Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 115 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Nancy Thompson is suffering from violent nightmares about a badly burned man wearing a glove made of knives. She quickly learns that this man – child molester Freddy Krueger – is also terrorizing the dreams of her friends and boyfriend, Glen. As they begin to die one by one in their sleep, Nancy learns, that years prior, the parents of Elm Street burned Krueger alive – and now Freddy is back to claim their children’s lives as revenge! As the teenagers of Elm Street fight to stay awake, Nancy must save their lives and her own by bringing Freddy out of their dreams and back into the real world to destroy him forever. (New Line Cinema) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. 88
    A Nightmare on Elm Street is tailor made for those who like their gore leavened with thought-provoking ideas - something that is a rarity in this genre.
  2. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    83
    Some of the effects remain nicely repulsive; Freddy himself comes across as a genuinely nasty piece of work, far removed from his later incarnation.
  3. 80
    Here the idea of sleep as the ultimate threat is still fresh and marvelously insidious, and Craven vitalizes the nightmare sequences with assorted surrealist novelties.
  4. Reviewed by: Gavin Bainbridge
    80
    Turning slumberland into a twisted murderer's den is a masterstroke by Craven, who has brought new blood to a genre that seemed as if it might choke on it's own excesses.
  5. Reviewed by: (Staff Not Cretdited)
    80
    A Nightmare on Elm Street is a highly imaginative horror film that provides the requisite shocks to keep fans of the genre happy.
  6. A Nightmare on Elm Street puts more emphasis on bizarre special effects, which aren't at all bad.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    A Nightmare on Elm Street is really creepy and masterful with inventive and original ideas. The visual effects are amazing, first rate intense ideas. The plot is horrifying and scary as hell, with twists and thrills that you will stay with you for a long time. The acting is above mediocre but not perfect. Overall, it is funny, scary and great. Expand
  2. Sep 15, 2014
    10
    Nightmare has mega clever scares, a plot that will never be replicated, good acting and mild laughs.
    =================================================
    Expand
  3. Sep 22, 2014
    10
    The scariest and most innovative horror movie of 1984, a film that will always be discussed by horror fans.
    ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    Expand
  4. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    This is my favorite film. There are all i need...
    This is most horrible film ever. I always loved this one. Characters have very emotional
    role. Plot is very original. Horror may be just call horror, but A Nightmare on Elm Street is realy scary. Expand
  5. Oct 22, 2010
    9
    I'm going to go ahead and say that A Nightmare on Elmstreet puts most modern horror movies to shame. A lack of original ideas had destroyed the horror genre but this, in its day, was an extremely original concept in itself - A dead man killing teenagers in theire dreams and if this franchise hadn't been over used it would still be a great concept. Expand
  6. Sep 24, 2011
    8
    The horror may be to shallow for those who expect more, but "A Nightmare on Elm Street" has everything it needs for a movie; horror, creativity, and brutality. Collapse
  7. Jul 20, 2011
    5
    I watched this movie expecting too be scared witless. I was unfortunately not. Sure, the concept is fantastic and original. The villain in the first 3/4 of the movie is quite malevolent, when he isn't using cheesy one-liners. The music builds great suspense, and the movie as a whole does build suspense. But, those are the good things. The acting is sub-par, especially on the part of Heather Langenkamp. I am pretty sure that the death scene with Johnny Depp had more blood then what is in 3 humans. I'll admit that from the start until the deaths of the first two characters, I enjoyed the movie. But, then it got bogged down with campiness. The whole fighting Freddy scene with the elaborate traps was a little far-fetched. I mean she shouldn't know how to do any of those things, but then she suddenly does. But, my main problem with the movie is how Freddy is vanquished. "I give you no energy", seriously? That is the campiest and cheesiest thing I have ever heard in a "horror" movie. It is the worst possible way I can think of to have killed him. Overall, it is a horror classic. However, it should not be a classic. It is not that good of a movie, and I unfortunately do not recommend seeing it. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Wes Craven's Best and Worst Movies

    Ranked: Wes Craven's Best and Worst Movies Image
    Published: October 21, 2010
    Just in time for Halloween, our week of horror-related articles kicks off with a look at the career of one of the genre's most prolific directors, Wes Craven.
  2. Ranked: The Nightmare on Elm Street Series

    Ranked: The Nightmare on Elm Street Series Image
    Published: April 26, 2010
    How does the upcoming "Nightmare on Elm Street" remake compare with the other films in the horror franchise? We run through the entire series, from best to worst.