Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 367 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: When a group of animal rights activists frees primates from a research facility, a deadly virus which causes murderous behavior is unleashed.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. A first-rate zombie movie. The best tribute I can offer is that it makes you want to go out directly afterward and down some expensive single-malt scotch.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Kenny
    88
    The genuine article, a hard-core horror picture from start to finish... Prepare to get seriously stresed.
  3. 88
    Boyle and screenwriter Alex Garland plumb the violence of the mind with slashing wit and shocking gravity. Happy nightmares.
  4. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    75
    A damn-near great end-of-the-world zombie movie, terrifying on the basic heebie-jeebie level, respectful toward its B-movie forebears, and all the more unnerving for coming out in this fretful era of SARS and germ warfare.
  5. 75
    A tough, smart, ingenious movie that leads its characters into situations where everything depends on their (and our) understanding of human nature.
  6. 70
    Heir to a long tradition of apocalyptic scare stories, the film wears its influences proudly.
  7. 30
    Unrelentingly grim, unremittingly gross and unforgivably unattractive, 28 Days Later is an orgy of troubling images and bestial sound effects.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 161
  1. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    Hands down, the best horror movie ever made since The Shining in 1980. Danny Boyle proves his versatility as a director with this movie, mixing a love story with real, intense scares. The scenery is memorable, as is the phenomenal John Murphy soundtrack. I highly recommend this movie. Also, in response to some of the negative comments on here, the cameras were intentionally rough until the end of the movie. I felt it added confusion and harshness to the most intense parts. Collapse
  2. May 6, 2011
    10
    Fantastic horror film. I daresay there hasn't been a zombie film this good since the original Dawn of the Dead. What really makes it work is the utterly desolate atmosphere, and the convincing desperation of the performers. Scary but not reliant on gore, this is a class act. One of the best horror films in decades. Expand
  3. Feb 2, 2013
    9
    The Rage virus has wiped out nearly all of England, turning its infected into murderous killers driven only by their need to feed. Now, a handful of unlucky survivors are left to find an escape from the nationwide pandemic. In 2002, Danny Boyle shook the Horror genre with a refreshing new thriller that redefined the zombie movie and terrified audiences around the world. 28 DAYS LATER offers a nihilistic world view in which humanity is the ultimate villain. Man's attempt to dissect and control nature is what caused the deadly virus, and while the infected mindlessly attack out of the primal need to feed, it is the living characters that kill out of fear, paranoia, and selfish desire. As best portrayed by the corrupted band of soldiers in the end of the film, it is darkest human emotions that drive home the suspense in 28 DAYS LATER, with the added horror of infected flesh-eaters running in the streets. The infected are unlike any of the undead that we have ever seen before. They are fast and ferocious, bursting through windows and tearing into their victims with a shocking speed. This would become a popular trend in the zombie films to follow, the most notable example being Zack Synder's frightening update to the Horror classic DAWN OF THE DEAD. Boyle's decision to shoot 28 DAYS LATER on a digital camera delivers a grim sense of reality, which is darkened even further by the dreary score. He also creates one of the defining moments in recent Horror as Jim walks aimlessly through the deserted streets of London. 28 DAYS LATER has a devastating effect on the viewer, and has proven to be one of the best films from the 2000's.

    -Carl Manes
    I Like Horror Movies
    Expand
  4. Oct 18, 2010
    8
    I'm a sucker for a good zombie/whatever/end of the world movie so you may already know how this review is going to go... Although I guess I can be somewhat picky in the zombie movies I like. Either way this was a good one. Basically the zombies were created due to a release of a virus (as always) but this one was "rage". Anyway, typical storyline of zombie world and story of survivors, but this movie did do it a tad different. Or just really well. The last part of the movie was in my opinion pretty brilliant and unique in the terms of salvation didn't come through for them like they figured. Can't wait to watch the sequel. 4 out of 5.

    http://mashupmash.blogspot.com/2010/10/28-days-later.html
    Expand
  5. Jun 11, 2011
    8
    I really enjoyed this! I liked the characters, and the acting was good. There wasn't quite enough gore for a zombie/apocalypse movie, but it was pretty intense just the same. The music was fantastic, and fit perfectly with what was going on. Expand
  6. Jan 23, 2013
    7
    Although I thought the movie was great, it didn't actually scare me all that much. It was more of a thriller than it was a horror film. What really got me was the sheer brutality of it all, The ending was somewhat disappointing, but it can be overlooked. Expand
  7. Aug 26, 2013
    4
    This movie was very, very boring. I was not impressed with the storyline or the acting. The movie contains a naked man laying on a hospital bed. Some language. Expand

See all 161 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best Horror Films Since 2000

    Ranked: The Best Horror Films Since 2000 Image
    Published: October 28, 2010
    From Sam Raimi's "Drag Me to Hell" to more comedic efforts like "Shaun of the Dead," the past decade has seen a number of solid new entries in the horror canon. We run down the 15 best-reviewed horror movies from the past ten years.