Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: June 28, 2002
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 22 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
20
Mixed:
1
Negative:
1
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
SamanthaT.May 15, 2004
I saw this movie when I was in college back in 1977. It definitely made an impression on me (I remembered the title), and for many years I tried to find it at Blockbuster and in movie catalogues. It was never listed as a film that Sissy I saw this movie when I was in college back in 1977. It definitely made an impression on me (I remembered the title), and for many years I tried to find it at Blockbuster and in movie catalogues. It was never listed as a film that Sissy Spacek or Shelley Duvall was in, even though I knew they were in it! Glad it has been released as now I know I'm not crazy for thinking I actually saw it! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ClintH.Jul 3, 2005
Shelley DuVall should have gotten an Oscar Nomination. Superbly acted study of the way cliques work. One of the best feminist films ever made.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TaylorAug 13, 2003
An utter masterpiece. Period. No argument.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobC.Apr 23, 2004
Amazing stuff. Pre-Lynch Lynch!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ArmondA.Aug 31, 2005
Everyone who saw this film and enjoyed it seems to have seen his own personal piece of cinema. While the individual elements are highly distinctive, enabling its enthusiasts to know that they are indeed discussing the same movie, I believe Everyone who saw this film and enjoyed it seems to have seen his own personal piece of cinema. While the individual elements are highly distinctive, enabling its enthusiasts to know that they are indeed discussing the same movie, I believe that NOBODY knows what "it" is about, including the people who made it. Yet after 30 years the film remains a very good work of art that says what it says in exactly the way that it says it. We accept that paintings, poems, and piano concertos inform and move us in ways that do not translate into prose essays. But if you must have proof that this is more than an exercise in film-school experimentalism, the performances of the Three Women who star are just superb, giving us precisely drawn people who take up permanent residence in your own life history. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
barnet42Oct 3, 2012
I like this movie because sissy spacek is in it she is a very good actress !!! Why A Carrie Remake, in God's name?!!!! It's a perfect film! Brian de Palma filmed it perfectly, Sissy Spacek and Piper Laurie are absolutely perfect ,they bothI like this movie because sissy spacek is in it she is a very good actress !!! Why A Carrie Remake, in God's name?!!!! It's a perfect film! Brian de Palma filmed it perfectly, Sissy Spacek and Piper Laurie are absolutely perfect ,they both got Oscar nominations out of it, for God sake! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
oakridgeMay 2, 2013
A dreamlike film with no pat ending. This is Robert Altman's best film and a showcase for both Sissy Spacek and Shelley Duvall, who are amazing in this hypnotic example of 70'S cinema at its best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RobertOBrienFeb 12, 2016
It's a movie that always seems to be unraveling before me, regardless of how many times I have watched it. Very few films have the ability to always feel like it's your first time watching it. I can't quite explain, it's just hypnotic and IIt's a movie that always seems to be unraveling before me, regardless of how many times I have watched it. Very few films have the ability to always feel like it's your first time watching it. I can't quite explain, it's just hypnotic and I found myself thoroughly immersed in it's constant feeling that something is just slightly off.

Easily has become one of my favorites.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews