Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: December 11, 2009
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 199 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
168
Mixed:
24
Negative:
7
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
GaleG.Dec 30, 2009
All Colin Firth all the time. And, of course, he's perfect. Beautiful movie about living through a paralyzingly ugly part of life: loss.
5 of 5 users found this helpful
10
raco2046Oct 27, 2010
Love, love, love it! If you are familiar with Wong Kar Wai and love 50s era cinema recreations, this is a film for you to watch. I celebrate Tom Ford has such a detailed and suave eye for moviemaking as he does for fashion. One truly expectsLove, love, love it! If you are familiar with Wong Kar Wai and love 50s era cinema recreations, this is a film for you to watch. I celebrate Tom Ford has such a detailed and suave eye for moviemaking as he does for fashion. One truly expects his second film to have the consistency of this marvelous piece, the acting is superb and the overall feel is ... sheer delight. @cinemaquote Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
AnthonyKFeb 10, 2010
Unfaithful shallow adaptation of an icon of 20th fiction portraying a sad, sullen gay pity party ending in death. Firth was magnificent, as well as the supporting cast, but Ford is not a screenwriter.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
RobbieCJan 4, 2010
Absolutely gorgeous.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
joelDec 14, 2009
The film borrows its strengths from other filmmakers but hasn't a voice or personality of its own. Self-conscious and self-absorbed direction makes for a long and ponderous "small" film. Coil Firth is striking for his understated (at The film borrows its strengths from other filmmakers but hasn't a voice or personality of its own. Self-conscious and self-absorbed direction makes for a long and ponderous "small" film. Coil Firth is striking for his understated (at times narcotized) performance that helps to provide moments of grounding for a movie in a state of constant free-fall. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
0
RizzoP.Dec 13, 2009
I think this may be one of the worst made movies i have ever seen. It is so oblique it's laughable. please please spare yourself the pain and suffering of seeing this horrible over wrought piece of self important nonsense. spare yourself!!!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
csw12Mar 25, 2012
A Single Man is a single pile of crap. What a totat bore this was. It is a laughable film but the problem was it wasn't a comedy. It is stupid self- absorbing film about a gay guy. How much less interesting can it get. One of the worstA Single Man is a single pile of crap. What a totat bore this was. It is a laughable film but the problem was it wasn't a comedy. It is stupid self- absorbing film about a gay guy. How much less interesting can it get. One of the worst pictures of the year. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
Trev29Apr 2, 2012
Absolutely horrible. It was so boring. I feel asleep. The replication of the early 60's was excellent but the entire plot and script were so dull. Just writing about it almost puts me to sleep.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
BobG.Feb 9, 2010
As nuanced and affecting as a Calvin Klein ad, with the exception of Firth. The music was intrusive and the cinematography was ostentatious and gimmicky. I left feeling emotionally flat and unmoved.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MicheleM.Jan 6, 2010
A stunning film that should have received better media handling and a wider release.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillyS.Jan 19, 2010
The Dignity in which Colin Firth portrays the unbareably grief-stricken George in A Single Man is the stuff Oscar nominations are won, because it is set in a time (early 60's) that he can't reveal his devastation simply makes his The Dignity in which Colin Firth portrays the unbareably grief-stricken George in A Single Man is the stuff Oscar nominations are won, because it is set in a time (early 60's) that he can't reveal his devastation simply makes his performance sheer brilliance. Tom Ford has brought his sense of design to his new medium with the same perfection. A Single Man is a stunning debut and heartbreakingly sublime. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KathleenC.Jan 31, 2010
Colin Firth deserves to win the Academy Award for best actor, but he won't.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlfonsoA.Jan 31, 2010
A superb movie in every way. Quietly magnificent with no bombs, murders or flying saucers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TimW.Feb 10, 2010
Visually stunning, but lacks the emotional depth and sophistication of the book. Added scenes and constant flashbacks break up the simplicity of the narrative happening in one day, and the who suicide theme is not apparent at all in the Visually stunning, but lacks the emotional depth and sophistication of the book. Added scenes and constant flashbacks break up the simplicity of the narrative happening in one day, and the who suicide theme is not apparent at all in the novel and seems to be a cheap way to manipulate the audience. The casting of Kenny is completely off and acting horrible. However, the cameo by Don Bacardi, the lover of author Chris Isherwood, and a drawing by Bacardi in George's home were a nice touch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomR.Feb 2, 2010
I was very fortunate to stumble upon this film on a rainy Sunday afternoon. Beautifully filmed with incredible attention to detail and acted by two of the best in Hollywood, A Single Man was one of the best of the year. At least Colin Firth I was very fortunate to stumble upon this film on a rainy Sunday afternoon. Beautifully filmed with incredible attention to detail and acted by two of the best in Hollywood, A Single Man was one of the best of the year. At least Colin Firth got a nomination for his performance. I've never seen an actor express the depth of grief that Mr. Firth conveyed early in the movie when the camera focused just on his face! Incredible! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LornaSFeb 28, 2010
This too beautiful and cold film is saved by the amazing Colin Firth,who is left on his own because the film doesn't go below the surface.To make it worse,while trying to be arty,the director overused string music taking us back and forth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
janetmMar 14, 2010
Truly a masterpiece. Colin Firth's brilliance, yes, has been said... But the impeccable attention to detail in design that evokes emotional & psychological memories of an era from which those of us who lived through it will never Truly a masterpiece. Colin Firth's brilliance, yes, has been said... But the impeccable attention to detail in design that evokes emotional & psychological memories of an era from which those of us who lived through it will never entirely heal. Exceptional. Thank you Tom Ford. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatyApr 25, 2010
Mesmerizing from the first moment. So original, moving, enchanting. The eyes, the colors, the music. Nothing else like it. What a joy!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlessandraSJan 29, 2010
So poignant and beautiful that I am still thinking about it a week after i saw it. Colin Firth at his finest. This movie will move you and make you think. A masterpiece. Enjoy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AstridIFeb 25, 2010
Unforgettable. Colin Firth was magnificent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyranWMar 13, 2010
Just glorious. Captivating art directiona nd cinematography. loved it, haven't given 10/10 in a long time. feels good
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelLMar 19, 2010
Almost a flawless movie, with such a beautiful understated performance by Colin Firth. He portrays the slow, quiet and almost invisible agony over the loss of his lover.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AustinR.Mar 25, 2010
You don't need to be gay to enjoy this film. It's a surrealist experience. I'm a huge David Lynch fan, and found the imagery of this movie very appealing. If you, too are a Lynch fan, you're not exactly a-shooing to love You don't need to be gay to enjoy this film. It's a surrealist experience. I'm a huge David Lynch fan, and found the imagery of this movie very appealing. If you, too are a Lynch fan, you're not exactly a-shooing to love this movie. There is, however, no reason to dislike this movie unless you are horribly homophobic... Keith Uhlich of Time Out New York. Man, fucking rot in hell. Drill Sergeant, what do you have to say? "I didn't know they stacked shit as high as 5' 9"." Well put. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaveW.Dec 11, 2009
Visually stunning and the best performance of Firth's career.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
OttoD.Dec 26, 2009
This film like any film has its downfalls (most of which are minor and fail to take away from the beauty of the piece), yet the expert cinematography and well written script capture the essence and emotion that is of Prof. Falconer as he This film like any film has its downfalls (most of which are minor and fail to take away from the beauty of the piece), yet the expert cinematography and well written script capture the essence and emotion that is of Prof. Falconer as he goes through what he hopes will be his last day on earth. Tom Ford does an amazing job in his directorial debut, and it would certainly appear that this fantastic film will receive plenty of accolades during the award season. Please go see this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlesS.Dec 26, 2009
A wonderful film beautifully set and acted! The sexual tension between Firth and his young stalker was palpable. This film rates right up there with Brokeback Mountain. Oscars for everyone!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ADec 27, 2009
My favorite film of the year! I walked in not knowing what to expect and left stunned. The true test of a great film, at least for me, is whether it transports you to another place and time and when it does, whether it has something My favorite film of the year! I walked in not knowing what to expect and left stunned. The true test of a great film, at least for me, is whether it transports you to another place and time and when it does, whether it has something meaningful to say. This film succeeds on both fronts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackDec 11, 2009
Visually beautiful and elegantly acted. Should be an Oscar nod for Colin Firth. Kudos to Tom Ford!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JerryC.Dec 11, 2009
Beautifully shot film. And the casting of Firth and Moore was perfection. The only weak point in the movie was the slo-mo owl toward the end. (And no, it's not a spoiler).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LucyDDec 12, 2009
A bit of an obsession with floating nude male bodies and it's symbolism with either death or rebirth but that is my only complaint and why I gave it a 9. Magnificent performance by Colin Firth which was the impetus for the unveiling of A bit of an obsession with floating nude male bodies and it's symbolism with either death or rebirth but that is my only complaint and why I gave it a 9. Magnificent performance by Colin Firth which was the impetus for the unveiling of this moving story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful