3 Idiots

  • Release Date:
3 Idiots Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 131 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Two friends embark on a quest for a lost buddy. On this journey, they encounter a long forgotten bet, a wedding they must crash, and a funeral that goes impossibly out of control. As they make their way through the perilous landscape, another journey begins: their inner journey through Two friends embark on a quest for a lost buddy. On this journey, they encounter a long forgotten bet, a wedding they must crash, and a funeral that goes impossibly out of control. As they make their way through the perilous landscape, another journey begins: their inner journey through memory lane and the story of their friend--the irrepressible free-thinker Rancho, who in his unique way, touched and changed their lives. It’s a story of their hostel days that swings between Rancho’s romance with the spirited Pia, and his clash with an oppressive mentor, Viru Sahastrabudhhe . And then one day, suddenly, Rancho is gone. (Reliance BIG Pictures) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. 70
    In writer-director Rajkumar Hirani's tuneful, enjoyable college comedy, 3 Idiots, Khan plays "Rancho," an engineering student so brilliant that he barely has to break a sweat to place first in his class.
  2. Reviewed by: Derek Elley
    70
    3 Idiots takes a while to lay out its game plan but pays off emotionally in its second half.
  3. There's an unavoidable joie de vivre (symbolized by Rancho's meditative mantra "All is well") and a performance charm that make this one of the more naturally gregarious Bollywood imports.
  4. The film's good points, though, are marred by a slow start and a nerve-jangling soundtrack.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. EggyG.
    Feb 15, 2010
    10
    Don't expect much but turns out 3 idiot is the best bollywood movie I've seen yet. The production is bollywood standard, BUT the Don't expect much but turns out 3 idiot is the best bollywood movie I've seen yet. The production is bollywood standard, BUT the story, characters and acting are really charming & brilliant. I just can't stop laughing and sometimes touched with this 3 hour roller coaster fiasco. Collapse
  2. bambyh.
    Feb 15, 2010
    10
    This movies strength is in the storytelling...and it was fun to watch.
  3. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    3 idiot is the best bollywood movie I've seen yet. The production is bollywood standard, BUT the story, characters and acting are really3 idiot is the best bollywood movie I've seen yet. The production is bollywood standard, BUT the story, characters and acting are really charming & brilliant. I just can't stop laughing and sometimes touched with this 3 hour roller coaster fiasco. Expand
  4. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    3 Idiots is always fun for me, as a film reviewer- some movie suck, some rock and some are so sad and inspirational and funny at the same3 Idiots is always fun for me, as a film reviewer- some movie suck, some rock and some are so sad and inspirational and funny at the same time- those are the works to sum up Vidhu Vinod's best movie yet. The movie is about 3 college friends who try to meet up again by the most smartest of their group- Rancho played brilliantly by Aamir Khan, Mahadeven and Sharman do a good job too and the movie packs emotion and laughter. It's 3 hours- a long movie with a long and great message. While cliched, still, 3 idiots manages to be one of the best bollywood movies I have ever seen. It's a rare, funny treat at the movies if you haven't seen it. Rated U/A Parental Guidence for language and emotional moments In India and Rated PG13 in us for thematic elements, language, some violence and partial nudity. Expand
  5. Oct 21, 2011
    9
    It is a long movie but I am still eager to re-watch it. The actors have brought their great sense of humor to the screen play in an almostIt is a long movie but I am still eager to re-watch it. The actors have brought their great sense of humor to the screen play in an almost flawless way. The mixed feeling of touching and funny are just dramatic enough. My teardrop have hit the ground for several times when it comes to those touching scenes. It may be the best comedy that I have ever watched. Expand
  6. Jun 30, 2013
    8
    Despite it being rather long, I enjoyed 3 Idiots. Prior to watching this, I had never seen a Bollywood film before and I would love to watchDespite it being rather long, I enjoyed 3 Idiots. Prior to watching this, I had never seen a Bollywood film before and I would love to watch more. The characters are both funny and, somewhat, relate-able. I thought the story line was inch perfect and the ending was not what I expected! Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2011
    6
    Three Idiots is a nice movie, it is a great watch with family for some good story. The plot is great and depressing while the acting of allThree Idiots is a nice movie, it is a great watch with family for some good story. The plot is great and depressing while the acting of all the characters is just great, Aamir Khan is a great actor that always does great acting. The humor is well crafted and the drama is carried very well in the movie. The movie has funny and depressing moments that mix to create a powerful experience. There are flaws with the movie and that is that the story is drawn out a bit to long and there is one scene where it is one misfortune and one strange luck act after another in a rather inappropriate scene for children which was most definately not required. Overall "Three Idiots" was a great film that is most definately worth watching for it blends drama and comedy into a unique movie. Breakdown for "3 Idiots": Presentation: 8.5, Plot: 8.25, Acting: 9, Script: 8.75, Lasting Appeal: 8. Verdict: 8.25 out of 10 "Great" Expand

See all 12 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  2. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  3. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.