Universal Pictures | Release Date: November 8, 2002
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 528 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
468
Mixed:
40
Negative:
20
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
iAGRNov 16, 2011
Exciting, depressing, emotional, moving, amazing. This is the kinda movie you want to see, whether you liked rap or not. The feelings really get to you in this movie. Definitely one of my all-time favorites. It's one of those type of moviesExciting, depressing, emotional, moving, amazing. This is the kinda movie you want to see, whether you liked rap or not. The feelings really get to you in this movie. Definitely one of my all-time favorites. It's one of those type of movies where a "bullied kid" gets somewhere and shows all of those bullies who he is, and how they can't stand up to him. Great movie! And even greater with Eminem in it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
hiphop97May 27, 2013
The acting was great and the rap battles were really entertaining. The story line was basic but that doesn't take away from the fact that this is a great film.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
RayzorMooseNov 12, 2013
8 mile freestyles its way to a successful drama.
With unexpectedly good acting, and an unprecedentedly brilliant script; 8 Mile escapes simply being an average film but slips from greatness do to its untimely length.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JonathanP.Jan 4, 2003
It's da greatis of all time. its past 10 but dats all they had 2 pic frumm.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
L0stR3negadeMar 27, 2011
Great movie. I can't stop watching. Eminem fan or not this movie has something for you. This movie is one of the few inspirational movies made of this time
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ArteezyJan 11, 2014
Dope movie... The best movie ever made in the history of hip-hop movies... Scratch that, all movies... This movie is a classic... Haters can't talk...
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
HypocriticsDec 15, 2013
Everyone who says this movie was below a 7 has something against Eminem personally. They probably got offended by his lyrics, or couldn't handle the amount of truth this movie holds about hip hop in Detroit. It is a fantastic portrayal ofEveryone who says this movie was below a 7 has something against Eminem personally. They probably got offended by his lyrics, or couldn't handle the amount of truth this movie holds about hip hop in Detroit. It is a fantastic portrayal of the Detroit lifestyle, being an upcoming artist, and more than anything beautiful direction and soundtrack. Probably the best rap soundtrack for a movie...ever. This could be a documentary, and still be incredible. But they gave you a kickass storyline to boot. Lucky you. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Pro-PayneMar 16, 2014
This movie shows the rise of a upcoming Hip-Hop artist from Detroit, with no bullsh*t and has no censorship for what really happens in the cold world of Hip-Hop. What better actor to have for the main character than Eminem himself? No one,This movie shows the rise of a upcoming Hip-Hop artist from Detroit, with no bullsh*t and has no censorship for what really happens in the cold world of Hip-Hop. What better actor to have for the main character than Eminem himself? No one, Eminem is the best actor for the part of B-Rabbit. Growing up himself in Detroit, Eminem knows the town in side and out, and knows the life of a family starving to get by. This is shown perfectly in his flawless acting. If you haven't seen this movie, I would advise watching it, even if you aren't a Eminem fan. This is my favorite movie, and no other movie comes close to the greatness this movie has to offer. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MoviebuffreviewMar 15, 2011
Let's get one thing out of the way first: Yes, I am an Eminem fan. However, rap is not the only genre I like, and some rap artists make me sick like some people. I listen to just about any genre as long as the music is good, and I am a fan ofLet's get one thing out of the way first: Yes, I am an Eminem fan. However, rap is not the only genre I like, and some rap artists make me sick like some people. I listen to just about any genre as long as the music is good, and I am a fan of other bests of different genres, even for orchestrated. 8 Mile was hyped up for a while and I never got to see it, and I thought it would just be a typical tale of Eminem trying to become a rapper. But it isn't, and it is a much bigger movie and in my opinion, one of the best of 2002. Thanks to an excellent script, the grittiness, the message, and the fantastic performances, even from Eminem, 8 Mile is an excellent movie that borrows script ideas from great movies, perfects them and is special in its own way. SEE IT! Expand
10 of 12 users found this helpful102
All this user's reviews
10
NickT.Jul 16, 2006
Eminem was absoluty flawless in this movie excellent debut, the best movie I've seen in years.
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
JoseRochaPTOct 3, 2011
I've seen this movie a long time, but in my lifetime I've seen more than once. While portraying the life of rapper Eminem is also a lesson in life, there is a story based on the problems of today. The movie basically shows that anyone, evenI've seen this movie a long time, but in my lifetime I've seen more than once. While portraying the life of rapper Eminem is also a lesson in life, there is a story based on the problems of today. The movie basically shows that anyone, even if it is considered a nobody, can turn the world upside down by those you love. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
TyeJan 1, 2007
Incredible. The not just the best movie about music ever, but the best single movie ever. Period.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
KaztajNov 17, 2010
Emotional, moving, depressing, exciting, these words are created for this movie. Eminem has outdone himself...................................................................................
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
kublay0880Dec 10, 2012
Eminem it's not an actor and that's for sure, the movie lacks a lot of things but what I loved about the movie it's that the movie has a message and it transmits this message in a very powerful way, and through the life of a music star and ofEminem it's not an actor and that's for sure, the movie lacks a lot of things but what I loved about the movie it's that the movie has a message and it transmits this message in a very powerful way, and through the life of a music star and of a regular working-class guy. Raw and memorable moments you will find in this movie. You don't need to be an Eminem fan to appreciate it. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
LeePOct 16, 2007
8mile was the best rap movie there ever willl be in this world. I am a big Fan of eminem and he should make another movie about himself. well got to go peace out and by the way I am a boy who is 15 years old.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
7
ZiftK.Oct 27, 2006
Overall, not a bad film. the best parts of it are at the end, during the rap battles. The rest of the movie is okay. Something to watch when it's on CTV, or whatever channel it would come on. Just don't go into it expecting an Overall, not a bad film. the best parts of it are at the end, during the rap battles. The rest of the movie is okay. Something to watch when it's on CTV, or whatever channel it would come on. Just don't go into it expecting an AMAZING film. It's a GOOD movie, key word, GOOD. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KayseM.Dec 15, 2003
I rate this movie a 10 because Eminem is the best!!!!! I love the rap battles! And Eminem is really hott!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
AbbyH.Dec 1, 2004
Okay, I guess! Not as good as I thought it would be. But, still I'd watch it once again. The battles were the best part in the whole film.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
RandiC.Oct 8, 2004
This movie rocks the battels are the best!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
andrewj.May 15, 2005
Becoz eminem is da best!!!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
NickC.Aug 15, 2005
Cool Movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
luis34Aug 22, 2009
Its sad to see that eminem haters just keep wasting their time, man i think is time to grow up 8-) and about the movie, well if it isnt perfect still is great peace.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BethH.Dec 26, 2004
I think it is wonderful and is heart warming. i love it and just wow i dont know what to say it is the ebst movie i know.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
TTW107Jun 10, 2012
Such a great movie. I wish I could erase my mind and watch this movie for the first time again. Unfortunately I know every word to every freestyle in it, so I have to rap along. But wow, what an amazing movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
grandpajoe6191Dec 4, 2011
"8 Mile", a rap semi-biography film, surprisingly springs up to a masterful level where only a few newbie-movies achieve. Is it because of the grim environment and, although formulaic, a appealing story? Yes, but it's mostly because of"8 Mile", a rap semi-biography film, surprisingly springs up to a masterful level where only a few newbie-movies achieve. Is it because of the grim environment and, although formulaic, a appealing story? Yes, but it's mostly because of Eminem's powerful, absorbing performance. I DEMAND A SEQUEL!!! Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
10
NicholasandrewDec 29, 2012
If you have, one shoot or one opportunity... WATCH this movie, is awesome! Tell a very interesting story about Eminem's life, what makes you understand more about what happened during his life before his career
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ExKingMar 27, 2013
an incredible story an awesome performance by Eminem and most of the story are taken by real events from his life holy waw i mean for a rapper to act like that is just incredible.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
CarlH.Apr 19, 2003
Excellent film, I was impressed with the story and the acting. Great performance from eminem. Ratings of 10 because someones your favorite singer or actor are unwarranted as much as ratings of 0 for seeing a film in a genre you don't care for.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.CruzNov 19, 2002
I thought it was a great movie the acting was superb by all the talent. Only problem i had was the sex scene with em and britany they could shortened that part a little bit other then that its a great hiphop film
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TarikT.Nov 9, 2002
It was a good movie, Em delivered an oscar worthy performance, same with Mekhi Phifer, and the rest of the crew. It was really cool to see some good old skool beats incorparated in the movie as well, NO JAY-Z thank god!!!!!!!! The only It was a good movie, Em delivered an oscar worthy performance, same with Mekhi Phifer, and the rest of the crew. It was really cool to see some good old skool beats incorparated in the movie as well, NO JAY-Z thank god!!!!!!!! The only reason i give it an 8, was it was too predictable. This is a must SEE MOVIE. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful