50/50

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 544 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 544

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Feb 24, 2012
    5
    50/50 is a strange movie, how can it be categorized of comedy a movie about a man fighting against cancer? It is absolutely insubstantial, although it does not lose its depressing part, but the emotion of the film is broken by stupid jokes of teenagers. The things that saved the picture are the performance of Joseph Gordon Levitt and the form the film shows the way of living a life with50/50 is a strange movie, how can it be categorized of comedy a movie about a man fighting against cancer? It is absolutely insubstantial, although it does not lose its depressing part, but the emotion of the film is broken by stupid jokes of teenagers. The things that saved the picture are the performance of Joseph Gordon Levitt and the form the film shows the way of living a life with cancer. This is remarkable because is extremely realistic; in other words, the things that Adam start doing when the doctor diagnosed him cancer are the same that everyone would probably do. You wont get out of the hospital planning to take what remains of life; you will denied that you are fine, get angry with the world and God, you will discovered who your true friends are and refuge in what you find first. If all this were not interrupted by the silly relationship that is going nowhere with the girlfriend, the pointless sessions with the psychologist and the friend that does not know if to help or not Adam; this movie could be in the top ten of the year. Expand
  2. Oct 7, 2011
    4
    novictim: What does anything have to do with your residency at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center? How does that make you more qualified to criticize this movie? You said that the jokes were juvenile. Is that what you diagnosed as you were making your rounds in the oncology department? Jokes about vomit, yeast infections, and dogs licking themselves are funny. Go give another poornovictim: What does anything have to do with your residency at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center? How does that make you more qualified to criticize this movie? You said that the jokes were juvenile. Is that what you diagnosed as you were making your rounds in the oncology department? Jokes about vomit, yeast infections, and dogs licking themselves are funny. Go give another poor soul at Kettering a frown. Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2011
    5
    Not a bad film, but certainly not a great film. Joseph Gordon-Levitt does the same thing he always does, walking around with his eyes half open and playing everything with zero emotion, which I guess for some people equals 'great acting.' I wish they'd cast someone with some real emotion. Seth Rogan is great, though, and the rest of the cast is solid.
  4. Oct 4, 2011
    5
    The movie is offensive, funny, sad, happy, but mainly offensive. It was mildly entertaining but I would not recommend it. The subject matter could not overcome the comedic effect.
  5. Oct 3, 2011
    6
    Uneven script and seemed to jerk me from one emotion to another. Loved Leavitt, he's the best and does a great job with this character, dang person. What kept me involved was knowing this was someone's real life story. Could have done with less of the self-absorbed girlfriend and more with the mother. I still cried, as did the whole audience, but mostly had too many flashbacks with myUneven script and seemed to jerk me from one emotion to another. Loved Leavitt, he's the best and does a great job with this character, dang person. What kept me involved was knowing this was someone's real life story. Could have done with less of the self-absorbed girlfriend and more with the mother. I still cried, as did the whole audience, but mostly had too many flashbacks with my own friends facing death. Expand
  6. Oct 5, 2011
    6
    This was a better movie than I had anticipated. Touching, poignant, sad, and funny. Seth Rogan is, well, Seth Rogan. He isn't an actor, because basically he just plays himself in every film. With that said, he delivered some very funny lines in this movie. Gordon-Levitt gives a strong performance, but he still lacks the maturity as an actor to make us forget he's that he's "acting".This was a better movie than I had anticipated. Touching, poignant, sad, and funny. Seth Rogan is, well, Seth Rogan. He isn't an actor, because basically he just plays himself in every film. With that said, he delivered some very funny lines in this movie. Gordon-Levitt gives a strong performance, but he still lacks the maturity as an actor to make us forget he's that he's "acting". I wouldn't recommend paying full price, but it's definitely worth seeing at a matinee. Expand
  7. Feb 13, 2012
    6
    Difficult film to grade. On the positive this happened to the writer, so there is truthfulness (Mr Rogen is actually a best friend of the writer). Characters are composites of multiple characters that came and went in the lief of Mr Reiser. So while it didn't "feel" right, if I go with the "this stuff really happened" insight, it's worth seeing. On the other side, well, it really doesn'tDifficult film to grade. On the positive this happened to the writer, so there is truthfulness (Mr Rogen is actually a best friend of the writer). Characters are composites of multiple characters that came and went in the lief of Mr Reiser. So while it didn't "feel" right, if I go with the "this stuff really happened" insight, it's worth seeing. On the other side, well, it really doesn't work. All the other characters seem forced in what they're doing. Ms Kendrick is to young and inexperienced to be believable as the doc. Plus the flow of the film was obvious to me (I did know some of what happened as I heard Mr Reiser on NPR talking about the film). Then there is Mr Rogen; he is playing the same "dude" as in his other what is called "stoner' comedies. I chuckled now and then at him but he was not convincing as the best friend. In summary I find myself uncertain with two movies here: a serious film wit some comic relief about a young person with cancer and a irreverent poke at the same subject. I'm torn between my lowest recommended rating (B-) and my almost wroth seeing rating (C+). I'm going with "worth a look", but just so. Expand
  8. Feb 22, 2013
    6
    Mixing comedy and drama isn't an easy thing to do. Sometimes it works, but a lot of times it doesn't. It gets even more difficult when you're joking about things you're not supposed to joke about. In 50/50, Seth Rogan is the best friend/comic relief and while he's hilarious as always, it doesn't really fit with the tone of the film. For the most part, 50/50 is an inspiring story about aMixing comedy and drama isn't an easy thing to do. Sometimes it works, but a lot of times it doesn't. It gets even more difficult when you're joking about things you're not supposed to joke about. In 50/50, Seth Rogan is the best friend/comic relief and while he's hilarious as always, it doesn't really fit with the tone of the film. For the most part, 50/50 is an inspiring story about a young man fighting for his life. While the writer tries to use comedy to lighten the mood, I felt that all it did was distract me from the story and bring the quality of the picture down. As always, Joseph Gordon-Levitt was absolutely incredible and continues to be the most talented and underrated actor in all of Hollywood, but I guess that's what happens when you get your start on an overrated sitcom. Those looking for another hysterical Rogan/Pot inspired comedy will be disappointed by this film, and those looking for a touching drama, may also be disappointed by the inappropriateness of it all. I liked the film a lot, even though it tries to blend two things into one, rather unsuccessfully. Simply put JGL makes this film, Rogan doesn't fit, and there's only about a 50/50 chance you're going to enjoy it. Expand
  9. Mar 26, 2012
    5
    The Film is okay. Joseph Gordon-Levitt did a pretty good job but the movie is a little weird. It tries to mix being funny and serious but they didn't flow together. Seth Rogen was annoying and totally worthless to the entire movie. The movie was 50/50.
  10. Mar 15, 2013
    4
    I wasn't capable of evening summoning up an ounce of compassion for the main character. If I am blunt, Joseph Gordon-Levitt is just obnoxious and Anna Kendrick is inexplicably annoying. A generic story for what the concept is.
  11. Nov 25, 2013
    6
    Never really takes off but meanders on. The acting was just OK. There were some good jokes. In the end I found it very generic. I couldn't care about Adam at all. Very plain and unimpressive. Cannot recommend it. They tried fusing comedy and drama but failed at both.
  12. May 9, 2015
    6
    This is a fairly good movie - it struggles at times to create much empathy for the characters, but it scrapes by with the bare essentials. It was okay.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Adam Smith
    Nov 21, 2011
    80
    Whether you're after a comedy-drama about cancer or a Rogen laugh-fest with added heart, this does a remarkable job of balancing the odds. And the laughter/tears split? Call it 70/30.
  2. Oct 1, 2011
    70
    What ensues is "Beaches" meets "Pineapple Express." Which, I've got to tell you, is pretty much what living with cancer is like.
  3. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Sep 30, 2011
    80
    As the comedy in 50/50 turns darker, Gordon-Levitt, who's maybe the most natural, least affected actor of his generation, makes prickly plenty engaging.