47 Ronin

47 Ronin Image
Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 374 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , ,
  • Summary: After a treacherous warlord kills their master and banishes their kind, 47 leaderless samurai vow to seek vengeance and restore honor to their people. Driven from their homes and dispersed across the land, this band of Ronin must seek the help of Kai—a half-breed they once rejected—as theyAfter a treacherous warlord kills their master and banishes their kind, 47 leaderless samurai vow to seek vengeance and restore honor to their people. Driven from their homes and dispersed across the land, this band of Ronin must seek the help of Kai—a half-breed they once rejected—as they fight their way across a savage world of mythic beasts, shape-shifting witchcraft and wondrous terrors. As this exiled, enslaved outcast becomes their most deadly weapon, he will transform into the hero who inspires this band of outnumbered rebels to seize eternity. Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 21
  2. Negative: 12 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Dec 27, 2013
    75
    A multi-colored downer fantasy which combines bursts of imagination with a bleak worldview, resulting in something that rarely feels mainstream.
  2. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Dec 24, 2013
    50
    There’s little sense of urgency, or — oddly, given the film’s title — of scale. You never really think that the 47 are truly outnumbered, and the large action scenes are often just incomprehensible.
  3. 50
    This one never quite decides if it wants to be a big, boisterous epic or a solemn retelling, and it nearly disappears into the crack between the two.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Dec 24, 2013
    30
    Rinsch, making his feature debut, shows the shortcoming of someone coming from the image-based world of commercials and advertising. There are moments of genuine beauty and a few terrifically eye-popping effects, but no feel yet for storytelling.
  5. 25
    It’s a movie of pointless scenes.
  6. Reviewed by: Kenji Fujishima
    Dec 22, 2013
    25
    This botched vision accepts the warrior's nobility at face value and sees the story merely as a springboard for high-flying action and CGI special effects.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Dec 24, 2013
    0
    In the monumentally dull 47 Ronin, Reeves mumbles monosyllabic claptrap between dull action scenes. And it’s a shame: At almost 50 years old, the actor allows this turgid, clanky flick to play to his worst stereotypes.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 122
  2. Negative: 22 out of 122
  1. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    Wow. I am shocked by the bad critic reviews. I thought this movie was excellent. Compelling story. Special effects support but don't dominateWow. I am shocked by the bad critic reviews. I thought this movie was excellent. Compelling story. Special effects support but don't dominate the story. The acting is a bit wooden at times, but it felt stylistically appropriate and didn't detract from the movie at all. I think it is an intentional nod to traditional Japanese form, but what do I know?

    Frankly this movie reminded me of one of the "Lord of the Rings" movies, Japanese style. It is a complete and intriguing universe. The cinematography and artistic direction feel coherent and well conceived. I feel like the characters were well developed and we understood their point of views by the end of the movie.

    I loved this movie. The time passed without notice while I was immersed in it. I'd see it again.
    Expand
  2. May 2, 2014
    10
    This movie is very deep if you're willing to look for it.
    Excellent story, similar vein as Hero and Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon.
    A lot of
    This movie is very deep if you're willing to look for it.
    Excellent story, similar vein as Hero and Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon.
    A lot of the deeper dialogue happens through body language.
    Expand
  3. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    A great Japanese fantasy tale, filled with epic samurai upholding social order ahead of their own lives.The film does a great job of showingA great Japanese fantasy tale, filled with epic samurai upholding social order ahead of their own lives.The film does a great job of showing that duty and honor to ones lord is far more important than adventure. By battling against those who would the rules of society as a weapon these men face the ultimate challenge, returning order to the world. The ending is suitable dramatic, but not what a western audience might expect. Where the film does fall short in its ability to explain to a western audience why the Samurai do what they do, those who are not knowledgeable about feudal japan will have a hard time understanding the motivations of the characters. 47 Ronin is a legendary tale in Japan culture, and this was a fun if not fantastical telling. Worth the watch, but just remember to do a little homework before you go for maximum enjoyment. Expand
  4. May 3, 2014
    7
    Wow, I'm sorry I listened to the hate and missed seeing this in 3D on the big screen. Really enjoyed it. Dialogue a little clunky b/c theWow, I'm sorry I listened to the hate and missed seeing this in 3D on the big screen. Really enjoyed it. Dialogue a little clunky b/c the Japanese actors are stuck speaking in English, but story is solid, action is amazing, and the imagery is memorable.

    I think critics saw Keanu reeves and lazily dismissed the movie. Much easier to make fun of Keanu for being a white guy in a Japanese movie, then actually consider the merits of a film.
    Expand
  5. Dec 30, 2013
    6
    The movie lacks something, but nevertheless i enjoyed the two hours.

    The characters in this film are so thin causing that you really don't
    The movie lacks something, but nevertheless i enjoyed the two hours.

    The characters in this film are so thin causing that you really don't feel anything for them and therefore the whole vengeance theme is not really working for me as well as the whole love interest plot.

    The start of the movie is OK although the voice over beginning is boring, the end is also pretty impressive with some very good CGI.

    The second act of this movie is the problem, a lot of things feel very rushed in the second act. And this is the part where you should start to feel attached to the characters and want them to succeed in their quest for their revenge.

    I don't really say this very often as in most cases less is more this movie could have used and extra 15 to 30 minutes.

    And why did they made this movie in 3D, I'm no fan of the whole 3D movies as they tend to try to make up a weak plot and characters with an extra dimension and this doesn't work. And it feels like this again in this film because it really didn't add anything in the movie experience.

    But non the less it was enjoyable to watch which just pushed this movie into a 6.
    Expand
  6. Jan 9, 2014
    5
    An Ok action movie with average (boring) characters and mediocre plot! Although it delivers great atmosphere of samurai Japan with well doneAn Ok action movie with average (boring) characters and mediocre plot! Although it delivers great atmosphere of samurai Japan with well done costumes and decorations! But everything else is just on average quality Expand
  7. Apr 2, 2014
    0
    only one question, where the hell did that big ass budget go?? Give 1/10 of it to tarantino and he'll still make you a masterwork. Waste ofonly one question, where the hell did that big ass budget go?? Give 1/10 of it to tarantino and he'll still make you a masterwork. Waste of money (a lot, like how did they get that kind of budget) and time, just watch 13 assasins or the last samurai again, you'll thank me for not having to waste your time.

    Just my opinion.
    Expand

See all 122 User Reviews

Trailers