Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 21
  2. Negative: 11 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Feb 13, 2013
    25
    A film is a terrible thing to waste. For Roman Coppola to waste one on A Glimpse Inside the Mind of Charles Swan III is a sad sight to behold. I'll go further. For Charlie Sheen to waste a role in it is also a great pity. I stop not: For Bill Murray to occupy his time in this dreck sandwich is a calamity.
  2. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Feb 7, 2013
    25
    So feeble it fails even as train-wreck exploitation. I’d be unkind, but not entirely inaccurate, to label Coppola’s sophomoric, er, sophomore effort as a director an offer you can refuse.
  3. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Feb 15, 2013
    25
    That was probably writer-director Roman Coppola's main responsibility in "Charles Swan," to give the audience a character worth watching. Get that right, and everything else falls into place. Get that wrong, and the audience finds out just how long 84 minutes can be. The answer: really long.
  4. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Feb 7, 2013
    30
    For all its visual pizazz A Glimpse Inside the Mind of Charles Swan III has the jerky momentum of a collection of disconnected skits loosely thrown together with only the vaguest notion of where it’s heading or what it all means. At best it is a mildly diverting goof with a charmless lead performance. Its underlying misogyny leaves a sour taste.
  5. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Mar 14, 2013
    38
    The actor/walking disaster known as Charlie Sheen gives a perfectly credible performance here. It’s the rest of the film that tries your patience.
  6. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Feb 5, 2013
    20
    Seriously, this is one of the strangest and most painful films in recent memory.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Feb 7, 2013
    20
    Swan is so eager to be a trippy comic lark that it ends up resembling a clown trying to fit through a pea-shooter.
  8. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Feb 6, 2013
    0
    It isn’t a movie so much as a feature-length perfume commercial for a Charlie Sheen signature cologne with gorgeous packaging and absolutely nothing inside.
  9. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Feb 13, 2013
    30
    A Glimpse Inside the Mind of Charles Swan III is a curious mess, a movie that doesn’t really seem to have any reason to exist, other than maybe to give writer and director Roman Coppola and star Charlie Sheen something to do for a few weeks.
  10. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Jan 8, 2013
    25
    The film speeds ahead with almost gleeful disinterest in dealing with the narrative challenges it sets up before resolving them in the most perfunctory ways imaginable.
  11. Reviewed by: Deborah Young
    Feb 5, 2013
    30
    With such an in-house cast of extended Coppola family sparklers, one would think things couldn’t go too wrong in the comedy department, but they have little chance to oil the wheels of a creaky script written around Sheen.
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 4 out of 11
  1. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    i enjoyed this movie a lot, i still don't know why, but hell, i guess i'm a massive charlie sheen fanboy, it has a tasteful visual style, some good performances, and militarized feminists... need i say more? Full Review »
  2. Mar 9, 2013
    2
    The co-writer of Moonrise Kingdom and relative of one of the best directors ever (Francis Ford Coppola) disappoints everyone with this poorly directed and written comedy not to mention a terrible performance by Charlie Sheen. I expected more. Full Review »
  3. Feb 27, 2013
    1
    i was hoping this would be good but it was just a weird documentary on the life of Charlie Sheen which no one is interested in. Billy Murray i know you only do films because your pal Wes Anderson makes them but you should of sat this one out. Full Review »