User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 314 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 314
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. R.Lopez
    Jan 14, 2009
    10
    A beautiful mind is a truly amazing and beautiful film, and one of the best films that I have ever seen. A beautiful mind tells the story of John Forbes Nash Jr.( portrayed with uncanny brilliance by Russell Crow) A brilliant mathematician and code breaker who's genius is crippled by mental instability and only his devoted wife and friends can help him trough his times of trouble as A beautiful mind is a truly amazing and beautiful film, and one of the best films that I have ever seen. A beautiful mind tells the story of John Forbes Nash Jr.( portrayed with uncanny brilliance by Russell Crow) A brilliant mathematician and code breaker who's genius is crippled by mental instability and only his devoted wife and friends can help him trough his times of trouble as he looks for the answers in his own life, A beautiful mind is one of the best biography films I've seen yet. It's an amazing portrayal of courage and strength that will show everyone that just because your lost doesn't mean you can't be found. I very highly recommend this amazing film. Expand
  2. GustavoH.R.
    Jan 17, 2006
    8
    This conventional yet wonderful biopic is both haunting and heart-warming at the same time. Director Ron Howard conducts the plot with such a compelling sensitivity that will have most people drying up the tears on their faces while watching it. There are surprising plot twists, beautiful imagery and many touching moments. A solid, competent film that deserved every Academy Award it This conventional yet wonderful biopic is both haunting and heart-warming at the same time. Director Ron Howard conducts the plot with such a compelling sensitivity that will have most people drying up the tears on their faces while watching it. There are surprising plot twists, beautiful imagery and many touching moments. A solid, competent film that deserved every Academy Award it received. Highly recommended for those who enjoy moving, dramatic motion pictures. Expand
  3. Raegan
    Oct 7, 2003
    10
    I definitely rate this movie as a 10. I know a person with schizophrenia and it is a difficult disease to deal with. Crowe portrayed this character with great detail and with great mannerisms. I cried my eyes out watching how this man had to deal with everyday life. Every day was a constant struggle for him. This movie is one of the best movies I have seen and I would definitely recommend I definitely rate this movie as a 10. I know a person with schizophrenia and it is a difficult disease to deal with. Crowe portrayed this character with great detail and with great mannerisms. I cried my eyes out watching how this man had to deal with everyday life. Every day was a constant struggle for him. This movie is one of the best movies I have seen and I would definitely recommend it to others. Expand
  4. MiN.
    Mar 4, 2006
    10
    Whenever Crowe is in a movie... everyone sparkles! What an inspiration. The other actors (Connelly so good) are certainly very good too, but Crowe is beyond ekstraordinary good! Fantastic!!! Love this story also. About ackward people, who are seldom wanted in our 'normal life', but we can't and must not live without them. Who can make them hero's other than prizes and Whenever Crowe is in a movie... everyone sparkles! What an inspiration. The other actors (Connelly so good) are certainly very good too, but Crowe is beyond ekstraordinary good! Fantastic!!! Love this story also. About ackward people, who are seldom wanted in our 'normal life', but we can't and must not live without them. Who can make them hero's other than prizes and sometimes a beautiful movie. Expand
  5. ChristopherP
    Jan 23, 2009
    0
    Heartlessly inaccurate, exploitative, and slandering. It takes mental illness along with John Nash's life and unsympathetically lies to you just to earn Oscars. It portrays the mentally ill as violent and the mental health world as an incompetent sham of an institution. It fabricates and overstates virtually every aspect of John Nash's life for the sake of more melodrama. Heartlessly inaccurate, exploitative, and slandering. It takes mental illness along with John Nash's life and unsympathetically lies to you just to earn Oscars. It portrays the mentally ill as violent and the mental health world as an incompetent sham of an institution. It fabricates and overstates virtually every aspect of John Nash's life for the sake of more melodrama. It's not impossible to think that the mentally ill were further stigmatized and slandered by this astronomically overstated portrayal of both schizophrenia and John Nash's own experience with it. It's so mind-bendingly insensitive and callous to its source material that it's an unrestrained travesty that it exists, much less win eight Oscars. It shamelessly deceives solely for that purpose alone. Deserves no praise, since it is all manufactured exclusively for that. Expand
  6. JackS.
    Mar 23, 2002
    4
    Did the screenwriter even read the book? Perhaps just a one paragraph summary. Nearly every important event of his life is left out, and almost none of the events in the movie are in the book. This might be an entertaining inspirational movie, if they hadn't used John Nash's name and the title of his biography. It's not about him. It is 99% fiction. The real story of his Did the screenwriter even read the book? Perhaps just a one paragraph summary. Nearly every important event of his life is left out, and almost none of the events in the movie are in the book. This might be an entertaining inspirational movie, if they hadn't used John Nash's name and the title of his biography. It's not about him. It is 99% fiction. The real story of his life is much more bizarre and would make a better movie. Crowe really knows how to play the part of a tortured soul, but he did it better in "The Insider". I think he could have done it here with a story actually based on the life of John Forbes Nash, Jr. I hope someone makes a movie or miniseries about the real man. Expand
  7. MarkJ.
    Mar 5, 2005
    4
    Boring, Oscar type movie.
  8. Mar 4, 2011
    8
    A very good movie but can be a little to heavy. Slow paced but worth watching.
  9. Dec 10, 2012
    6
    Very average film, Crow's performance it's hard to believe, it is definitely a good story but it was a bad selection on the actors, not saying that the ones that appear on the movie are bad actors just think they are not the best for this particular story. Slow in some parts of the movie. If you want to know Nash's biography but you don't want to read you may watch this movie but don'tVery average film, Crow's performance it's hard to believe, it is definitely a good story but it was a bad selection on the actors, not saying that the ones that appear on the movie are bad actors just think they are not the best for this particular story. Slow in some parts of the movie. If you want to know Nash's biography but you don't want to read you may watch this movie but don't expect too much thrilling moments. Expand
  10. Oct 9, 2011
    5
    Through "A Beautiful Mind", neither director Ron Howard or actor Russell Crowe understand what to actually do in this dull film. The lead and tone is tedious and mediocre, with absolutely 0% of plot twists.
  11. RobertH.
    Feb 23, 2002
    5
    Just an okay movie with a great deal of hype. I would not want to see it again. See it if you have nothing better to do.
  12. MasonC.
    Mar 4, 2002
    0
    This is the worst film I've ever seen.
  13. RichardB.
    Mar 8, 2002
    9
    Ignore the talk of Academy Award nominations and whos better than who...this is genuinely a good film. The people who are dissing the movie obviously have some intense dislike for Crowe and Howard - a film / performance should be judged in isolation, not tainted by previous efforts. I saw the film with no preconceptions and loved it immensely. I have not seen a film which deals with this Ignore the talk of Academy Award nominations and whos better than who...this is genuinely a good film. The people who are dissing the movie obviously have some intense dislike for Crowe and Howard - a film / performance should be judged in isolation, not tainted by previous efforts. I saw the film with no preconceptions and loved it immensely. I have not seen a film which deals with this subject which puts you inside the mind of the afflicted so effectively. I was completely taken in by the story and was genuinely taken aback when the truth was revealed. Watch this movie! Expand
  14. ThomasS.
    May 24, 2002
    2
    I have a beef. The film-makers have inserted an utterly false line into the script: Nash says he was helped by "the newer anti-psychotic medications." As the biographer (Sylvia Nasar) makes clear, Nash took no drugs of any kind after 1970, and damn few before. What is so perverse about his line is that Nasar and others have indicated that Nash's mind might have been saved because he I have a beef. The film-makers have inserted an utterly false line into the script: Nash says he was helped by "the newer anti-psychotic medications." As the biographer (Sylvia Nasar) makes clear, Nash took no drugs of any kind after 1970, and damn few before. What is so perverse about his line is that Nasar and others have indicated that Nash's mind might have been saved because he took so few of these drugs. In whose interest was the line inserted? Expand
  15. JamieW.
    Sep 1, 2002
    5
    What I can't believe are the people who have slated this movie. Sure its Holywood, but then its an attempt at demystify Schizophrenia. As I am myself diagnosed with Paranoid Schizophrenia I think this film does nothing but good. As to Stephanie.H's statement about the love of a good woman...my wife has been a tower of strength to me during my recovery.
  16. JohnM.
    Jan 21, 2002
    3
    Jennifer Connelly was the only redeeming factor in this otherwise ridiculous film. No insight was provided on what his mathematical formula actually DID for us, nor did it accurately portray his life. The screenplay was insanely choppy and Crowe's acting is soooooo overrated that I can't bring myself to understand why he is being hailed as one of the year's best... oh wait Jennifer Connelly was the only redeeming factor in this otherwise ridiculous film. No insight was provided on what his mathematical formula actually DID for us, nor did it accurately portray his life. The screenplay was insanely choppy and Crowe's acting is soooooo overrated that I can't bring myself to understand why he is being hailed as one of the year's best... oh wait - it's Hollywood. And for a mystery, on doesn't really have to think much and for a thriller, the films if hardly thrilling. Connelly, however, was incredible. Her acting was simply extraordinary. That alone can make the movie watchable. The viewer looks forward to seeing her shine. Grade: C- Expand
  17. Joseph
    Jan 21, 2002
    3
    Crowe should not win for his performance. It stunk. If anyone deserves the best actor nod come Oscar time, it's Guy Pearce for Memento - not Crowe in his ridiculously overblown performance.
  18. Elliot
    Jan 25, 2002
    0
    I have lost all faith in the Golden GLobes. Whoever gives them the most money gets the globe. The oscars are similar, but they are not influenced by money as much. "Mulholland Drive" and "LOTR" and "In the Bedroom" were SO much better than this heap of crap that I can't even believe it. In a perfect world, "Mulholland Drive" would win everything.
  19. GordonK.
    Feb 12, 2002
    0
    As a drama: 0 As a comedy: 10. One of the most hilariously over-acted, pretentious films in years. Great to watch while drunk.
  20. JacquesS.
    Feb 15, 2002
    0
    What a pile of drivel!
  21. ArianaM.
    Aug 24, 2002
    5
    Having seen all but one of the Best Picture nominees, I can very safely say, this is one of the last movies out of those that deserved to win. This was pure Hollywood at its most digestible. Whether or not one believes the circulated rumours that the movie left out the nastier details of Nash's life one still has the nagging feeling throught that one is being spoonfed baby food. The Having seen all but one of the Best Picture nominees, I can very safely say, this is one of the last movies out of those that deserved to win. This was pure Hollywood at its most digestible. Whether or not one believes the circulated rumours that the movie left out the nastier details of Nash's life one still has the nagging feeling throught that one is being spoonfed baby food. The film is contrived in every way, as if Ron Howard sat back and said, "Now what will it take to win the Oscar," and then mapped out the film. Look, if we want to be honest, there's nothing -wrong- with a crowd pleaser. And that is what this film, like Gladiator, like Titanic, and numerous other Oscar winners, sets out to do. It's less a piece of art than pop culture, the current in thing to fit the public's current mood. So, though one might be entertained, those of us who believe movies should be more than just entertainment are left with a nagging, empty feeling after watching it, that is hard to explain. After all, a movie that is calculated to please, should please everyone, shouldn't it? I guess not after all. I won't comment on Russel Crowe's performance. I've seen better, I've seen worse. I will comment on Jennifer Connelly's, which I thought was awful. I can't to save my life understand why so many people, including the Oscar voters, were so blown away. She seems best skilled at just standing there and trying to look pretty and confounded, eyes sparkling. Yaaaaawwwn. She's not acting in this movie, she's modeling. The occassional sudden burst of emotion seems contrived. Eyuck. Expand
  22. Aug 23, 2010
    8
    Maths genius, big career ahead of him, goes to work for the government or maybe he doesn't, schizophrenia, Nobel Peace Prize.
    Ron Howard's brilliant film about John Nash with a great performance by Russell Crowe & also a very good & strong supporting cast.
    The whole schizophrenia thing is done very well to the point where you really feel for the main character.
  23. Oct 30, 2010
    9
    Great film!!! Crowe is awesome, he plays a genius and mentally sick man with bold and fine brushes. His decent into the dark side is wonderfully subtle and you forget that he's Russell Crowe and an Australian to boot. A true Brando of his generation. This film will not disappoint you, it might leave you a little blue, no heal clicking when you leave, but a true window into mental heathGreat film!!! Crowe is awesome, he plays a genius and mentally sick man with bold and fine brushes. His decent into the dark side is wonderfully subtle and you forget that he's Russell Crowe and an Australian to boot. A true Brando of his generation. This film will not disappoint you, it might leave you a little blue, no heal clicking when you leave, but a true window into mental heath and the fight to overcome its obstacles. Expand
  24. Feb 22, 2011
    8
    A great cast and a superb script help the story of Nash's troubled mind become an exhilarating and mesmerising experience that will be hard to forget. First class!
  25. Apr 12, 2014
    9
    Directed by Ron Howard A Beautiful Mind is based loosely on the biography of mathematician John Forbes Nash (Crowe). The film follows the eccentric Nash from his time at Princeton, struggling to think of an original idea that will get him noticed, through to his code cracking work at MIT but everything is not quite as it seems.

    A Beautiful Mind leaves out many of the more unsavoury
    Directed by Ron Howard A Beautiful Mind is based loosely on the biography of mathematician John Forbes Nash (Crowe). The film follows the eccentric Nash from his time at Princeton, struggling to think of an original idea that will get him noticed, through to his code cracking work at MIT but everything is not quite as it seems.

    A Beautiful Mind leaves out many of the more unsavoury aspects of Nashs life choosing to focus on his battle to save his career and marriage whilst suffering from severe schizophrenia. Russell Crowe is as fantastic as ever in the lead role and Jennifer Connelly deservedly won an Oscar for her portrayal of Nash’s long suffering partner Alicia. Both help to provide a subtle yet compelling look at one mans struggle to have his genius seen above his debilitating mental illness making for a truly moving film.
    Expand
  26. Jul 3, 2011
    9
    What can you say? Amazing film. For me, however, it doesn't deserve the 10 points because after the first two thirds of the film it kind of lost me. Yet, it's well directed and Crowe shows amazing acting.
  27. Jan 29, 2012
    3
    too conventional and too sweet considering that it's about an unconventional life of a genius mathematician. certainly not the best of 2001 ( a great year for movies).
  28. Mar 8, 2013
    4
    That was boring. A Beautiful Mind is to fall asleep.
    True story, whatever. This movie don't convey this story good. All the time the viewer must have pity.How awful. I hate such pity-movies. In the matter of schizophrenia I prefer Fight Club.
  29. May 16, 2014
    0
    tHIS MOVIE SUCKS! dON'T WATCH IT! DUDE IS A SOCIOPATH, AND THE STORYLING IS LAME, WITH A BUNCH OF CUSS WORDS! tHOSE WORDS SHOULD DEFINITELY BE BLEEPED OUT!
  30. Tony
    Jan 2, 2002
    8
    This film is well done. It presents Nash's delusions and hallucinations in an incredibly believable way. Crowe, whom I have never enjoyed much as an actor and who caused me to cringe by winning the Oscar last year, delivers a wonderful performance. The only problem is the script. It sugarcoats reality. Nash was not as sweet as he is made out to be and the "magic of love" premise of This film is well done. It presents Nash's delusions and hallucinations in an incredibly believable way. Crowe, whom I have never enjoyed much as an actor and who caused me to cringe by winning the Oscar last year, delivers a wonderful performance. The only problem is the script. It sugarcoats reality. Nash was not as sweet as he is made out to be and the "magic of love" premise of the film is a departure from the true story. The film is good but would have been better with a faithful adaptation of the biography and the life of Nash. As it is, it resembles a delusion more than what was real. But a good delusion. Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33
  1. Howard, and the screenwriter, Akiva Goldsman, have used the book as nothing more than their jumping-off point for an erratic work of fiction that's part mystery thriller and part Hollywood schmaltz.
  2. Instead of an originally conceived movie that reflects Nash's troubled but brilliant mind, we have one of those formulaically rendered Important Subject movies -- the kind that seem exclusively designed for Best Picture nominations.
  3. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    80
    As Nash gets closer to Crowe's own age (and level of dissipation), the performance settles down and becomes first credible and then overwhelming. This is a stupendous piece of acting.