User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 375 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 375

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 6, 2011
    8
    Stanley Kubrick asks the audience a difficult question of whenether the sins of mankind should be adjusted or not. His film "A Clockwork Orange" doesn't really answer the prompt, but reflects it back to the audience and makes them deeply think about what morale we are exposed to, and if the morale we believe in is just or unjust.
  2. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    Kubrick marvellously questions toward the society about the 'real' definition of virtue and evil. Kubrick successfully followed the original storyline (of course, some of the storylines are deviated from the original) and attracted the audiences to make a different point of view.
  3. Apr 25, 2011
    3
    I don't understand what people see in this movie. I couldn't really follow this movie at all. Just a couple of teenagers trying to take over their town, and they do it by beating up innocent people and raping women. It's also unbelievably wierd. Their are some strange scenes that were so weird, I scratch my head and tried to figure out what's going on. It also gets more weird in the middle, I don't know what I was watching. The end kinda gets a little depressing, I pretty much just pulled the plug and said "goodbye" to this movie. I never read the book, but some people told me that the book is better than the movie. I guess I'm not a fan of films like this. Expand
  4. May 28, 2012
    0
    This movie was needlessly pornographic and violent in a bad way. It was disgusting and a waste of time. It was one of those movies you walk away saying, I hope my younger siblings don't have to watch this...it's just wrong overall.
  5. Aug 1, 2013
    0
    This movie deserves to burn in hell. I only watched one short scene to prove that this movie is a terrible piece of garbage. I hope that the characters in this movie get beaten to death. I hope people who actually like this movie change their mind and break the disc. This movie deserves nobody's time.
  6. Aug 31, 2011
    8
    Stanley Kubrick did a good job with this film, i though for the time (1971), this was a huge step in film industry, like the robberies, the drugs, the violence, the nudity, everything, so in that aspect i liked to see a film like that being made in that time. Some scenes were very shocking and weird, but that's part of the movie, it's the way the director wants to show to the public, the intensity of this film. So it's a good 8. Expand
  7. Aug 16, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. for me this entire movie is just a bunch of unpleasant events that happen around Alex's life. he obviously has a horrible disorder that just makes him enjoy all of the pain that he causes people. this doesnt mean that the movie is bad, in fact, its very good. but if you are not up to watching two hours of murder, rape, torture, pain, and a lot of violent retribution, then pass this movie up. but just a warning, even if you can stand those types of actions, dont expect to be able to breeze through the movie. i have a very strong resistance to feeling uncomfortable to movies like this, and it really brought up a bunch of uneasiness and depression. its a movie thats good ,but not enjoyable to watch Expand
  8. Aug 27, 2010
    10
    It's so goddamn weird...yet I love it. At first I wasn't sure what to think of it, but after a second viewing it grew on me. It stays fairly loyal to the novel, as well.
  9. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    I turn 40 next month and it took me, a huge film lover, this long to see "A Clockwork Orange." In fact, I still haven't seen "Dr. Strangelove." Some film lover, huh? Well, I'd like to think that waiting this long has made me appreciate the genius behind Kubrick's style a lot more than I would have 20 years ago. Anyone who would read this has probably already seen the film, so there is no need to rehash the plot. Instead, I want to specifically point out that Kubrick's consistent way of taking whatever twisted source material he is using to tell the story his way, no matter how much it may differ from the original, shows how incredible he was at not just choosing the right material, but filtering it literally and figuratively through lenses that show the viewer a little about what made him tick. Yes, it may come across as intentionally shocking, but he does it without seeming like he is intentionally doing it. He truly conveys a sense of artistic intent around his effort. It's not just trying to tell the viewer a story, but showing, via film, the grittiest, most impactful way to experience that story to get the most not just out of the plot, but every nugget of crisp detail. By now I've read numerous articles about how Kubrick made his individual films. A common message I get is that his genius and his end product is always thought of as top rate, but that those with whom he worked, even the original writers of the source material, conflicted with him. He demands a lot of his talent, reduces them to their barest art and brings out the best in them. This process isn't entirely enjoyed or appreciated by those with whom he worked, but I've seen a lot of films with the actors he uses and I cannot point to many, if any, efforts those actors do away from Kubrick that are better than the one they did with him. Malcolm McDowell is as perfect in "A Clockwork Orange" as I have ever seen him. His performance was raw, real, demented and just perfect. I was astounded to learn that one of the creepiest, most disturbing element of the film was him singing "Singin in the Rain" while beating the writer and meticulously preparing to brutally rape his wife, was improved by McDowell and not originally called for in the scene. The dichotomy of the brutal scene and the uplifting song amplified the creepiness of it all the more, proving that Kubrick had his actors right where he needed them to be. Expand
  10. Oct 1, 2010
    8
    http://mashupmash.blogspot.com/2010/09/clockwork-orange.html


    Figured it was about time I sat down and watched this movie...so I did. I went in knowing it's a cult classic and loads of people talk about it and like it. When I was finished with it, I had to take a moment and recollect what I just saw. To me at first it was just a bunch of scenes that just tried to be weird. Everything
    about this movie was just so weird. Sort of wish they explained some of it more but that's a minor complaint. I also wish I read the book before hand so I'd perhaps have understood it much better. But nonetheless I think I got the point it was trying to make. Overall, I did really like this movie. While I wish the weirdness of everything was sort of explained I still liked it, same with the "futuristic" setting. I give this a 4 out of 5. Expand
  11. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    This movie is seriously good. It is an artistic achievement of wonder with incredible scenes with a bad-ass combining of images and music that at the end has incredible quality.
  12. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    An absolutely fantastic film. This movie's strangeness, and disturbing features are perfect. I have never seen a movie quite like this. truly one of the best movies i've ever seen. this film had not only crime and violence, and the disturbing ways of some people, but it also showed disturbing ways in our society. It even relates to our society right now. it shows corruption secrets propaganda use. it has a bit of everything, I have already rewatched it several times and it is and will remain one of my all time favorite movies, but be warned this movie is not for children or people easily disturbed. it has language, violence, strong sexual content. many sexual themes. if ur gonna see this movie be prepared for a movie like u have never seen before, although it may not be as bad as some of the movies today, it still is disturbing. Expand
  13. Feb 27, 2011
    10
    "That is me. That is a superb film." The book was amazing, and so was this film. A masterpiece in sort. Right when it started and i saw Alex's evil smirk, i knew just then that it would be a great movie. The movie is about horrible stuff, but it's captured so greatly that it could only be one word, and one word only: Masterpiece.
  14. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    A Clockwork Orange is a work of art from Stanley Kubrick. Each shot and sequence is lovingly crafted for supreme visual impact. The plot is interesting, the language is unique and the acting is great. A Clockwork Orange is truly a 'one-of-a-kind' movie.
  15. Jan 7, 2011
    6
    Shocking movie. It's a masterpiece and it's more than evident that Kubrick was a genius. But to much violence and sex in it. This is not the reality what it is shown in this movie. There is no use to make it so brutal.
  16. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    My favorite movie of all time. One of Kubrick's masterpieces. Primarily, Malcolm McDowell's performance is not to be missed. In fact CO features a brilliant cast throughout. The script is still more innovative than anything to hit the screen since. Walter Carlos's synthesizer score is exhilarating, and still sounds cutting edge. The cinematography and art director are absolutely first rate. 5 stars; 100%; the Real Deal. Expand
  17. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    The best film I've ever seen. Definitely the best Kubrick movie...
    Also noticed a lot of people saying to read the book beforehand or you won't understand it? I never read the book until a good 2 months after seeing the film and it made perfect sense to me...
  18. Jul 2, 2011
    9
    Innovative, spectacular and refreshing the strange acts and a perfect art department make this film stand out above the rest. I wasn't completely impressed with the film until nearly two hours in. I felt it was an artistic piece with little to no meaning. However, A Clockwork Orange is a portrait of modern day rebellion and the reality of life.
  19. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    Kubrick's interpretation of Anthony Burgess's novel not only follows the plot nearly perfectly (the ending is changed to help market American audiences and to coincide with Kubrick's ideals) but, also, expresses all the ideas through a new medium. Brilliantly shot, wonderfully meaningful, and uniquely acted, "A Clockwork Orange" will grab it's audience and redefine any previous conceptions of film as art. This movie excels in Kubrick's ability to affect the audience; the shots, and images present in this film create direct discomfort in it's audience. This ability, which Kubrick mastered, helps make "A Clockwork Orange" a prominent movie in film history. Expand
  20. May 17, 2012
    10
    My favorite movie of all time. It asks what i think is one the most important question of them all. Does society need to be changed before it gets out of control? And a clockwork orange answers that with an enthusiastic no. Their may be people in this world that are complete sociopaths, but they shouldn't be forced to be good. We deserve to make our own choices, and if we do wrong, then we suffer the consequences accordingly. Alex suffers, but he shouldn't be brainwashed into being something he's not. If we want to be good and grow as a society, we must make that choice ourselves. This movie is called "controversial" but all that means to me is that it has a very important lesson to teach us, and it does. Expand
  21. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    How can someone look at this Kubrickian masterpiece and call it trash? Clockwork has enough social, governmental, and psychological commentary packed in 1 1/2 hours of film than the entire new slop of "classics" that have come out in the past 20 years.
  22. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    There are no words that really can describe how good is this movie, Stanley Kubrick was a genius, each movie he made is just perfect, his camera work was just fascinating
  23. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece, a cult hit, one of the most famous movies of all times. What more can you say? I mean how can you deny the power behind it? This is simply cinema at it's finest.
  24. Dec 21, 2011
    5
    Not my kind of movie, and it's definitely not one of worlds or Kubricks greatest movies either. I never liked the characters in this movie and it allways gives me a bad feeling. An overrated movie.
  25. Oct 16, 2013
    5
    I've always had mixed feelings about this film. Although hailed as masterpiece and regular darling of the art house lovers, to me it's just a little bit messy, chaotic and pretentiously involved piece. The main problem as it seems to me is that, Kubrick here addresses issues of deeply political nature without clearly specifying his ideological perspectives, resulting in ambiguous and confusing work. Now the ambiguity might be welcomed in ethereal and metaphysical meditations such as "2001" but when targeting the political as he does here, it is irritating. Or, as Mr. Ebert said, "The Clockwork Orange" is ideological mess. Expand
  26. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    Right when I thought I had seen the oddest film ever, a new contender comes along. Stanley Kubrick's A Clockwork Orange is extraordinarily weird, yet also brilliant. Not only is it beautifully filmed (as expected), but it raises numerous cultural issues as well. Odd, elegant, violent, and brilliant, A Clockwork Orange is certainly a classic.
  27. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    Twisted and brilliant, haunting and hypnotic, A Clockwork Orange is one of the most complex and troubling films I've ever seen.
  28. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    Felt probably a bit over acted. There were some great scenes_ sometimes shockingly violent, other times downright hilarious. There was a fair amount of erotic nudity so be advised. But it also tended to drag a little bit. There was simply too much extraneous detail. The score was lively. I think the lead actor did a wonderful job, if not the others. It was a satire of the modern age justice system where it prefers to mend the ways of hardened criminals instead of sticking it to them.

    The dialogue was tailored to the circumstances and didn't feel natural. I watched it with an objective mind, as I watch everything else, but I couldn't shake the feeling toward the end that the audience was somehow required to feel bad for Alex as the society turned the tables on him. How he conveniently ran into the same people he had wronged in the course of a single day is beyond my tolerance for the device known as the suspension of disbelief, which is there to help enhance entertainment, not to infuriate by insulting people's intelligence. The worst part was that I predicted the ending precisely.

    I just feel like documenting just the events of his life without the underlying moral of the story would have been a better way to go about it. And I seriously don't believe celebrating Alex's depraved urgings was very responsible. But I never hold it against a movie for doing that. If someone is attracted to crime by watching crime movies, it's hardly the director's fault. Everyone is responsible for their own actions. The plot, though, was sufficient for the story that they sought to tell.

    I recommend that everyone watch this movie at least once. However, I can't say with certainty that I'm going to enjoy watching it again, for it's a bit long and there simply wasn't much going on to warrant such a length.
    Expand
  29. Jan 6, 2013
    9
    Film at new heights! The story of a man's crazy life through a self centered narcissist who has no moral compass. Performances that are amazing and direction that makes you feel the power of the story!
  30. Mar 23, 2013
    5
    I'm raising my review score of this movie slightly, but I'm still not going to reccomend it. There are some things about this movie which are well done. It's hard to believe it came out in 1971 with its camerawork, and alex is very creepy. Kubrik also gives the movie lots of unique style. There are still some things in the movie however which cut down my score for it greatly. This movie can be very dirty. There's graphic nudity, pointless sex scenes, and lots of other things which should have not been put into the movie. Chief among its offenses is a scene where alex is beating jesus and the film tries to make this funny. That's just plain evil. I know Kubrik wanted shock value but the beatings of random pedestrians and Alex's sadistic demeanor were shocking enough. After Alex goes to jail it also becomes kinda boring. The movie is too finely crafted to give a negative score, but FAR too immoral to reccomend. Expand
  31. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    This is certainly Stanley Kubricks greatest film along with The Shining. Malcom Macdowell delivers an amazing act with a such brutal but likeable character. This film is one of the greatest cinematic experiences with a chilling start and a warming end. 10/10!
  32. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Possibly the most strangest movie out there; which is fitting knowing the director Stanley Kuebrick, and that what make it so great. The story itself is very interesting, showing us the daily life of psychotic high schooler. That alone is worth a viewing. This obviously Malcom Mcdowell best known performance, seriously try and think of another good movie he was in. He does this role so perfectly that you can't help but love him, despite what horrible vile acts he does. So what makes this movie so enjoyable is the main character and the journey he goes through, but what good is that without obstacles to overcome? From gang fights, rape, breaking and entering, and government experimenting. While each bit is interesting and entertaining, the experimenting is a bit confusing. While it is one of the most famous scenes, afterwards it causes a bit of confusion. I know that we get to see a lot of Karma finally pay off for him, but the overall message is a bit hard to determine. Supposedly he lost his will; figuratively, so that means he can't fend for himself, that sounds nice, but I can't help that the director was trying to say more but was lost. That doesn't matter anyways, this is still an awesome, brilliant, outstanding movie. Expand
  33. May 27, 2013
    9
    Posted on 5/23/13 10:17 AM
    Coens struck a tense pitch black drama with this one lifted by performances all around one of the most tense films ever made
  34. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    Off the bat, I can surmise this is Kubrick, with the camerawork and lighting effects. But what makes it so diametrically opposing to the sci-fi masterpiece '2001', is the social satire of violence and how it is "incurable", with nor possibility of reformation. This is, in essence, an ultra-violent manifestation and visualization of the phrase, "you are what you are". Malcolm McDowell's eerie and whimsical performance is one of the best I've seen from such a young actor then. Stanley Kubrick never stops to amaze. He truly is, one of the greatest. Expand
  35. Feb 12, 2014
    9
    A Clockwork Orange uses of a taboo topic to actually rally against the same topic. The fact that Kubrick does that so persuasively earns the movie bragging rights immediately. Also, the movie leaves you with a feeling of remorse and eeriness that it becomes hard to shake off.
  36. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    This movie falls into the hit or miss category, either you'll love it or hate it.
    In the futuristic world of a clockwork orange we meet Alex and his three friends that like to cause trouble at night to satisfy their inner need for violence and self pleasure, and this is where the hit or miss part really starts kicking in. The movie tries to make the viewer enjoy the violence, feel
    sophisticated, so if you repel the violence there really isn't much to enjoy and I see that. But for me personally it hit spot on, and in some cases it worked so well that when the movie was released some youth reenacted one of the less pleasant
    scenes in real life (although that is quite unfortunate).

    The story of the movie has us asking about human rights, individual freedom and if a criminal like Alex does even deserve it after all he's done, and at the end of the movie we're asked if it was good or not what had happened, I won't go into spoilers but it's a sort of yes/no question where we really need to look at the pros and cons of the situation to figure out of it was right or not.
    Expand
  37. Sep 25, 2013
    9
    This would have to be the most graphic Kubrick film I've seen. It's not a pleasant ride. Some of the things you see are very disturbing and shocking. But it's a challenging film. It challenges a lot of things we assume. The main character turns from a total into a really sympathetic character we root for. It's disturbing but also thought provoking. Some people may not understand it but it's a standout film. Expand
  38. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    Rape. Murder. Drugs. Singing in the Rain. Droogs. Milk. Bars. Government corruption. Free Will. Beethoven. Nothing more can be asked to create a movie more memorable, classic, and legendary than this, "A Clockwork Orange".

    In the Kubrick classic, "A Clockwork Orange" exemplifies itself from most other movies, in that it begs the viewer to ponder the question as to whether it is morally
    just for the government to intervene and condition members of society stripping their free will in order to benefit themselves. The movie ultimately proves that nothing, even with the best of conditioning, can take away the free will of any man and what he feels within his heart and soul.

    While this movie is often scoffed at and disregarded as a movie of poor taste, "A Clockwork Orange" is a film that prevails in establishing itself as a monumental statement in cinema. Despite the love and hatred this movie receives, there is no denying that everyone who sees the film leaves with a fantasizing love for the Ninth Symphony. In conclusion, "A Clockwork Orange" is a beautiful and perfect masterpiece that deserves to be recognized and regarded as not only a classic of our time, but also the prime example of how a movie should be directed and executed. 10/10. Collapse
    Expand
  39. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film is a piece of art. It looks stunning, and captivates you from the beginning. Kubrick immerses you in the world his film is set in through colour, shadow and camera trickery. McDowell offers the perfectly uncomfortable mix between humour and horror, keeping the audience on edge and unsure of how to feel. Should we laugh when the woman's jumpsuit is torn off of her? Is the massive sculpture of a penis used as a weapon funny or disturbing? That's the beauty of Kubrick, and in many ways Burgess' novel everything is up in the air and nothing is certain. A mesmerizing, confusing and disorientating watch that will shock, baffle and overjoy. Better than the book. Expand
  40. Mar 23, 2014
    4
    The film, just like the original book it's based on, presents some very interesting questions, such as "To be a bad person with free will, or to be a good person without any will at all?" Unfortunately, "A Clockwork Orange" is terribly resolved. From bad casting, writing and acting to awkwardly horrendous costume design and art decoration, everything in this film just feels so off and uninviting. I would not watch this film again because of its meaning, but because it is just simply very badly done. Expand
  41. May 11, 2014
    5
    Stanley Kubrick takes on moral issues in The Clockwork Orange and makes the audience want to take a moment to decide where they stand and the issues he addresses. But Kubrick's ambivalence in this film didn't play well (or at least it didn't to me). Due to this the film absurdly seemed off and lacking any structure.
  42. May 23, 2014
    0
    Fcking bad and meaningless **** **** movie by mother **** kubrick **** my dickk so fcking boring and holly **** movie by fcking stainly dickk assshole what is the meaning of making this so fcking dumbassss movie
  43. Jun 8, 2014
    10
    One of Kubrick's best films, and based on one of my favorite novels, A Clockwork Orange not only delivers great visuals and great acting, but characters so vile they sadly feel real.
  44. Jul 28, 2014
    1
    OMFG This movie man... this movie.
    Worst movie ever. Ultraviolence? **** you this is worse than Neil Patrick Harris performance in.. all of his movies and shows. The best Kubrick's work was 2001.No doubt about it. If you want to watch this movie you only have to enter in Brazzers. The Daniel Day **** Lewis version.
  45. Jul 31, 2014
    7
    A much promising film, "A Clockwork Orange" copes with some social issues, and, even hard to watch at times, it fulfills its promise. A more shocking film then rather than now, it indirectly tests its audience views on violence, evil, insanity and its causes, while openly discussing freedom and human rights. McDowell's performance is so brilliant, that even his opening the film by staring at the camera fully illustrates his character's complex personality. The soundtrack incredibly matches the film's gloomy and creepy feel, and Kubrick's direction is engaging. A cruel experience that, despite its extreme nature, is certainly thought-provoking. Expand
  46. Sep 3, 2014
    10
    Kubrick asks difficult questions with his film "A Clockwork Orange" such as the true meaning of good and evil. "A Clockwork Orange" is very disturbing and shocking yet entertaining and darkly funny. It's intriguing, well-acted, and beautifully shot, and I highly recommend it.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. A chilling classic, the movie is a scabrous satire about human deviance, brutality, and social conditioning that has remained a visible part of the ongoing public debate about violence and the movies.
  2. Reviewed by: Staff (Not Credited)
    80
    A brilliant nightmare... The film employs outrageous vulgarity, stark brutality and some sophisticated comedy to make an opaque argument for the preservation of respect for man's free will - even to do wrong.
  3. The first punk tragicomedy, a chain-whipped cartoon meditation on Good, Evil, and Free Will that is as seductive as it is tasteless. That Kubrick misjudged the distance between comedy and cruelty seems to be unarguable.