User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 66
  2. Negative: 11 out of 66
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnP.
    Aug 8, 2007
    10
    I just saw a preview of this film at the Arclight. This is a very, very funny screenplay, with clever insights on relationships and American and French stereotypes. It matches Annie Hall in its wit and style, and Julie Delpy proves herself to be multi-talented artist. As an aside, I gave a $20 gold piece copy to a very charming lady after the screening at a club two blocks down the I just saw a preview of this film at the Arclight. This is a very, very funny screenplay, with clever insights on relationships and American and French stereotypes. It matches Annie Hall in its wit and style, and Julie Delpy proves herself to be multi-talented artist. As an aside, I gave a $20 gold piece copy to a very charming lady after the screening at a club two blocks down the street. Just my way of saying thanks. 818 348 9515. Your call would be most welcome. -- John Expand
  2. AaronS.
    Aug 11, 2008
    9
    I find it rare to come across a movie that I thoroughly enjoy start to finish. This was a good surprise. Had many good laughs though-out.
  3. JavierU.
    Dec 2, 2007
    9
    A fresh view of men's fear, and of an entire culture's fear.
  4. MichaelE.
    Aug 30, 2007
    8
    At times it seems to become b-list Woody Allen and the ending is too rushed to be anything but pat, but overall there is enough truth and heart and humor in 2 Days in Paris to make it an excellent film.
  5. KathyS
    Sep 16, 2007
    10
    Loved every minute. Laugh-out-loud funny in many spots, well written, well acted, with a lot of truth to it. Bravo to Julie Delpy for a job well done on all counts! I never cared for Adam Goldberg before but I loved him in this.
  6. DougN.
    Sep 8, 2007
    8
    Funny and contemporary. Great!
  7. BobA.
    Sep 9, 2007
    8
    I found this movie thoroughly enjoyable. The audience in the theatre laughed out loud 8 or 9 times indicating I wasn't alone in my enjoyment. The Paris street scenes were set in charming off the beaten path locales. The dialogue, while maybe not profound,was hip adult and wide ranging.
  8. DamienA.
    Jan 5, 2008
    7
    I can't believe the poor review it got from Anthony Lane in the New Yorker.. Can't he at least appreciate it for its playfulness and fresh take on Paris romance? I enjoyed it greatly for what it is.. a romantic comedy with bite.. Delpy is a modern Annie Hall and some of the scenes were very funny if not laugh out loud.. They make a great realistic pair.. this film had people I I can't believe the poor review it got from Anthony Lane in the New Yorker.. Can't he at least appreciate it for its playfulness and fresh take on Paris romance? I enjoyed it greatly for what it is.. a romantic comedy with bite.. Delpy is a modern Annie Hall and some of the scenes were very funny if not laugh out loud.. They make a great realistic pair.. this film had people I could relate to. Maybe it's because I'm a neurotic 30 something who is crap at relationships.. And calling it a vanity project is just plain stupid.. So what if her parents are in it- they are great. And so what if she sings over the final credits- it's cute. So if someone is just the actor and director it's not a vanity project but wo be them that do more..Pah! Show me a recent romantic comedy that's better. Expand
  9. DemetriG
    Dec 9, 2007
    9
    Definitely a funny, laugh-out-loud film that is a crass and charming at the same time! This a a film that saturates the audience with the overwhelming tensions that exist in love and romance. You share in the characters' nauseating discomfort when dialog between two different cultures and languages get lost in translation. As such tension can be uncomfortable for the viewer to watch Definitely a funny, laugh-out-loud film that is a crass and charming at the same time! This a a film that saturates the audience with the overwhelming tensions that exist in love and romance. You share in the characters' nauseating discomfort when dialog between two different cultures and languages get lost in translation. As such tension can be uncomfortable for the viewer to watch sometimes, It's is nonetheless the perfect icebreaker to discuss issues that have creeped up in a couple's own personal relationship, and will guarantee to make one laugh, and maybe even save a marriage (!). Expand
  10. JM
    Feb 16, 2008
    8
    I love to hate this movie. the film perplexed me so much on the first viewing that i watched it again the next night, i think that says something. both of the lead characters are so invitingly hatable [sic], and their plight and embattled social thrashings border on predictable in their familiarity, but you can't write them off. because it's funny, and it hovers close enough to I love to hate this movie. the film perplexed me so much on the first viewing that i watched it again the next night, i think that says something. both of the lead characters are so invitingly hatable [sic], and their plight and embattled social thrashings border on predictable in their familiarity, but you can't write them off. because it's funny, and it hovers close enough to reality (at least it does to my most ridiculous relationships). beware similarities to woody allen movies, as delpy - especially in the opening few scenes - seems to be making a modern day interpretation of alvie singer in paris. Collapse
  11. DavidS.
    Feb 27, 2008
    8
    Fearing a remake of Before Sunset, this is a pleasant surprise. Delpy's own parents are so obnoxious in the film they certainly add to its comic value. It is much more honest about relationships than the romantic subject matter suggests. A weak ending doesn't spoil a movie with many smart moments such as Delpy exhorting 'welcome to France' whilst making a Nazi salute Fearing a remake of Before Sunset, this is a pleasant surprise. Delpy's own parents are so obnoxious in the film they certainly add to its comic value. It is much more honest about relationships than the romantic subject matter suggests. A weak ending doesn't spoil a movie with many smart moments such as Delpy exhorting 'welcome to France' whilst making a Nazi salute in a confrontation with yet another racist Parisien cabbie. Expand
  12. ChadS.
    Feb 6, 2008
    7
    Thanks to Julie Delpy's flimsy singing voice, and even flimsier guitar-playing; the world has "Once", which to me, is "Before Sunset"(or "...Sunrise") with music. Marion(Delpy) doesn't sing in "2 Days in Paris", but she walks and talks like the anti-Celene, and her tattooed, hirsute boyfriend Jack(Adam Goldberg) is the anti-Jesse(Ethan Hawke), a misanthrope who would probably Thanks to Julie Delpy's flimsy singing voice, and even flimsier guitar-playing; the world has "Once", which to me, is "Before Sunset"(or "...Sunrise") with music. Marion(Delpy) doesn't sing in "2 Days in Paris", but she walks and talks like the anti-Celene, and her tattooed, hirsute boyfriend Jack(Adam Goldberg) is the anti-Jesse(Ethan Hawke), a misanthrope who would probably role his eyes if Marion wrote him a waltz. What "Before Sunset" and its evil doppleganger have in common is Delpy, who on her maiden directing venture, set out to demolish the romanticized notions that domestic filmmakers have about American men and their, ooh-la-la, French girlfriends. "2 Days in Paris" plays like a commentary on the Richard Linklater trilogy(if you count Jesse and Celine's cameo in "Waking Life") from an insider's point-of-view(after all, Delpy was born in France). "Before Sunset" is about idealized love; untested love, because Jesse only thinks he knows her; whereas in "2 Days in Paris", Jack only thought he knew his girlfriend. Real love is having to deal with your lover's baggage. In the same amount of time it took for Jesse to fall in love with Celine(two days and a night), Jack falls a little out of love with Marion; as each notch on his girlfriend's bedpost he meets in the flesh, renders him more and more impotent, when Paris slowly reveals itself to be the city of promiscuous sex, not the city of romance. Expand
  13. Tomkk
    Mar 13, 2008
    8
    Great movie about an all too real couple dealing with hilarious relationship problems. People might not enjoy the movie since both characters are not very likable, and they aren't intended to be. People take this to be a romantic comedy, formulating the Hollywood perfect love stories of an American guy and a French girl visiting the most romantic city in the world, Paris. If you view Great movie about an all too real couple dealing with hilarious relationship problems. People might not enjoy the movie since both characters are not very likable, and they aren't intended to be. People take this to be a romantic comedy, formulating the Hollywood perfect love stories of an American guy and a French girl visiting the most romantic city in the world, Paris. If you view it this way, of course your not going to like it. This movie blows such romantic notions aside. One could even argue if the movie is romantic, since the couple deal with all too real situations. Adam Goldberg plays a typical NY American: neurotic, hypochondriac, egotistic, doesn't care or know much about other cultures. Yet the French girl is neglectful, anger-aggressive bordering on scary. The movie makes mocks both cultures, and this culture-clash boils to a nice and powerful voice-over in the end. While the ending is ambiguous and weak, the movie is hilarious and lovely. Expand
  14. WednesdayS
    Nov 26, 2007
    9
    Adult dialog with exaggerated circumstances you can "relate to" which make it hilariously funny. Modern day relationship with all over the top characters representing real phobias of partnership.
  15. AllieC.
    Aug 12, 2007
    10
    An excellent film. This film was throughly enjoyable. It had quite a few laugh-out-loud funny moments in the dialogue. The chemistry between Goldberg and Delpy was excellent.
  16. Aug 17, 2010
    8
    Julie Delpy and Adam Goldberg are perfectly paired in this comedic take on a French-born photographer bringing her American boyfriend home to meet the family in a move that pushes their relationship to the limits.

    The oft exaggerated cultural differences between French and American cultures spark some unique and genuinely funny laughs. Trips to the market, an overly liberal view of sex,
    Julie Delpy and Adam Goldberg are perfectly paired in this comedic take on a French-born photographer bringing her American boyfriend home to meet the family in a move that pushes their relationship to the limits.

    The oft exaggerated cultural differences between French and American cultures spark some unique and genuinely funny laughs. Trips to the market, an overly liberal view of sex, overly friendly Frenchman, and opinionated taxi drivers all contribute to what Goldberg called "the most un-romantic trip to Paris ever."

    Perhaps the worst part of the movie was the final message, which appeared in only the last three minutes of the movie and basically asserts that at some point in life you will decide that you no longer have the energy for another break-up and that it would be altogether easier to simply settle down and stick it out. Call me crazy, but I would have expected a more romantic ending to a French movie.

    Nevertheless, the unique humor is genuinely funny and the interactions between the four main characters (Delpy, Goldberg and Delpy's parents) are a lot of fun to watch.
    Expand
  17. Dec 31, 2012
    8
    Most actors are afraid of repeating themselves in the fear of becoming a stereotype they might be unable to shake off. Deply however seems unphased, having appeared in a number of these small budget films about a snapshot in the lives of a couple, showing us the romance, the humour and the troubles in equal measures. 2 days in Paris is one of her first attempts in directing and manages toMost actors are afraid of repeating themselves in the fear of becoming a stereotype they might be unable to shake off. Deply however seems unphased, having appeared in a number of these small budget films about a snapshot in the lives of a couple, showing us the romance, the humour and the troubles in equal measures. 2 days in Paris is one of her first attempts in directing and manages to emulate the essence of the Before Sunrise/Sunset films that are so dear to my heart. Expand
  18. Dec 28, 2011
    9
    Quirky, real and funny. Although it sometimes verges on being a little too out there the main story feels like a truthful representation of the highs and lows of two unique people in a relationship, whilst being completely hilarious. Julie Delpy and Adam Goldberg clearly have chemistry (they were together in real life before the film), taking the film from good to great, It'll beQuirky, real and funny. Although it sometimes verges on being a little too out there the main story feels like a truthful representation of the highs and lows of two unique people in a relationship, whilst being completely hilarious. Julie Delpy and Adam Goldberg clearly have chemistry (they were together in real life before the film), taking the film from good to great, It'll be interesting to see how 2 days in New York turns out without Goldberg and Paris as a character of its own Expand
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. The movie should be seen with a large, responsive audience--the better to live with it in the moment instead of worrying about where it’s going.
  2. 40
    Anyone hoping that 2 Days in Paris will revisit such peppy romance (“Annie Hall”), however, will be frustrated. There is an extra rawness here, a determination to confront and annoy.
  3. Reviewed by: Jim Ridley
    70
    Delpy shows Linklater's influence in her willingness to let actors work and walk at length, and she has an unusually playful style for an actor turned filmmaker.