300

300 Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1432 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Based on the graphic novel by Frank Miller, 300 is a retelling of the ancient Battle of Thermopylae in which King Leonidas (Gerard Butler) and 300 Spartans fought to the death against Xerxes and his massive Persian army. Facing insurmountable odds, their valor and sacrifice inspire all ofBased on the graphic novel by Frank Miller, 300 is a retelling of the ancient Battle of Thermopylae in which King Leonidas (Gerard Butler) and 300 Spartans fought to the death against Xerxes and his massive Persian army. Facing insurmountable odds, their valor and sacrifice inspire all of Greece to unite against their Persian enemy, drawing a line in the sand for democracy. [Warner Bros.] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 42
  2. Negative: 7 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Mar 27, 2016
    100
    We've seen plenty of sword-and-sandal epics, full of robustly virile men fighting like real men against other men. But we've never seen those hyper-macho mechanics presented with the brutal beauty and thrilling finesse of 300, clearly the best film of 2007 so far.
  2. It's impossible not to be moved by its nearly nonstop visual assault.
  3. 75
    300 may not offer masterful storytelling in a conventional sense, but it's hard to beat as a spectacle and that makes it worthwhile viewing for all but the most squeamish of potential audience members.
  4. 50
    There's a stale, synthetic airlessness about the movie. Imagine a large cast trapped in a series of spectacular screensavers. It could be ancient Greece. It could be somebody's hard drive.
  5. New Orleans Times-Picayune
    Reviewed by: Michael H. Kleinschrodt
    Mar 27, 2016
    50
    There's no denying that 300 has its viscerally charged moments, but it would be a lot more fun if it didn't take itself quite so seriously. You don't get to be pretentious when you've populated your film with androgynous kings, lesbian concubines and giant elephants. [9 March 2007, p.4]
  6. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Mar 27, 2016
    40
    A fun-sapped maelstrom without meaning, 300 simply pummels you with endless loops of battle-porn. While you couldn’t classify the movie as entertainment, it might have a long, prosperous future as a Clockwork Orange–style Ludovico Technique.
  7. 20
    It's a ponderous, plodding, visually dull picture, but the blame shouldn't be put on Snyder's skills per se, and has nothing to do with his ambition to blur the distinction between CGI and photography. Frankly, it's the slavish, frame-by-frame devotion to Miller's source material that's the problem.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. HootchieMomma
    Mar 11, 2007
    10
    The Most incredible, heart pounding movie I have ever had the pleasure of viewing. Simply the best manly man, action packed, The Most incredible, heart pounding movie I have ever had the pleasure of viewing. Simply the best manly man, action packed, rip-your-face-off-and-kick-you-in-the-nuts flicks you will ever see! Expand
  2. ThomasB
    Jul 29, 2007
    10
    300 is an epic, manly film. Anyone who disagrees should be Spartaed in the face, with a blunt butterknife. Anyone who dislikes it, 300 is an epic, manly film. Anyone who disagrees should be Spartaed in the face, with a blunt butterknife. Anyone who dislikes it, doesn't like manly films and is probably a Xerxes. Expand
  3. GuillermoGalindo
    Mar 8, 2007
    10
    Based upon i have seen so far, this movies is nothing short of spectacular action and dramatic scenes that can show us that ancient battlesBased upon i have seen so far, this movies is nothing short of spectacular action and dramatic scenes that can show us that ancient battles can be more exciting trough the eyes and mind of a great director. Really a must see for everyone that loves a great epic movie. Expand
  4. AndrewO.
    Sep 1, 2007
    8
    It's a movie of a graphic novel, and as that, works wonderfully well. All those pompous movie reviewers who gave it such a low score It's a movie of a graphic novel, and as that, works wonderfully well. All those pompous movie reviewers who gave it such a low score should just get over themselves. Expand
  5. BitBurn
    Mar 24, 2007
    7
    It's not "Gladiator" but it's entertaining none the less.
  6. BobS.
    Mar 11, 2007
    5
    Sloppy movie. Ridiculous dialog which is delivered like Hulk Hogan yelling at Macho Man before a match. Settings that change drastically: Sloppy movie. Ridiculous dialog which is delivered like Hulk Hogan yelling at Macho Man before a match. Settings that change drastically: first your fighting on a flat beach, then you're being pushed over a cliff? WHAT? Hipocrasy at all times: We are honorable spartans but we will kill our deformed babies and push messengers down wells. An antagonist that drew out loud laughter from the crowd (NOT in a good way.) I was told after I saw the movie that I was being too critical and picking it apart too much. I'm sorry, I can't turn my brain off like that. Expand
  7. RobD.
    Mar 11, 2007
    0
    Awful film. It really does no justice for the real heroism of the real battle.

See all 536 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: January 24, 2014
    Watch all of this week's new movie trailers (including new looks at The Raid 2, Blue Ruin, Bad Words, and 300: Rise of an Empire), and catch up on the latest news about upcoming projects from Quentin Tarantino and more.
  2. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: August 16, 2013
    Catch up on the week's movie news and watch new trailers for Sundance hits ACOD and Blue Caprice plus 300: Rise of an Empire, Don Jon, Vampire Academy, and more.
  3. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: June 14, 2013
    Watch all of this week's new movie trailers--including new looks at "Elysium," "The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug," "The Wolverine," "300: Rise of an Empire," "White House Down," and more--and get a recap of the latest film news.
  4. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  6. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  7. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.