mar 10, 2014
    40
    Achieves a modest degree of tension and dark humor before tilting into gory overkill, while its diffuse central ideas — about materialism, the dangers of playing God and the latent human capacity for violence — never really take plausible shape.
  11. Reviewed by: Martin Tsai
    Apr 17, 2014
    30
    A "Saw" knockoff without the torture porn.
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. May 4, 2014
    8
    13 Sins is brutal, mainstream terror. I watched it online and I not only was hooked all the way to the end, but also thinking of what a hell13 Sins is brutal, mainstream terror. I watched it online and I not only was hooked all the way to the end, but also thinking of what a hell of an idea. Well done performances from all the actors and the there is likable characters too. Every film has its SINS, this movie just becomes a bit boring and repetitive an hour in and it is disappointing. However, you have to see 13 Sins, it is highly recommended! Full Review »
  2. Jan 15, 2015
    5
    A fairly entertaining movie however not in the least bit original. The other problem with this film is that the ending leaves everythingA fairly entertaining movie however not in the least bit original. The other problem with this film is that the ending leaves everything unresolved. In typical horror movie fashion it leaves it open for sequels but at the same time the movie doesn't really leave you wanting more. Full Review »
  3. Nov 17, 2014
    7
    It really bothers me when I like a film that is clearly a rip off of another film. 13 Sins is nothing more than a horror writers take on 12It really bothers me when I like a film that is clearly a rip off of another film. 13 Sins is nothing more than a horror writers take on 12 Rounds. There are no wrestlers in this one, although I'm pretty sure Ron Perlman would have made a great one. This film is about a game, millionaires have played for decades, a game that has become more prolific and a lot more fun, with the advent of modern technology. A seemingly random person receives a call telling them that they've been selected for a game show. The subject completes simple tasks and starts earning money, but as the prize goes up, so does the danger. Once the subject is a wanted felon, they must finish the game and earn the grand prize or they could be spending the rest of their lives behind bars. Veteran character actor, Mark Webber, stars in 13 Sins and he was a very odd choice for a leading man. Webber is this small nerdy guy, who seems like he wouldn't be the type to play this game, no matter the reward. Like many others, Webber is suckered in an soon becomes a wanted man, he is being chased by a local detective, played by Ron Perlman. The casting created a very awkward dynamic, as the "good guy" is this huge scary guy, and the "bad guy" is this little nerdy guy, but somehow it works. 13 Sins is certainly more horrific and crazy than 12 Rounds was, however the similarities between the two are so similar that I'm surprised WWE Films didn't attempt to halt it's release. I loved the idea of 12 Rounds and 13 Sins is just taking the same idea to an extreme, but despite the clear similarities, and the odd choice of casting, it's still a thrilling film that was definitely entertaining. Full Review »