50/50

50/50 Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 546 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Inspired by personal experiences, 50/50 is an original story about friendship, love, survival and finding humor in unlikely places. Two best friends lives change when one of them is diagnosed with cancer. (Summit Entertainment)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Sep 29, 2011
    100
    Every performance in the film is flawless.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Sep 29, 2011
    88
    A movie handled with this kind of care is a rare gift. Refusing to hide from pain or bow to it, 50/50 makes its own rules. It'll get to you.
  3. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Sep 28, 2011
    83
    The result is a duet of outstanding loveliness between Kendrick and Gordon-Levitt, also an actor of nuanced control.
  4. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Sep 29, 2011
    75
    The filmmakers do everything they can to balance levity and leavening. The subject says "drama," and the three supporting women deliver well-shaded, understated performances. (Howard shows us how weakness can be just as destructive as malice.)
  5. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Sep 29, 2011
    70
    As a comedy about a young man with cancer, it needs to be serious enough to be real as well as light enough to be funny. Though it falls off the wagon at times, it maintains its balance remarkably well.
  6. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Sep 29, 2011
    63
    Kendrick gives a truly bad performance here - she's a self-conscious actress playing a self-conscious person and getting her signals all mixed up - and it's unclear whether she has been hung out to dry by her director or if it's just that the character makes no sense whatsoever.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Sep 28, 2011
    25
    Artificial, irresponsible, filthy and forgettable, it knocks itself cross-eyed trying to make you roar with laughter at chemotherapy, with the nauseating Seth Rogen milking most of the yuks. But a stoner comedy about cancer? I don't think so.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 106
  2. Negative: 2 out of 106
  1. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    I loved this film. It's been awhile since I gave a movie a 10 but I was cast into this movie's spell. I cared about all the characters, evenI loved this film. It's been awhile since I gave a movie a 10 but I was cast into this movie's spell. I cared about all the characters, even though the Rogen character was a little close to being over the top. Levitt is absolutely perfect as the cancer stricken person holding all his emotions in, until he finally explodes the night before his surgery. I haven't cried at a movie in years but definitely teared up at this one. I'm glad the time of the year has arrived when the good movies are shown. Highly recommended. Deserves the great reviews it's getting. Expand
  2. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    Perfectly acted, emotionally flawless, and laugh out loud funny, 50/50 is one of the best movies of the year, with at least a couple of OscarPerfectly acted, emotionally flawless, and laugh out loud funny, 50/50 is one of the best movies of the year, with at least a couple of Oscar worth performances, the funniest lines of the year, and a powerful blend of crying and laughing. This movie is basically flawless, and should not be missed by anyone. Expand
  3. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    i dont watch too many movies twice, but i did for this one. more of a drama than a comedy. 9 out of 10. Tied with warhorse for my 2 favoritei dont watch too many movies twice, but i did for this one. more of a drama than a comedy. 9 out of 10. Tied with warhorse for my 2 favorite films of 2011. Expand
  4. Feb 29, 2012
    8
    It was a really good film. Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Seth Rogen were both solid leads in this film, The rest of the cast was solid as well. ItsIt was a really good film. Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Seth Rogen were both solid leads in this film, The rest of the cast was solid as well. Its definently a film worth watching imo. Expand
  5. Mar 13, 2016
    8
    50/50 is a pleasant surprise of a film. As many critics have alluded to, the film brilliantly handles its cancer subject and balances the50/50 is a pleasant surprise of a film. As many critics have alluded to, the film brilliantly handles its cancer subject and balances the serious, the emotional, and the funny, phenomenally. Every transition is seamless and it honestly never felt as though the film was disjointed or did not know what it was. Rather, the film decided to take a lighter approach to cancer, which is appreciated. While it still hit you with the true emotion and the pain and suffering as necessary, it tried to lighten the mood throughout, which is why Seth Rogen is perfect here. As a comic, he really brought his A game here and served as a perfect foil to the subject as a whole. Joseph Gordon-Levitt is fantastic here, as are Anna Kendrick, Philip Baker Hall, and Anjelica Huston. Huston played the mother perfectly and really felt authentic as the mother of a cancer victim. The direction and the writing are the winners here as the film manages to tackle the dirty and gritty elements of cancer, while also being a really fun and entertaining comedy. 50/50 is a true joy to watch and will make you laugh and cry, as it did to me. Expand
  6. Aug 24, 2014
    7
    Adam (Joseph Gordon-Lewitt, the main reason for my seeing this movie) is a healthy young man who is too nice for his own good - and who getsAdam (Joseph Gordon-Lewitt, the main reason for my seeing this movie) is a healthy young man who is too nice for his own good - and who gets cancer.

    Between his best friend Kyle (Seth Rogen), who is quick to exploit his illness, his artistic girlfriend Rachel (Bryce Dallas Howard) who cannot really take the pressure of caring for him, his suffocating mother, and a young therapist Katherine (Anna Kendrick), Adam finds happiness in places he didn't expect - and has to face a set of new fears he really doesn't know how to deal with.

    A funny, touching, emotional and somewhat sad story that shows the ups and downs of a cancer patient, and little glimpses to how hard it is for those around them to deal with the diagnosis.

    Evenly paced, well told story that makes you laugh, but still holds onto a serious side of things.
    Expand
  7. Oct 24, 2011
    2
    Boring as hell .All the jokes were about the same sexual topic over and over .

    Alot of film time was just spent viewing the guy with cancer
    Boring as hell .All the jokes were about the same sexual topic over and over .

    Alot of film time was just spent viewing the guy with cancer with the same look on his face.

    Dont waste your time
    Expand

See all 106 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: September 6, 2011
    We preview the 30 top movies arriving this fall, from Steven Soderbergh's "Contagion" to George Clooney's "Ides of March." While you're at it, find release dates and descriptions for the other 60+ fall films, too.
  2. 2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films

    2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: January 12, 2012
    Another humdrum year for movies? Forget it; 2012 is shaping up to be the best year for film in over a decade. Inside, we run down 50 of the most promising movies due to arrive this year, and we guarantee that you'll find something to get excited about.
  3. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: August 12, 2011
    This week, watch the first trailer for the upcoming Harold & Kumar holiday movie, and get new looks at "50/50," "Abduction," and "Anonymous." Plus, learn about upcoming projects like "World War Z" and Robert Redford's "The Company You Keep."
  4. The Best (and Worst) Movies of 2016 So Far

    The Best (and Worst) Movies of 2016 So Far Image
    Published: July 1, 2016
    We reveal the 50 best-reviewed films of 2016 so far ... as well as the 10 worst.