21

Columbia Pictures | Release Date: March 28, 2008
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 173 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
84
Mixed:
67
Negative:
22
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
KindredPaulApr 30, 2008
I liked this movie because it wasn't some stupid thing like other movies, it was different, and i truly never expected the ending, it was a curve ball
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GregoryR.Apr 5, 2008
Strays pretty far from the book, but gives you enough twists to serve it's purpose.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JackMar 29, 2008
This movie is fresh, witty, and has good acting from kevin spacey. it may be a cliche vegas scene, but the fact that it overdoes the glitz is to show the chaos of their situation. not to mention its not predictable. its worth 9 bucks, but isThis movie is fresh, witty, and has good acting from kevin spacey. it may be a cliche vegas scene, but the fact that it overdoes the glitz is to show the chaos of their situation. not to mention its not predictable. its worth 9 bucks, but is it amazing? no Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobK.Mar 31, 2008
Good flick, it required a little suspension of disbelief but it was twisted enough to be enjoyable. Kevin Spacey was excellent, but the rest of the cast could have used some improvement.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JackieMar 30, 2008
Overall I definitely enjoyed the movie. I have never played blackjack in my life, but I found myself interested in the game while watching the film. Ive head complaints about character development and complaints about how the students are Overall I definitely enjoyed the movie. I have never played blackjack in my life, but I found myself interested in the game while watching the film. Ive head complaints about character development and complaints about how the students are supposed to be smart and not make stupid decision. BUT--this is a game theyve never played before until they got swept up in the money--they may have brians but that doesnt mean they're not gonna be naive--they dont have the life experience. i wasnt concerned about the lack of character deveopment because i thought they set a good enough stage for Ben (sturgess). I thought it was kind of obvious what each character's personality was like--to have to spell it out would have been tedious. Sorry critics! I liked it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EmileF.Apr 4, 2008
A really good movie. There is all the things that I like: -Nice girl -Cool guy -Action -Blackjack -And it's a true story Better than those Jumper or Golden compass creapy things...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TylerD.Aug 31, 2008
A very entertaining movie. The ending was extremely clever and presented in a great way. 21 entertained throughout with its multiple twists and turns, great acting, and interesting plot. Highly recommended!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Mar 28, 2008
Despite what the critics say, this film is actually really good, at least imo. It may be somewhat predictable, but it still is interesting to see how the plot twists turn out. It definitely has a great deal of character, and the cast gave Despite what the critics say, this film is actually really good, at least imo. It may be somewhat predictable, but it still is interesting to see how the plot twists turn out. It definitely has a great deal of character, and the cast gave remarkable performances, esp. Jim Sturgess, Kate Bosworth, Laurence Fishburne, and the always-engaging, Kevin Spacey. Definitely check this out, you won't be disappointed! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertM.Mar 29, 2008
Great movie... Entertaining and captivating the whole way through. The critics are simply wrong.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NathanB.Apr 19, 2008
21, whilst appearing to target the more intellectual and academic amongst us, fails in that respect. However, this a film that differs from your usual mediocre films that have hit the Box Office in recent weeks. 21 is different in the 21, whilst appearing to target the more intellectual and academic amongst us, fails in that respect. However, this a film that differs from your usual mediocre films that have hit the Box Office in recent weeks. 21 is different in the respect that this film is simply fun to watch, and at times enthralling. Spacey, on first impressions, appears to become a decent actor in future productions and despite being effectively cast in a lead role with relative expertise, at times he single-handedly pulls this film to a more bearable level. The acting, in short, is solid enough and the plot twists is effective with well-captured cinematography. The sad thing is, despite the morals that inevitable accompanies any sort of wrong-doing film aimed towards a 12A audience, is that you want to be as good as Maths as our on screen counterparts and take Vegas by storm. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LiamH.Jun 3, 2008
Pretty good movie, the end drags on for a bit tho.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HenryR.Jul 25, 2008
A very special story combined with great actors make this title a blockbuster nobody did talk about. Absolute secret recommendation!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JillDJul 25, 2008
I loved this movie. it was funny and exciting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DylanD.Jul 28, 2008
Excellent, excellent movie. A good showing from the young cast. Sure, it didn't stay to the book, although I really don't care because I don't sit and endlessly nit pick at stuff no one really cares about. And why am I not Excellent, excellent movie. A good showing from the young cast. Sure, it didn't stay to the book, although I really don't care because I don't sit and endlessly nit pick at stuff no one really cares about. And why am I not surprised that the race card was thrown in? I'm going to assume that there were more high caliber Caucasian actors than Asian actors. You would be a terrible director if you decided to take mediocrity over continuity. People grow up and learn to enjoy films for what they are. And this, was a good flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AaronM.Mar 28, 2008
I enjoyed it from beginning to end. Pretty good adaptation from the book. I'm not sure what there is not to like about it. It's enjoyable and steady. It could be a tad bit more humorous and light. Overall, great and refreshing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
Rev.RikardMar 29, 2008
Though the acting was far from stellar, the movie moved me along with enough speed to keep me interested. However, I could not help but wonder if viewers unfamiliar with blackjack would have a clue what some of the content meant. A movie Though the acting was far from stellar, the movie moved me along with enough speed to keep me interested. However, I could not help but wonder if viewers unfamiliar with blackjack would have a clue what some of the content meant. A movie should not be for blackjack players only. I asked, "If I had never played blackjack would I find the movie interesting." Since I have played it makes the question a hypothetical. Each viewer would have to answer for themselves. I also found the end very predictable. For those of us who have played in the casinos, you have great need to give us a gripping storyline and please, an unpredictable ending! The storyline was decent, the ending a big yawn. Still, in light of some of other fare theaters have served lately, I'll take it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BrianWApr 13, 2008
In regards to A singles comment...The actual MIT website quotes, "though most of the actual blackjack team was composed of Asian males, a studio executive involved in the casting process said that most of the film
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
mrcriticSep 25, 2010
This true story is not only an intelligent movie, it also has a great cast, especially Jim Sturgess, playing the main character. It has a great twist ending, and deserves better critical recognition. It proves that a bunch of nobodies (andThis true story is not only an intelligent movie, it also has a great cast, especially Jim Sturgess, playing the main character. It has a great twist ending, and deserves better critical recognition. It proves that a bunch of nobodies (and Kevin Spacey) can make a great movie. However, it's nothing like the book, which was a little disappointing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ZiggyStardustJul 3, 2011
A well story based on true events (although changed for obvious reasons). The MITs students do a good job and Kevin Spacey is showing his acting skills again in this film. Overall a suspensful film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
danielprinnFeb 9, 2012
21: Jim Sturgess stars in a stacked tight cast in this delightful, thoroughly entertaining, mysterious dramatic film experience alongside Kate Bosworth, Laurence Fishburne, Kevin Spacey and Aaron Yoo. A math professor, Mickey Rosa, takes 521: Jim Sturgess stars in a stacked tight cast in this delightful, thoroughly entertaining, mysterious dramatic film experience alongside Kate Bosworth, Laurence Fishburne, Kevin Spacey and Aaron Yoo. A math professor, Mickey Rosa, takes 5 M.I.T students under his wing to count cards to make some money in Las Vegas. Remember, it is not illegal, it is only frowned upon. When a brilliant student has to earn cash to find his way to Harvard Med, he takes a chance on the elite mathematician team. Lucky enough for him, a spot has just opened up. With ruthless casino bosses, ignorant teammates and romantic flares, all make for a great story of luck, romance, betrayal, impulse and of course genius capabilities. What would you do to get into Harvard Medical School? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MegWhiteleyMar 27, 2012
This film is so interesting, the trama, characters, story, is wow, a bigger sorprise the performance of Kevin Spacey is amazing, I think that this film is like the others. 21 is a classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysJul 8, 2014
While the first half of 21 is interesting, fresh, and gives us a glimpse into the minds and everyday lives of this card-counting team, the second half resorts to melodramatics, Hollywood clichés, and a very "movie-like" ending. The one savingWhile the first half of 21 is interesting, fresh, and gives us a glimpse into the minds and everyday lives of this card-counting team, the second half resorts to melodramatics, Hollywood clichés, and a very "movie-like" ending. The one saving grace of the movie is, of course, Kevin Spacey. In fact, he's the reason I watched it in the first place. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AwsafNov 30, 2013
this movie was good and interesting.But it does some miss directing.but Jim Sturgess i liked his acting.So,I gave it ten because i liked it very much and i dazzled me
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeAug 24, 2015
The plot is actually pretty stupid but they still managed to make the movie more entertaining than it really is.The acting is good and there is some tense action scenes even though some of the twists were predictable or didn't make sense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jelenabiebs31Jan 11, 2016
Excellent movie! Kept my attention for sure! Kevin Spacey at his usual evil best! Going in my favs.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-42-21-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews