28 Weeks Later

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 408 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 408
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SeanP.
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    Just to let everyone in on a secret. They are not zombies and that is why the father followed them. They are just real angry. Now actually watch the movie and don't go into it thinking this movie sucks because they didn't explain everything to me.
  2. AnneW.
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    Excellent. I saw it a week ago and I;m still thinking about it. Definitely recommend it for anyone who likes suspense!
  3. LarryB
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    No, Conor B., how misleading Metacritic users can be. Are you serious? You're suggesting that a zombie movie is...implausible? Are you kidding me? You're an idiot. Zombie movies aren't supposed to be about realism. They're supposed to be scary and intense, and that's exactly what 28 Weeks Later was. Stick to the more important George Clooney type movies with No, Conor B., how misleading Metacritic users can be. Are you serious? You're suggesting that a zombie movie is...implausible? Are you kidding me? You're an idiot. Zombie movies aren't supposed to be about realism. They're supposed to be scary and intense, and that's exactly what 28 Weeks Later was. Stick to the more important George Clooney type movies with realistic situations and realistic people. Or, you know, you could just go outside and experience realistic situations yourself, but those aren't that entertaining, are they? And, Harry G., what they hell are you talking about? There were only a few scenes that even used CG.... Most of the people underrating this excellent movie don't even know what the hell they are talking about: they're either enraged that this movie is a sequel (and all sequels MUST suck, it's a traditional POV to take on all sequels) or they're upset over the lack of realism...in a movie about zombies. I'll stick with the critics, thanks. Expand
  4. HelloYou
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    One of the best movies of the year (or was it last year...I don't remember). It's been a long time that I left the theater throughly satisfied with a movie in every aspect. On top of that, for it to be a sequel that I felt this way about is mindblowing. Perhaps the one and only time. I can safetly say in my own mind that I enjoyed it more than the original. It took me awhile to One of the best movies of the year (or was it last year...I don't remember). It's been a long time that I left the theater throughly satisfied with a movie in every aspect. On top of that, for it to be a sequel that I felt this way about is mindblowing. Perhaps the one and only time. I can safetly say in my own mind that I enjoyed it more than the original. It took me awhile to really appreciate the original, tho I liked it. However, 28 Weeks Later has everything that was great about the original and so much more. Better characters, a better story, better action, scarier, more shock value, and a non-happy ending that I luv. When I say "shock value" I don't mean in terms of gore (tho it has that), but I mean that some of the main characters die and I didn't expect it what-so-ever. A lot of the time you can see a person's death coming from a mile away, but my favorite character in the movie...whom shall remain nameless to not spoil it...dies so suddenly that I actually felt EMOTION for a fiction character. That rarely happens for me. The only other recent time I can remember feeling something like that was when Leo's character died in the Departed (ya, spoiler...you should of saw it by now). I also love how the Helicopter pilot comes off as kind of a jerkoff but I know I would do the exact same thing he did. I read a lot of people saying that what the characters did at times was illogical, but I believe the character's acted in a very realistic way and they acted like realistic people...not cut in dry...good and bad. I can't wait to buy it tomorrow. Expand
  5. Ryencoke
    May 11, 2007
    10
    This is how you make a sequel. One of the best most recent sequels to a movie I have ever seen. Aliens + Aliens = 28 Days Later + 28 Weeks Later. That's how I compare them. Such an awesome movie. Go see it.
  6. StephenM
    May 17, 2007
    10
    I was honestly blown away. 28 Days Later owned me...and this just couldn't have exceeded my expectations more. There is not a single optimistic moment in this movie- and it's glorious to see in a world where movies almost always acheive some happy ending. I was intrigued the entire movie and felt that it ended perfectly too- the director didn't bother to add too much or, I was honestly blown away. 28 Days Later owned me...and this just couldn't have exceeded my expectations more. There is not a single optimistic moment in this movie- and it's glorious to see in a world where movies almost always acheive some happy ending. I was intrigued the entire movie and felt that it ended perfectly too- the director didn't bother to add too much or, conversely, leave out some necessary things. 28 Weeks Later is well worth your money...and all of your friends' money too. Expand
  7. EmilyD.
    Jun 1, 2007
    10
    Awesome movie, everything I expected and more.
  8. BryanS.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    This was an amazing movie.. like i could just picture another one. i hope they make one cause if the virus hit europe all of asia and africa would fall to and i could see giant barriers.
  9. AndrewG.
    May 13, 2007
    10
    Easily the best scary movie I've ever seen. Much much better than 28 Days Later.
  10. ZachB.
    May 14, 2007
    10
    28 Weeks is superb in the way it moves from Zombie film to allegory. There is a coldness and something that haunts the mind when you see the military occupation of ravaged London--now a city of the dead.
  11. AdamP.
    May 18, 2007
    10
    Brilliant film. Best I have seen in a while; so good it made my girlfriend walk out with her mate whilst me and my mate watched the fun.This film is for the ZOMBIE lovers. Dawn of the Dead this beats you 10000%.
  12. AntonioR.
    May 25, 2007
    10
    Amazing!
  13. StevenD
    May 27, 2007
    10
    28 Weeks Later is one hell of a ride. This film not only manages to top the first movie but propels it into one of the best horror/drama sequels yet to come out. The sets are amazing and alive, the characters kept me at the edge of my seat wondering what would happen to them next, and the plot is excellent. Much more depth then the first. You think its going to be another over the top 28 Weeks Later is one hell of a ride. This film not only manages to top the first movie but propels it into one of the best horror/drama sequels yet to come out. The sets are amazing and alive, the characters kept me at the edge of my seat wondering what would happen to them next, and the plot is excellent. Much more depth then the first. You think its going to be another over the top action/horror flick when the military shows up but all that changes. You may ask why I gave it a ten? I like to dissect movies and try to get a sense of some real life to them and 28 weeks later has just that.. It makes you feel sympathetic to the characters and you feel as if your a survivor following them through London's desolate streets. When you go to see this keep it mind its in a league of its own. If your expecting a zombie flick and review it off other zombies movies you've seen, then this isn't for you. As for the cast each actor/actress does an excellent job and Robert Carlyle's character is just plain engrossing to watch. I see why now he was cast in 28 weeks later since in the movie Ravenous he played a crazy cannibal..perfect fit for this role. The end also sets it up for a sequel for an already great series. Definitely looking forward to this trilogy conclusion. If your a fan of drama, horror, post-disaster movies or just a fan of the first, I highly recommend seeing 28 Weeks Later. Worth the admission price. Expand
  14. MelissaC.
    Jun 12, 2007
    10
    I think this would be my favorite movie of all times. I ended without nails and with the desire of bite everyone. I just wanted to run every where and yield. I just loved it.
  15. AdamF.
    Jun 13, 2007
    10
    Absolutely loved it. The movie was not only one of the most terrifying films out in recent history, but it also posed really twisted and sick moral dilemmas. Loved it.
  16. NickM.
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    This movie will probably go down as a classic horror film. It is one of the scariest movies to date, and it had a classic moment a minute. It's biggest praise is its opening scene, one of the best in any movie ever.
  17. AnthonyG.
    Oct 28, 2007
    10
    28 weeks later was way better then days. i was shakeing during the whole movie. Its was amazing. if u haven't seen it, then go see it.
  18. NikyB.
    May 11, 2007
    10
    I was a HUGE fan of the first and I had high expectations of this one....IT DELIVERED!
  19. JohnE.
    May 14, 2007
    10
    Loved it. Bleak, brutal and grim - just how a good horror film should be.
  20. Warmonger
    May 17, 2007
    10
    Fantastic film! Can't wait for 28 months later! The movie is a suprisingly horrific look at how a virius completely decemates a whole city, a whole country, in fact, and how some people try to survive, and rebuild from that devastation, only to be faced with it again. It's a bit far fetched but more credible than any zombie flick and that's it's allure. It makes people Fantastic film! Can't wait for 28 months later! The movie is a suprisingly horrific look at how a virius completely decemates a whole city, a whole country, in fact, and how some people try to survive, and rebuild from that devastation, only to be faced with it again. It's a bit far fetched but more credible than any zombie flick and that's it's allure. It makes people ponder for a second, being a virus, what if something like this really happened?! It kept me on the edge of my seat from begining to end! These films are the best zombie type movies that I've ever seen....... simply HORRIFYING! Expand
  21. TylerG.
    May 18, 2007
    10
    One of the best movies of the year, one of the best suspense/horror movies I've ever seen, they're not zombies so Im not gonna say that, but it's just excellent it's great GO SEE IT NOW
  22. equality7-2521
    May 19, 2007
    10
    This was exhilarating. Amid the gore and the frenetic pace, there is some serious cinematic poetry. I loved this film. Ranks among the best films of the past year and a half. Not as good as Pan's Labyrinth, The Departed and V For Vendetta, but this filmmaker's future is bright.
  23. AndreaD.
    May 25, 2007
    10
    It was completely awesome and totally original and was better than the prequel. the effects were amazing. my hope is that there will be a third installment. It had every thing that a good zombie movie should have
  24. DanL
    Nov 27, 2009
    10
    Absolutely phenomenal. I enjoy this movie considerably more than the first one. The acting was believable, and the special effects definitely worked to convey the gritty, horrific reality of the subject matter.
  25. A.Nonymous
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Grim, brutal, fast-paced but, most importantly, believable. This is what makes a zombie movie great. More harrowing than it's predecessor, but definetely addresses some of the issues that plagued 28 Days Later. The only negative is that it's extremely depressing; even Days had a happy ending. An excellent movie, the only things critics can moan about it are technicalities. Grim, brutal, fast-paced but, most importantly, believable. This is what makes a zombie movie great. More harrowing than it's predecessor, but definetely addresses some of the issues that plagued 28 Days Later. The only negative is that it's extremely depressing; even Days had a happy ending. An excellent movie, the only things critics can moan about it are technicalities. Honestly people, if you can't give a well-balanced review don't review at all. Expand
  26. Mar 21, 2015
    10
    One of the greatest zombie movies ever made. I feel like 28 days later may have been slightly better, but the opening scene of this movie is easily the greatest moment in the two combined. If you like zombies you owe it to yourself to see this movie.
  27. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    Another fantastic sequel. Everything is new, there are new "scares", and ways of doing so. The environment is completely amazing, the story itself captive as I said in criticism of the earlier film is a film that deserves a sequel. For all I know there will be a sequel that will be called 28 months later and is scheduled to launch in 2013.
  28. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    Excellent!! Scary and shocking as the first one. I really like zombie films, and this one is one of my favourites!! Bravo!!!! Do not miss it!!! Brilliant!!
  29. Sep 27, 2014
    10
    Perfect correlation of horror and drama. Sound by J. Murphy, play by C. Murphy and own by Boyle on high quality level. I have my top movie list and this movie of course is in that top-list.
    One of best horrors of all times.
  30. ChristopherW.
    Oct 10, 2007
    9
    '28 Weeks Later' is visceral and gripping moviemaking of an uncommon order. It manages to reaffirm the terror of it's predecessor while also charting down an unrelenting path of mounting doom and gloom. It explodes at a fevered pitch from it's very first scene, and the pace never wavers for more than a couple seconds. This is simply one of the finest horror films of '28 Weeks Later' is visceral and gripping moviemaking of an uncommon order. It manages to reaffirm the terror of it's predecessor while also charting down an unrelenting path of mounting doom and gloom. It explodes at a fevered pitch from it's very first scene, and the pace never wavers for more than a couple seconds. This is simply one of the finest horror films of recent years. A must see! Expand
  31. Patrick
    Oct 22, 2007
    9
    I've already seen this dvd multiple times since its release, and have loved it every time. Great zombie movie that is a complete departure from 28 Days Later (so stop comparing the two you imbeciles, they're hardly similar). The sheer terror and manner in which the virus effects all involved always draws me back.
  32. ArthurC.
    May 24, 2007
    9
    Somehow manages to not only top the first one, but be a thoroughly original horror movie to boot. Something you don't see in sequels these days.
  33. ClareF.
    May 24, 2007
    9
    I thought this was fantastic, the effects are amazing and had me sitting on the edge of my sit, the use of children is smart as people will sympathize with them, the best movie I've watched in a long time.
  34. RyanP.
    Jun 1, 2007
    9
    Great sequel, but some will say that the original is better. I like the action though, and the atmosphere is still tense throughout.
  35. Irritated
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    Firstly! This is not a zombie movie! They are not zombies, they are infected with a virus! The victims do not die! And as for the person saying that the UK director was trying to say something political, does the name Juan Carlos Fresnadillo sound like an English name?! Secondly, this is a top notch movie!
  36. JoshH.
    Oct 14, 2007
    9
    I'm not sure what was so fantastic about 28 Days Later. A developed plot? Yeah, RIGHT. It starts out with a monkey that bites someone. The rage virus is let loose, causing everyone to go nuts! Yawn. Sounds a lot like the Umbrella virus from the Resident Evil games
  37. AnnaP.
    May 12, 2007
    9
    This was a thrilling, intense, and very good movie. I can't remember the last time I was quite as terrified in a movie theater. Several scenes, the kiss chief among them, were absolutely outstanding. I loved 28 Days Later too, but I think that overall this is a better movie. It is not quite as good as the first 1/3 of Days, but it is consistently better when taken as a whole. I This was a thrilling, intense, and very good movie. I can't remember the last time I was quite as terrified in a movie theater. Several scenes, the kiss chief among them, were absolutely outstanding. I loved 28 Days Later too, but I think that overall this is a better movie. It is not quite as good as the first 1/3 of Days, but it is consistently better when taken as a whole. I highly recommend this movie to anyone who likes the genre. If you don't like horror, don't bother. If you do, run - don't walk - to the theater. Don't get bitten. Expand
  38. BlancoAlegua
    May 13, 2007
    9
    Simply an outstanding film. By way of background, I'm a fan of the zombie genre. The pinnacle of the genre is the original "Dawn of the Dead," though I was pleasantly surprised by how good the remake was. On the other hand, I was hugely disappointed by "28 Days Later..." Seems tough be believe that a zombie flick could bore me, but I was bored to tears by pretty much the entire secondSimply an outstanding film. By way of background, I'm a fan of the zombie genre. The pinnacle of the genre is the original "Dawn of the Dead," though I was pleasantly surprised by how good the remake was. On the other hand, I was hugely disappointed by "28 Days Later..." Seems tough be believe that a zombie flick could bore me, but I was bored to tears by pretty much the entire second half of that film. 28 Weeks Later had me riveted from the opening sequence through the credits. The writing is vastly superior to the first film, and the acting talent is night and day compared to the "Days." Cillian Murphy was clearly out of his element and couldn't carry the original. Roberty Carlyle was a great choice for this one, but it's really Rose Bryne as Scarlett the clear-headed scientist/doctor (from "Wicker Park" et al), Jeremy Renner as Doyle the compassionate soldier, and Idris Elba ("The Wire")/Harold Perrineau ("Oz") in smaller roles that provide the glue for this movie. The pacing and excitement is just leagues ahead of the first film. And sure, it's gory as hell, but what else do you want?? This is the year of the helicopter, apparently. You've gotta love it. Expand
  39. SeanW.
    May 14, 2007
    9
    Simply stated, 28 Weeks delivers in a big way. I had two criticisms, though they don't prevent the film from being highly enjoyable. First, the principle characters in the film are little more than victims, and I was never attached to them the way I was in the original film. My favorite characters were the guardians and subcharacters that appeared throughout the film, and most of Simply stated, 28 Weeks delivers in a big way. I had two criticisms, though they don't prevent the film from being highly enjoyable. First, the principle characters in the film are little more than victims, and I was never attached to them the way I was in the original film. My favorite characters were the guardians and subcharacters that appeared throughout the film, and most of them are killed. Secondly, the director was compelled to recreate the horror of the infected that was discovered during the first movie, undoubtedly for those who never saw the original. However, I think he ventured slightly into the realm of overkill. There were too many visually disturbing images. I felt every scene in the original belonged there, while I'm not convinced the same case existed for the sequel. The rest of my comments are all positive. The same maoral dilemmas exist in the sequel that did in the first. The movie opens with a husband and wife being trapped by the infected in a bedroom. The wife ignores the husband's urges to come with him, running instead to a closet to save a child. When the infected break in, she yells for him to help them and he must either slam and lock the door or run to his wife's aid. Clearly, in this type of environment, the traditional rules of behavior don't apply. What should he do? I also enjoyed analyzing the military's approach to containment, which involves considering whether to shoot uninfected civilians who are being chased by the infected. They are likely dead anyway and are potential infected themselves. At times, I found myself questioning their decisions, but after thinking about it, one tends to agree with them. Again, I enjoy the moral dilemmas faced by such terrible circumstances. Finally, the film ends with a few second clip of a tantalizing lead-in to a potential third movie. It also provides an instant lens regarding whether or not the actions of all the characters in the movie were wise or not. Go see it. It doesn't disappoint. Expand
  40. BM.
    May 15, 2007
    9
    Solid. If you liked the first, you like this one.
  41. JustinC.
    May 16, 2007
    9
    I'm not one for thrillers or horror movies, but this movie was pretty amazing. The first action scene was incredible with the horrible choice that Don had to make. Only outstanding flaw was how the dad could appear everywhere, mostly by himself.
  42. KennethM.
    May 27, 2007
    9
    Like the first movie, it combines absolute terror and panic with moral / ethical dilemmas. I love it.
  43. JoeShmo
    May 27, 2007
    9
    In a word, "intense". Once in a great while a movie will grip me and not let go. This was one of those movies. Yeah, there are a few gaps and "yeah, right" moments, but they stayed around for about a second before I was enraptured again. I thought it captivating to the point that the end of the movie came much too quickly.
  44. NikM.
    May 31, 2007
    9
    Very...Very frightening. It reaches its goal of sccaring you and then some. After I saw movies like Land of the Dead, Resident Evil, Dawn of the Dead, and 28 Days Later ( all of which i liked) i classified zombie movies as action, not horror. After seeing this beast, it put zombie movies right back up in horror. Part of the movies horror though, comes not from the pictures, but from the Very...Very frightening. It reaches its goal of sccaring you and then some. After I saw movies like Land of the Dead, Resident Evil, Dawn of the Dead, and 28 Days Later ( all of which i liked) i classified zombie movies as action, not horror. After seeing this beast, it put zombie movies right back up in horror. Part of the movies horror though, comes not from the pictures, but from the loud, sharp and scary sound. Also, the movie seems to have absoulutley no sympathy for any character. A must see for horror movie lovers. Expand
  45. Adam
    May 8, 2007
    9
    Brutal... raw... frantic... an absolutely mindblowing sequel to a brilliant first movie. Puts nearly all the action/suspense movies of the past year to shame, only to be matched by Children of Men. A must see movie.
  46. Isaac
    Jun 3, 2007
    9
    Excellent follow up to 28 Days Later. Very exciting, lots of gore, awesome. Left me completely satisfied.
  47. JoshuaH
    May 2, 2009
    9
    Great film, Shows enough gore to make a horror movie yet creates enough suspense for a compelling thriller that you can't take your eyes off.The director masterfully builds suspense and excitement. Everything was well done from the camera work to the music cues.Good dialogue and great special effects. loved it.
  48. JS
    Nov 4, 2007
    9
    It's ridiculous that some people and reviewers are complaining about the level of gore & violence in this movie. It's a ZOMBIE MOVIE!!! What did you expect?? In any case, it's one hell of a zombie movie, and one of the best I've ever seen. I couldn't take my eyes away for a moment. It's not perfect - they try to make the US military look like jerks, and one It's ridiculous that some people and reviewers are complaining about the level of gore & violence in this movie. It's a ZOMBIE MOVIE!!! What did you expect?? In any case, it's one hell of a zombie movie, and one of the best I've ever seen. I couldn't take my eyes away for a moment. It's not perfect - they try to make the US military look like jerks, and one zombie that finds his former family again and again is pretty implausible. But the sheer genius here - of how and why a virus that is wiped out suddenly returns is an amazing story. The central family in the story are interesting too - they are not heroes but ordinary people with ordinary flaws dealing with a situation totally out of their control. It's every bit as good as "28 days". Expand
  49. chad
    Oct 18, 2007
    9
    This movie took everything good in the first movie and brought it to the next level ( the infected, blood) and got rid of everything that wasn't good about the first (slow pace) to make for one awesome fast paced movie that had me thinking about it all day.
  50. AntonioR.
    Oct 26, 2007
    9
    Amazing!
  51. K.O.
    May 11, 2007
    9
    Solid solid sequal. Does not disappoint. The one zombie popping up over and over is a bit lame but over all quite excellent.
  52. SonofsabuS.
    May 11, 2007
    9
    The trailers weren't that exciting but I was really impressed with the film. First 5 minutes grabs you by the throat and the director does a good job keeping his foot on the gas throughout.
  53. Robbo
    May 12, 2007
    9
    This was an excellent horror/thriller movie. Does anyone know who/what the source of the score is?? -- that piece that plays over and over again, sounds familiar but not sure, would love to know what it is and get the music thereof.
  54. PeterE.
    May 16, 2007
    9
    Much better than the first one! This movie scared the devil out of me. I found myself almost scared to look at the screen... GREAT SCARY/ZOMBIE MOVIE. GO SEE IT.
  55. MattN.
    May 21, 2007
    9
    Very suspenseful and kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time.
  56. MattA
    May 28, 2007
    9
    I loved this movie. It had emotional depth in characters driven on love and passion. The music fit the movie very well, and helped drive emotion. The movie was kinda depressing...and left an vague ending...but overall an adrenaline rush post-apocolyptic treat!
  57. JasonJ.
    Jun 1, 2007
    9
    Thank God someone out there still knows how to make a movie. We are losing that art, you know. As I was sitting there at the theatre, I was relieved that I can still pay 9-10 USD and get something worth it. This movie is intelligent and not-so-far from reality. A real life virus probably won't cause these type of symptoms, but it's a small jump for the imagination. It has a very Thank God someone out there still knows how to make a movie. We are losing that art, you know. As I was sitting there at the theatre, I was relieved that I can still pay 9-10 USD and get something worth it. This movie is intelligent and not-so-far from reality. A real life virus probably won't cause these type of symptoms, but it's a small jump for the imagination. It has a very well-explained, tight progression. The horror scenes can hold up to any of the best in the genre. Do not take your children, however. The director is a true, and nowadays, rare talent. I will see the sequel if he directs it. Expand
  58. FaisalH.
    Sep 18, 2007
    9
    One of the few movies which are even better than the original, which was excellent too. 28 Weeks Later will suck you in right from the chilling first sequence and take you on a journey about the aftermath of the virus, right till the wonderful ending of the movie. A well-written script, an intelligent way to bring something new to the series, this movie is a must-watch for anyone who saw One of the few movies which are even better than the original, which was excellent too. 28 Weeks Later will suck you in right from the chilling first sequence and take you on a journey about the aftermath of the virus, right till the wonderful ending of the movie. A well-written script, an intelligent way to bring something new to the series, this movie is a must-watch for anyone who saw 28 Days Later, or even have a passing interest in watching high-quality horror movies. My recommendation - catch it on DVD, the extras (especially the comics) are more than worth it. Expand
  59. AlecB.
    May 11, 2007
    9
    This iz by far the best horror movie in years.. very interesting, good plot, intense action, scary, danny boyle has surprised m3 with 28 days but i got more surprises by 28 weeks later.. great sequel.
  60. DexterM.
    May 12, 2007
    9
    Incredible cinematography, great performances, and tons of eye candy (all simultaneously combined with scares). A must-see for "zombie movie" fans and horror fans alike.
  61. MatthewM.
    May 13, 2007
    9
    I am not a zombie movie fan, but this director that Danny Boyle picked is quite a talent, and Jeremy Renner who is normally one of the most hateable actors around is somehow extremely likeable. Most zombie movies are one note and a very simple story. I really think this and the previous actually have a story and force the characters into very difficult choices. Not to mention this film I am not a zombie movie fan, but this director that Danny Boyle picked is quite a talent, and Jeremy Renner who is normally one of the most hateable actors around is somehow extremely likeable. Most zombie movies are one note and a very simple story. I really think this and the previous actually have a story and force the characters into very difficult choices. Not to mention this film takes the basic horror conventions and invents a couple one of kind scenes .(helicopter and quarantine outbreak). Overall second best horror film in last four years besides The Descent. Expand
  62. DanaS.
    May 16, 2007
    9
    First off, I absolutely hate zombie movies. Second, I walked into 28 weeks later expecting to want that hour and a half of my life back. The reason I appreciate 28 weeks later, though, is that it doesn't follow suite with most of other movies. More often than none, the outcome of virtuous, yet reckless acts are always positive. Not so in 28 weeks later. Instead, it is the difficult, First off, I absolutely hate zombie movies. Second, I walked into 28 weeks later expecting to want that hour and a half of my life back. The reason I appreciate 28 weeks later, though, is that it doesn't follow suite with most of other movies. More often than none, the outcome of virtuous, yet reckless acts are always positive. Not so in 28 weeks later. Instead, it is the difficult, "heartless" decisions (that went neglected, by the way) that would have been the salvation of human kind. Because certain characters "waited longer than a heart beat," the infection raged out of control. 28 Weeks Later also has some uncommon dichotomies--- the Rage was not unleashed upon humankind once more by molevolent forces or bad intention, but by a passionate kiss and a galant, compassionate rescue. A few elements of the movie discouraged me from assigning a 10, however, and really got my gal. I think most of the gore had a meaningful place in the movie--- nothing is more horrifying than seeing passionate lovers brutalize each other--- but watching legions of infected get chopped to bits by the impossible maneuver of a military chopper pilot verged on insulting: pure hollywood. Expand
  63. TerryO.
    May 31, 2007
    9
    Great portrayal of a worst-case infectious disease outbreak. Although some of the science/public health was a little off, for the most part it was outstanding. Outstanding cross between "Outbreak" and "Dawn of the Dead"!
  64. RandyM
    Oct 11, 2008
    9
    28 Weeks Later is dark. Beyond dark. It's a movie lover's masochistic nightmare. But it's shocking, intelligent, and will leave you utterly exhausted by the time your finished watching it. The movie gives you almost no time to relax and cleverly instills a sense of panic throughout. Brilliantly concieved and more than worthy to sit among the few top-tier horror films.
  65. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    A fantastic sequel, it has a lot of tense moments, a lot of enjoyable new characters, my only complaints are that it starts of slow, and that the ending is a little confusing, but the atmosphere, and the jaw dropping moments make this a must seee for fans of the first movie.
  66. Aug 13, 2012
    9
    Danny Boyle made the great 28 Days Later in 2002. Now 5 years later Juan Carlos Fresnadillo takes the reigns of this very human focused franchise. Though the film is now more action focused and lacks the amazing suspense and emptiness of the original it makes its own place in the franchise. After a heart pounding opening with an infected attack on a farmhouse the setting swiftly moves toDanny Boyle made the great 28 Days Later in 2002. Now 5 years later Juan Carlos Fresnadillo takes the reigns of this very human focused franchise. Though the film is now more action focused and lacks the amazing suspense and emptiness of the original it makes its own place in the franchise. After a heart pounding opening with an infected attack on a farmhouse the setting swiftly moves to London which is now being repopulated with British citizens by the US army. However things quickly go down the **** and the infection breaks out again. Two young siblings and their US army guardians must now make their way across the infected regions of London in hope of rescue. Bloodier, gorier and better then its predecessor in nearly every way. Expand
  67. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    Possibly one of the best zombie films out there and better than the first film. The Brits do it a little different to anyone else but in a way that really works. Lead by a great cast with likable characters also. It was very interesting watching Don's transition from human to infected and following his story as well as the kids. Quite a few jumpy bits also I might say and it's very 'inPossibly one of the best zombie films out there and better than the first film. The Brits do it a little different to anyone else but in a way that really works. Lead by a great cast with likable characters also. It was very interesting watching Don's transition from human to infected and following his story as well as the kids. Quite a few jumpy bits also I might say and it's very 'in your face' as far as Horror films go. Overall impressive film and up there as one of the best zombie flicks! Expand
  68. Bruce
    May 12, 2007
    8
    Wow, i wasn't expecting much from this film, but it really delivered. I would say its just as enjoyable as the first film, but it definitely achieves this in different ways. Some things irritated a little bit, such as some fairly large plot holes, and a certain zombie popping up everywhere but you don't tend to notice them because of the pace at which the movie moves. A warningWow, i wasn't expecting much from this film, but it really delivered. I would say its just as enjoyable as the first film, but it definitely achieves this in different ways. Some things irritated a little bit, such as some fairly large plot holes, and a certain zombie popping up everywhere but you don't tend to notice them because of the pace at which the movie moves. A warning as well, this movie is incredibly violent. It makes the first film look g-rated in my opinion. I had one friend walk out 10 minutes in and another 3/4 of the way through. Expand
  69. MichaelS.
    Jun 8, 2007
    8
    Solid, scary and completely absent of one second of humor, which is a good thing. Zombies are serious business and 28wl serves it up hot and exciting. Who will direct 28 Months Later??!!
  70. MrSmith
    Nov 17, 2007
    8
    If you enjoyed the first you should enjoy this, I found the first to be more scary than this.
  71. GaryJ.
    Oct 11, 2007
    8
    Killing the Dead is Good.
  72. jeffc.
    Oct 23, 2007
    8
    I really dug it. Gritty, great music, well done!
  73. AugustusS.
    May 11, 2007
    8
    A lot better than I expected it to be. Very reminiscent of "Aliens" both in the kind of movie and in the levels of coolnes and quality. Scary, exciting, interesting.
  74. SkylerW.
    May 30, 2007
    8
    A very good sequel, but not beter than the original. While the plot doesn't really advance much in new ideas, the film's simplicity is overcome by good acting and exceptional directing. It also manages to sustain terror and suspense throughout, making it quite the exciting viewing experience.
  75. JohnL.
    Jun 24, 2007
    8
    Better than the original, 28 Weeks Later provides a new twist to the zombie genre by examining what happens after the initial insanity when society is trying to rebuild itself. The kids do a great job, and the ending is uncompromising to say the least.
  76. MaxC.
    Sep 7, 2007
    8
    An interesting movie that isn't quite as good as the original, it is stick worth watching for the zombie/disease fans. Admittedly, if the military in the movie was the LEAST BIT INTELLIGENT, none of the movie would have happened, but that would have been a very boring movie. Weird that the stupid military is the United States military. I think the UK director was trying to get An interesting movie that isn't quite as good as the original, it is stick worth watching for the zombie/disease fans. Admittedly, if the military in the movie was the LEAST BIT INTELLIGENT, none of the movie would have happened, but that would have been a very boring movie. Weird that the stupid military is the United States military. I think the UK director was trying to get something across politically. Expand
  77. MarieM
    Oct 25, 2007
    8
    It starts and never stops. The zombie/monsters are actually scary - something that's hard to do these days when we see zombies at the supermarket all the time. Robert Carlyle is living with his wife in the countryside - trying to stay away from the plague. Their children live in Spain, and are free of it. After a while, when things are "safe" again, the two children return to It starts and never stops. The zombie/monsters are actually scary - something that's hard to do these days when we see zombies at the supermarket all the time. Robert Carlyle is living with his wife in the countryside - trying to stay away from the plague. Their children live in Spain, and are free of it. After a while, when things are "safe" again, the two children return to England. Much excitement ensues. Jeremy Renner is excellent in his tiny part as a sharpshooter given orders he can't obey. The actor playing the little boy is extraordinary, too. The only bit of miscasting was with the older girl. She's a former model and - guess what? - was in WAY over her head next to Robert Carlyle and the rest. I think she was hired because she has huge eyes and they needed them to look scared all the time. The fact that her eyeliner never smudged despite days of running and crying and screaming really bugged me. Expand
  78. NoxL.
    Oct 26, 2007
    8
    This movie surprised me. I enjoyed it more than it's predecessor. I love the reimagining of the zombie genre, as "scary" movies were never my thing. The violence in this movie was perfect, it impacted you in a way that really made you feel claustrophobic and it wasn't lacking in class, as someone said. It makes you wonder how voracious these infected are. Sure, there are some This movie surprised me. I enjoyed it more than it's predecessor. I love the reimagining of the zombie genre, as "scary" movies were never my thing. The violence in this movie was perfect, it impacted you in a way that really made you feel claustrophobic and it wasn't lacking in class, as someone said. It makes you wonder how voracious these infected are. Sure, there are some parts that are obviously nonsensical but if you think about this in a real world situation, it might make more sense... The acting was pretty nice too. Actors I've never even seen before that don't look like amazing supermodels, but like normal people who can do a decent job acting. I liked that. Expand
  79. ChrisK.
    May 11, 2007
    8
    "We have the answer to infection" or maybe not. I thought 28 Days later was one of the best horror movies in recent history. It was scary, it was sentimental and heartwarming too, and the story went places I didn't expect. 28 Weeks later is more of the same - just less heartwarming and more action. I'm pretty immune to movie violence and horror but did find the hairs on my neck "We have the answer to infection" or maybe not. I thought 28 Days later was one of the best horror movies in recent history. It was scary, it was sentimental and heartwarming too, and the story went places I didn't expect. 28 Weeks later is more of the same - just less heartwarming and more action. I'm pretty immune to movie violence and horror but did find the hairs on my neck standing up in one scene - that means it's working. Not one for the kiddies but if you like horror zombie movies this movie kicks! Expand
  80. JakeB.
    May 11, 2007
    8
    Great great stuff, lots of action and the movie feels like it's only 20 minutes long. Although the ending is somewhat predictable, the path that gets you there is not at all. This is one of the only movies I have ever seen in which the main characters are not sacred and are just as susceptible to death as the rest of the characters. Great movie over all and can't wait for the next one!
  81. BillyS.
    May 13, 2007
    8
    I consider the opening 15 minutes of 28 Days Later to be the most desperately intense set piece in cinema horror ever filmed, that said, the opening 15 minutes of 28 Weeks Later set in a boarded-up country house where 6 people await the inevitable return of the infected is almost as gripping. The same building and building electric guitar that John Murphy used in Days creates the same I consider the opening 15 minutes of 28 Days Later to be the most desperately intense set piece in cinema horror ever filmed, that said, the opening 15 minutes of 28 Weeks Later set in a boarded-up country house where 6 people await the inevitable return of the infected is almost as gripping. The same building and building electric guitar that John Murphy used in Days creates the same claustrophic tension here and the sight of Robert Carlyle's wife in the upstairs window is as foreboding as you can get, but then the story moves back to London and the repopulation of a "Green Zone" protected by the U.S. military in hopes of starting a new civilization. Fat Chance! 28 Weeks Later soon becomes a free for all kill anything that moves carnage without any of the eerily silence and stillness that was such a key in the first one. There are a few really great scenes in Weeks but as a whole it pales in comparison. Expand
  82. MohanK.
    May 13, 2007
    8
    Not quite as good as the original, 28 Weeks Later still packs a plenty of tense and frightening moments. Lots more great shots of a deserted London, too. Good show!
  83. BenJ.
    May 14, 2007
    8
    Better than the original? No. But still a great film, which is well worth watching. Scared me siilly!
  84. JoeH
    May 17, 2007
    8
    Overall a good movie that follows in the footsteps of the first film. They had a bigger budget this time, which led to well placed special effects which were not exuberant (my fear was that they would do the opposite). The movie also had a compelling, scary, storyline. I can remember only a handful of scenes where I was calm and unanxious. There were a few minor flaws and one MAJOR flaw Overall a good movie that follows in the footsteps of the first film. They had a bigger budget this time, which led to well placed special effects which were not exuberant (my fear was that they would do the opposite). The movie also had a compelling, scary, storyline. I can remember only a handful of scenes where I was calm and unanxious. There were a few minor flaws and one MAJOR flaw in the story line (which you will see). Despite that, 28 Weeks Later still continues to breathe fresh air into the zombie-genre. Expand
  85. AramisG.
    May 11, 2007
    8
    [***SPOILER***] Wow! I wasn't expecting much because sequels are usually cash ins. I have to say I was proven wrong. Maybe not as good as the original in character development and plot, but definitely surpasses in violence and tension. The reappearing "dad" zombie gets a little annoying and there are some major plot inconsistencies (civilian is able to walk right into a heavly guarded[***SPOILER***] Wow! I wasn't expecting much because sequels are usually cash ins. I have to say I was proven wrong. Maybe not as good as the original in character development and plot, but definitely surpasses in violence and tension. The reappearing "dad" zombie gets a little annoying and there are some major plot inconsistencies (civilian is able to walk right into a heavly guarded military medical center?). However, these little issues get washed away in the carnage that follows. Can't wait for 28 Months later. Expand
  86. TonyS.
    May 12, 2007
    8
    Much Better then what I was expecting. True, there is a lot more gore in this film then the last. However, to my surprise it stayed real and never got cheesy. A Worthy Sequel!
  87. LucyS.
    May 14, 2007
    8
    Heart poundingly good 28 Weeks Later's slick combination of horror and reality that leaves you aware of how real horror is a combination of bad judgement and worse timing. With an even handed balance of hand held camera work and sophisticated special effects - the horror of humanity is never left. Resonates with you in a way that the slasher films of the last two years never do. Outstanding.
  88. RyanT.
    May 15, 2007
    8
    Great sequel. I thought the edits and camera works was a bit too fast for my taste, but that's just being picky.
  89. MattL
    May 28, 2007
    8
    Very much different than the first movie, but just as good. The opening is extremely intense, leaving you sitting on the tip of your chair waiting nervously for London to fall apart once again. Some pretty cool cinematography as well. The creepy, stalkerish zombie-dad was kinda stupid, but it didn't take away that much from the movie. Definitely worth seeing, especially in theaters.
  90. AaronF.
    May 28, 2007
    8
    Very good, best horror sequel I can ever recall seeing. There are issues: overuse of shaky camera, one too many appearances by father character, and lack of proper ending; but this is by far the most genuinely thrilling and scary movie I've seen in years.
  91. PaulK.
    Jun 15, 2007
    8
    I thought this was going to be rehash, but after seeing the reviews, I took a chance. In some ways this is predictable, but the plot device that fuels the story and the potential for sequels is plausible and a great direction to go with this franchise. The very last scene should have been edited out, since the subtle and more effective cliffhanger had already been established.
  92. Aug 24, 2010
    8
    Where 28 days later had subtly 28 weeks later has explosions, however it's a decent turn for the franchise. it's not as suspensful as the original but that doesn't mean it's not as good. OK the militaristic themes basically boil down to "US army=bad :(" and it had been done much better by Danny Boyle himself, however that doesn't mean Characterisation is sacrificed and at the end I didWhere 28 days later had subtly 28 weeks later has explosions, however it's a decent turn for the franchise. it's not as suspensful as the original but that doesn't mean it's not as good. OK the militaristic themes basically boil down to "US army=bad :(" and it had been done much better by Danny Boyle himself, however that doesn't mean Characterisation is sacrificed and at the end I did care about what happaned. It also helps that all performances are excellent and while its a bit cliched to cast the attractive young women (Rose Byrne) as a doctor her performance is so convincing it works! My personal rule to this is while 28 days later is creepy after the first time you've seen it you won't really jump, 28 weeks later is a lot more rewatchable and feels a bit more like a Zombie film as opposed to 28 days later which felt like a drama that happaned to feature zombies. Expand
  93. Jan 16, 2011
    8
    A terrific movie dealing with the moral problem of utilitarianism: sacrifice a few to save many?
  94. Jan 9, 2011
    8
    When I first heard about this movie I was pumped. I can NEVER get enough quality zombie/infection type movies if they are well done, and this is WELL done. Acting is solid, the effects/costumes/blood/gore as all very believable, some parts will get you angry tho and thats what I love about movies, some parts you just want to reach through the screen, kept my involved and entertainedWhen I first heard about this movie I was pumped. I can NEVER get enough quality zombie/infection type movies if they are well done, and this is WELL done. Acting is solid, the effects/costumes/blood/gore as all very believable, some parts will get you angry tho and thats what I love about movies, some parts you just want to reach through the screen, kept my involved and entertained throughout, same as 28 weeks later, BOTH quality infection/plague flicks that are a must watch for anyone a fan of those things. I wish theyd make more like this...! Expand
  95. Jul 3, 2011
    8
    I'd say 28 weeks later takes what 28 days later did and does it a slight bit better. Again, like it's prequel it's an amazing horror/zombie flick, definitely worth a watch!
  96. Jun 10, 2015
    8
    This sequel of 28 days later is better in every way.More gore,better acting and better action scenes.The story was kind of basic and predictable and some of the characters decisions were stupid but,overall,the movie is good.
  97. Nov 5, 2014
    8
    This movie isn't as good as the first one, but it has a great story line as the infection battle has claimed to be nearly won. Then you get some amazing twists and you get to see how different characters adapt to different situations. It's definitely worth watching, but you must watch the first one in order to enjoy the second one as much as I did. It's also kind of sad at some parts, butThis movie isn't as good as the first one, but it has a great story line as the infection battle has claimed to be nearly won. Then you get some amazing twists and you get to see how different characters adapt to different situations. It's definitely worth watching, but you must watch the first one in order to enjoy the second one as much as I did. It's also kind of sad at some parts, but I won't spoil it for you. Expand
  98. ColbyS.
    May 12, 2007
    7
    Jarring and unpleasant, but still a good movie. The critics were wrong about it surpassing the first one, though, as this one lacks the sense of isolation that made 28 Days Later so effective.
  99. RobertI.
    Jun 3, 2007
    7
    Really scary vision of a dystopia.
  100. FXT
    Jun 5, 2007
    7
    It's a good movie to watch but it's a little mindless at the starting and it get GORY around the middle to the end, The thought of the Us helping UK repopulate is a weird way to show on how the whole gov. is trying to control so many other country's without theirs approval sometimes. As for the actual virus, it doesn't make all that much sense since the starting but is It's a good movie to watch but it's a little mindless at the starting and it get GORY around the middle to the end, The thought of the Us helping UK repopulate is a weird way to show on how the whole gov. is trying to control so many other country's without theirs approval sometimes. As for the actual virus, it doesn't make all that much sense since the starting but is still a good zombie movie... EXPLODING HEADS! Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Blistering and nihilistic--a vision to reduce you to a puddle of despair.
  2. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    80
    Bigger action, more amazing deserted (and devastated) London sequences and biting contemporary relevance, if a touch less heart than the original.
  3. 50
    "28 Days Later," while not terribly original, was suspenseful and involving. 28 Weeks Later is neither. The characters aren't as sympathetic or interesting.