Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: December 30, 2011
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 536 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
488
Mixed:
27
Negative:
21
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
EpicLadySpongeMar 6, 2016
What a great way to end 2011. End it with one of the best films of its time... a Separation is still the best film of 2011 without any doubt at all and your other pesky 2011 wannabe-best films won't outreach this great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TVJerryFeb 25, 2012
The title of this Iranian import would imply that it's about a married couple breaking up. While that's the catalyst, much more happens in this intricate sequence of events. There's lots of anguish, loud declaiming and absorbing emotionâ
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGuysFeb 27, 2014
A Separation is almost flawless. It can compete with any heavyweight drama in this country, or the world for that matter. The fact that there were English subtitles didn't take away from the experience at all (the mark of a good foreignA Separation is almost flawless. It can compete with any heavyweight drama in this country, or the world for that matter. The fact that there were English subtitles didn't take away from the experience at all (the mark of a good foreign film). I didn't particularly care for the ending, but the rest of the movie surely makes up for it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Thanks to a morally complex script, a slew of utterly fantastic performances, and an appealingly modest style of direction, "A Separation" very clearly represents some of the best filmmaking work to come out of the middle east.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 8, 2012
A riveting drama that feels so real and is so heart wrenching, that you really come to care for the characters, feel as if their decisions affect you equally. A masterpiece.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
MarcDoyleDec 31, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A truly outstanding movie that ratchets up the tension from jump. The acting is uniformly excellent - it presents such interesting windows into the lives of each character. The glimpse into the Iranian legal system is incredibly interesting. What I initially considered to be organized chaos actually started to make some sense by the end, as I loosed up on my western notions of how these disputes should be resolved. It puts an incredible amount of power into a single magistrate's hands, but it sure does cut down on the red tape! Though trusting the suspect in a murder case not to talk to a key witness as he summons her from the hallway of the courtroom seemed a bridge too far. Then again, the judge seemed to know how to deal with the possibility of corruption in that process. The notion of honor, as reflected in honesty - from citizen to society, and from father to daughter - transcends the legal process. At least in this case, among this group of peole. I would have liked to have known a bit more about the mother's motivation to leave the country, but it's not something that detracted from the film. This is an easy recommendation. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
9
lasttimeisawSep 7, 2012
This film marks my first time steps into Iranian territory since TURTLES CAN FLY (2004, 8/10), this victory of Academy Awards
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
worleyjamersDec 6, 2012
The absolute best film of 2011, by far. Perfectly written. Perfectly acted. A masterpiece! A brilliant view into the lives and cultures of modern day Iran.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
audreythomas25Feb 23, 2016
A case study in how simplicity can produce spectacular results that extend far beyond a film's budget.

Watch this movie here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-29934d-A-Separation-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BHBarryJan 13, 2012
â
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
jeremypMar 4, 2012
Frankly I was completely captivated and stunned by this movie. While the Oscars are rewarding "The Artist" a slick but shallow homage to old Hollywood the Iranians are creating a movie about real people behaving like real people with everyFrankly I was completely captivated and stunned by this movie. While the Oscars are rewarding "The Artist" a slick but shallow homage to old Hollywood the Iranians are creating a movie about real people behaving like real people with every strength and flaw exposed. The fact that it's set in an Iranian cultural milieu makes it fascinatingly educating. We get to see inside 2 Iranian marriages; the Iranian justice system; the Iranian cultural taboos and strictures. No judgements are expressed, but we make them anyway, and like all good movies what we see is our own value system looking back at us. This is definitely a finely nuanced film as the characters move in and out of black,, grey, and white. At the end as the credits rolled many in the theatre waited hoping to get a final resolution that the director, appropriately, just wasn't going to give. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
netflicJan 9, 2012
This Iranian movie makes you forget â
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
cabritaFeb 25, 2012
The film does not choose a side it simply shows the conflict all the characters struggle with which is living an upright life according to the law. Are these laws fair? Yes but that does not necessarily make the application of the law fair.The film does not choose a side it simply shows the conflict all the characters struggle with which is living an upright life according to the law. Are these laws fair? Yes but that does not necessarily make the application of the law fair. The way all the characters act are truthfull and authentic and they all try to live good lives and do what is best for themselves. It takes you into a completely new world but the problems are still universal. The problem I found with the film is that it did not generate enough empathy for it's characters. This may just be a personal thing but I felt having a musical score would have helped the film. I would also like to note the unbelievable subteltys the director used to make the beginig scenes. That for me was the best part of the film. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
asthobaskoroMay 14, 2012
Let's face reality and five star rating I just gave for this movie. A Separation have intricate structure in screenplay, complex and brilliant. A Separation captures the messiness of dissolving relationship with intensity and powerfulLet's face reality and five star rating I just gave for this movie. A Separation have intricate structure in screenplay, complex and brilliant. A Separation captures the messiness of dissolving relationship with intensity and powerful performance. Reminds me of masterpiece, have similar opening scene, The Social Network. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
seancriswellMar 12, 2013
From the opening scene of A Separation I knew I would enjoy this film. The dialogue is smart and ambiguous. The shot is framed so that all your attention is focused on the two characters, you are hanging on every word. Invested in whatFrom the opening scene of A Separation I knew I would enjoy this film. The dialogue is smart and ambiguous. The shot is framed so that all your attention is focused on the two characters, you are hanging on every word. Invested in what emotion they are conveying and thus invested in them as characters right from the beginning. So it goes with A Separation a dialogue, character driven Iranian film that will have you invested throughout.

The driving force behind this film is conflict. Nearly every character that comes in contact with each other has some sort of conflict at some point. How they react to the conflict engages us and drives the narrative forward. A Separation also makes nearly every character both sympathetic and unsympathetic at the same time. At any given time we are mostly unaware of who is lying and whether their motives are pure.

As an American viewer I was also quite intrigued at some of the cultural conflict in this film. There is a married couple who are devout Muslims and this informs many of the decisions they make throughout the film. Their conflict as a result of their beliefs is not something that most of us can relate to. Even the religious devout in our culture would not allow these things to become a point of contention. For an outsider this definitely added to my intrigue within the film.

A Separation is a well made intriguing drama. The writing is superb. The acting is very good, especially Maadi. While the visuals are not particularly note worthy, the scenes are framed very well, in a way that engages the viewer. A Separation is a must view for any film lover.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
ImUnavailableFeb 17, 2012
This is a film that makes it difficult to tear your eyes away from the screen. The raw, believable drama is interlaced in a culture where religion and pride mean everything. The acting is of the highest standard, especially the lead. TheThis is a film that makes it difficult to tear your eyes away from the screen. The raw, believable drama is interlaced in a culture where religion and pride mean everything. The acting is of the highest standard, especially the lead. The writing is consistently excellent and engaging. The tensions that exist both on the surface and bubbling underneath make for a truly great cinematic experience. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
lahaineJan 4, 2012
"Wow!". I'm genuinely surprised by how well this film turned out. I was fooled into believing this would be a dull, family drama, but 'A Separation" is extremely engaging. Its serious, intelligent and simply a very satisfying viewing"Wow!". I'm genuinely surprised by how well this film turned out. I was fooled into believing this would be a dull, family drama, but 'A Separation" is extremely engaging. Its serious, intelligent and simply a very satisfying viewing experience. The deterioration of a marriage and ripple effects it has on the family and individuals outside the family is wonderfully evoked through assured film making and a string of wonderful performances from the foreign cast. The movie flows and unfolds with good timing and closes with one of the finest conclusions of the year. This is simply a very good movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
joomjim4Jun 18, 2012
Critically,This movie has won everything. It has won as many prestigious awards as you can imagine and yes,this film truly deserved it. The acting,the cinemography, the feel, the plot everything was highly well connected and creates one ofCritically,This movie has won everything. It has won as many prestigious awards as you can imagine and yes,this film truly deserved it. The acting,the cinemography, the feel, the plot everything was highly well connected and creates one of the best films of 2011. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
aozetaJan 14, 2012
Wow! Simple plot, yet unique. Good Cast. Well acted characters from brilliantly surprising actors and actresses. Certainly a lock for Best Foreign Language Film for 2011. movienotesbook.blogspot.com
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
allmoviesDec 30, 2011
Asghar Farhadi's thrilling domestic drama from Iran offers acute insights into human motivations and behavior as well as a compelling look at what goes on behind a particular curtain that almost never gets raised.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
jimboesqMar 10, 2012
This is a film of an intimate story of a family torn by love, duty, innocence, religion and law. It deservedly won an Academy award as best foreign film. If you are reading this review, or considering this film, you understand the differenceThis is a film of an intimate story of a family torn by love, duty, innocence, religion and law. It deservedly won an Academy award as best foreign film. If you are reading this review, or considering this film, you understand the difference between a great movie and a great film. If you're looking for the former, then youâ Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
bl_nkJan 15, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Amazing. At the film's core lies the conflict between Nader and Simin, a married couple seeking a separation. Simin wants to leave Iran for a better life abroad, while Nader wants to stay and care for his Alzheimers-ridden father. Caught in the middle of their bickering is their daughter, Termeh. In many ways, the core struggle is symbolic of the struggle many Iranians feel every day. Should they stay and fight to protect the country they love or leave when times get tough? Termeh's decision to live with one parent or another can be interpreted as a judgement on the director's end, regarding which parent is most justified. No such judgement is made. Many other deep moral dilemas are presented to the audience, who are then left to make up their own minds about each character's rightness or wrongness. The movie is beautifully acted, every performance feels organic and real, although that might just be the language and cultural barrier playing tricks on my judgement. At the end of the day, you really could do worse than this movie. It's one of those films that resonates in your brain days after you see it. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
MossyCDLJan 29, 2012
It's rare to see a movie so captivating that you feel like you're only a mere fly on the wall, watching the characters' lives progress. The film engrossed me from the very first scene all the way 'til the end. The actors delve so deep intoIt's rare to see a movie so captivating that you feel like you're only a mere fly on the wall, watching the characters' lives progress. The film engrossed me from the very first scene all the way 'til the end. The actors delve so deep into their roles, that you can't tell that they are acting. They became their characters down to the very core. It's hard not to get attached and feel for each character. The screenplay was masterful and the directing was superb. Quite simply, A Separation is the best film of 2011. If it doesn't win Best Foreign Language Film at the Academy Awards, I'll be gobsmacked. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
SchizophreniacFeb 10, 2014
this film is very brilliant.. I did not pass any time without looking the screen. I get perfect family story, and I understand something which is in my mom's head.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Ali_MarashianJan 24, 2017
One of the best movies, ever. No matter how hard i try, there's absolutely nothing wrong with this movie. Just watch it, to search through some of the hardest decisions of human beings, no one is right or wrong. By far Farhadi's best movie toOne of the best movies, ever. No matter how hard i try, there's absolutely nothing wrong with this movie. Just watch it, to search through some of the hardest decisions of human beings, no one is right or wrong. By far Farhadi's best movie to date and one of the 5 best movies of the century( and that is just easily) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RomanKirbyMar 5, 2016
This is a phenomenal film. This is probably one of the best films of all time. This is incredible! .
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
bcoolJan 29, 2012
now, this is a great film. some may find it slow, but it is incredibly thrilling and keeps you interested all the time, not to mention that we don't get to see a movie like this every day. stays in memory and gives you something to think about.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
homandavoodiDec 31, 2011
this movie is an absolute masterpiece. most important part of Farhadi's film making is screenplay and story. he develops the plot with numerous details and he performs them while shooting. that's why such a very Iranian story and atmospherethis movie is an absolute masterpiece. most important part of Farhadi's film making is screenplay and story. he develops the plot with numerous details and he performs them while shooting. that's why such a very Iranian story and atmosphere fascinated people around the world. I think it's the best movie of the year. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
MickeyMickMic02Feb 19, 2012
Indeed, a masterpiece. Roger Ebert called it the best film of the year, and I definitely agree with him. I was impressed with the lead performances and Asghar Farhadi's great direction & screenplay. I'm glad that he received nominations forIndeed, a masterpiece. Roger Ebert called it the best film of the year, and I definitely agree with him. I was impressed with the lead performances and Asghar Farhadi's great direction & screenplay. I'm glad that he received nominations for both his film and also his screenplay at the Academy Awards. Good luck at the Oscars next week! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
Masoud1986Apr 14, 2013
Another story from Iranian master of suspension Asghar Farhadi is a gripping moral and social drama set in present-day Iran. The story is not only about men and women, children and parents, justice and religion in today's Iran, but thatAnother story from Iranian master of suspension Asghar Farhadi is a gripping moral and social drama set in present-day Iran. The story is not only about men and women, children and parents, justice and religion in today's Iran, but that raises complex and globally relevant questions of responsibility, of the subjectivity and contingency of 'TELLING THE TRUTH', and of how thin the line can be between inflexibility and pride especially of the male variety and selfishness and tyranny. Believable performances from the strong cast and crisp photography, hand-held and intimate without ever being jerky, help to seal the package and also make the movie more acceptable. Though the film lasts over two hours,good and fast-moving editing keeps the action tensely involving from start to finish. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews