Lionsgate | Release Date: September 7, 2007
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 432 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
321
Mixed:
65
Negative:
46
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
JamesL.Sep 11, 2007
[***SPOILER***] I was going to overlook all of the implausibilities in the plot and say that I enjoyed this film, then they reached Yuma and the film was an insult to my intelligence. The whole ending was so unbelievable that it actually [***SPOILER***] I was going to overlook all of the implausibilities in the plot and say that I enjoyed this film, then they reached Yuma and the film was an insult to my intelligence. The whole ending was so unbelievable that it actually made me angry. Crowe bonded with Bale, dodging bullets while Bale runs with one leg, Crowe kills his entire gang, hops on the train, and then the damn train has no guards which makes it even worst. I should have known that the film would end like this when he seduced the barkeep or killed the dastardly renegade Indians by himself.. Sorry but this film was a joke on the audience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
HerbF.Sep 12, 2007
I think I saw a different film from the one reviewed. "Yuma" was as weak as any western I have seen. fonda lives although gut shot, Evans runs on roofs with a wooden leg, and a totally unattractive Bales seduces a gratuitous barmaid. The I think I saw a different film from the one reviewed. "Yuma" was as weak as any western I have seen. fonda lives although gut shot, Evans runs on roofs with a wooden leg, and a totally unattractive Bales seduces a gratuitous barmaid. The can-can would have been a welcome break in the absurdity, especially if they were really professional in this one-horse town in the West. Then there is the change of heart in the train station. Yuk. What was it with the Crucifix on the pistol grip? What a total stinker! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
J.B.Sep 12, 2007
Terrific performances across the board. Makes you wonder why the genre has fallen out of fashion. A solid piece of filmmaking. See it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GaborA.Sep 13, 2007
(6.5) This movie simply relies on too much of a suspension of disbelief. The ends each character reaches are interesting and emotional as well as necessary for they are their destinies. However, the means to get to those ends are too defiant (6.5) This movie simply relies on too much of a suspension of disbelief. The ends each character reaches are interesting and emotional as well as necessary for they are their destinies. However, the means to get to those ends are too defiant of logic both physical and mental. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GerryK.Sep 15, 2007
This was the most disappointing hyped weatern ever. The end with Christian Bale running like a track star with only having one leg was utterly ridiculous. The ending was along the same lines. Where do these critics get paid from??? It is a This was the most disappointing hyped weatern ever. The end with Christian Bale running like a track star with only having one leg was utterly ridiculous. The ending was along the same lines. Where do these critics get paid from??? It is a real stinker Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JudyT.Sep 15, 2007
What was the point? A really bad TV episode of a B-rated western.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
StuA.Sep 16, 2007
Poor movie - too long - boring - simplistic plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MySelfSep 17, 2007
Loved it x3. This is exactly what movies are supposed to be: totally entertaining. All the characters had some substance, the story was a classic western. Cool also because the antagonist is sympathetic. Ciao.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexSep 17, 2007
Really good movie! Great acting from Russell Crowe and Christian Bale which are without a doubt the best male actors of our time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChaquitaKidSep 21, 2007
DWilly and many other user critics are correct; there are some movies with events that stray so far from logic as to become nonsensical, this is one of those movies. Characters often react and do things that are 'uncharacteristic' DWilly and many other user critics are correct; there are some movies with events that stray so far from logic as to become nonsensical, this is one of those movies. Characters often react and do things that are 'uncharacteristic' or simply make no sense at all, and that really ruins the movie. Do not buy into the massive amounts of praise this movie has received. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JaredC.Sep 22, 2007
3:10 to Yuma is surely a Western classic. Russell Crowe and Christian Bale had amazing performances and the movie itself will no doubt become the best Western movie of the 21st Century. Which also includes the song "They're gonna hang 3:10 to Yuma is surely a Western classic. Russell Crowe and Christian Bale had amazing performances and the movie itself will no doubt become the best Western movie of the 21st Century. Which also includes the song "They're gonna hang ya in the morinin," that song will surely become a humorous classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DS.Sep 23, 2007
The real villains in the film are the filmmakers who totally betray the audience with their laughable, insult-to-the-intelligence "plot" developments. You can almost feel the contempt the screenwriters have for the moviegoer in the insane The real villains in the film are the filmmakers who totally betray the audience with their laughable, insult-to-the-intelligence "plot" developments. You can almost feel the contempt the screenwriters have for the moviegoer in the insane choices made by the characters in the last half of the film. ("Oh, they'll believe anything") [***SPOILER***] Christian Bales's character isn't courageous at the end, he's incomprehensibly suicidal. Crowe's part looks like it was written by his manager. "Yeah, he's a psychopathic murderer who will viciously kill anyone including his buddies, but make it so he's really likable by the end. Oh, and don't forget to write in some love scenes for the ladies -- this is Russell Crowe after all!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
OrsonSep 23, 2007
"Wanted:Dead or Alive!" Somehow, those in this film, those who wrote this film, never got tis message. THERE WAS GOOD REASON for this message - to prevent stupidity from being followed is one reason. This is merely good logic. As an example "Wanted:Dead or Alive!" Somehow, those in this film, those who wrote this film, never got tis message. THERE WAS GOOD REASON for this message - to prevent stupidity from being followed is one reason. This is merely good logic. As an example of motivated drama, this film simply fails. But if you are among the lame-brained who believe the Old west was a lame-brained Hell Hole, you'll enjoy this vision of excess. As for myself, I just walked out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
[Anonymous]Sep 24, 2007
The ending made no sense at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SusanS.Sep 26, 2007
Okay, so maybe like a 6.75. I'll be the first to admit that I went to see this movie only because it was advertised as a western with Christian Bale, both of which I love. I did enjoy this movie a good bit, but also found it too Okay, so maybe like a 6.75. I'll be the first to admit that I went to see this movie only because it was advertised as a western with Christian Bale, both of which I love. I did enjoy this movie a good bit, but also found it too predictable (even beyond my large tolerance of predictability) and preachy, and much of the dialog was just wretched. Fortunately, there's not much dialog. The landscape was beautiful (the plains of "Arizona"), and the acting was more than passable--Bale and Russell Crowe do their jobs well, and most of the supporting cast were enjoyable, particularly Ben Foster as Charlie Prince. I wish the morals of the movie had remained more ambiguous, like in old westerns, but I guess that doesn't happen anymore in big budget Hollywood. Not a bad way to spend two hours, but don't spend the ten dollars to see it--wait till the dollar theater, or if you've got a large flat-screen, for the DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EllenS.Sep 27, 2007
I enjoyed the film, mostly because of the dynamite interaction between Russull Crowe and Christain Bale. And it has that moral ambiguity that always makes Westerns intriguing -- the bad guys show glimmers of humanity, and the good guys are I enjoyed the film, mostly because of the dynamite interaction between Russull Crowe and Christain Bale. And it has that moral ambiguity that always makes Westerns intriguing -- the bad guys show glimmers of humanity, and the good guys are willing to to change sides for money. The ending was perplexing but this is a Western after all: movie vigilante justice doesn't always make sense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TomSJan 29, 2008
I don't know what movie everyone else saw, this was an awful movie. As has been pointed out, the characters choices made little to no sense. Also, if we ignore that aspect of the film and focus on it simply as a morality tale or I don't know what movie everyone else saw, this was an awful movie. As has been pointed out, the characters choices made little to no sense. Also, if we ignore that aspect of the film and focus on it simply as a morality tale or something deeper than simply a shoot em up western, the movie is still rubbish. Crowe's eventual moral turn is so minor in comparison what he had been doing throughout the movie that it doesn't really change anything. If you like westerns, and you gave this film anything higher than a 5, please watch Unforgiven and tell me it's not twice the movie that 3:10 to Yuma is. Finally, Ben Foster, Crowe's second in command character, never seemed a plausible fit in that role, and I am shocked that critics pointed to him as a bright point in the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlexBFeb 12, 2008
quite funny to see such positive reviews from the "professional" reviewers. Its really a benefit that their importance clearly diminished in web2.0 times. I read the critics here before, decided to give it a try, and stopped after the plot quite funny to see such positive reviews from the "professional" reviewers. Its really a benefit that their importance clearly diminished in web2.0 times. I read the critics here before, decided to give it a try, and stopped after the plot became laughable at the end. Makes you believe the good writers were already striking when this plot was done. An "user critics" LOL 2.0 to this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LarryB.Feb 25, 2008
Really sad when I compare this movie to the 1957 original version. The original movie was about a man who faced difficulties with dignity and who was loved and admired by his family. The 2007 version was about a man who was basically a Really sad when I compare this movie to the 1957 original version. The original movie was about a man who faced difficulties with dignity and who was loved and admired by his family. The 2007 version was about a man who was basically a loser, had already lost the respect of his family, and who died at the end, for what exactly I don't know. The original had a wonderful screenplay where not a moment was wasted in excess dialog; the remake just went on and on with silly banter, and nothing believable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PetrovitaAug 15, 2011
Amazing movie. Alot of action in it, really lives up to a wild west movie. Had interesting characters, great actors. Twisting moments that would set you amaze at what just happened throughout it. The end was shocking, and somewhat confusing,Amazing movie. Alot of action in it, really lives up to a wild west movie. Had interesting characters, great actors. Twisting moments that would set you amaze at what just happened throughout it. The end was shocking, and somewhat confusing, (spoilers!) but if you understood the ending, it was rewarding. Seeing the horse follow the train at the end makes you no doubt think of what happened afterwards. If you're into Wild west movies, this is a movie you must NOT miss. A true Hollywood movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Khunter4382Jun 9, 2011
Beautifully filmed! This one has a really great look to it on screen. Russell Crowe is great as ever, and Christian Bale gives a good one as well. Still, I found this film slow and tedious. Several parts of the film work, but still somethingBeautifully filmed! This one has a really great look to it on screen. Russell Crowe is great as ever, and Christian Bale gives a good one as well. Still, I found this film slow and tedious. Several parts of the film work, but still something didn't feel right. If you want a lackluster, medium-low grade western, this is for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
moviegrabbagJun 12, 2011
This movie actually surprised me a lot. I didn't have very high hopes but after seeing the movie it was actually pretty darn good. The only things I didn't like were a couple of the explosions. I am not sure but I think its kind of hard toThis movie actually surprised me a lot. I didn't have very high hopes but after seeing the movie it was actually pretty darn good. The only things I didn't like were a couple of the explosions. I am not sure but I think its kind of hard to hit a bag of explosives from a moving stagecoach while they are attached to a running horse. Also may be very difficult to hit a falling stick of dynamite from your moving horse. I also didn't know you that shooting a stick of dynamite would make it blow up. Other then that the acting was great and the plot flowed nicely. Overall a great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Mr-K05Apr 15, 2012
A tribute to western movies,great perfomance's and directing,fast paced and a wonderful cast with Cristian Balle and Russell Crowe,a worth seeing movie with lot twist and turns
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleApr 19, 2014
Really good film here. Christian Bale and Russell Crowe turn in reliably great performances here, but the real star of this show for me was Ben Foster. From the moment he entered the picture, he began staking his claim as the actor with theReally good film here. Christian Bale and Russell Crowe turn in reliably great performances here, but the real star of this show for me was Ben Foster. From the moment he entered the picture, he began staking his claim as the actor with the best performance in this film. His performance honestly floored me and, while he clearly defined himself as the antagonist and pure evil, I could not help but root for him to some very small degree. Beyond the acting, the action was really well done and, throughout, the suspense and intensity of those situations and the non-action sequences were definite pros for this film. The characterization of everybody was very well done as well. The film was just two hours, but managed to go into shocking detail on all of the major players and that really impressed me. Another pro was the sets, costumes, and cinematography. All of those worked really well to encapsulate the time period and the cinematography really provided some "classic Western shots" that were as beautiful as always. I really have a thing for the cinematography in westerns and this one is a great example of that beauty. Finally, the ending was suitably tragic and, yet, oddly uplifting at times, which really made it all the more effective as we saw the end of every character's arc and it really leaves you feel satisfied. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DanOSullivanSep 5, 2012
A superb western that has a perfect blend of drama and action that should keep anyone entertained and engaged. Great cast, good acting and overall a great film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
hardkor33Aug 5, 2013
3:10 to Yuma 7/10.....................................................................................................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
kublay0880Dec 10, 2012
Great actors bad story, the first time that I saw the movie somehow it seemed like I have seen it before, that was maybe because to me, it offered anything new to the old west movies same thing, heartless assassins, and the unknown guy tryingGreat actors bad story, the first time that I saw the movie somehow it seemed like I have seen it before, that was maybe because to me, it offered anything new to the old west movies same thing, heartless assassins, and the unknown guy trying to make some good. Very slow paced and not as much action as expected. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
A well-acted, visually fascinating western drama crafted by the hands of James Mangold. "3:10 To Yuma" is an intense film generated by themes surrounding the ideas of agricultural hardships, good and evil, and doing the right thing. AlthoughA well-acted, visually fascinating western drama crafted by the hands of James Mangold. "3:10 To Yuma" is an intense film generated by themes surrounding the ideas of agricultural hardships, good and evil, and doing the right thing. Although the ending isn't particularly satisfying, I felt it was fairly appropriate in relation to the subject matter presented in the rest of the film. Overall, "3:10 To Yuma" is good stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SwatiSep 23, 2013
I didn't think I was a fan of western films until I saw this one. One of those rare remakes where you're glad they made it. Bale, Crowe and Foster brought something new and original to the table. The casting was perfect. Bale plays aI didn't think I was a fan of western films until I saw this one. One of those rare remakes where you're glad they made it. Bale, Crowe and Foster brought something new and original to the table. The casting was perfect. Bale plays a destitute rancher, Evans, bringing Crowe's Wade to justice while being chased by Wade's gang led by Foster's Prince. So begins a capricious journey to hell and back again. These men played their characters with absolute dedication and the result was a gun slinging drama matched by none of the other movies in the genre. I found myself rooting for all of them. Wade isn't such a brute as he would have us believe. I also applauded Prince for his unwavering loyalty to his boss. But the show stealer was the one-legged conflicted Evans who served as the moral compass of the movie. The length was just right and the movie did not drag at all. The cinematography was commendable, and the score was engaging. I thoroughly recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LevelSevenMar 6, 2013
To begin, this film is a pretty decent western. I thoroughly enjoyed it up until the end. You can see it coming from a mile away and kind of ruins the movie. But besides that I think this is a pretty good movie. Also the antagonists choicesTo begin, this film is a pretty decent western. I thoroughly enjoyed it up until the end. You can see it coming from a mile away and kind of ruins the movie. But besides that I think this is a pretty good movie. Also the antagonists choices near the end kind of confused me but whatever, it's still a nice experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
peterbAug 18, 2013
It seems as though the director was let down by the script. The film has some interesting sequences, such as the stagecoach robbery at the beginning. The two main characters are interesting and we see how their relationship develops duringIt seems as though the director was let down by the script. The film has some interesting sequences, such as the stagecoach robbery at the beginning. The two main characters are interesting and we see how their relationship develops during the film. However in some respects the script seems to have been cut and stitched together, there are several events which do not make any sense and that push ones imagination beyond the boundaries of a satisfying and coherent narrative. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
3:10 to Yuma soars.
The movie begins well and continues to hold the viewers interest. The character motives in certain parts are a bit sketchy, but with that being said the premise and acting are acceptable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
PolymothFeb 24, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I like westerns, and I like modern westerns. I like the dust and sweat and the "hard" men, following in the footsteps of Eastwood's High Plains Drifter. This film is good to look at and has all the makings of a good movie, but the way the characters behave just become more and more unbelievable until in a climax of illogic for both the characters and the audience we are supposed to suddenly find Ben Wade a likeable chap, and he is expected to kill the remnants of his gang with a sparkle at his eye teeth.

How many times were the good guys to let Wade kill one of there number without doing anything about it? Every time. How often was Dan Evans going to turn his back on Wade without being killed? Innumerable times. And why oh why, in one of the final scenes when the baddies are all lined up in the street like ducks at a fair, and they kill the unarmed Sheriff and all his men, and Dan is a sharp shooter and has his rifle in an upstairs window, why does he just sit there and let it happen? No idea.

Lucky to get a three score really. That's for the grime and sweat :)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ManofActionFeb 16, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a great movie. I love Christan Bale's and Russel Crowe's characters. In fact, I loved all of them. The only one I hated to the core of my body was Logan Lermans character. He was Stubborn...well, that is about it. But he is tooo Stubborn. But that really doesn't matter. His character isn't as bad to where it could kill the movie. The ending was the best! I loved the ending but what I did not like ***SPOILERS*** Was Christian Bale's Character dieing at the end. But the ending was still good. I give this a 6 - 10. Mainly because 2 / 4 of the movie was just talk and riding horses. But again, it was still good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
oDjentoJan 2, 2015
I found this film not bad, but just pretty underwhelming. Performances are best by Russel Crowe, with Christian Bale doing fine in his role but not being a conflicted character he is meant to be believably. The morals behind all of Crowe'sI found this film not bad, but just pretty underwhelming. Performances are best by Russel Crowe, with Christian Bale doing fine in his role but not being a conflicted character he is meant to be believably. The morals behind all of Crowe's actions seem a little twisted really, and you're still not really concices you should like him towards the end. There isn't that many real western fight scenes in the film which is what i was looking forward to about this, it tries to become over sentimental. A fine enough film to watch but you shouldn't feel bad if you miss it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
CameraBounceGodMar 6, 2015
Fun cast...short movie.....once again we have a cuckold type scenario here in the beginning...we even see a woman that looks like the wife with Wade...The end is pretty enticing.....The rest is well shot and its fun but its not so much that IFun cast...short movie.....once again we have a cuckold type scenario here in the beginning...we even see a woman that looks like the wife with Wade...The end is pretty enticing.....The rest is well shot and its fun but its not so much that I can easily watch it three times .....The problem with this movie is that its not as fun as you think it will be....I don't think that's the movies message on adventures either.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheFilmDoctorMar 22, 2016
The original 1957 version of 3:10 To Yuma—one of the first film adaptations of an Elmore Leonard story, alongside 1957's The Tall T—is a typical psychological Western, a lean, rangy black-and-white film as much about what its protagonists areThe original 1957 version of 3:10 To Yuma—one of the first film adaptations of an Elmore Leonard story, alongside 1957's The Tall T—is a typical psychological Western, a lean, rangy black-and-white film as much about what its protagonists are thinking as what they're actually doing. It opens straight into the central action, with a stagecoach robbery gone wrong, and only comes back to establish its characters' backstory with a few spare sentences. By contrast, the 50-year-anniversary remake directed by Walk The Line's James Mangold jumps into a different action scene that establishes the desperate situation of Arizona rancher Christian Bale, in debt and about to lose his land. Screenwriting team Michael Brandt and Derek Haas (2 Fast 2 Furious) spend more time digging into their characters than Leonard did, as if determined to make sure viewers know and care about all of them before they start facing hails of bullets.

They're also determined to up the body count considerably. That becomes clear during the key robbery, which was an almost civil affair in the original, but becomes a bloodbath this time around. Still, while outlaw leader Russell Crowe is an unrepentant killer—when a surviving guard takes one of his men hostage, Crowe casually shoots them both dead—he has his honorable side. When Bale and his two sons happen across the theft in progress, Crowe leaves them unharmed, but on foot, though he thoughtfully tells them where he's planning to leave their horses for retrieval. Still, Bale is humiliated by his helplessness and by the judgmental cynicism of his teenage son Logan Lerman. When Bale decides to help capture Crowe, evade his murderous gang, and transport him to a train bound for Yuma Prison (in a sort of Old West version of 16 Blocks), he's partially motivated by a desperate need for the cash fee, but his desire to regain his son's respect likely plays a major role too.

It's hard to tell, since Bale and Crowe both play their cards close to the chest, embracing the Western aesthetic with tight, controlled performances. The film itself is more expressive, with its gory murders, big chase scenes, explosions, and other major expansions of the originally short tale. Brandt and Haas go too far in trying to pack their characters with extra humanizing characteristics—Bale has a peg leg, Crowe likes to sketch his surroundings—and their version of the ending seems ridiculously improbable. But Mangold delivers a taut modern take on a lesser classic, preserving the High Noon themes about doing the right thing against all odds, and injecting a more modern pacing and urgency without going overboard. His film isn't Leonard's classic, but it's a solid, genre-respecting Western in its own right.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
WalterKovacsDec 26, 2017
One of the best Westerns ever made. An action film but also a drama that portrays how much a person will do for the sake of their family. A truly refreshing film that is a must see for anyone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SamuelxzibitApr 26, 2018
One of my favourite movies. This movie was more about emotion/group psychology than realism. Yet much of it was still somewhat realistic. I cried at the part when Crowe decides to help his enemy. It's hard for a person to see the amazement ofOne of my favourite movies. This movie was more about emotion/group psychology than realism. Yet much of it was still somewhat realistic. I cried at the part when Crowe decides to help his enemy. It's hard for a person to see the amazement of this movie, but if you truly understood it for what they wanted it to be, you will. You can't have a guy put a depth of his soul experience of an abstract forest containing the pain of being beaten as a child and showing it to a well easy laid guy and expect him to see it the same as another person who also had been beaten, as an example. A movie is often considered an art piece. Like a painting. For those who don't understand why Crowe killed his crew, it's not about his personal advantage. It's about him living from what he felt was right. Because deep in his life of treachery and theifdom, he had a chance to help someone who he rarely got the chance to, someone who he secretly admired for being one the most caring people he met. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieRatesMay 25, 2018
I am not that good with reviews. This movie is an acquired taste, might not be your taste at first, but if you learn to appreciate it you will remember it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews