Fox Atomic | Release Date: May 11, 2007
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 457 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
310
Mixed:
84
Negative:
63
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
SeanP.Oct 10, 2007
Just to let everyone in on a secret. They are not zombies and that is why the father followed them. They are just real angry. Now actually watch the movie and don't go into it thinking this movie sucks because they didn't explain Just to let everyone in on a secret. They are not zombies and that is why the father followed them. They are just real angry. Now actually watch the movie and don't go into it thinking this movie sucks because they didn't explain everything to me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnneW.Jun 8, 2007
Excellent. I saw it a week ago and I;m still thinking about it. Definitely recommend it for anyone who likes suspense!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LarryBFeb 2, 2010
No, Conor B., how misleading Metacritic users can be. Are you serious? You're suggesting that a zombie movie is...implausible? Are you kidding me? You're an idiot. Zombie movies aren't supposed to be about realism. No, Conor B., how misleading Metacritic users can be. Are you serious? You're suggesting that a zombie movie is...implausible? Are you kidding me? You're an idiot. Zombie movies aren't supposed to be about realism. They're supposed to be scary and intense, and that's exactly what 28 Weeks Later was. Stick to the more important George Clooney type movies with realistic situations and realistic people. Or, you know, you could just go outside and experience realistic situations yourself, but those aren't that entertaining, are they? And, Harry G., what they hell are you talking about? There were only a few scenes that even used CG.... Most of the people underrating this excellent movie don't even know what the hell they are talking about: they're either enraged that this movie is a sequel (and all sequels MUST suck, it's a traditional POV to take on all sequels) or they're upset over the lack of realism...in a movie about zombies. I'll stick with the critics, thanks. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
10
HelloYouOct 8, 2007
One of the best movies of the year (or was it last year...I don't remember). It's been a long time that I left the theater throughly satisfied with a movie in every aspect. On top of that, for it to be a sequel that I felt this way One of the best movies of the year (or was it last year...I don't remember). It's been a long time that I left the theater throughly satisfied with a movie in every aspect. On top of that, for it to be a sequel that I felt this way about is mindblowing. Perhaps the one and only time. I can safetly say in my own mind that I enjoyed it more than the original. It took me awhile to really appreciate the original, tho I liked it. However, 28 Weeks Later has everything that was great about the original and so much more. Better characters, a better story, better action, scarier, more shock value, and a non-happy ending that I luv. When I say "shock value" I don't mean in terms of gore (tho it has that), but I mean that some of the main characters die and I didn't expect it what-so-ever. A lot of the time you can see a person's death coming from a mile away, but my favorite character in the movie...whom shall remain nameless to not spoil it...dies so suddenly that I actually felt EMOTION for a fiction character. That rarely happens for me. The only other recent time I can remember feeling something like that was when Leo's character died in the Departed (ya, spoiler...you should of saw it by now). I also love how the Helicopter pilot comes off as kind of a jerkoff but I know I would do the exact same thing he did. I read a lot of people saying that what the characters did at times was illogical, but I believe the character's acted in a very realistic way and they acted like realistic people...not cut in dry...good and bad. I can't wait to buy it tomorrow. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RyencokeMay 11, 2007
This is how you make a sequel. One of the best most recent sequels to a movie I have ever seen. Aliens + Aliens = 28 Days Later + 28 Weeks Later. That's how I compare them. Such an awesome movie. Go see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephenMMay 17, 2007
I was honestly blown away. 28 Days Later owned me...and this just couldn't have exceeded my expectations more. There is not a single optimistic moment in this movie- and it's glorious to see in a world where movies almost always I was honestly blown away. 28 Days Later owned me...and this just couldn't have exceeded my expectations more. There is not a single optimistic moment in this movie- and it's glorious to see in a world where movies almost always acheive some happy ending. I was intrigued the entire movie and felt that it ended perfectly too- the director didn't bother to add too much or, conversely, leave out some necessary things. 28 Weeks Later is well worth your money...and all of your friends' money too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmilyD.Jun 1, 2007
Awesome movie, everything I expected and more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BryanS.Oct 11, 2007
This was an amazing movie.. like i could just picture another one. i hope they make one cause if the virus hit europe all of asia and africa would fall to and i could see giant barriers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewG.May 13, 2007
Easily the best scary movie I've ever seen. Much much better than 28 Days Later.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZachB.May 14, 2007
28 Weeks is superb in the way it moves from Zombie film to allegory. There is a coldness and something that haunts the mind when you see the military occupation of ravaged London--now a city of the dead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamP.May 18, 2007
Brilliant film. Best I have seen in a while; so good it made my girlfriend walk out with her mate whilst me and my mate watched the fun.This film is for the ZOMBIE lovers. Dawn of the Dead this beats you 10000%.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AntonioR.May 25, 2007
Amazing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevenDMay 27, 2007
28 Weeks Later is one hell of a ride. This film not only manages to top the first movie but propels it into one of the best horror/drama sequels yet to come out. The sets are amazing and alive, the characters kept me at the edge of my seat 28 Weeks Later is one hell of a ride. This film not only manages to top the first movie but propels it into one of the best horror/drama sequels yet to come out. The sets are amazing and alive, the characters kept me at the edge of my seat wondering what would happen to them next, and the plot is excellent. Much more depth then the first. You think its going to be another over the top action/horror flick when the military shows up but all that changes. You may ask why I gave it a ten? I like to dissect movies and try to get a sense of some real life to them and 28 weeks later has just that.. It makes you feel sympathetic to the characters and you feel as if your a survivor following them through London's desolate streets. When you go to see this keep it mind its in a league of its own. If your expecting a zombie flick and review it off other zombies movies you've seen, then this isn't for you. As for the cast each actor/actress does an excellent job and Robert Carlyle's character is just plain engrossing to watch. I see why now he was cast in 28 weeks later since in the movie Ravenous he played a crazy cannibal..perfect fit for this role. The end also sets it up for a sequel for an already great series. Definitely looking forward to this trilogy conclusion. If your a fan of drama, horror, post-disaster movies or just a fan of the first, I highly recommend seeing 28 Weeks Later. Worth the admission price. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelissaC.Jun 12, 2007
I think this would be my favorite movie of all times. I ended without nails and with the desire of bite everyone. I just wanted to run every where and yield. I just loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamF.Jun 13, 2007
Absolutely loved it. The movie was not only one of the most terrifying films out in recent history, but it also posed really twisted and sick moral dilemmas. Loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickM.Jan 20, 2008
This movie will probably go down as a classic horror film. It is one of the scariest movies to date, and it had a classic moment a minute. It's biggest praise is its opening scene, one of the best in any movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnthonyG.Oct 28, 2007
28 weeks later was way better then days. i was shakeing during the whole movie. Its was amazing. if u haven't seen it, then go see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NikyB.May 11, 2007
I was a HUGE fan of the first and I had high expectations of this one....IT DELIVERED!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnE.May 14, 2007
Loved it. Bleak, brutal and grim - just how a good horror film should be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WarmongerMay 17, 2007
Fantastic film! Can't wait for 28 months later! The movie is a suprisingly horrific look at how a virius completely decemates a whole city, a whole country, in fact, and how some people try to survive, and rebuild from that devastation, Fantastic film! Can't wait for 28 months later! The movie is a suprisingly horrific look at how a virius completely decemates a whole city, a whole country, in fact, and how some people try to survive, and rebuild from that devastation, only to be faced with it again. It's a bit far fetched but more credible than any zombie flick and that's it's allure. It makes people ponder for a second, being a virus, what if something like this really happened?! It kept me on the edge of my seat from begining to end! These films are the best zombie type movies that I've ever seen....... simply HORRIFYING! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerG.May 18, 2007
One of the best movies of the year, one of the best suspense/horror movies I've ever seen, they're not zombies so Im not gonna say that, but it's just excellent it's great GO SEE IT NOW
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
equality7-2521May 19, 2007
This was exhilarating. Amid the gore and the frenetic pace, there is some serious cinematic poetry. I loved this film. Ranks among the best films of the past year and a half. Not as good as Pan's Labyrinth, The Departed and V For This was exhilarating. Amid the gore and the frenetic pace, there is some serious cinematic poetry. I loved this film. Ranks among the best films of the past year and a half. Not as good as Pan's Labyrinth, The Departed and V For Vendetta, but this filmmaker's future is bright. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndreaD.May 25, 2007
It was completely awesome and totally original and was better than the prequel. the effects were amazing. my hope is that there will be a third installment. It had every thing that a good zombie movie should have
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanLNov 27, 2009
Absolutely phenomenal. I enjoy this movie considerably more than the first one. The acting was believable, and the special effects definitely worked to convey the gritty, horrific reality of the subject matter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
A.NonymousNov 15, 2007
Grim, brutal, fast-paced but, most importantly, believable. This is what makes a zombie movie great. More harrowing than it's predecessor, but definetely addresses some of the issues that plagued 28 Days Later. The only negative is that Grim, brutal, fast-paced but, most importantly, believable. This is what makes a zombie movie great. More harrowing than it's predecessor, but definetely addresses some of the issues that plagued 28 Days Later. The only negative is that it's extremely depressing; even Days had a happy ending. An excellent movie, the only things critics can moan about it are technicalities. Honestly people, if you can't give a well-balanced review don't review at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NeelyryMar 21, 2015
One of the greatest zombie movies ever made. I feel like 28 days later may have been slightly better, but the opening scene of this movie is easily the greatest moment in the two combined. If you like zombies you owe it to yourself to see this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JoseRochaPTOct 3, 2011
Another fantastic sequel. Everything is new, there are new "scares", and ways of doing so. The environment is completely amazing, the story itself captive as I said in criticism of the earlier film is a film that deserves a sequel. For all IAnother fantastic sequel. Everything is new, there are new "scares", and ways of doing so. The environment is completely amazing, the story itself captive as I said in criticism of the earlier film is a film that deserves a sequel. For all I know there will be a sequel that will be called 28 months later and is scheduled to launch in 2013. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnnyStephensAug 31, 2013
Excellent!! Scary and shocking as the first one. I really like zombie films, and this one is one of my favourites!! Bravo!!!! Do not miss it!!! Brilliant!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SliminSep 27, 2014
Perfect correlation of horror and drama. Sound by J. Murphy, play by C. Murphy and own by Boyle on high quality level. I have my top movie list and this movie of course is in that top-list.
One of best horrors of all times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ChristopherW.Oct 10, 2007
'28 Weeks Later' is visceral and gripping moviemaking of an uncommon order. It manages to reaffirm the terror of it's predecessor while also charting down an unrelenting path of mounting doom and gloom. It explodes at a '28 Weeks Later' is visceral and gripping moviemaking of an uncommon order. It manages to reaffirm the terror of it's predecessor while also charting down an unrelenting path of mounting doom and gloom. It explodes at a fevered pitch from it's very first scene, and the pace never wavers for more than a couple seconds. This is simply one of the finest horror films of recent years. A must see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatrickOct 22, 2007
I've already seen this dvd multiple times since its release, and have loved it every time. Great zombie movie that is a complete departure from 28 Days Later (so stop comparing the two you imbeciles, they're hardly similar). The I've already seen this dvd multiple times since its release, and have loved it every time. Great zombie movie that is a complete departure from 28 Days Later (so stop comparing the two you imbeciles, they're hardly similar). The sheer terror and manner in which the virus effects all involved always draws me back. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ArthurC.May 24, 2007
Somehow manages to not only top the first one, but be a thoroughly original horror movie to boot. Something you don't see in sequels these days.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ClareF.May 24, 2007
I thought this was fantastic, the effects are amazing and had me sitting on the edge of my sit, the use of children is smart as people will sympathize with them, the best movie I've watched in a long time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RyanP.Jun 1, 2007
Great sequel, but some will say that the original is better. I like the action though, and the atmosphere is still tense throughout.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
IrritatedOct 11, 2007
Firstly! This is not a zombie movie! They are not zombies, they are infected with a virus! The victims do not die! And as for the person saying that the UK director was trying to say something political, does the name Juan Carlos Fresnadillo Firstly! This is not a zombie movie! They are not zombies, they are infected with a virus! The victims do not die! And as for the person saying that the UK director was trying to say something political, does the name Juan Carlos Fresnadillo sound like an English name?! Secondly, this is a top notch movie! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JoshH.Oct 14, 2007
I'm not sure what was so fantastic about 28 Days Later. A developed plot? Yeah, RIGHT. It starts out with a monkey that bites someone. The rage virus is let loose, causing everyone to go nuts! Yawn. Sounds a lot like the Umbrella virus I'm not sure what was so fantastic about 28 Days Later. A developed plot? Yeah, RIGHT. It starts out with a monkey that bites someone. The rage virus is let loose, causing everyone to go nuts! Yawn. Sounds a lot like the Umbrella virus from the Resident Evil games Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AnnaP.May 12, 2007
This was a thrilling, intense, and very good movie. I can't remember the last time I was quite as terrified in a movie theater. Several scenes, the kiss chief among them, were absolutely outstanding. I loved 28 Days Later too, but I This was a thrilling, intense, and very good movie. I can't remember the last time I was quite as terrified in a movie theater. Several scenes, the kiss chief among them, were absolutely outstanding. I loved 28 Days Later too, but I think that overall this is a better movie. It is not quite as good as the first 1/3 of Days, but it is consistently better when taken as a whole. I highly recommend this movie to anyone who likes the genre. If you don't like horror, don't bother. If you do, run - don't walk - to the theater. Don't get bitten. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BlancoAleguaMay 13, 2007
Simply an outstanding film. By way of background, I'm a fan of the zombie genre. The pinnacle of the genre is the original "Dawn of the Dead," though I was pleasantly surprised by how good the remake was. On the other hand, I was hugelySimply an outstanding film. By way of background, I'm a fan of the zombie genre. The pinnacle of the genre is the original "Dawn of the Dead," though I was pleasantly surprised by how good the remake was. On the other hand, I was hugely disappointed by "28 Days Later..." Seems tough be believe that a zombie flick could bore me, but I was bored to tears by pretty much the entire second half of that film. 28 Weeks Later had me riveted from the opening sequence through the credits. The writing is vastly superior to the first film, and the acting talent is night and day compared to the "Days." Cillian Murphy was clearly out of his element and couldn't carry the original. Roberty Carlyle was a great choice for this one, but it's really Rose Bryne as Scarlett the clear-headed scientist/doctor (from "Wicker Park" et al), Jeremy Renner as Doyle the compassionate soldier, and Idris Elba ("The Wire")/Harold Perrineau ("Oz") in smaller roles that provide the glue for this movie. The pacing and excitement is just leagues ahead of the first film. And sure, it's gory as hell, but what else do you want?? This is the year of the helicopter, apparently. You've gotta love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SeanW.May 14, 2007
Simply stated, 28 Weeks delivers in a big way. I had two criticisms, though they don't prevent the film from being highly enjoyable. First, the principle characters in the film are little more than victims, and I was never attached to Simply stated, 28 Weeks delivers in a big way. I had two criticisms, though they don't prevent the film from being highly enjoyable. First, the principle characters in the film are little more than victims, and I was never attached to them the way I was in the original film. My favorite characters were the guardians and subcharacters that appeared throughout the film, and most of them are killed. Secondly, the director was compelled to recreate the horror of the infected that was discovered during the first movie, undoubtedly for those who never saw the original. However, I think he ventured slightly into the realm of overkill. There were too many visually disturbing images. I felt every scene in the original belonged there, while I'm not convinced the same case existed for the sequel. The rest of my comments are all positive. The same maoral dilemmas exist in the sequel that did in the first. The movie opens with a husband and wife being trapped by the infected in a bedroom. The wife ignores the husband's urges to come with him, running instead to a closet to save a child. When the infected break in, she yells for him to help them and he must either slam and lock the door or run to his wife's aid. Clearly, in this type of environment, the traditional rules of behavior don't apply. What should he do? I also enjoyed analyzing the military's approach to containment, which involves considering whether to shoot uninfected civilians who are being chased by the infected. They are likely dead anyway and are potential infected themselves. At times, I found myself questioning their decisions, but after thinking about it, one tends to agree with them. Again, I enjoy the moral dilemmas faced by such terrible circumstances. Finally, the film ends with a few second clip of a tantalizing lead-in to a potential third movie. It also provides an instant lens regarding whether or not the actions of all the characters in the movie were wise or not. Go see it. It doesn't disappoint. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BM.May 15, 2007
Solid. If you liked the first, you like this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JustinC.May 16, 2007
I'm not one for thrillers or horror movies, but this movie was pretty amazing. The first action scene was incredible with the horrible choice that Don had to make. Only outstanding flaw was how the dad could appear everywhere, mostly by I'm not one for thrillers or horror movies, but this movie was pretty amazing. The first action scene was incredible with the horrible choice that Don had to make. Only outstanding flaw was how the dad could appear everywhere, mostly by himself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KennethM.May 27, 2007
Like the first movie, it combines absolute terror and panic with moral / ethical dilemmas. I love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeShmoMay 27, 2007
In a word, "intense". Once in a great while a movie will grip me and not let go. This was one of those movies. Yeah, there are a few gaps and "yeah, right" moments, but they stayed around for about a second before I was enraptured again. I In a word, "intense". Once in a great while a movie will grip me and not let go. This was one of those movies. Yeah, there are a few gaps and "yeah, right" moments, but they stayed around for about a second before I was enraptured again. I thought it captivating to the point that the end of the movie came much too quickly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NikM.May 31, 2007
Very...Very frightening. It reaches its goal of sccaring you and then some. After I saw movies like Land of the Dead, Resident Evil, Dawn of the Dead, and 28 Days Later ( all of which i liked) i classified zombie movies as action, not Very...Very frightening. It reaches its goal of sccaring you and then some. After I saw movies like Land of the Dead, Resident Evil, Dawn of the Dead, and 28 Days Later ( all of which i liked) i classified zombie movies as action, not horror. After seeing this beast, it put zombie movies right back up in horror. Part of the movies horror though, comes not from the pictures, but from the loud, sharp and scary sound. Also, the movie seems to have absoulutley no sympathy for any character. A must see for horror movie lovers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdamMay 8, 2007
Brutal... raw... frantic... an absolutely mindblowing sequel to a brilliant first movie. Puts nearly all the action/suspense movies of the past year to shame, only to be matched by Children of Men. A must see movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
IsaacJun 3, 2007
Excellent follow up to 28 Days Later. Very exciting, lots of gore, awesome. Left me completely satisfied.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoshuaHMay 2, 2009
Great film, Shows enough gore to make a horror movie yet creates enough suspense for a compelling thriller that you can't take your eyes off.The director masterfully builds suspense and excitement. Everything was well done from the Great film, Shows enough gore to make a horror movie yet creates enough suspense for a compelling thriller that you can't take your eyes off.The director masterfully builds suspense and excitement. Everything was well done from the camera work to the music cues.Good dialogue and great special effects. loved it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JSNov 4, 2007
It's ridiculous that some people and reviewers are complaining about the level of gore & violence in this movie. It's a ZOMBIE MOVIE!!! What did you expect?? In any case, it's one hell of a zombie movie, and one of the best It's ridiculous that some people and reviewers are complaining about the level of gore & violence in this movie. It's a ZOMBIE MOVIE!!! What did you expect?? In any case, it's one hell of a zombie movie, and one of the best I've ever seen. I couldn't take my eyes away for a moment. It's not perfect - they try to make the US military look like jerks, and one zombie that finds his former family again and again is pretty implausible. But the sheer genius here - of how and why a virus that is wiped out suddenly returns is an amazing story. The central family in the story are interesting too - they are not heroes but ordinary people with ordinary flaws dealing with a situation totally out of their control. It's every bit as good as "28 days". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
chadOct 18, 2007
This movie took everything good in the first movie and brought it to the next level ( the infected, blood) and got rid of everything that wasn't good about the first (slow pace) to make for one awesome fast paced movie that had me This movie took everything good in the first movie and brought it to the next level ( the infected, blood) and got rid of everything that wasn't good about the first (slow pace) to make for one awesome fast paced movie that had me thinking about it all day. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AntonioR.Oct 26, 2007
Amazing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
K.O.May 11, 2007
Solid solid sequal. Does not disappoint. The one zombie popping up over and over is a bit lame but over all quite excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SonofsabuS.May 11, 2007
The trailers weren't that exciting but I was really impressed with the film. First 5 minutes grabs you by the throat and the director does a good job keeping his foot on the gas throughout.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobboMay 12, 2007
This was an excellent horror/thriller movie. Does anyone know who/what the source of the score is?? -- that piece that plays over and over again, sounds familiar but not sure, would love to know what it is and get the music thereof.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeterE.May 16, 2007
Much better than the first one! This movie scared the devil out of me. I found myself almost scared to look at the screen... GREAT SCARY/ZOMBIE MOVIE. GO SEE IT.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattN.May 21, 2007
Very suspenseful and kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattAMay 28, 2007
I loved this movie. It had emotional depth in characters driven on love and passion. The music fit the movie very well, and helped drive emotion. The movie was kinda depressing...and left an vague ending...but overall an adrenaline rush I loved this movie. It had emotional depth in characters driven on love and passion. The music fit the movie very well, and helped drive emotion. The movie was kinda depressing...and left an vague ending...but overall an adrenaline rush post-apocolyptic treat! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JasonJ.Jun 1, 2007
Thank God someone out there still knows how to make a movie. We are losing that art, you know. As I was sitting there at the theatre, I was relieved that I can still pay 9-10 USD and get something worth it. This movie is intelligent and Thank God someone out there still knows how to make a movie. We are losing that art, you know. As I was sitting there at the theatre, I was relieved that I can still pay 9-10 USD and get something worth it. This movie is intelligent and not-so-far from reality. A real life virus probably won't cause these type of symptoms, but it's a small jump for the imagination. It has a very well-explained, tight progression. The horror scenes can hold up to any of the best in the genre. Do not take your children, however. The director is a true, and nowadays, rare talent. I will see the sequel if he directs it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FaisalH.Sep 18, 2007
One of the few movies which are even better than the original, which was excellent too. 28 Weeks Later will suck you in right from the chilling first sequence and take you on a journey about the aftermath of the virus, right till the One of the few movies which are even better than the original, which was excellent too. 28 Weeks Later will suck you in right from the chilling first sequence and take you on a journey about the aftermath of the virus, right till the wonderful ending of the movie. A well-written script, an intelligent way to bring something new to the series, this movie is a must-watch for anyone who saw 28 Days Later, or even have a passing interest in watching high-quality horror movies. My recommendation - catch it on DVD, the extras (especially the comics) are more than worth it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlecB.May 11, 2007
This iz by far the best horror movie in years.. very interesting, good plot, intense action, scary, danny boyle has surprised m3 with 28 days but i got more surprises by 28 weeks later.. great sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DexterM.May 12, 2007
Incredible cinematography, great performances, and tons of eye candy (all simultaneously combined with scares). A must-see for "zombie movie" fans and horror fans alike.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MatthewM.May 13, 2007
I am not a zombie movie fan, but this director that Danny Boyle picked is quite a talent, and Jeremy Renner who is normally one of the most hateable actors around is somehow extremely likeable. Most zombie movies are one note and a very I am not a zombie movie fan, but this director that Danny Boyle picked is quite a talent, and Jeremy Renner who is normally one of the most hateable actors around is somehow extremely likeable. Most zombie movies are one note and a very simple story. I really think this and the previous actually have a story and force the characters into very difficult choices. Not to mention this film takes the basic horror conventions and invents a couple one of kind scenes .(helicopter and quarantine outbreak). Overall second best horror film in last four years besides The Descent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanaS.May 16, 2007
First off, I absolutely hate zombie movies. Second, I walked into 28 weeks later expecting to want that hour and a half of my life back. The reason I appreciate 28 weeks later, though, is that it doesn't follow suite with most of other First off, I absolutely hate zombie movies. Second, I walked into 28 weeks later expecting to want that hour and a half of my life back. The reason I appreciate 28 weeks later, though, is that it doesn't follow suite with most of other movies. More often than none, the outcome of virtuous, yet reckless acts are always positive. Not so in 28 weeks later. Instead, it is the difficult, "heartless" decisions (that went neglected, by the way) that would have been the salvation of human kind. Because certain characters "waited longer than a heart beat," the infection raged out of control. 28 Weeks Later also has some uncommon dichotomies--- the Rage was not unleashed upon humankind once more by molevolent forces or bad intention, but by a passionate kiss and a galant, compassionate rescue. A few elements of the movie discouraged me from assigning a 10, however, and really got my gal. I think most of the gore had a meaningful place in the movie--- nothing is more horrifying than seeing passionate lovers brutalize each other--- but watching legions of infected get chopped to bits by the impossible maneuver of a military chopper pilot verged on insulting: pure hollywood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TerryO.May 31, 2007
Great portrayal of a worst-case infectious disease outbreak. Although some of the science/public health was a little off, for the most part it was outstanding. Outstanding cross between "Outbreak" and "Dawn of the Dead"!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RandyMOct 11, 2008
28 Weeks Later is dark. Beyond dark. It's a movie lover's masochistic nightmare. But it's shocking, intelligent, and will leave you utterly exhausted by the time your finished watching it. The movie gives you almost no time to 28 Weeks Later is dark. Beyond dark. It's a movie lover's masochistic nightmare. But it's shocking, intelligent, and will leave you utterly exhausted by the time your finished watching it. The movie gives you almost no time to relax and cleverly instills a sense of panic throughout. Brilliantly concieved and more than worthy to sit among the few top-tier horror films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TheQuietGamerJun 1, 2011
A fantastic sequel, it has a lot of tense moments, a lot of enjoyable new characters, my only complaints are that it starts of slow, and that the ending is a little confusing, but the atmosphere, and the jaw dropping moments make this a mustA fantastic sequel, it has a lot of tense moments, a lot of enjoyable new characters, my only complaints are that it starts of slow, and that the ending is a little confusing, but the atmosphere, and the jaw dropping moments make this a must seee for fans of the first movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
potatoes351Aug 13, 2012
Danny Boyle made the great 28 Days Later in 2002. Now 5 years later Juan Carlos Fresnadillo takes the reigns of this very human focused franchise. Though the film is now more action focused and lacks the amazing suspense and emptiness of theDanny Boyle made the great 28 Days Later in 2002. Now 5 years later Juan Carlos Fresnadillo takes the reigns of this very human focused franchise. Though the film is now more action focused and lacks the amazing suspense and emptiness of the original it makes its own place in the franchise. After a heart pounding opening with an infected attack on a farmhouse the setting swiftly moves to London which is now being repopulated with British citizens by the US army. However things quickly go down the **** and the infection breaks out again. Two young siblings and their US army guardians must now make their way across the infected regions of London in hope of rescue. Bloodier, gorier and better then its predecessor in nearly every way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
survivorfan989Jan 20, 2013
Possibly one of the best zombie films out there and better than the first film. The Brits do it a little different to anyone else but in a way that really works. Lead by a great cast with likable characters also. It was very interestingPossibly one of the best zombie films out there and better than the first film. The Brits do it a little different to anyone else but in a way that really works. Lead by a great cast with likable characters also. It was very interesting watching Don's transition from human to infected and following his story as well as the kids. Quite a few jumpy bits also I might say and it's very 'in your face' as far as Horror films go. Overall impressive film and up there as one of the best zombie flicks! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BritishWolfSep 21, 2015
Brilliant film, but does not fill the boots left by its revolutionary predecessor. I wish the film focused more on human drama and futility, as the first film did, as opposed to action. The human drama of the first film was partly what set itBrilliant film, but does not fill the boots left by its revolutionary predecessor. I wish the film focused more on human drama and futility, as the first film did, as opposed to action. The human drama of the first film was partly what set it apart from the crowd. Despite this, the film is expertly shot and once again integrates a brilliant, eerie soundtrack. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BruceMay 12, 2007
Wow, i wasn't expecting much from this film, but it really delivered. I would say its just as enjoyable as the first film, but it definitely achieves this in different ways. Some things irritated a little bit, such as some fairly largeWow, i wasn't expecting much from this film, but it really delivered. I would say its just as enjoyable as the first film, but it definitely achieves this in different ways. Some things irritated a little bit, such as some fairly large plot holes, and a certain zombie popping up everywhere but you don't tend to notice them because of the pace at which the movie moves. A warning as well, this movie is incredibly violent. It makes the first film look g-rated in my opinion. I had one friend walk out 10 minutes in and another 3/4 of the way through. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MichaelS.Jun 8, 2007
Solid, scary and completely absent of one second of humor, which is a good thing. Zombies are serious business and 28wl serves it up hot and exciting. Who will direct 28 Months Later??!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MrSmithNov 17, 2007
If you enjoyed the first you should enjoy this, I found the first to be more scary than this.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
GaryJ.Oct 11, 2007
Killing the Dead is Good.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
jeffc.Oct 23, 2007
I really dug it. Gritty, great music, well done!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AugustusS.May 11, 2007
A lot better than I expected it to be. Very reminiscent of "Aliens" both in the kind of movie and in the levels of coolnes and quality. Scary, exciting, interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SkylerW.May 30, 2007
A very good sequel, but not beter than the original. While the plot doesn't really advance much in new ideas, the film's simplicity is overcome by good acting and exceptional directing. It also manages to sustain terror and A very good sequel, but not beter than the original. While the plot doesn't really advance much in new ideas, the film's simplicity is overcome by good acting and exceptional directing. It also manages to sustain terror and suspense throughout, making it quite the exciting viewing experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnL.Jun 24, 2007
Better than the original, 28 Weeks Later provides a new twist to the zombie genre by examining what happens after the initial insanity when society is trying to rebuild itself. The kids do a great job, and the ending is uncompromising to say Better than the original, 28 Weeks Later provides a new twist to the zombie genre by examining what happens after the initial insanity when society is trying to rebuild itself. The kids do a great job, and the ending is uncompromising to say the least. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MaxC.Sep 7, 2007
An interesting movie that isn't quite as good as the original, it is stick worth watching for the zombie/disease fans. Admittedly, if the military in the movie was the LEAST BIT INTELLIGENT, none of the movie would have happened, but An interesting movie that isn't quite as good as the original, it is stick worth watching for the zombie/disease fans. Admittedly, if the military in the movie was the LEAST BIT INTELLIGENT, none of the movie would have happened, but that would have been a very boring movie. Weird that the stupid military is the United States military. I think the UK director was trying to get something across politically. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarieMOct 25, 2007
It starts and never stops. The zombie/monsters are actually scary - something that's hard to do these days when we see zombies at the supermarket all the time. Robert Carlyle is living with his wife in the countryside - trying to stay It starts and never stops. The zombie/monsters are actually scary - something that's hard to do these days when we see zombies at the supermarket all the time. Robert Carlyle is living with his wife in the countryside - trying to stay away from the plague. Their children live in Spain, and are free of it. After a while, when things are "safe" again, the two children return to England. Much excitement ensues. Jeremy Renner is excellent in his tiny part as a sharpshooter given orders he can't obey. The actor playing the little boy is extraordinary, too. The only bit of miscasting was with the older girl. She's a former model and - guess what? - was in WAY over her head next to Robert Carlyle and the rest. I think she was hired because she has huge eyes and they needed them to look scared all the time. The fact that her eyeliner never smudged despite days of running and crying and screaming really bugged me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NoxL.Oct 26, 2007
This movie surprised me. I enjoyed it more than it's predecessor. I love the reimagining of the zombie genre, as "scary" movies were never my thing. The violence in this movie was perfect, it impacted you in a way that really made you This movie surprised me. I enjoyed it more than it's predecessor. I love the reimagining of the zombie genre, as "scary" movies were never my thing. The violence in this movie was perfect, it impacted you in a way that really made you feel claustrophobic and it wasn't lacking in class, as someone said. It makes you wonder how voracious these infected are. Sure, there are some parts that are obviously nonsensical but if you think about this in a real world situation, it might make more sense... The acting was pretty nice too. Actors I've never even seen before that don't look like amazing supermodels, but like normal people who can do a decent job acting. I liked that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChrisK.May 11, 2007
"We have the answer to infection" or maybe not. I thought 28 Days later was one of the best horror movies in recent history. It was scary, it was sentimental and heartwarming too, and the story went places I didn't expect. 28 Weeks "We have the answer to infection" or maybe not. I thought 28 Days later was one of the best horror movies in recent history. It was scary, it was sentimental and heartwarming too, and the story went places I didn't expect. 28 Weeks later is more of the same - just less heartwarming and more action. I'm pretty immune to movie violence and horror but did find the hairs on my neck standing up in one scene - that means it's working. Not one for the kiddies but if you like horror zombie movies this movie kicks! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JakeB.May 11, 2007
Great great stuff, lots of action and the movie feels like it's only 20 minutes long. Although the ending is somewhat predictable, the path that gets you there is not at all. This is one of the only movies I have ever seen in which the Great great stuff, lots of action and the movie feels like it's only 20 minutes long. Although the ending is somewhat predictable, the path that gets you there is not at all. This is one of the only movies I have ever seen in which the main characters are not sacred and are just as susceptible to death as the rest of the characters. Great movie over all and can't wait for the next one! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyS.May 13, 2007
I consider the opening 15 minutes of 28 Days Later to be the most desperately intense set piece in cinema horror ever filmed, that said, the opening 15 minutes of 28 Weeks Later set in a boarded-up country house where 6 people await the I consider the opening 15 minutes of 28 Days Later to be the most desperately intense set piece in cinema horror ever filmed, that said, the opening 15 minutes of 28 Weeks Later set in a boarded-up country house where 6 people await the inevitable return of the infected is almost as gripping. The same building and building electric guitar that John Murphy used in Days creates the same claustrophic tension here and the sight of Robert Carlyle's wife in the upstairs window is as foreboding as you can get, but then the story moves back to London and the repopulation of a "Green Zone" protected by the U.S. military in hopes of starting a new civilization. Fat Chance! 28 Weeks Later soon becomes a free for all kill anything that moves carnage without any of the eerily silence and stillness that was such a key in the first one. There are a few really great scenes in Weeks but as a whole it pales in comparison. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MohanK.May 13, 2007
Not quite as good as the original, 28 Weeks Later still packs a plenty of tense and frightening moments. Lots more great shots of a deserted London, too. Good show!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BenJ.May 14, 2007
Better than the original? No. But still a great film, which is well worth watching. Scared me siilly!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoeHMay 17, 2007
Overall a good movie that follows in the footsteps of the first film. They had a bigger budget this time, which led to well placed special effects which were not exuberant (my fear was that they would do the opposite). The movie also had a Overall a good movie that follows in the footsteps of the first film. They had a bigger budget this time, which led to well placed special effects which were not exuberant (my fear was that they would do the opposite). The movie also had a compelling, scary, storyline. I can remember only a handful of scenes where I was calm and unanxious. There were a few minor flaws and one MAJOR flaw in the story line (which you will see). Despite that, 28 Weeks Later still continues to breathe fresh air into the zombie-genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AramisG.May 11, 2007
[***SPOILER***] Wow! I wasn't expecting much because sequels are usually cash ins. I have to say I was proven wrong. Maybe not as good as the original in character development and plot, but definitely surpasses in violence and tension.[***SPOILER***] Wow! I wasn't expecting much because sequels are usually cash ins. I have to say I was proven wrong. Maybe not as good as the original in character development and plot, but definitely surpasses in violence and tension. The reappearing "dad" zombie gets a little annoying and there are some major plot inconsistencies (civilian is able to walk right into a heavly guarded military medical center?). However, these little issues get washed away in the carnage that follows. Can't wait for 28 Months later. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TonyS.May 12, 2007
Much Better then what I was expecting. True, there is a lot more gore in this film then the last. However, to my surprise it stayed real and never got cheesy. A Worthy Sequel!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LucyS.May 14, 2007
Heart poundingly good 28 Weeks Later's slick combination of horror and reality that leaves you aware of how real horror is a combination of bad judgement and worse timing. With an even handed balance of hand held camera work and Heart poundingly good 28 Weeks Later's slick combination of horror and reality that leaves you aware of how real horror is a combination of bad judgement and worse timing. With an even handed balance of hand held camera work and sophisticated special effects - the horror of humanity is never left. Resonates with you in a way that the slasher films of the last two years never do. Outstanding. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanT.May 15, 2007
Great sequel. I thought the edits and camera works was a bit too fast for my taste, but that's just being picky.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattLMay 28, 2007
Very much different than the first movie, but just as good. The opening is extremely intense, leaving you sitting on the tip of your chair waiting nervously for London to fall apart once again. Some pretty cool cinematography as well. The Very much different than the first movie, but just as good. The opening is extremely intense, leaving you sitting on the tip of your chair waiting nervously for London to fall apart once again. Some pretty cool cinematography as well. The creepy, stalkerish zombie-dad was kinda stupid, but it didn't take away that much from the movie. Definitely worth seeing, especially in theaters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AaronF.May 28, 2007
Very good, best horror sequel I can ever recall seeing. There are issues: overuse of shaky camera, one too many appearances by father character, and lack of proper ending; but this is by far the most genuinely thrilling and scary movie Very good, best horror sequel I can ever recall seeing. There are issues: overuse of shaky camera, one too many appearances by father character, and lack of proper ending; but this is by far the most genuinely thrilling and scary movie I've seen in years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulK.Jun 15, 2007
I thought this was going to be rehash, but after seeing the reviews, I took a chance. In some ways this is predictable, but the plot device that fuels the story and the potential for sequels is plausible and a great direction to go with this I thought this was going to be rehash, but after seeing the reviews, I took a chance. In some ways this is predictable, but the plot device that fuels the story and the potential for sequels is plausible and a great direction to go with this franchise. The very last scene should have been edited out, since the subtle and more effective cliffhanger had already been established. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NF123Aug 24, 2010
Where 28 days later had subtly 28 weeks later has explosions, however it's a decent turn for the franchise. it's not as suspensful as the original but that doesn't mean it's not as good. OK the militaristic themes basically boil down to "USWhere 28 days later had subtly 28 weeks later has explosions, however it's a decent turn for the franchise. it's not as suspensful as the original but that doesn't mean it's not as good. OK the militaristic themes basically boil down to "US army=bad :(" and it had been done much better by Danny Boyle himself, however that doesn't mean Characterisation is sacrificed and at the end I did care about what happaned. It also helps that all performances are excellent and while its a bit cliched to cast the attractive young women (Rose Byrne) as a doctor her performance is so convincing it works! My personal rule to this is while 28 days later is creepy after the first time you've seen it you won't really jump, 28 weeks later is a lot more rewatchable and feels a bit more like a Zombie film as opposed to 28 days later which felt like a drama that happaned to feature zombies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
juliankleissJan 16, 2011
A terrific movie dealing with the moral problem of utilitarianism: sacrifice a few to save many?
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
MrRiggsJan 9, 2011
When I first heard about this movie I was pumped. I can NEVER get enough quality zombie/infection type movies if they are well done, and this is WELL done. Acting is solid, the effects/costumes/blood/gore as all very believable, some partsWhen I first heard about this movie I was pumped. I can NEVER get enough quality zombie/infection type movies if they are well done, and this is WELL done. Acting is solid, the effects/costumes/blood/gore as all very believable, some parts will get you angry tho and thats what I love about movies, some parts you just want to reach through the screen, kept my involved and entertained throughout, same as 28 weeks later, BOTH quality infection/plague flicks that are a must watch for anyone a fan of those things. I wish theyd make more like this...! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
ZiggyStardustJul 3, 2011
I'd say 28 weeks later takes what 28 days later did and does it a slight bit better. Again, like it's prequel it's an amazing horror/zombie flick, definitely worth a watch!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
talisencrwJul 21, 2016
This was a very good sequel to a fine zombie work (my favourite zombie film is STILL Jean Rollin's remarkable and extremely aesthetically-pleasing 'The Grapes of Death'), and I was very pleasantly surprised. Pardon the pun, but you wouldThis was a very good sequel to a fine zombie work (my favourite zombie film is STILL Jean Rollin's remarkable and extremely aesthetically-pleasing 'The Grapes of Death'), and I was very pleasantly surprised. Pardon the pun, but you would think that by this time, everything in the land of zombie movies would have been done to death, but I remain consistently admiring of just where the best and most thought-out renditions of the template can go. In THIS case, the most intriguing dynamic is a cowardly husband choosing his life rather than helping his wife out of a horrible crisis, then infanticide (or worse) of his own children, rather than face their wrath over the poor decision he had made.

It's interestingly hilarious that when you think about it, humanity is doomed because a 12-year-old had to go back and get a picture of his mother, because he was afraid that without it, he would forget what she looked like...A surprisingly satisfying work, that for horror fans, is worth a purchase and rewatching. I'm admittedly more for classic films, from the 20's to 60's, but for contemporary horror cinema, I liked this a lot, especially Jeremy Renner and Imogen Poots. It's no surprise to me that they soon became superstars.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeJun 10, 2015
This sequel of 28 days later is better in every way.More gore,better acting and better action scenes.The story was kind of basic and predictable and some of the characters decisions were stupid but,overall,the movie is good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SiAScORCHNov 5, 2014
This movie isn't as good as the first one, but it has a great story line as the infection battle has claimed to be nearly won. Then you get some amazing twists and you get to see how different characters adapt to different situations. It'sThis movie isn't as good as the first one, but it has a great story line as the infection battle has claimed to be nearly won. Then you get some amazing twists and you get to see how different characters adapt to different situations. It's definitely worth watching, but you must watch the first one in order to enjoy the second one as much as I did. It's also kind of sad at some parts, but I won't spoil it for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheFilmDoctorMar 22, 2016
28 Days Later was a traditional British science-fiction/horror movie with added smarts and innovative style. This sequel extends the story in intelligent, suspenseful ways. Simply because it’s a ‘part two’, it isn’t as fresh, but enough28 Days Later was a traditional British science-fiction/horror movie with added smarts and innovative style. This sequel extends the story in intelligent, suspenseful ways. Simply because it’s a ‘part two’, it isn’t as fresh, but enough changes are rung to stop it feeling like a remake. Like Aliens, it ups the action scale by bringing in Yanks with big guns, which — as George Romero has often shown — means even more peril for ordinary folks caught between plague and the authorities.

With Danny Boyle and Alex Garland otherwise occupied by Sunshine, a new creative team takes over. Spanish director Juan Carlos Fresnadillo, of the outstanding and unusual Intacto, evokes what Boyle did on the first film without slavishly copying him. The prologue, which takes place early in the crisis, offers an old-fashioned zombie attack as hands crash through the boarded-up windows of a besieged house. It also serves to introduce an unusual protagonist, the weasely Don (Robert Carlyle) — who puts his survival ahead of all else.

After its first burst, the film hops ahead to the aftermath and takes a few creepy reels before the action starts again — but once the Raging and blood-spitting begins it’s relentless, as panic spreads and inept attempts to eradicate the plague give a whittled-down band of survivors as many problems as the screaming infected.

The fractured British family are an interesting focus for the film: child actors Imogen Poots and Mackintosh Muggleton are terrific, while Carlyle and McCormack get the maximum impact from shifty looks, malign glares and freak-outs. The American contingent — scientist Rose Byrne, grunts Jeremy Renner and Harold Perrineau — offers thinner material, especially once everyone has to start running.

The set-pieces, however, escalate with mostly excellent results: watching it all go wrong for the military — and their desperate response — is harrowing, but the tonal shift in a scene involving a helicopter and the infected on a heath which strays into Peter Jackson/Sam Raimi comic-horror territory is less effective. Momentum is regained, though, for a strong, dark finish.

Bigger action, more amazing deserted (and devastated) London sequences and biting contemporary relevance, if a touch less heart than the original.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews