User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 4, 2014
    8
    13 Sins is brutal, mainstream terror. I watched it online and I not only was hooked all the way to the end, but also thinking of what a hell of an idea. Well done performances from all the actors and the there is likable characters too. Every film has its SINS, this movie just becomes a bit boring and repetitive an hour in and it is disappointing. However, you have to see 13 Sins, it is highly recommended! Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2014
    7
    It really bothers me when I like a film that is clearly a rip off of another film. 13 Sins is nothing more than a horror writers take on 12 Rounds. There are no wrestlers in this one, although I'm pretty sure Ron Perlman would have made a great one. This film is about a game, millionaires have played for decades, a game that has become more prolific and a lot more fun, with the advent of modern technology. A seemingly random person receives a call telling them that they've been selected for a game show. The subject completes simple tasks and starts earning money, but as the prize goes up, so does the danger. Once the subject is a wanted felon, they must finish the game and earn the grand prize or they could be spending the rest of their lives behind bars. Veteran character actor, Mark Webber, stars in 13 Sins and he was a very odd choice for a leading man. Webber is this small nerdy guy, who seems like he wouldn't be the type to play this game, no matter the reward. Like many others, Webber is suckered in an soon becomes a wanted man, he is being chased by a local detective, played by Ron Perlman. The casting created a very awkward dynamic, as the "good guy" is this huge scary guy, and the "bad guy" is this little nerdy guy, but somehow it works. 13 Sins is certainly more horrific and crazy than 12 Rounds was, however the similarities between the two are so similar that I'm surprised WWE Films didn't attempt to halt it's release. I loved the idea of 12 Rounds and 13 Sins is just taking the same idea to an extreme, but despite the clear similarities, and the odd choice of casting, it's still a thrilling film that was definitely entertaining. Expand
  3. Jun 2, 2014
    3
    A silly, dumb pile of garbage. The movie isn't clever enough and becomes even more unrealistic and corny as time goes by. It wasn't thrilling or scary.
  4. Apr 27, 2014
    9
    This is what someone would make if Saw and Chess were together. That's what 13 Sins is. The movie starts out slow and ends slow as well. But the entertaining plot and the strong performances make it more than just a bargain theatre horror porn. When I mean this movie is crazy, it's super crazy. Plot twists, direction and story is done really well. This one really is much more than its aiming for. Providing great action scenes, awesome plot twists and a bloody 70s game show style- 13 Sins is one of the best VOD movies of the year, it's scary, twisted and bloody fun. Expand
  5. Aug 10, 2014
    3
    Positives: The performances are solid, early parts kept my interest
    Negatives: The 2nd half, a ridiculous script, lost interest
    Overview: The concept is interesting similar to David Fincher's The Game or Saw, unfortunately this falls way short of both.
    Grade: D+
  6. Jul 26, 2014
    7
    probably one of the better movies I've seen on Netflix lately and a nice decent horror/crime movie to watch ...its smart , suspenseful and keeps you on the edge of your seat.
  7. Aug 5, 2014
    7
    With a plot that never seems to die down, 13 Sins brings a new level of horror that overtakes many psychological monster films, especially when the monster is you-- doing anything and everything it takes for money.
  8. Apr 22, 2014
    7
    I saw this at a bargain house because all the other movies were still all the Oscar nominations and I had already seen all those, so I thought I would give it a shot. The plot sounded interesting. I’m glad I saw it. It turned out to be pretty entertaining. I like going to these movies where you haven’t really seen any previews of them and don’t really don’t what they are about. It’s a nice surprise when they turn out to be good like this. I never got bored and there were parts in the movie that made me sit up and bite my nails and even on the edge of my seat a little. It’s about a guy who’s down on his luck who gets contacted by “someone” to play a Game where he can profit greatly. I know you’ve heard this type of concept before like “The Game” and “The Box”. Even though this was a lower budget movie, I actually liked this better than those. I think it gave you just enough info to intrigue you unlike “The Box” where I didn’t really get it at the end and “The Game” that wrapped everything up to neat and tidy. You have enough questions to keep you talking about it after wards, but not so many questions where you give up on it. It has Ron Pearlman in it and Rutina Wesley from “True Blood too”. There was one scene where I almost covered my eyes and another where my friend said it was almost to gross for him to look at. Maybe not one you’d see in a theater over Noah and Captain America, but definitely rent this one or see it in a bargain theater. Expand
  9. Aug 17, 2014
    5
    The acting wasn't terrible, in fact, looking like it would have been cheaply made, you'd assume a bit of cheap acting. I thought the performances were strong, well thought out script for the most part.

    It definitely didn't fix my 'horror' film need, it was Not scary, slightly thrilling. A few twists in there that i wasn't expecting. BUT, again, kept my interest for half the movie.
    You'll see in a lot of other reviews that the general norm is it gets boring and repetitive, which is an understatement.

    Worth seeing. But not work money.
    Expand
  10. Oct 12, 2014
    7
    I loved the performance of the cast, the story is good. I missed something in the script, in the general is good. I wasn't expecting something Rated R, but it's alright.
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Nikola Grozdanovic
    Apr 28, 2014
    42
    This is one of those mind games that lean too heavily on the mindless to be thoroughly enjoyable, turning sadistic pleasure into harmless boredom.
  2. Reviewed by: Christy Lemire
    Apr 18, 2014
    75
    Darkly funny and deeply twisted, 13 Sins grabs you from its startling opening sequence and doesn’t let go.
  3. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Apr 17, 2014
    50
    13 Sins is occasionally inventive but mostly uninvolving.