A Haunted House

A Haunted House Image
Metascore
20

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 152 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: In an outrageous send up of the Paranormal Activity movies, The Devil Inside and other "found footage" movies, A Haunted House features young couple Malcolm and Kisha who have just moved in to their dream house. As they settle in, they quickly find they’re not alone. But it’s not the houseIn an outrageous send up of the Paranormal Activity movies, The Devil Inside and other "found footage" movies, A Haunted House features young couple Malcolm and Kisha who have just moved in to their dream house. As they settle in, they quickly find they’re not alone. But it’s not the house that’s haunted, it’s Malcolm’s girlfriend who is possessed by a demon. Malcolm hires everyone from a priest to modern day ghostbusters to rid her of this unwelcome intruder, determined not to let the evil spirit ruin his relationship... or, more importantly, his sex life. (Open Road Films) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 16
  2. Negative: 13 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    Jan 11, 2013
    67
    If the result features around 1,783 too many fart gags, to be fair, it also boasts a couple of genuine minor scares. Although there's no doubt that the film's most horrible sight is a way-too-long shot of Swardson's naked rump.
  2. Reviewed by: Emma Morgan
    May 27, 2013
    40
    The moments where you feel the cast are off-script and riffing are fun if not actually funny, but the most horrific thing on offer here is misogyny.
  3. Reviewed by: Sherilyn Connelly
    Jan 15, 2013
    30
    Are the movie's half-dozen genuine laughs there just to tease the audience? What can we do to keep "A Haunted House 2" from happening?
  4. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Jan 24, 2013
    25
    Never one to shrink from the challenge of parodying the already parodic, along comes Marlon Wayans to do in A Haunted House what he once did in "Scary Movie." And do it much, much worse.
  5. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    Jan 22, 2013
    20
    This exceedingly lazy comedy is just the first of two "Paranormal Activity" parodies being crammed down our throats this year. The horror!
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Nordine
    Jan 11, 2013
    12
    If you're wondering why A Haunted House exists alongside the upcoming Scary Movie 5 rather than instead of it, you may already have given the subject more thought than Marlon Wayans had hoped.
  7. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jan 16, 2013
    0
    By eliminating the winking, broad strokes of the filmmakers' more successful spoofs, they've made a film that is not only dumb, but dull. It's like watching a snuff film, only it's the audience who's dying inside.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 59
  2. Negative: 19 out of 59
  1. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    By far the greatest movie I have ever watched. The plot was amazing, the characters were absolutely stunning and the jokes and script wereBy far the greatest movie I have ever watched. The plot was amazing, the characters were absolutely stunning and the jokes and script were flawless. This movie truly defines the generation of technology we live in and if you disagree you're gay. Collapse
  2. Jan 14, 2013
    8
    Don't listen to the "expert" movie critics trashing this movie. My gf and I went to see this over the weekend in a packed theater and theDon't listen to the "expert" movie critics trashing this movie. My gf and I went to see this over the weekend in a packed theater and the entire room was in hysterics. A hilarious movie that does exactly what the director and writers wanted it to do...make you laugh. Plus, it has a couple of scenes in it that will make you jump at first then laugh immediately after. Probably one of the better parody films to come out in recent memory. Expand
  3. Jan 18, 2013
    7
    I'm not really sure what people are expecting when going to see a "scary movie" parody starring Marlan Wayans. If you can appreciate stupidI'm not really sure what people are expecting when going to see a "scary movie" parody starring Marlan Wayans. If you can appreciate stupid humor and constant fart jokes this movie is absolutely hilarious... I was a huge fan of the "Scary Movie" series especially the 2nd and 3rd one, and while this movie has a different feel then that franchise, it still managed to make me laugh uncontrollably for a good portion of the movie. Yes, there were some parts where the writing was sub par but the critics reviews of this movie, like most comedies, is completely unfair. IF YOU LIKE TO LAUGH, GO SEE THIS!! Expand
  4. Feb 1, 2013
    6
    Movie was surprisingly funny but overlong. Cut out the last 30 minutes and it was a laugh riot with some very clever bits. Unfortunately, itMovie was surprisingly funny but overlong. Cut out the last 30 minutes and it was a laugh riot with some very clever bits. Unfortunately, it begins to fall apart with the overlong ending and the decidedly unfunny overtop performance by Cedric the Entertainer. Expand
  5. May 27, 2014
    4
    There were a few good scenes in this film, and the overall film plot was under average. Apart from that, the other scenes in this film wereThere were a few good scenes in this film, and the overall film plot was under average. Apart from that, the other scenes in this film were very boring, and constantly rely on sex as humour. Expand
  6. May 11, 2013
    2
    Oh. My. God. I was prepared for this movie to be bad, but the enjoyable type of bad, that you can still laugh at. I could've written thisOh. My. God. I was prepared for this movie to be bad, but the enjoyable type of bad, that you can still laugh at. I could've written this script, and I have the comic wit of a paper towel. It starts off with Marlon's character humping two stuffed animals for probably over a minute straight. Then, there is a series of fart jokes followed by a maid going crazy and hitting people, and a grown man screaming like a little girl. Basically, it's all the things people under the age of five think is funny, except this is for adults. Nick Swardson comes in to unintentionally mock the entire homosexual community, in a way that is more offensive than if it were intentional. I wish I were making this up. I mean, they don't even make the effort to use cliche jokes that have used in every single sitcom since the 50's, like most bad comedies do. It's just a series of people doing stupid, over-the-top, things for a laugh; things that have all been done before, and weren't funny then either. I do have to say that the performances are generally pretty good. The actors do their best to revive a horrible script, but the best comedic actors of all time could not have saved this movie. Not good. Not good. Expand
  7. Jun 21, 2013
    0
    One of the most unfunny and offensive movies I have ever seen. There is NOTHING of value here. Go see one of the Scary Movies not thisOne of the most unfunny and offensive movies I have ever seen. There is NOTHING of value here. Go see one of the Scary Movies not this garbage-fest. Or hell, go watch GARBAGE DAY on youtube a gajillion times more entertaining than this crapola. Also apparently they're making a second one slated for next year ALREADY. Is the world coming to an end? WHO WATCHES THIS!!??? WHY!!!??? AAAAAAAAAAAHHH! Expand

See all 59 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2014

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2014 Image
    Published: January 6, 2015
    2014 saw the release of the highest-scoring new movie in Metacritic's history, among a number of great films. Browse our official lists of the year's best movies in a variety of categories, as well as our collection of 2014's worst films.
  2. 2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 6, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we'll be tracking the year-end Top Ten lists published by various music sites, magazines, and more. Find out which albums are currently in the running for best album of the year.
  3. 12 Films to See in September

    12 Films to See in September Image
    Published: August 30, 2016
    Our editors select the month's most promising releases, including a Blair Witch revival and new films from Clint Eastwood, Andrea Arnold, Oliver Stone, Ron Howard, and more.
  4. The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best

    The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best  Image
    Published: August 27, 2016
    We rank this summer's highest-grossing films by Metascore.
  5. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  6. Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Kenneth Lonergan's Manchester by the Sea, Damien Chazelle’s La La Land, Adam Wingard's Blair Witch, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.