New Line Cinema | Release Date: September 23, 2005
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 797 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
571
Mixed:
80
Negative:
146
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AAWOct 4, 2005
Best movie of the year. Extraordinary. Go now. Do not wait.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LoreliOct 4, 2005
Superb movie. Acting is excellent. May catch mainstream audiences, who exclusively want entertainment, off guard. They will find themselves not only entertained but also pondering the movie and its questioning of violence and identify for Superb movie. Acting is excellent. May catch mainstream audiences, who exclusively want entertainment, off guard. They will find themselves not only entertained but also pondering the movie and its questioning of violence and identify for days afterwards. Cronenberg has taken the age-old themes of the classic genres of the Western and revenge bloodfests and imbued it with a provocative point of view. Is violence an ugly but necessary means to an end if your intention is noble, or is it always just ugly and self-defeating? Does the moral cost of violence negate its use in all circumstances? Can one ever escape your past no matter how much you have managed to reinvent yourself? Although he has successfully defeated all threats to his idyllic life, has Tom Stall destroyed ultimately destroyed that life in his attempts to keep it? Is he any longer "the best man" his wife has ever known? These are just some of the questions I came away with after viewing the movie, and there aren't too many other films I have seen lately that have done that for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexE.Oct 1, 2005
You don't realize just how much this movie has affected you until it is over, the credits are rolling, Howard Shore's subtly haunting score is playing softly, and you realize that for the first time in a long time, a movie has You don't realize just how much this movie has affected you until it is over, the credits are rolling, Howard Shore's subtly haunting score is playing softly, and you realize that for the first time in a long time, a movie has caused you to feel physically and emotionally uncomfortable. The final scene in this film is heartbreaking, chilling, and incredibly unsettling. I will not tell you exactly what it contains, but I will say that it is no sort of "twist" ending and it is almost entirely silent. That one scene is enough to put this movie well onto my "Best of 2005" list, but the rest is what really cements its place. Cronenberg plays the audience like a fiddle for an hour and a half, taking our desensitization against violence on film and throwing it in our faces so that we can no longer look away. The experience of watching this in a crowded theater is exhilarating, as it seems the entire audience is sharing something very, very powerful. Great work from Viggo Mortensen, Maria Bello, William Hurt, and Ed Harris. See this if you have wondered where serious mainstream cinema has been hiding. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RJSamsonOct 7, 2005
It's a movie about character. If someone else directed it, it may turn commercial. But Cronenberg's style has definitely drawn sincere realism to one of the best movies of the year. Subtle yet strong. What more can I say?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredFeb 20, 2006
I'm sorry, if you think this movie is predictable and boring, then you weren't watching the same movie as I was. What I saw was a brilliant, haunting, shocking portrayal of the American Dream being ripped apart by violence and I'm sorry, if you think this movie is predictable and boring, then you weren't watching the same movie as I was. What I saw was a brilliant, haunting, shocking portrayal of the American Dream being ripped apart by violence and lies, leaving behind the ugly truth that can seeth beneath such "perfect" families. The belief that we can run from who we are and change without regard for our past is brutally ripped apart. What we are left with is a family who has to pick up the pieces and try to deal with the horrible truth revealed to them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelK.Jun 10, 2006
From what I understand, this movie was based on a graphic novel so it definitely has that comic book feel. Watch with an open mind and don't search for holes and you'll enjoy the film. I found myself caring about each character and From what I understand, this movie was based on a graphic novel so it definitely has that comic book feel. Watch with an open mind and don't search for holes and you'll enjoy the film. I found myself caring about each character and at times I found the movie very tense. Be warned, both the sex and the violence are at 100%. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatT.Mar 21, 2007
I am generally appalled by the gratuitous violence of so many films these days, yet still I found myself drawn to the flawed protagonist. In spite of its brute force, this is a nuanced movie, with scenes of extreme violence juxtaposed with I am generally appalled by the gratuitous violence of so many films these days, yet still I found myself drawn to the flawed protagonist. In spite of its brute force, this is a nuanced movie, with scenes of extreme violence juxtaposed with domestic scenes of calm beauty. Even the brass score adds energy and tension, and the ending was a nice touch as well, with its lack of resolution but hint of hope. Ultimately, this film appeals to that very basic human satisfaction of seeing the bullies, mobsters, and thrill killers of the world get their due at the hands of the underdog. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jaymorrisApr 16, 2008
The best film of the year, hands down. David Cronenberg's enthralling meditation on violence, and the duality of man's nature and his capacity to change, recalls Anthony Mann's Bend of the River. Mr. Cronenberg has found hisThe best film of the year, hands down. David Cronenberg's enthralling meditation on violence, and the duality of man's nature and his capacity to change, recalls Anthony Mann's Bend of the River. Mr. Cronenberg has found his James Stewart in Viggo Mortensen; his performance is absolutely mesmerizing. One hopes that this masterpiece launches more teamings of this supremely accomplished director and his new leading man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeamusSNov 15, 2005
Brilliant, One of cronenburgs best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
leahNov 20, 2005
One of the best movies of the year, so darkly funny that i found myself to be the only one in the theater laughing! Cronenburg has not dropped the ball yet in his lengthy career.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mitchellmOct 18, 2005
Wow, these last low reveiws show us how people don't know what a goood movie is, they'd rather see something like "the fog" or some nonesense like that. and say its " the best movie ever!", thes people need to be shown what a real Wow, these last low reveiws show us how people don't know what a goood movie is, they'd rather see something like "the fog" or some nonesense like that. and say its " the best movie ever!", thes people need to be shown what a real masterpeice looks like, and this is one of them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TrevorCottonOct 22, 2005
A History Of Violence works on so many levels with such convincing acting and a riveting story. Believe the hype this is one of the years best films!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TerryD.Oct 3, 2005
Wow. What a thought-provoking, disturbing movie. You'll be thinking about this one long after you leave the theater, which is a good thing. Wow again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChaninderB.Oct 4, 2005
Awsome...captivating, and so well done. Cronenberg is the man.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GnarlesOct 4, 2005
Igonore the idiots on here - this is the real deal, folks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MondoQuantS.Oct 9, 2005
A Masterpiece, but not for everybody. Those familiar with violence and the psychology will see much beneath the surface. Many before/after themes run through this film, leaving you to think days afterwards. The before/after sexual scenes A Masterpiece, but not for everybody. Those familiar with violence and the psychology will see much beneath the surface. Many before/after themes run through this film, leaving you to think days afterwards. The before/after sexual scenes between Tom and his wife are telling. The final scene of the family at the dinner table, trapped in the realization they are changed, never to be the same - no other good option - is haunting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronSep 23, 2005
"A History Of Violence" is something of a masterpiece and just about the best film Cronenberg has ever made. To reveal anything more would do the film a disservice. So far, it's the best picture of 2005 and something really spectacular "A History Of Violence" is something of a masterpiece and just about the best film Cronenberg has ever made. To reveal anything more would do the film a disservice. So far, it's the best picture of 2005 and something really spectacular will have to come out to displace it as such for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristinaV.Sep 27, 2005
There is not one wasted moment in this superb film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielC.Jan 4, 2006
The best movie I watched this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeFeb 2, 2006
Probably my favorite movie of the year. Although it was pretty obvious from the trailers that "Tom Stahl" was more than just a nice guy. Probably the best use of VERY graphic violence and gore (since Saw at least......only kidding). But Probably my favorite movie of the year. Although it was pretty obvious from the trailers that "Tom Stahl" was more than just a nice guy. Probably the best use of VERY graphic violence and gore (since Saw at least......only kidding). But seriously, the killing scenes were shocking and compelling, especially the final showdown, which I won't ruin for those of you who haven't seen it. Viggo did a great job at playing two different characters.....why was he an unknown before LOTR? All in all, a great film with a resonating message. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickMar 15, 2006
It's good, here's a good idea to find good movies, get the ones that are 2 thumbs up. You'll never watch a bad movie again if you do that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdanC.Mar 17, 2006
Anyone who gives this movie a rating below 7, didn't get it. Trust me, I've read all the reviews. I think these people where expecting some simple movie like The Rundown or something, when in fact they got something much richer. Anyone who gives this movie a rating below 7, didn't get it. Trust me, I've read all the reviews. I think these people where expecting some simple movie like The Rundown or something, when in fact they got something much richer. Too bad they can't see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronH.Apr 10, 2006
I can not understand how anyone could watch this movie and give it a rating below a 7. I personally think it deserves a 10. One of the best movies Ive seen because it has a mainstream entertainment quality while also creating an undercurrent I can not understand how anyone could watch this movie and give it a rating below a 7. I personally think it deserves a 10. One of the best movies Ive seen because it has a mainstream entertainment quality while also creating an undercurrent of dark and disturbing feeling about the consequences of violence and how a violent past is difficult to escape. I love this movie because it entertained me while tapping my emotions and making me think about family, love, and the secrets we all hide. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RuthR.Jul 2, 2006
I loved the subtlety of the performances throughout this beautifully made movie, I loved the silences free from music which allowed the viewers to think and absorb, and I loved the main character who is essentially so much like the man I am I loved the subtlety of the performances throughout this beautifully made movie, I loved the silences free from music which allowed the viewers to think and absorb, and I loved the main character who is essentially so much like the man I am married to, and I love that I picked up in that final scene the tiny innuendo that no one else has noticed nor agrees, upon second viewing, is there. This bothers me not in the least. I know it was there. I saw it, I believe it, and I felt it every time I saw it - four times now. I could never be convinced otherwise, and the fact of it and my sure and certain knowledge of it, makes me feel just a tiny bit superior. There are few things in life that I ever feel superior about - I'm going to keep this one close to my heart and try never to forget it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RaymondGSep 6, 2007
Excellent, gripping film! Very complex and moving. Loved the performances of all the main characters, especially Viggo Mortensen's. His character's dilemma is related to that of Matt Damon's in "The Bourne Identity." Very taut Excellent, gripping film! Very complex and moving. Loved the performances of all the main characters, especially Viggo Mortensen's. His character's dilemma is related to that of Matt Damon's in "The Bourne Identity." Very taut and economical. I will remember it for a long time. Maria Bello and William Hurt also do wonderful jobs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamS.Nov 11, 2005
Woo hoo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeL.Nov 11, 2005
C'mon people - METAPHOR! The look of the film, the performances and the story play with/twist standardized forms from the inside out. Its supposed to feel awkward and stilted, that's the idea! The film can feel uncomfortable to C'mon people - METAPHOR! The look of the film, the performances and the story play with/twist standardized forms from the inside out. Its supposed to feel awkward and stilted, that's the idea! The film can feel uncomfortable to watch cuz it mirrors our own superficial, hair's breadth distance from a history of the worst kind of violence. From apehood to rape to the miriad abuses of power, the human race is still in its infancy and we're still dealing with all this stuff. This movie sheds a light on a culture which was to a large degree born of violence. Its a difficult film - sometimes difficult films are good - great in this case. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
janiejNov 10, 2005
Viggo Mortensen captures this complicated character very effectively. This movie should receive a 10 for the sex scene alone. That scene is a 5 minute mini-movie conveying the complex feelings of both characters without a spoken word. Viggo Mortensen captures this complicated character very effectively. This movie should receive a 10 for the sex scene alone. That scene is a 5 minute mini-movie conveying the complex feelings of both characters without a spoken word. Excellant film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
brianmOct 10, 2005
Masterpiece. Run, do not walk, to this picture. The best film since Lord of the Rings, and not because they share similar scores.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
zackseymourNov 21, 2005
It's pure Cronenberg. Take it or leave it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobXOct 12, 2005
A thinking man's movie that doesn't end when the credit's roll. Put simply, if you are the kind of person who can sit through an Adam Sandler film, or worse yet, enjoy it, then this film is clearly not for you. The film is a A thinking man's movie that doesn't end when the credit's roll. Put simply, if you are the kind of person who can sit through an Adam Sandler film, or worse yet, enjoy it, then this film is clearly not for you. The film is a living, breathing critique of itself and the people who gave this film low reviews. It's about the victory of the primal and the stupid over the intelligent and gentle. And while the plot itself may be fairly straightforward, the subtext for what is occuring on screen has delighted me and my friends for days now in discussion. To put it on familiar terms, the movie is a very good approximation of Joseph Conrad's Heart of Darkness,a much better representation than any of the films that lay claim to that name. The camera-work itself is very amazing, it moves slowly and majestically like the story does at the beginning. Giving a very gentle and relaxing atmosphere and the musical score follows suit. The pacing perfectly depicts the change in the life of Stall (Viggo) and his family as their instincts overwhelm their good nature. The camerawork becomes insular and even violent at times, justly reflecting the changes of the family. Mortesen and Harris both give great perfomances acting but it's really Bello and Hurt who you remember afterwards. Hurt steals the show for his brief performances and most of the discussion of plot wll end up centering around Bello. In the end it is very simlilar to the third act of adaptation where the movie itself becomes what it criticizes and ultimately I think the subtext is much to complex and subtle for the average movie goer these days. Don't worry kids, there will be another Adam Sandler flick out as soon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DSOct 14, 2005
A fantastic piece of work, with both excellent acting and a gripping story that draws the viewer in. Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RaphaelC.Oct 17, 2005
Viggo Mortensen delivers one of the best performances I've ever seen, in what might be the best movie of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimmyE.Dec 1, 2005
It's so awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
A.S.ChristensenDec 27, 2005
The film of the year. Great acting. It get better every time,you see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SHFBDec 5, 2005
I think the main reason so many people gave this a low-rating is that the title led them to expect your typical cinematic bloodbath. You're not going to get that with "History," although it is, in fact, quite violent. This is a movie I think the main reason so many people gave this a low-rating is that the title led them to expect your typical cinematic bloodbath. You're not going to get that with "History," although it is, in fact, quite violent. This is a movie that requires you to think and not merely to be entertained. It throws a number of curveballs - causing you to question your assumptions and expectations. I was blown away by the writing, acting and directing. Honestly. I can't think of one criticism. Bottom Line: This movie is not for everyone. If you aren't looking to be challenged by a movie, give this one a miss. Because if you can't see the deep social/cinematic critique and instead take it all on the most literal level, you're going to be very very disappointed, as apparently were many of these viewers. It's a shame, really. Hollywood needs more movies like this, not fewer, and those looking for, as one viewer put it, "cool violence," have far too much say in what movies do and don't get made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WhaddyaknowOct 25, 2005
I've raely seen such a divisive film. Look at these reviews! Almost split directly between 9/10s and 1/2s. Some would say that's the sign of a truly great movie. Others would say half of the population are dumb. Either half. I've raely seen such a divisive film. Look at these reviews! Almost split directly between 9/10s and 1/2s. Some would say that's the sign of a truly great movie. Others would say half of the population are dumb. Either half. I'd say that this is a superb movie with plenty going on and some truly wonderful moments. People complaining about the sugar-sweet town and the cartoon gangsters are sort of missing the point. It's ok to work with cleverly set-up stereotypes if they work in the context of your film. And boy do they work. See it for yourelf - you'll either see one of the best of the year, or you'll be thoroughly entertained telling people why it's so terrible when you come out. You can't lose! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanM.Oct 26, 2005
Maybe its cause i read the comic first but this is grade A stuff. cronibergs best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeederOct 27, 2005
Very disturbing movie but extremely well done. Violent (duh) and very well acted. The facial acting of Ms Bello gave the viewer a lot to think about. The teenage son was believable (as I have one). The younger sister was not as well acted Very disturbing movie but extremely well done. Violent (duh) and very well acted. The facial acting of Ms Bello gave the viewer a lot to think about. The teenage son was believable (as I have one). The younger sister was not as well acted but she wasn't in the film that often. I think about the film often and that to me is the mark of a good film. Not for the queasy or sexually embarassed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TorvC.Oct 3, 2005
One of the best films this year. Cronenberg is at the top of his form eliciting wonderfully nuanced performances out of his cast with a singularly focused sense of direction. This is my favorite kind of film -- one that resonates in your One of the best films this year. Cronenberg is at the top of his form eliciting wonderfully nuanced performances out of his cast with a singularly focused sense of direction. This is my favorite kind of film -- one that resonates in your brain long after you've left the theater. SEE THIS MOVIE! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavePOct 7, 2005
If you think Boondock Saints is a great movie, you will dislike this. Because you have terrible taste. Otherwise, step right up to Cronenberg's celebration of the use of violence in American culture in all of its subversively If you think Boondock Saints is a great movie, you will dislike this. Because you have terrible taste. Otherwise, step right up to Cronenberg's celebration of the use of violence in American culture in all of its subversively non-subversive glory. Stands with Nobody Knows and Last Days as one of the most nuanced, poetic films of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Oct 8, 2005
The very best film that I have seen this year so far. Viggo Mortensen, Maria Bello, William Hurt, and the rest of the cast deserve Oscar nominations. Ditto to Thomas Newman for his beautiful score and Cronenberg for directing his best film The very best film that I have seen this year so far. Viggo Mortensen, Maria Bello, William Hurt, and the rest of the cast deserve Oscar nominations. Ditto to Thomas Newman for his beautiful score and Cronenberg for directing his best film ever. The cinematography and film editing were unparalleled. Great script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamSingerOct 9, 2005
Brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricS.Sep 23, 2005
Saw this at the Toronto International Film Festival. Phenomenal! Some of Cronenberg's best work yet, which is saying quite a lot. Feels like equal parts classic western, gangster film, family drama, small town Frank Capra movie, coming Saw this at the Toronto International Film Festival. Phenomenal! Some of Cronenberg's best work yet, which is saying quite a lot. Feels like equal parts classic western, gangster film, family drama, small town Frank Capra movie, coming of age story, and black comedy. Easily the best movie I've seen so far this year. It will be hard to surpass it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
O.CuculizaJan 6, 2006
Brilliant. This movie ain't an action thriller. It is a complex family psycologichal drama where violence is fully justified because it refflects the minds of the people. You get to go so deep into the main character's thooughts Brilliant. This movie ain't an action thriller. It is a complex family psycologichal drama where violence is fully justified because it refflects the minds of the people. You get to go so deep into the main character's thooughts that you can't get away from the movie until it ends. The screenplay is great (the story is told as a tale), the acting is terrific (specially from Bello, whose performance is one you won't forget, and of course William Hurt, wow.), the art direction is perfect and the direction itself is great. Go and see this movie when you can, you won't regret it (AT ALL). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
agoodsourceofagoodsourceofMar 11, 2006
This movie is brilliant, and not in the least in a trivial way. I tend to agree with Mr. Kauffmann of the New Republic, but on this one, he has dropped the ball. What Cronenberg develops in this film is not simply a tale of violence; aboutThis movie is brilliant, and not in the least in a trivial way. I tend to agree with Mr. Kauffmann of the New Republic, but on this one, he has dropped the ball. What Cronenberg develops in this film is not simply a tale of violence; about its self-destructive and redemptive potential (Wild Bunch) or the media's agrandisement of violence (Natural Born Killers). Far from it. In fact, these aren't even central to the narrative in 'History of Violence'. The media only plays a secondary role throughout the film, and Stall/Cusack is never destroyed or redeemed by the violence. Rather Stall is closer to showing, as Kurtz does in 'Apocalypse Now (Redux)', that the facile bourgeois attitude towards violence--which allows a practical role for violence in maintaining society, either through police force or military intervention--does not track the reality of violence. The lesson being that violence does pay, provided that you are the most violent of all, and monstrously so.
What we do see, however, in 'History of Violence', unlike other films that might be sited in the genre, is an absolute embodiment of violence, virutally invincible (like Beowulf, Odysseus, or Jack Bauer) and capable of inflicting certain death on his enemies, no matter the odds (like Ryunosuke Tsukue in 'Sword of Doom'). The substance of this film is a narrative on the ontology (natrue) of violence--it consumes its users and widens to increasing spheres of influence. Like a medieval morality play, we see in 'History' our society caricatured to mind-numbing proportions, then violence enters in real-time and changes the entire landscape: influencing more people and escalating to frightening dimensions. We can learn a great deal from this film and we are better for it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonC.Apr 27, 2006
I have never seen a Cronenburg film before. So I don't give this movie a 10 because of him. I would suggest that any plot holes you think you see are not signficant if they are plot holes, but they are necessary to examine the I have never seen a Cronenburg film before. So I don't give this movie a 10 because of him. I would suggest that any plot holes you think you see are not signficant if they are plot holes, but they are necessary to examine the characters. [***SPOILERS***] When Maria Bello is naked, notice the awkwardness between the two previously very close people. When the son (Jack, I think) beats up the bullies, it asks the question: why is it right for his father to kill in self defence, but wrong for the son? How can the father ever again justify non-vioence? The movie deals with the question: when is violence justifyable? And it makes the viewer answer it. Apply it to Iraq, gang violence, spousal abuse, any issue, and you see that violence is a central part in American culture (and to be fair, Western culture generally.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamSingerApr 3, 2006
Brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyM.Apr 6, 2006
Life is too short to have to explain this movie to people. If, however, you can appreciate that a movie can seemingly be about one thing (say, a random encounter with killers bringing a secret past to light) while really being about Life is too short to have to explain this movie to people. If, however, you can appreciate that a movie can seemingly be about one thing (say, a random encounter with killers bringing a secret past to light) while really being about something much deeper (like whether or not violence can be expunged from the human soul or is passed on like a gentic flaw) then watch this movie. What you'll find is the best moive of 2006. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BernardoS.Jun 2, 2006
It´s just like Once Upon a time in the West but with a more realistic plot and great performances from all the cast (specially by Mr. Hurt). IMO this will be the movie of the decade.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JenniferWJan 22, 2008
As I get older, violence becomes less and less appealing to me. Unless it has depth and purpose. Seems almost creepy to say I loved this film, but I did, because of the complex yet simply presented undercurrents. Viggo is an amazing As I get older, violence becomes less and less appealing to me. Unless it has depth and purpose. Seems almost creepy to say I loved this film, but I did, because of the complex yet simply presented undercurrents. Viggo is an amazing character. He does sincere, restrained and non-melodramatic angst unbelievably well. Bello is also great. And many of the script's lines--and especially the totally silent last scene--are still going through my head. This was a really brilliant film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
frankbNov 24, 2005
I'm not sure the voters who rated this film poorly on this website paid much attention to any of the aspects that make this film a great one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jennyp.Nov 25, 2005
Such a good film. best gangster film ive seen in years. Cronenberg handled it well. casted very well. hope to see more of the same in the future.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimB.Nov 3, 2005
A hearty stew of intellegence and accessibility. "A History of Violence" has a new home on my favorite movies list.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephenF.Oct 16, 2005
Can You Ever Escape Your Past? By now, I would think that there is no need for a spoiler alert. In addition, the movie's title pretty much implies it's theme. David Cronenberg validates his stripes here by crafting an interesting, Can You Ever Escape Your Past? By now, I would think that there is no need for a spoiler alert. In addition, the movie's title pretty much implies it's theme. David Cronenberg validates his stripes here by crafting an interesting, non-predictable and insightful tale about violence, finding peace, and escaping one's past. The story not so much has twists than an unconventional, unexpected development of the events. It is captivating, with sporadic violence that thrills as well as turns your stomach. The only incongruity in the movie is the lightening speed killing machine Joey that Tom turns into. It is action that is more suitable to a James Bond or John Woo film than the drama/thriller here. Viggo Mortensen is nuanced, subtle and self-effacing as Tom/Joey, the man who finds peace and gentleness in his new life in a small, midwestern piece of Americana. Ed Harris and William Hurt gives interesting and substantial character performances as mobsters. The movie does not display pretensions. It tells an engrossing survival tale that ends with the shocking and seemingly impenetrable question of how does Tom escape his history of violence and recapture his peaceful life with his family? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TalL.Dec 31, 2005
One of the best movies I've ever seen, up there with "Fargo" and "Eyes Wide Shut". It is graphically and shockingly violent, but it's a movie that puts you up against a mirror, and makes you think. It's a movie you remember. One of the best movies I've ever seen, up there with "Fargo" and "Eyes Wide Shut". It is graphically and shockingly violent, but it's a movie that puts you up against a mirror, and makes you think. It's a movie you remember. It's is a movie you come back to in your mind, wondering and obsessing how much of your reflection is driven by Cronenberg's crafty manipulation, and how much of it is really yours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattH.Oct 31, 2005
I'm not going to say that everyone who disliked this film didn't get it, but it's darn close and the majority of negative comments posted here reflect in the competence of the reviewer, not the quality of the film. Best movie I'm not going to say that everyone who disliked this film didn't get it, but it's darn close and the majority of negative comments posted here reflect in the competence of the reviewer, not the quality of the film. Best movie of the year thus far, by far. A brilliant exploration of the perplexing relationship between human beings and their violent nature. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaySep 23, 2005
Masterful compelling, unpredictable, intelligent, funny and of course violent with a purpose, this masterpiece of an art film diguising as a mainstream modern western dtamatic thriller is by far one if not the best film of the year, Viggo,Masterful compelling, unpredictable, intelligent, funny and of course violent with a purpose, this masterpiece of an art film diguising as a mainstream modern western dtamatic thriller is by far one if not the best film of the year, Viggo, Maria, Ed Harris William Hur, Cronenberg and the rest of the cast and crew should be proud of such contribution and collaboration of producing great art. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jaket.Sep 28, 2005
Great movie...I just saw Broken Flowers and was bored to death by Bill Murray blankly staring at a television set for two hours. That was a pointless piece of garbage. This film is Broken Flower's foil. Although the movie gets a bit Great movie...I just saw Broken Flowers and was bored to death by Bill Murray blankly staring at a television set for two hours. That was a pointless piece of garbage. This film is Broken Flower's foil. Although the movie gets a bit strange midway, it all comes together in the end. I was suprised at how fast the plot was moving, but by the end of the movie, I realized that this was 97 minutes of pure entertainment. Superb acting (especially from William Hurt), and ingenious use of violence makes this film one of the year's best. If you are tired of Thumbsucker, Broken Flowers, Garden State and tired movies about middle aged men finding themselves in the midst of a midlige crisis, do yourself a favor and see this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
lucas.Sep 29, 2005
Beautiful, disturbing, insanely multilayered story, pierce right through the heart of the effect of violence (perpetrated or undergoed) on "normal" people. Never backs down for a moment, never wimps out, but the violence (and there's Beautiful, disturbing, insanely multilayered story, pierce right through the heart of the effect of violence (perpetrated or undergoed) on "normal" people. Never backs down for a moment, never wimps out, but the violence (and there's some very bloody moment) is not the "cool" variant seen in about one million movies since "Reservoir Dogs" - it's swift, merciless, scary. Outstanding performance from everyone involved (Cronenberg confirm his status as the best director of actors around), and I appreciated immensely the lack of any visual pretension - there's plenty of style here, but it's all about the substance. Don't dare to miss this one! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CablesMar 18, 2006
I'm absolutely amazed at some of the comments that people are writing about this wonderful film. You thought it was too violent? Here's an idea... If you dont want to see a movie with graphic violence then maybe you shouldnt go I'm absolutely amazed at some of the comments that people are writing about this wonderful film. You thought it was too violent? Here's an idea... If you dont want to see a movie with graphic violence then maybe you shouldnt go see, "A History of Violence". Doesn't the title pretty much tell you what your getting into? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.YoungApr 28, 2006
I think A History of Violence will in time be recognized as the best film of 2005. For me, Spider was Cronenberg's first really adult movie, but with this film he has arrived as simply the best director working today; here he takes a I think A History of Violence will in time be recognized as the best film of 2005. For me, Spider was Cronenberg's first really adult movie, but with this film he has arrived as simply the best director working today; here he takes a comic book and manages to make a film that is somehow more topical than either Brokeback or Crash were. I left the theater haunted by this film in much the same way as Raging Bull had blown my mind 25 years ago (another masterpiece that didn't win the Oscar). Note, I have seen a lot of violent movies, but this film shocked me with a realism I didn't expect. What is more, the violence was not the point of the film either, despite the title. My wife thought the gangster characters were too over the top to believe; having lived in Philly and encountered real gangsters myself; I thought they were dead on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WalterF.Dec 19, 2007
I hope to see more of Viggo. He is in my opinion ,a brilliant actor. His moves to save his life were spectacular and could pass for a modern day "Achilles".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
clNov 11, 2005
Disturbing, an exceptionally well written and well acted piece. The end is quite disconcerting. Although predictable; it was intensely portrayed - an excellent character study.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
frankb.Nov 24, 2005
Excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PDignamDec 29, 2005
Excellent movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Lopez17Aug 11, 2010
For as long as humanity has existed we have always been violent we may have not been created that way but somewhere down the line we found out that violence could save us or destroy us. It all depends on if we choose to use violence as aFor as long as humanity has existed we have always been violent we may have not been created that way but somewhere down the line we found out that violence could save us or destroy us. It all depends on if we choose to use violence as a means of salvation or as a means of destruction in David Cronenberg's blunt yet very insightful film raises thought provoking and shocking questions about the true nature of violence and how it can affect some and change others. how sometimes a single act of violence can make all the difference, how it can change who you are and turn you into a person you told yourself you would never be. This is the story of one man, the story of one family and the story of "A History of Violence". David Cronenberg's violent, brutal and extremely intelligent look into the nature of violence is nothing short of insightful, moving and at times shocking, shocking because it delivers a story so true and unflinchingly honest that turning away from the screen, turning away from the story would be near impossible. It is such a powerful and thought provoking film that just leaps out at you at every turn it shocks and amazes with its brutal violence, it's emotional and heartfelt story of family angst and how the past can sometimes catch up with you. Cronenberg know for his gory horror films and wigged out thrillers has created a stable film of right and wrong, good and evil, life and death. Cronenberg's "A History of Violence" is not a film for the squeamish or the faint of heart what it is a powerful film experiences that leaves you with a haunted and disturbed feeling making you wish you had not seen the film and at the same also making you feel glad you did. This film calls you to watch a film that needs you to watch it to see the darkness of one manâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WeismuellerOct 22, 2010
Exciting, challenging, brilliant. A film that starts in on you hard--but slowly--giving you just one long chance (a monumental single shot sequence) to get up to speed and recognize that if you ever think the story is uneven, implausible,Exciting, challenging, brilliant. A film that starts in on you hard--but slowly--giving you just one long chance (a monumental single shot sequence) to get up to speed and recognize that if you ever think the story is uneven, implausible, it's because YOU aren't getting it. It's a parable, a morality play, a electrically-fast hand-to-hand combat symphony, but above all, it's about people's wishes to be good and peaceful until they are threatened, when they wish for a savior to step between their lives and the paradox of unsympathetic evil that cannot be dissuaded. If you have ever been in that situation, you know--but may not accept, or like yourself for it--you know that you would destroy that man that threatens you. But then, how to live? Many of us chose to live by avoiding the problem (and who wants to have it?) and therefore letting others destroy for us. This film reminds us: those others that destroy for us have faced the same choice, and come to a different conclusion: they will not avoid. Are they worse for helping us live? Have you watched bullying and done nothing? Have you not been involved? Have you risked yourself for me? If not, don't condemn me for helping you live. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cinephile1Jan 3, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is phenomenal: from the long take, no cutting opening to the incongruity of Ed Harris' car in the small town to Viggo experiencing a rebirth after having killed his brother, to the brilliant and wordless scene that closes the film, this movie is almost virtuoso beyond belief. This film is just about perfect. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 8, 2012
It is very rare that a film is so compelling that it keeps my eyes absolutely glued to the screen from its opening sequence to its final frame. Surely, A History of Violence is one of the great films of the decade.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
trevortalksNov 14, 2012
Wow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
alicew.Oct 24, 2005
one of the best movies i have seen in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeG.Oct 4, 2005
From the eerily silent first moments of the film, Cronenberg captures mood and never lets go of it throughout. A History of Violence might have been a mediocre gore fest in the hands of a lesser director, but Cronenberg keeps you on the edge From the eerily silent first moments of the film, Cronenberg captures mood and never lets go of it throughout. A History of Violence might have been a mediocre gore fest in the hands of a lesser director, but Cronenberg keeps you on the edge of your seat throughout the entire film and leaves you wondering about not only these characters and this story, but about the world we live in. Viggo Mortensen slips marvelously into the lead role, capturing the duality of his life perfectly: there is an anonimity in his character that's delivered adroitly. There are some small holes in the plot, but you won't find yourself thinking about them until long after you leave the theater. William Hurt's performance is a little weird - is his character supposed to be funny? - but this is quibbling. A History of Violence is a movie worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
randyw.Oct 6, 2005
A brilliant movie; one that makes the intelligent viewer question the place and role of violence in American society, regardless of circumstance. One can see the master touch of a director whose Canadian viewpoint and perspective on American A brilliant movie; one that makes the intelligent viewer question the place and role of violence in American society, regardless of circumstance. One can see the master touch of a director whose Canadian viewpoint and perspective on American life reveals much about the dark underside of that society. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DeWayneP.Sep 25, 2005
Excellent film. May not be everyone's cup of tea, because it's talks about our relationship to violence and how it reflects who we are as a society. Seeing how seductive our temptations are towards violence and how we use it for Excellent film. May not be everyone's cup of tea, because it's talks about our relationship to violence and how it reflects who we are as a society. Seeing how seductive our temptations are towards violence and how we use it for sexual fulfilment, revenge, as well as how we decide right (whistle-blower) from wrong (stool pigeon), or is it the other way around? One should approach this film not as an entertaining enterprise i.e. a Mel Gibson film, but as a film to give us pause and reflection as to who we are and have been. And it's okay, we can be reflective and critical and still be American...really...It's only a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SamApr 7, 2006
I thought this movie was excellently acted, directed and shot. Sure, if you just want mindless violence or cheap gags then steer clear. But if you're prepared to actually invest yourself in and engage with a film, pay attention off your I thought this movie was excellently acted, directed and shot. Sure, if you just want mindless violence or cheap gags then steer clear. But if you're prepared to actually invest yourself in and engage with a film, pay attention off your own back instead of expecting it to do all the work for you then you'll find some amazing themes and thought-provoking angles. There are violent scenes in the film, but they serve a purpose rather than being arbitrary or superfluous, like in so many films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BitBurnOct 11, 2005
That one really caught me by surprise. Very intense, raw. Awesome screenplay. Perhaps not for everyone but I loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SuzieH.Nov 1, 2005
Loved it! Very graphic violence & sex.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JayM.Oct 1, 2005
Cronenberg's most complete and successful film to date, fabulous performances by the whole cast, wow wauw! So not a Hollywood production, this is a @#$! real movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Oct 20, 2005
I'll be the cheerleader, and next time, you be the man with a violent past. That scene on the stairwell is interesting because we've already seen the couple engage in role-playing when they have sex. Edie (Maria Bello) is like the I'll be the cheerleader, and next time, you be the man with a violent past. That scene on the stairwell is interesting because we've already seen the couple engage in role-playing when they have sex. Edie (Maria Bello) is like the Lorraine Bracco character in "Good Fellas" who admits to being turned-on when Henry (Ray Liotta) tells her to hide the gun. There's a darkness in Edie, too. If there's a flaw to "A History of Violence", it's the violence inflicted by Tom (Viggo Mortensen) on his victims because the rest of the film belies any graphic novel connection. Like fellow indie-director Richard Linklater, David Cronenberg mainstreams himself with dignity and class. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimD.Oct 31, 2005
I'm not generally a fan of Cronenberg's stuff. And I'm not generally a fan of film critics. I'm with them on this one, though -- I thought it was excellent,disquieting, staying with me afterward in a way many movies do I'm not generally a fan of Cronenberg's stuff. And I'm not generally a fan of film critics. I'm with them on this one, though -- I thought it was excellent,disquieting, staying with me afterward in a way many movies do not. And I find the number and vehemence of the negative viewer reviews here to be genuinely interesting. Ah, well. To each their own. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BoydPOct 9, 2005
A stunning and unsettling story of violence and how it affects and upsets the status quo. This is basically a character piece, which may be surprising to those expecting an action film. The violence is quick and brutal, the sex is raw and A stunning and unsettling story of violence and how it affects and upsets the status quo. This is basically a character piece, which may be surprising to those expecting an action film. The violence is quick and brutal, the sex is raw and revealing, and the comedy is very dark. If you think the violence is the only interesting aspect of the film, perhaps that says more about you than it does about the movie. Which, I think, is exactly the point the movie is making. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NormG.Sep 24, 2005
The backdrop of History of Violence is a small quiet Indiana town and family. So when the Violence comes the contrast is sharp and startling. You just don't know what is lurking below the surface. Though the story is predictable, the The backdrop of History of Violence is a small quiet Indiana town and family. So when the Violence comes the contrast is sharp and startling. You just don't know what is lurking below the surface. Though the story is predictable, the direction and performances keeps it from degenerating into tired gratuitous action-movie clichés. The scene that ends the film at first left me puzzled then it chilled and soon became almost redemptive. You won't know what hit you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ShirleyC.Jan 26, 2006
Modern classic since a clockwork orange issued. Another movie needs to think about human is evil.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LanceT.Mar 25, 2006
The subtle tones given off by this movie are brilliant. DC has held back his usual difficult to understand plot lines and given us a character driven Marvel. Although you know Tom has been a naughty boy, you want to see him do it again and again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WalkenM.Mar 27, 2006
In A History of Violence, Cronenberg sets out to criticize the very laziness responsible for the popular backlash against this incisive and compassionate film. Only those with no understanding of subtext could determine the film empty beyond In A History of Violence, Cronenberg sets out to criticize the very laziness responsible for the popular backlash against this incisive and compassionate film. Only those with no understanding of subtext could determine the film empty beyond its pointed exaggerations of American culture. Cronenberg problematizes the notion of redemption through brutality, ultimately questioning the stability of a society so willing to forgive, and even embrace, the notion of ends-justifying-means violence. Far beyond a purposeless condemnation, Cronenberg composes a cultural critique that does not insult our intelligence, exposing instead an establishing violence that indicts all civilized societies. A History of Violence Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarcB.Mar 20, 2006
A great B movie that raises questions many A movies dont know how to raise. Stellar performances all around, especially from the two leads. A Norman Rockwell vision of America on the surface cant hide the kill em all, Faustian demons lurking A great B movie that raises questions many A movies dont know how to raise. Stellar performances all around, especially from the two leads. A Norman Rockwell vision of America on the surface cant hide the kill em all, Faustian demons lurking beneath the surface. Cronenberg does an excellent job of making us mentally involved in the violence and with skillful editing and cinematography shows the act of violence with quick and brutal speed. Can a killer change? Old habits die hard. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickA.Mar 27, 2007
Reading some of the reviews I'm beginning to wonder whether there are two versions of this film! This was a superb insight into marriage, betrayal, revenge and the darker side of the human spirit. It asks some interesting questions Reading some of the reviews I'm beginning to wonder whether there are two versions of this film! This was a superb insight into marriage, betrayal, revenge and the darker side of the human spirit. It asks some interesting questions mainly just how much will we forgive for love, can we ever truly leave our past behind, can we be two people at the same time, and for parents practice what you preach! The inter-play between Mortensen and his wife is superb,perhaps the best scene is the understated last reel. So subtle but so brilliant. A great film and a major return to form by David Cronenberg. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
timothyk.Oct 11, 2005
If you don't love this movie then you should have your head checked. Rawness and simplicity are the point. Dirty Harry meets Unbreakable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JobA>Oct 11, 2005
Very good and unexpected.The acting and story was terrific!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
thewisekingOct 11, 2005
A brilliant Cronenberg art film which plays like a populist melodrama. This film works on every level. The casting is absolutely first rate, and the screenplay is brilliant. The film flies by in around 90 minutes, unlike most of the tedious, A brilliant Cronenberg art film which plays like a populist melodrama. This film works on every level. The casting is absolutely first rate, and the screenplay is brilliant. The film flies by in around 90 minutes, unlike most of the tedious, overwrought 2 hours plus crap we feel like walking out of nowadays. Several hours after seeing it, you start to like it even more, It is profound and thought provoking as well as entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnonymousMCOct 13, 2005
Superlative directing, editing and acting. Although probably intended to appeal to a mainstream audience, this film nonetheless is vintage Cronenberg, with all the psychological tension and visceral thrills wrapping up a philosophical theme,Superlative directing, editing and acting. Although probably intended to appeal to a mainstream audience, this film nonetheless is vintage Cronenberg, with all the psychological tension and visceral thrills wrapping up a philosophical theme, in this case determinism vs. free will. Not a single frame is wasted in this film: when the final credits roll, you might guess the running time was fifteen minutes. From a great director, another fine effort which will reward attentive and intelligent viewers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickHOct 2, 2005
Did you like "The Exorcism of Emily Rose"? Planning on seeing "Into the Blue" this week? Have you seen, and loved, "Just Like Heaven" and "cry_wolf"? Then don't see this movie. If you like your movies generic, formulaic, and uninspired Did you like "The Exorcism of Emily Rose"? Planning on seeing "Into the Blue" this week? Have you seen, and loved, "Just Like Heaven" and "cry_wolf"? Then don't see this movie. If you like your movies generic, formulaic, and uninspired stay at home and rent "Robots". This is, hands down, one of the best movies of the year. Cronenberg strikes again with another whacked-out and amazing movie. Mortensen proves he's more than Aragorn in his great preformance. Hurt, Harris, and Bello are great in their supporting roles. Realize that this movie is NOT for everyone, before you go. Just because it's called "A History of Violence" doesn't mean it's an action movie, get it through your head before you go. It's not conventional, it's way out there... but, if you didn't know that when you heard Cronenberg in the trailers - stay out of the theatres. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarcusGOct 22, 2005
As perfectly paced as the best Hitchcock thriller. Then, to that "A grade", add such a unique agenda, worthy and absorbing. Cronenberg makes A History of Violence an undeniably fantastic film. It's an A+.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KeatonK.Oct 25, 2005
Startlingly affective. Cronenbergs expressionistic stylings devastate and arrest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JHOct 28, 2005
A fantastic movie. The ending, and how it loops back onto a previous discussion early on in the movie, is excellent. Cronenberg takes clear cliches and weaves them together into a sly, humorous movie that also pulls no punches in the A fantastic movie. The ending, and how it loops back onto a previous discussion early on in the movie, is excellent. Cronenberg takes clear cliches and weaves them together into a sly, humorous movie that also pulls no punches in the violence. Wonderful movie with wit and style - a must see for people who appreciate something different, unique and without a number after the title. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffOct 5, 2005
This movie grabbed your attention from the first minute and never let go. I am glad I read nothing about it before seeing it, as that made every scene in the movie more memorable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
nancyLOct 8, 2005
I'm really shocked at so many of the negative reviews here. Yes, the ending lacks resolution, but that's entirely the point! I thought it was an extremely powerful ending and I couldn't stop thinking about the movie for days I'm really shocked at so many of the negative reviews here. Yes, the ending lacks resolution, but that's entirely the point! I thought it was an extremely powerful ending and I couldn't stop thinking about the movie for days afterwards. There are so many layers to it that I know I'll have to see it again. The acting is wonderful in its subtlety. If you think acting means scenery-chewing, then you won't like this film. And the 2 sex scenes are not gratuitous in the slightest. In fact they are integral to the film and to understanding the 2 main characters. One of the scenes is raw and disturbing, yes, but again, it's supposed to be. There are so many emotions on display in that one scene and the actors did a fantastic job. If you just want stylized "movie" violence, "movie" sex complete with some love theme pop song playing and a Hollywood ending, then this film is not for you. The film uses noir, Western and action thriller elements with great success but it's essentially a drama about what happens to one small-town family when violence enters their lives. It's also about the choices we make and how they not only affect us but those around us. And it's about so many other things. Just go see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanieleO.Jan 22, 2006
One of the very best of the year, a brilliant reflection on violence, and a reflection about america too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaveF.Mar 19, 2006
There was nothing predictable about this, clear up to the end we still don't know for sure where's Joey. Seeing the ultra violence might have led some reviewers to make a knee jerk reaction about the movie, not giving full credit There was nothing predictable about this, clear up to the end we still don't know for sure where's Joey. Seeing the ultra violence might have led some reviewers to make a knee jerk reaction about the movie, not giving full credit to the complexity of this story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful