Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 360 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Inspired by personal experiences, 50/50 is an original story about friendship, love, survival and finding humor in unlikely places. Two best friends lives change when one of them is diagnosed with cancer. (Summit Entertainment)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Sep 29, 2011
    100
    Every performance in the film is flawless.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Sep 29, 2011
    88
    A movie handled with this kind of care is a rare gift. Refusing to hide from pain or bow to it, 50/50 makes its own rules. It'll get to you.
  3. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Sep 28, 2011
    83
    The result is a duet of outstanding loveliness between Kendrick and Gordon-Levitt, also an actor of nuanced control.
  4. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Sep 29, 2011
    75
    The filmmakers do everything they can to balance levity and leavening. The subject says "drama," and the three supporting women deliver well-shaded, understated performances. (Howard shows us how weakness can be just as destructive as malice.)
  5. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Sep 29, 2011
    70
    As a comedy about a young man with cancer, it needs to be serious enough to be real as well as light enough to be funny. Though it falls off the wagon at times, it maintains its balance remarkably well.
  6. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Sep 29, 2011
    63
    Kendrick gives a truly bad performance here - she's a self-conscious actress playing a self-conscious person and getting her signals all mixed up - and it's unclear whether she has been hung out to dry by her director or if it's just that the character makes no sense whatsoever.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Sep 28, 2011
    25
    Artificial, irresponsible, filthy and forgettable, it knocks itself cross-eyed trying to make you roar with laughter at chemotherapy, with the nauseating Seth Rogen milking most of the yuks. But a stoner comedy about cancer? I don't think so.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 95
  2. Negative: 2 out of 95
  1. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    I loved this film. It's been awhile since I gave a movie a 10 but I was cast into this movie's spell. I cared about all the characters, even though the Rogen character was a little close to being over the top. Levitt is absolutely perfect as the cancer stricken person holding all his emotions in, until he finally explodes the night before his surgery. I haven't cried at a movie in years but definitely teared up at this one. I'm glad the time of the year has arrived when the good movies are shown. Highly recommended. Deserves the great reviews it's getting. Expand
  2. Oct 6, 2011
    10
    A brilliant film if JGL and this movie aren't nominated for a golden globe and Oscar they are stupid. The film was able to balance out the funny and serious scenes really well. This probably the best film of the year. Expand
  3. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    Loved it!!! Great Great movie!!! The acting was amazing. A great mix of funny and sad moments. Shows how some one can get through cancer treatment a positive way with help and support from friends and family. A must see! Expand
  4. Oct 2, 2011
    8
    This was a very good film. Joseph Gordon Levitt is such a solid young actor and this was a wonderful performance. I thought the film was real, deep, funny and touching. My only complaint was the ridiculous and stereotypical portrayals of the physicians and the therapist. It was surprising given that the film was written by someone who went through this, but it came off as making that whole part of the film seem written for a screenplay and an audience reaction instead of being real. However, I would still recommend this film. Expand
  5. Oct 13, 2011
    8
    How can you make a comedy about cancer? Forever we have seen cancer play huge roles in films, but itâ
  6. Feb 11, 2012
    8
    Walking a tightrope of polar extremes between gravity and levity, perhaps "50/50's" most exemplary trait is its dexterity and finesse with which it juggles such diversity; an amalgamation that's subject matter is treated with both careful caution and insouciant jocose. The film is home to a vividly rich script, thanks to Will Reiser's real-world insight and vision, prim pacing and balance, as well as arguably the most realistic, heart-rending emotional sequences to ever grace a theater screen yet. Gordon-Levitt shines as the undemonstrative, reserved man of fledglingly unfortunate news, who, through his battle and journey, takes us the viewer with him; both painful symptoms and quiet triumphs are experienced through him unto "us." Further, Rogen's burbly demeanor is an effective bolster and change of pace to the uncompromisingly elegiac tone. Overall, the film is timely; funny when levity is called, and moving when sadness exists. "50/50" proves humour can be wrung from critical subjects, providing it's done with sufficient thoughtfulness, tact, and wit. Expand
  7. Oct 24, 2011
    2
    Boring as hell .All the jokes were about the same sexual topic over and over .

    Alot of film time was just spent viewing the guy with cancer
    with the same look on his face.

    Dont waste your time
    Collapse

See all 95 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: September 6, 2011
    We preview the 30 top movies arriving this fall, from Steven Soderbergh's "Contagion" to George Clooney's "Ides of March." While you're at it, find release dates and descriptions for the other 60+ fall films, too.