User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 88 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 88
  2. Negative: 3 out of 88

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    7
    You definitely enjoy any Nicholson's movie, but I have to agree with other critics, the cast could have been better, Moore's performance it's poor, why does she always seems to have tears in her eyes? is she always crying? Anyway, Tom always acts the same every time his characters belong to any of the armed forces, so maybe someone else for the job. Still a a manageable movie with an epic scene, from Jack Nicholson of course. Expand
  2. Nov 26, 2011
    8
    Was actually pretty good. Solid acting (although Demi Moore sucked hard in it) and it was an interesting story that ended perfectly. I really enjoyed it.
  3. j30
    Jan 26, 2012
    6
    Jack Nicholson's court room performance is unforgettable, but the rest of the cast nearly is.
  4. Feb 12, 2012
    7
    There were certain parts of the film that didn't really have much point, and when you think it was just getting started, it changes the scene quickly. This may or may not be a good thing. The dialogue was a bit long, but the humour was refreshing. At least the ending was unpredictable, but it still lacked the ultimate punch for me to rate this higher. On the whole, it wasn't too bad, but didn't exactly knock me off my feet. Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2012
    6
    Nicholson, unsurprisingly, is the stand-out here. The other actors create cliched, recycled characters, and the plot is mediocre, especially for a legal drama. It does; however, have a few short moments of greatness, and those moments make it worth the while.
  6. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    "A Few Good Men" is a 1992 courtroom drama film Directed by Rob Reiner and starring Tom Cruise. The story follows a young lawyer's plight to defend two marines accused of murder. Now I know just about everyone's heard of this film. If they haven't, they've at least heard of the line, "You can't handle the truth!" That line is just a snippet of the greatness that is weaved into this film. Starting off on a related note, the script is fantastic. Aaron Sorkin strikes again with his rapier wit and compelling dialogue. The story is a very compelling look at the military definitions of honor and loyalty and how they can sometimes become misinterpreted. Some of the lines in this film are also spectacularly memorable. However, while the screenplay is decidedly impressive, the most imposing aspect of this film is the performances within it. Every single actor in this film brought their best to the table, and it's because of the unbelievably captivating performance from Jack Nicholson that everyone else raised their bars. Nicholson's really only in this film for about 10 or 15 minutes, but man does he make those minutes count with his caustic and snide portrayal of Colonel Nathan R. Jessup. Again, it's his performance that caused everyone else in this film to bring their a-games, and holy crap did they. Tom Cruise, Kevin Pollak, Kevin Bacon, J.T. Walsh, Kiefer Sutherland, Demi Moore, all did unbelievable jobs with their respective characters. Even Wolfgang Bodison, a stagehand who had never acted before in his life, did a really beautiful job with his role. The aforementioned fact is a real testament to the seemingly limitless talent of Rob Reiner. After watching the special features of the film, you really get a good idea that Reiner forged an effective relationship with his actors and offered some acting tips of his own for their performances. Because this is such a character driven story, Reiner made a great choice in offering some of his own acting expertise to his cast. Overall, I felt that "A Few Good Men" was a really masterfully directed, beautifully written, unforgettably performed coatroom drama that is sure to impress anyone. Expand
  7. Jun 6, 2014
    8
    A conventional but very well executed drama, A Few Good Men doesn't have much mystery in it, but the good performances and assured direction go along way towards making it engaging. The story is pretty solid, but I don't want to spoil it for you. I'll just say that it does deal with some decently heavy issues. Jack Nicholson gives what is probably the movie's best performance, but Cruise and Moore are both solid here as well. It might not be the most unpredictable movie in the world, but it is a satisfyingly well made crowd pleaser. Expand
  8. Apr 22, 2013
    9
    This movie is well known as one of the biggest court movies of all time. This movie really amazes me with it's great actors and great storytelling. The characters are very intrrguing and captivating. Especially, Tom Cruise and Jack Nicholson. With Jack, I think he gave an excellent performance (as usually), but isn't in this movie a whole lot. You only see him in the beginning and the end of the movie. But boy does he make up for his dissaperance when he yells out "YOU CAN'T HANDLE THE TRUTH!" That line right there is truly a tremendous quote and one of the biggest movie quotes of all time. Which leads me to another plus that this movie has. Great Screenplay. As far as negativity, the movie kind of streches in some scenes, but overall, it's truly one of the best court movies ever made. Expand
  9. Jul 28, 2014
    8
    A Few Good Men is a smart courtroom drama with a brilliant story and great perfromances from Cruise, Nicholson, Pollak, Bacon and Sutherland (solid performance from Demi Moore). Also sharp direction from Rob Reiner
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    75
    Pace and performances dominate, with popped salutes going to Keifer Sutherland, Kevin Pollack, Kevin Bacon and especially Nicholson's smiling barracuda. [11 Dec 1992]
  2. The performers are powerless to bring life to this moribund courtroom drama...a snoozer.
  3. 63
    The film doesn't make us work, doesn't allow us to figure out things for ourselves, is afraid we'll miss things if they're not spelled out.