Metascore
19

Overwhelming dislike - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: Tom Welles (Cage) is a family man with a modest home-based private investigation business living a simple life in Pennsylvania -- until a reel of crudely shot eight millimeter film sends him down a gritty and frightening path into society's darkest corners. (Sony)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 20
  2. Negative: 10 out of 20
  1. 75
    It is a real film. Not a slick exploitation exercise with all the trappings of depravity but none of the consequences.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    63
    The two m's in 8MM could stand for "messy melodrama." [26 February 1999, Life, p.5E]
  3. I can't say I warmed to the results, but I was solidly held for the film's two hours.
  4. Reviewed by: Derek Elley
    30
    A movie that keeps jumping the gate and finally unravels all over the floor.
  5. Voyeuristically wallows in the sadistic violence it professes to deplore. What hypocrisy!

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    I loved this movie because of the dark nature of the film and what it depicts. It shows the struggle between the evil and good of man and one of the darker sides of our humanity. Expand
  2. Jan 9, 2011
    8
    What a good psycho thriller..kept me entertained throughout. Pretty crazy scenes that make you think...this really happened out there! He goes deep into underground territory on this one..love the plot and explains it well and does its job to keep you entertained. Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2012
    7
    The thing I like most about 8mm is the fact that they can take what should have been an generic movie and make it into something worth watching. Despite the acting being rather generic and the plot being insanely straight forward, 8mm was enjoyable to watch. Expand
  4. Feb 23, 2013
    7
    This is one of the darkest, grittiest, and scariest films I have ever seen. The reason? It's simple, this could actually happen! This probably has happened before! Tom Welles (Nicholas Cage) is hired by an elderly woman who finds a snuff film among her late husband's possessions. She wants to know if it's real and if it is wants to pay the family for her husband's mistakes. The investigation takes Welles down a deep dark road that few travel and even less know about. The story is just so dark and creepy that some of you might actually be freaked out by it! Cage is amazing as always, leading a terrific cast, that includes Joaquin Phoenix and Tony Soprano himself, James Gandolfini. It's a very strong story that will chill you to the bone. It's defiantly not for everyone, but it was right up my alley! Expand
  5. Dec 10, 2012
    6
    8mm has a very good story, it manages suspense properly enough, I don't agree that it shows too much gore, I think that it shows enough of it to probe the film's idea. It's not the best Cage's movie but it's an average suspense movie. Collapse
  6. Oct 4, 2011
    6
    Joel Schumacher really doesn't show anything significant or prominent throughout "8MM". Everything's grotesque and lacks the profound air Nicholas Cage tries to present. However I admit that the film certainly did not deserve a 1.9 out of 10; its still entertaining or manageable in a way. Expand
  7. Jul 24, 2014
    1
    Director Joel Schumacher directed "Batman and Robin" so it doesn't come by a surprise that this movie would fail miserably. The end result is an unappealing sadistic violence and a great lack of mystery and suspense. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Director Joel Schumacher: All Films Considered

    Director Joel Schumacher: All Films Considered Image
    Published: August 5, 2010
    A new Joel Schumacher film is always cause for celebration -- if you happen to like bad movies. We look back at the "Twelve" director's worst (and, yes, best) films from a career spanning three decades.
  2. Nicolas Cage: All Films Considered

    Nicolas Cage: All Films Considered Image
    Published: July 12, 2010
    The inimitable star of this week's "The Sorcerer's Apprentice" has been one of Hollywood's most prolific actors over the past three decades, for better and worse. We look in detail at 15 of Cage's movies, including the highs and lows.