Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 21
  2. Negative: 10 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Feb 28, 2013
    75
    21 and Over remains enjoyable for what it is and all it cares to be, which is nothing any respectable movie critic should recommend, and I'm down with that.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Feb 28, 2013
    75
    Writer-directors Jon Lucas and Scott Moore find a nice balance between the over-the-top high jinks and an emotional core, which unexpectedly crystallizes relatively late in the movie.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Feb 27, 2013
    63
    The bottom-line on this bottom-baring/bottom-branding farce is “Is it funny, on top of all the shocks?” And yes, it is. On a number of few occasions, all of them involving Jeff Chang.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Feb 28, 2013
    60
    This paean to youthful irresponsibility applies the right crude and rude 'tude to its bulging sack of gags to have the desired effect on its target audience.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Feb 28, 2013
    60
    Promising crude straight-boy humor, but delivering sensitive buddy moments and tons of male nudity, this by-the-numbers gut-buster looks slick, moves fast and packs enough laughs to enliven spring-break receipts and earn its helmers more work.
  6. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Mar 6, 2013
    50
    Lucas and Moore aren’t savvy enough, or brave enough, to truly plumb the gallows humor embedded in their premise.
  7. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Feb 28, 2013
    50
    Certainty, then, is the watchword, and you can be certain of three things: There will be plenty of juvenile energy to power the vehicle; there will be a few mild chuckles en route; there will be no reason to remember the ride the instant it ends.
  8. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Feb 28, 2013
    42
    21 & Over seems particularly redundant, since a film already exists that’s exactly like "The Hangover," only not as good: It was called "The Hangover Part II." 21 & Over is so slavish in imitating its screenwriters’ big claim to fame that it even ends by teasing a sequel, to which the only sane response is a polite but firm, “Thank you, no.”
  9. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Mar 2, 2013
    40
    Neither as subversively fun as last year’s megadestructive "Project X," nor as creative as "The Hangover" (on which these codirectors broke through as screenwriters), this further installment in the millennials-acting-badly genre serves as a distinctly average placeholder.
  10. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Mar 2, 2013
    40
    In the end, 21 and Over is more exhausting — and exhausted — than funny or wild.
  11. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Feb 28, 2013
    40
    The movie rambles in a way that dilutes any possibility of edgy discomfort. Lucas and Moore have good control over the timing within the gags; it's the spaces between them that stretch out awkwardly. You can't hate 21 & Over, and you can't laugh at it. The most you can do is just pity it for not being as outrageous as it thinks it is.
  12. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Mar 1, 2013
    38
    Among the ingredients “21” is missing: the infectiously random silliness of a Zach Galifianakis, the smug hunkiness of a Bradley Cooper, and any sort of Vegas-y gloss whatsoever.
  13. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Feb 28, 2013
    38
    This is one of those 93-minute movies that seem about 88 minutes too long. Or not worth making in the first place.
  14. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Feb 28, 2013
    38
    Despite its collegiate setting, 21 and Over is pretty much for people with an IQ of 21 and under.
  15. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Mar 1, 2013
    25
    For a movie that tries to create and sustain a sensation of wild unpredictability, it's a huge failure. It's not shocking if we've all seen it a thousand times before. With 21 and Over, it's all been there, drank that.
  16. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Feb 28, 2013
    25
    Yes, surely for them, the lucky few and probable many, 21 and Over will be the Best Movie Ever. For the rest of us, though, it’s something of a chore.
  17. Reviewed by: Nicole Herrington
    Mar 1, 2013
    20
    The movie’s humor — at the expense of Asians, Latinas and even Serbs — comes off just as tone deaf and random as Seth MacFarlane’s Oscar-night shenanigans.
  18. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Mar 1, 2013
    20
    How ironic (depressing? predictable?) that the week after we celebrate the best in movies, we are force-fed its very worst. 21 & Over is filmmaking by formula, and evidence of Hollywood’s assumption that appealing to viewers’ basest instincts will always pay off.
  19. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Feb 28, 2013
    12
    Just because your comedy is dumb doesn’t mean it’s funny.
  20. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Feb 28, 2013
    12
    By the dictates of the boys-will-be-boys party genre, 21 and Over is so tame that it barely manages to even be offensive.
  21. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Feb 28, 2013
    0
    This is a movie that celebrates selfishness, stupidity and the mean-spirited insensitivity that goes along with it. We're better than this, America.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 25
  2. Negative: 8 out of 25
  1. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    epic
  2. Feb 16, 2014
    7
    Mix "The Hangover" with "Projet X" and add some "Superbad" and you'll get this, nonsense comedy about becoming an adult, getting **** and causing mayhem! We all laughed our heads off. Full Review »
  3. Nov 27, 2013
    8
    21 & Over is the directorial debut from the writers of the Hangover trilogy, and it could have easily been called The Hangover Jr. It's Jeff Chang's 21st birthday and his High School friends show up to take him out. With a big interview in the morning, the boys are planning on taking it easy, but things don't quite turn out that way. I was expecting this film to be yet another chance to exploit the magic of the first Hangover film, but surprisingly it does not. The story has many similarities, but also a uniqueness about it. 21 & Over does manage to capture that amazing chemistry and magic that made the Hangover legendary. The whole time I was watching this film, I couldn't help but think, why didn't they put this kind of thought into the Hangover sequels? Don't get me wrong, I liked the sequels, but neither one of this is as good as this film was. Justin Chon, unfortunately only known from the Twilight series, stars in a role that was seemingly made for him. This guy was so freaking funny, that I had to be careful not to piss my pants, almost every time he opened his mouth. The other stand out is Project X's Miles Teller, and while he's much better looking than Alan, he does manage to capture that loveable extreme weirdness that Zack Galifinakis had. It's easy to look at 21 & Over and say it's going to be just like the Hangover, and you wouldn't be wrong. Parts of the film are eerily similar, but the youth factor and college atmosphere does give the film a life of it's own and trust me when I tell you, it was absolutely hysterical. Full Review »