Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Trevor Johnston
    Sep 9, 2014
    60
    It’s all unexpectedly uninvolving.
  2. Reviewed by: Ian Nathan
    Sep 8, 2014
    60
    For all its chilled intelligence and topical ambition this is a bloodless adaptation, but worth seeing for Hoffman’s deft and ghostly presence.
  3. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jul 24, 2014
    60
    Whether you call Anton Corbijn’s adaptation of John le Carré’s 2008 novel “deliberately paced” or “so slow I can feel my hair growing,” there’s no denying the power behind the central performance.
  4. Reviewed by: Patrick Gamble
    Jul 24, 2014
    60
    An otherwise intelligent piece that favours deftness of touch over bombastic thrills, A Most Wanted Man is an efficient espionage drama that, whilst in no way revelatory, is attuned to its source material's non-heroic and morally ambiguous approach to a well-worn genre.
  5. Reviewed by: Xan Brooks
    Jan 22, 2014
    60
    It's a professional old-school espionage outing, intricate as clockwork and acted with relish by the ever-watchable Hoffman. But it remains an oddly anonymous enterprise from this talented and distinctive director.
  6. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jul 24, 2014
    50
    Now, thanks to A Most Wanted Man, we discover that it's really boring - practically sleep-inducing - to be an international spy.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jul 23, 2014
    50
    This atmospheric, cool-looking but gimpy thriller based on a John le Carré novel makes “Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy” look like “22 Jump Street.”
  8. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Jul 23, 2014
    50
    Dreary, depressing and desultory, A Most Wanted Man is not my cup of Schokolade mit Schlagsahne.
  9. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jul 24, 2014
    40
    I wish I could say that the film gives a great actor a worthy role, but the truth is otherwise. The character is banal — Günther lavishes attention on remarkably uninteresting spycraft — and Mr. Hoffman, like everyone else, is stuck with the glum tone set by the director, Anton Corbijn ("Control," "The American").
  10. Reviewed by: Trevor Johnston
    Jul 22, 2014
    40
    Disappointing plod of an espionage thriller.
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 131 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 42
  2. Negative: 4 out of 42
  1. Jul 27, 2014
    10
    Hits on all cylinders. Acting, directing, cinematography, writing. Dimensional characters, tautly acted, against a great story. You can tellHits on all cylinders. Acting, directing, cinematography, writing. Dimensional characters, tautly acted, against a great story. You can tell there was craft in the directing and cinematography, but it doesn't call attention to itself, rather choosing to serve storytelling. Full Review »
  2. Aug 24, 2014
    8
    Overall, A Most Wanted Man was satisfying as all hell. Like I said above, we rarely get spy thriller movies like this anymore and this oneOverall, A Most Wanted Man was satisfying as all hell. Like I said above, we rarely get spy thriller movies like this anymore and this one definitely filled the big empty hole for this type of movie in my life. It was interesting, exciting, intense, and the perfect amount of thrill to make a money spy movie. But going back to it all, Philip Seymour Hoffman delivered as he usually does, almost bringing a tear to your eye as we now know that he leaves us with one his best performances ever. Full Review »
  3. Aug 7, 2014
    9
    The work of intelligence case officers is really accurate according to at least 20-30 books I’ve read on it. That alone is worth it, becauseThe work of intelligence case officers is really accurate according to at least 20-30 books I’ve read on it. That alone is worth it, because no other films seem to get that right (John le Carre was in MI6 so maybe that’s why). But also, Philip Seymore Hoffman was amazing. His character was crazy real, and the worst/best thing about it is you kind of felt like it was really him. As one reviewer said “ And the two of them, actor and character, fit so tightly into that abused and collapsing body up on the screen...” which is dead on in my opinion.

    But I don’t know why in the hell they cast Rachel McAdams, she’s so terrible and it took me out of the film at times, not just her "accent" but acting as well, although it is mainly a casting problem I think. They should have cast Jessica Chastain instead like they were considering.
    Full Review »