Tartan | Release Date: July 22, 2005
5.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 32 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
12
Mixed:
12
Negative:
8
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
WhezzSep 11, 2005
This film is a vile, nausiating and contrived piece of trash ever translated to celluloid. It is void of character development, decent screenplay and acting. This seems to be nothing but a copy of 'Intimacy' another poor British This film is a vile, nausiating and contrived piece of trash ever translated to celluloid. It is void of character development, decent screenplay and acting. This seems to be nothing but a copy of 'Intimacy' another poor British effort. They both appear to be testing the limits of how much errect penis and penetration you are now allowed to show at the local cinema! This film comes in at 67 minutes. I mean if you are trying to make a serious film about character development and hoping for an audience empathy with the characters this is no where enough time. Also parts if this film are filled with live scenes from the Brixton Accademy. Why? What relevance does this have to a film about character development and relationships? Nothing, the films only objective is to make money for the bands featured and the controversy caused by the explicit and grim sex scenes. This films predictable screenplay can be described very simply. 1. Rock gig 2. Sex 3. Arguement....and repeat until all bands have been exhausted. A load of utter tripe that I had to endure for my film studies course and I left feeling nausous and wondering why it was ever made. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
BillK.Jun 15, 2007
BORING. To address Laura's point, I think the critics DID understand that, but a good filmmaker would've done it better, and had a story to go with it. It's just tedious. There is no plot here. They go to the club, they have BORING. To address Laura's point, I think the critics DID understand that, but a good filmmaker would've done it better, and had a story to go with it. It's just tedious. There is no plot here. They go to the club, they have sex. Repeat over and over for 69 minutes. The sex scenes won't offend you, just put you to sleep. I gave it a 1 for the live music. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
KenB.Jan 8, 2006
The plot was uninspiring but the sex, although casual, was an example for all to imitate - gentle and loving. But what pleased me was that the female actor was depicted as explicitly as the male. Too many films, such as Catherine The plot was uninspiring but the sex, although casual, was an example for all to imitate - gentle and loving. But what pleased me was that the female actor was depicted as explicitly as the male. Too many films, such as Catherine Breillat's "Anatomy of Hell" treat the female lead with a defference not given to the male. For example - the notice upfront in "Anatomy of Hell" that the female lead's body was not exposed in the film - the female body exposed was that of a stand-in. Yet the male leads genitals were not only explicity shown but were shown erect. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
LauraU.Jun 22, 2006
The film is surprisingly bleak - it reflects so well the emptiness of a relationship where the partners are so intimately acquainted with each other's bodies but are not interested in getting to know each other as people. We are given a The film is surprisingly bleak - it reflects so well the emptiness of a relationship where the partners are so intimately acquainted with each other's bodies but are not interested in getting to know each other as people. We are given a touching depiction of a barren relationship, and it is only a pity that so many critics failed to see that. If Winterbottom had decided to give us a picture of a rounded relationship, the film probably could not have examined the sexual aspects so deeply without being so long it was really tedious. And one has to ask whether Stilley would have been able to carry it off, whereas she was obviously capable of having sex with enthusiasm. I just wish I could still do it so well - or that I still looked as good! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TimeJul 10, 2007
If you like porn you'll love this. This is full on sex. Even Skinamax has their limits.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
zabriskiej.Nov 23, 2005
Empty for the sake of emptiness, which is such a rare pleasure in the realm of obsolete meaningfulness.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
9 Songs is just porn dressed up as an indie-drama. Don't buy what it's selling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
GREEK-GODJan 8, 2018
I read a lot about this film before i watched it, but i figured, some people don't know anything about art in cinema, so i decided to watch it myself and to prove them wrong. I expected too much. this film is shot beautifully, but thatI read a lot about this film before i watched it, but i figured, some people don't know anything about art in cinema, so i decided to watch it myself and to prove them wrong. I expected too much. this film is shot beautifully, but that doesn't change the fact that it's just sex scenes and live music. seriously: if a person wants sex and music, they rent porn and a live DVD of some band. I really, really don't mind a lot of sex in a movie, as long as it deepens the knowledge about the relationship between the characters. but we don't know these two people, so we can't relate to them. and the film doesn't really make us want to know more about them, either. All in all, the film is like a nice flower: beautiful to look at for maybe one or two minutes at best, but not for sixty-seven. it doesn't leave you with any kind of feeling, you know? most films leave a question, or make you go "awwww" or leave you either satisfied or unsatisfied, but this one just makes you go "okay, i just watched a lot of sex, some music, and saw a few shots of Antarctica." and that's all it is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews