Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: December 30, 2011
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 570 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
521
Mixed:
28
Negative:
21
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
lahaineJan 4, 2012
"Wow!". I'm genuinely surprised by how well this film turned out. I was fooled into believing this would be a dull, family drama, but 'A Separation" is extremely engaging. Its serious, intelligent and simply a very satisfying viewing"Wow!". I'm genuinely surprised by how well this film turned out. I was fooled into believing this would be a dull, family drama, but 'A Separation" is extremely engaging. Its serious, intelligent and simply a very satisfying viewing experience. The deterioration of a marriage and ripple effects it has on the family and individuals outside the family is wonderfully evoked through assured film making and a string of wonderful performances from the foreign cast. The movie flows and unfolds with good timing and closes with one of the finest conclusions of the year. This is simply a very good movie. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
bl_nkJan 15, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Amazing. At the film's core lies the conflict between Nader and Simin, a married couple seeking a separation. Simin wants to leave Iran for a better life abroad, while Nader wants to stay and care for his Alzheimers-ridden father. Caught in the middle of their bickering is their daughter, Termeh. In many ways, the core struggle is symbolic of the struggle many Iranians feel every day. Should they stay and fight to protect the country they love or leave when times get tough? Termeh's decision to live with one parent or another can be interpreted as a judgement on the director's end, regarding which parent is most justified. No such judgement is made. Many other deep moral dilemas are presented to the audience, who are then left to make up their own minds about each character's rightness or wrongness. The movie is beautifully acted, every performance feels organic and real, although that might just be the language and cultural barrier playing tricks on my judgement. At the end of the day, you really could do worse than this movie. It's one of those films that resonates in your brain days after you see it. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
jehangirJan 31, 2012
This is the film of the year. Its concerns are universal. The drifting apart of a married couple and their daughter, as tensions build up and small lies spin out of control. Everyone has good reasons for what they do and their own truth whichThis is the film of the year. Its concerns are universal. The drifting apart of a married couple and their daughter, as tensions build up and small lies spin out of control. Everyone has good reasons for what they do and their own truth which looks like lies and distortions to others. This does not add up to a harmonious life. That it all this place in contemporary Iran with its strictures and deprivations only adds to the drama as social classes and degrees of religious observance collide and clash. The characters are flawlessly acted and their imperfections completely authentic. The camera work is brilliant with frequent closeups of actors who seem completely real. There is no preaching or taking sides, the film is humanistic in its sympathy for all the characters even when they transgress. This is movie-making at its best, reminiscent of the films that came from central and eastern Europe during the communist era and its immediate aftermath Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
aozetaJan 14, 2012
Wow! Simple plot, yet unique. Good Cast. Well acted characters from brilliantly surprising actors and actresses. Certainly a lock for Best Foreign Language Film for 2011. movienotesbook.blogspot.com
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
Lawman51Jan 29, 2012
OMG. What a great movie. I am just blown away. Great acting, great writing, great direction, it moves along so fluidly and shows such perception about people and their relationships. Not a happy tale, but the best movie I have seen in aOMG. What a great movie. I am just blown away. Great acting, great writing, great direction, it moves along so fluidly and shows such perception about people and their relationships. Not a happy tale, but the best movie I have seen in a long while. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
cosmic_shameJan 3, 2012
Extremely good. The best written and best acted movie of 2011 for me. There's such a good harmony between the script and the actors, you could doubt that most scenes were improvised, or even real.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
hnaseriJan 8, 2012
This film is one of the best films I have ever seen. and deserves the OSCAR. Its dial with the paradox between family values and the thing that you really want as your personal values. This is real life of all of us... the combination betweenThis film is one of the best films I have ever seen. and deserves the OSCAR. Its dial with the paradox between family values and the thing that you really want as your personal values. This is real life of all of us... the combination between the things that are in reality and the ones we imagine and people think about us. I impressed in the last scene, the girls was not able to decide between her mother (that never tries to fight the problems) and her father (that his authority was not valuable for her anymore)... Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
lasttimeisawSep 7, 2012
This film marks my first time steps into Iranian territory since TURTLES CAN FLY (2004, 8/10), this victory of Academy Awards
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
Mohammed29Jan 10, 2012
I am usually suspective of movies that have great reviews. I've my hopes dashed too many times because my expectacions had been raised to levels that was perhaps unfair to the makers of those films. So going in to watch A Separation i alreadyI am usually suspective of movies that have great reviews. I've my hopes dashed too many times because my expectacions had been raised to levels that was perhaps unfair to the makers of those films. So going in to watch A Separation i already had high hopes. And, the movie exceeded my expectations. I havent't left the cinema so gobsmacked by a film for years. It's this young decades best, most thoughprovoking film. I am so glad I saw it, and now, I'm going to see it again, and again. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
coldenscenceJan 12, 2012
It's one of those rare movies that every single act and dialogues are important. You won't found anything useless and if you do, be sure that you've missed something off the story. So you'll need absolutely every bit of concentration to seeIt's one of those rare movies that every single act and dialogues are important. You won't found anything useless and if you do, be sure that you've missed something off the story. So you'll need absolutely every bit of concentration to see this.

There's no judgment whatsoever during the whole movie and you can sympathize with every character. The story evolves like a piece of puzzle or a domino and the tiniest actions bring severe consequences.

But what makes A Separation more than just a movie is how it's also a rummage of Today's Iran transition phase. It's a story about class-difference and how it can affect one's viewpoint toward another... If you're a fan of Michael Haneke (and specially Cache and The White Ribbon) you'll probably gonna love this movie more than anybody else...

nevertheless, It's like a layered wedding cake which everyone can enjoy depending on his/her viewpoint on life or connection with cinema.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
BosiJan 17, 2012
The movie is very complex and really breathtaking! You need to watch this a few times and each time you meet a new layer and discover about hidden allusions or facts that you would not have noticed in the previous view. A deep and meaningfulThe movie is very complex and really breathtaking! You need to watch this a few times and each time you meet a new layer and discover about hidden allusions or facts that you would not have noticed in the previous view. A deep and meaningful screenplay, very well acted and an amazing camera movement. The editor has done a great job as you could almost not find a useless scene in this film. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
ramak_4Jan 17, 2012
Masterpiece, brilliant, simply i just cried 3 times as I was watching this movie...Simply i can say
If mainstream cinema leaves you soulless, see this film. If you have a modicum of intelligence, see this film. If you like great acting and
Masterpiece, brilliant, simply i just cried 3 times as I was watching this movie...Simply i can say
If mainstream cinema leaves you soulless, see this film. If you have a modicum of intelligence, see this film. If you like great acting and directing, see this film. If you like great writing and editing, see this film. If you have an interest in law, see this film.

If you are a parent, see this film.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
hami01Jan 21, 2012
It really is an Excellent movie, this was one of the best movies I ever saw. 10/10 great movie from directing and screen-writing point of view, and we should not forget the great job of the actors my favorite character was Peyman Maadi, heIt really is an Excellent movie, this was one of the best movies I ever saw. 10/10 great movie from directing and screen-writing point of view, and we should not forget the great job of the actors my favorite character was Peyman Maadi, he did an awesome job in this movie, They also try their best to show the regular difficulty that Iranians have in their daily lives, which makes it more interesting for people around the world. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
plxmaxJan 26, 2012
The best film ever which has a very complicated structure full of details.Excellent work. It shows a medium level family dealing with their own problems and face the problems caused by a poor family.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
ray_arc7Jan 27, 2012
I say : Fantastic of Year is hear !! and when i saw about elly , the past film of farhadi , is SO amazing , that have a real mystery like rebeca of hitchkak !!! I like both of them ( a separation and about elly) , because mystery is fantastic !!
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
bcoolJan 29, 2012
now, this is a great film. some may find it slow, but it is incredibly thrilling and keeps you interested all the time, not to mention that we don't get to see a movie like this every day. stays in memory and gives you something to think about.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
theotherone55Feb 28, 2012
A great view into human emotions through a foreign lens. The emotions are real and the way of life is different but you will walk away pleased with what you saw. Great movie.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
HesaamMar 11, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very Good Writing
Very good Actress
Its Different Movie.
Bravoo Asghar Farhadi
It was worthy of an Win Oscar
I had never seen a long time same a film
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
joomjim4Jun 18, 2012
Critically,This movie has won everything. It has won as many prestigious awards as you can imagine and yes,this film truly deserved it. The acting,the cinemography, the feel, the plot everything was highly well connected and creates one ofCritically,This movie has won everything. It has won as many prestigious awards as you can imagine and yes,this film truly deserved it. The acting,the cinemography, the feel, the plot everything was highly well connected and creates one of the best films of 2011. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
seancriswellMar 12, 2013
From the opening scene of A Separation I knew I would enjoy this film. The dialogue is smart and ambiguous. The shot is framed so that all your attention is focused on the two characters, you are hanging on every word. Invested in whatFrom the opening scene of A Separation I knew I would enjoy this film. The dialogue is smart and ambiguous. The shot is framed so that all your attention is focused on the two characters, you are hanging on every word. Invested in what emotion they are conveying and thus invested in them as characters right from the beginning. So it goes with A Separation a dialogue, character driven Iranian film that will have you invested throughout.

The driving force behind this film is conflict. Nearly every character that comes in contact with each other has some sort of conflict at some point. How they react to the conflict engages us and drives the narrative forward. A Separation also makes nearly every character both sympathetic and unsympathetic at the same time. At any given time we are mostly unaware of who is lying and whether their motives are pure.

As an American viewer I was also quite intrigued at some of the cultural conflict in this film. There is a married couple who are devout Muslims and this informs many of the decisions they make throughout the film. Their conflict as a result of their beliefs is not something that most of us can relate to. Even the religious devout in our culture would not allow these things to become a point of contention. For an outsider this definitely added to my intrigue within the film.

A Separation is a well made intriguing drama. The writing is superb. The acting is very good, especially Maadi. While the visuals are not particularly note worthy, the scenes are framed very well, in a way that engages the viewer. A Separation is a must view for any film lover.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
RumkegOct 4, 2012
The film is the best reviewed film of 2011 and totally deserves it: thoughtfully written, brilliantly acted, and most notably, flawlessly directed. Asghar Farhadi is considered by many as a prodigy in modern Iranian film making, and afterThe film is the best reviewed film of 2011 and totally deserves it: thoughtfully written, brilliantly acted, and most notably, flawlessly directed. Asghar Farhadi is considered by many as a prodigy in modern Iranian film making, and after watching this movie, one can hardly argue with that. My only concern remains now, how is he going to follow this film's success? Can he surpass this one? I just hope he doesn't disappoint his fans, since nothing less than perfection is expected from him. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Thanks to a morally complex script, a slew of utterly fantastic performances, and an appealingly modest style of direction, "A Separation" very clearly represents some of the best filmmaking work to come out of the middle east.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
worleyjamersDec 6, 2012
The absolute best film of 2011, by far. Perfectly written. Perfectly acted. A masterpiece! A brilliant view into the lives and cultures of modern day Iran.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
ibbsteDec 30, 2011
Nearly flawless in every aspect of its construction, from the intricately crafted screenplay (STAKES STAKES STAKES!) to the almost bizarrely consistent top of the line performances across the board to subtle camerawork that establishedNearly flawless in every aspect of its construction, from the intricately crafted screenplay (STAKES STAKES STAKES!) to the almost bizarrely consistent top of the line performances across the board to subtle camerawork that established spatial relations between each character in crucial ways to the overall product, the result is a deeply felt humanistic piece with deep implications of social critique, gender relations, hegemonic religiosity, class struggles, justice systems and basic questions of moral and personal truthful ambiguity of right and wrong that can make the slightest statement or action make you as squeamish as the rapiest torture sequences in Dragon Tattoo. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
kavenDec 31, 2011
This is the film of the year.This is the best Drama movie I have ever seen.It shows we can not judge anyone and there is no bad or good guy , (we are all gray with shadows and highlights).I recommend to see this movie , you won't be disappointed.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
movi60centJan 5, 2012
If mainstream cinema leaves you soulless, see this film. If you have a modicum of intelligence, see this film. If you like great acting and directing, see this film. If you like great writing and editing, see this film. If you have anIf mainstream cinema leaves you soulless, see this film. If you have a modicum of intelligence, see this film. If you like great acting and directing, see this film. If you like great writing and editing, see this film. If you have an interest in law, see this film.

If you are a parent, see this film
Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
7
allmoviesDec 30, 2011
Asghar Farhadi's thrilling domestic drama from Iran offers acute insights into human motivations and behavior as well as a compelling look at what goes on behind a particular curtain that almost never gets raised.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
BHBarryJan 13, 2012
â
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
salehsobhanJan 5, 2012
I have now watched A Separation of Nader and Simin, thrice. And each time new layers of complex film making where different political, social and theological innuendos are revealed. I can say without any doubt that this is not only the bestI have now watched A Separation of Nader and Simin, thrice. And each time new layers of complex film making where different political, social and theological innuendos are revealed. I can say without any doubt that this is not only the best film of 2011, It is indeed one of the finest piece of cinema ever made. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
MossyCDLJan 29, 2012
It's rare to see a movie so captivating that you feel like you're only a mere fly on the wall, watching the characters' lives progress. The film engrossed me from the very first scene all the way 'til the end. The actors delve so deep intoIt's rare to see a movie so captivating that you feel like you're only a mere fly on the wall, watching the characters' lives progress. The film engrossed me from the very first scene all the way 'til the end. The actors delve so deep into their roles, that you can't tell that they are acting. They became their characters down to the very core. It's hard not to get attached and feel for each character. The screenplay was masterful and the directing was superb. Quite simply, A Separation is the best film of 2011. If it doesn't win Best Foreign Language Film at the Academy Awards, I'll be gobsmacked. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews