Tartan | Release Date: July 22, 2005
5.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 34 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
16
Mixed:
9
Negative:
9
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
JonathanH.Aug 10, 2005
Thatta it - Atta boy! You're spot on. I left this film feeling touched (so to speak) by the sheer honesty and genuineness of this beautiful piece of work. It ain't porn - it ain't even close! It's life and it's Thatta it - Atta boy! You're spot on. I left this film feeling touched (so to speak) by the sheer honesty and genuineness of this beautiful piece of work. It ain't porn - it ain't even close! It's life and it's visceral. Not everybody will like this film (well, d'uh!), but it's important not to misconstrue it. Personally, I loved it as much as any other of my favourites. To Winterbottom and your two wonderfully brave actors: thank you! Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
attaboyAug 2, 2005
I loved it, personally, and I add that because I think this is a personal movie. While the characters are doing their thing (concert going or "it"), they act as if the camera isn't present, recalling intamacy between couples, not porn. I loved it, personally, and I add that because I think this is a personal movie. While the characters are doing their thing (concert going or "it"), they act as if the camera isn't present, recalling intamacy between couples, not porn. If you can, think back to days when you just met someone you really connected with basically all you probably did was get it on, and this movie conveys that. For those who have been in a modern relationship, fantasized abot meeting someone at a show, and/or appreciate cinema that pushes the boundaries of decorum, then you'll probably like this. Good bands too. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
KenB.Jan 8, 2006
The plot was uninspiring but the sex, although casual, was an example for all to imitate - gentle and loving. But what pleased me was that the female actor was depicted as explicitly as the male. Too many films, such as Catherine The plot was uninspiring but the sex, although casual, was an example for all to imitate - gentle and loving. But what pleased me was that the female actor was depicted as explicitly as the male. Too many films, such as Catherine Breillat's "Anatomy of Hell" treat the female lead with a defference not given to the male. For example - the notice upfront in "Anatomy of Hell" that the female lead's body was not exposed in the film - the female body exposed was that of a stand-in. Yet the male leads genitals were not only explicity shown but were shown erect. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
LauraU.Jun 22, 2006
The film is surprisingly bleak - it reflects so well the emptiness of a relationship where the partners are so intimately acquainted with each other's bodies but are not interested in getting to know each other as people. We are given a The film is surprisingly bleak - it reflects so well the emptiness of a relationship where the partners are so intimately acquainted with each other's bodies but are not interested in getting to know each other as people. We are given a touching depiction of a barren relationship, and it is only a pity that so many critics failed to see that. If Winterbottom had decided to give us a picture of a rounded relationship, the film probably could not have examined the sexual aspects so deeply without being so long it was really tedious. And one has to ask whether Stilley would have been able to carry it off, whereas she was obviously capable of having sex with enthusiasm. I just wish I could still do it so well - or that I still looked as good! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TimeJul 10, 2007
If you like porn you'll love this. This is full on sex. Even Skinamax has their limits.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
_sp_Jul 20, 2005
Intensely boring!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
cdonkeyAug 4, 2005
Not worth $10.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
WhezzSep 11, 2005
This film is a vile, nausiating and contrived piece of trash ever translated to celluloid. It is void of character development, decent screenplay and acting. This seems to be nothing but a copy of 'Intimacy' another poor British This film is a vile, nausiating and contrived piece of trash ever translated to celluloid. It is void of character development, decent screenplay and acting. This seems to be nothing but a copy of 'Intimacy' another poor British effort. They both appear to be testing the limits of how much errect penis and penetration you are now allowed to show at the local cinema! This film comes in at 67 minutes. I mean if you are trying to make a serious film about character development and hoping for an audience empathy with the characters this is no where enough time. Also parts if this film are filled with live scenes from the Brixton Accademy. Why? What relevance does this have to a film about character development and relationships? Nothing, the films only objective is to make money for the bands featured and the controversy caused by the explicit and grim sex scenes. This films predictable screenplay can be described very simply. 1. Rock gig 2. Sex 3. Arguement....and repeat until all bands have been exhausted. A load of utter tripe that I had to endure for my film studies course and I left feeling nausous and wondering why it was ever made. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
BillK.Jun 15, 2007
BORING. To address Laura's point, I think the critics DID understand that, but a good filmmaker would've done it better, and had a story to go with it. It's just tedious. There is no plot here. They go to the club, they have BORING. To address Laura's point, I think the critics DID understand that, but a good filmmaker would've done it better, and had a story to go with it. It's just tedious. There is no plot here. They go to the club, they have sex. Repeat over and over for 69 minutes. The sex scenes won't offend you, just put you to sleep. I gave it a 1 for the live music. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
zabriskiej.Nov 23, 2005
Empty for the sake of emptiness, which is such a rare pleasure in the realm of obsolete meaningfulness.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
9 Songs is just porn dressed up as an indie-drama. Don't buy what it's selling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews