New Line Cinema | Release Date: December 13, 2002
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 186 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
120
Mixed:
22
Negative:
44
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
RandyG.Jan 13, 2003
I cannot believe some of these rave reviews. Absolutely very slow uninteresting story. Yes Jack Nicholson can act, but is this a new revelation so as to make a movie entertaining? There aren't any redeeming qualities about this tedious I cannot believe some of these rave reviews. Absolutely very slow uninteresting story. Yes Jack Nicholson can act, but is this a new revelation so as to make a movie entertaining? There aren't any redeeming qualities about this tedious boring film. Go if you must but you have been advised. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RaggazzaC.Jan 6, 2003
What a long, boring tedious film. Unattractive people in a totally uninteresting story. l always stay until the end....this time it was too painful.I walked out! Don't say i didn't warn you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RobertH.Jan 7, 2003
We all know that JN and KB are very likeable and can act. That does not make for an automatic great movie. DULL is the best word to describe this drek. Avoid at all costs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LassiterP.Mar 22, 2003
One of the most boring movies I have ever seen? It is similar to Seinfeld in that it is a flick about nothing, but at least Seinfeld was funny. About Schmidt is absolutely terrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JohnS.Jul 5, 2003
A real sleeper definitely not a keeper.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FantasyL.Jan 7, 2003
Let me preface my score by stating that I am big fan of both Jack Nicholson and Kathy Bates. They are among the elite actors of our generation! Having said that, "About Schmidt" is a pretentious, boring, tedious, slow developing saga of a Let me preface my score by stating that I am big fan of both Jack Nicholson and Kathy Bates. They are among the elite actors of our generation! Having said that, "About Schmidt" is a pretentious, boring, tedious, slow developing saga of a midwestener who wakes up at age 67 and discovers that he has no purpose in life. Even the county scenery as he drives through middle America is flat and uninspiring. As a moviegoer, I go to the movies to be entertained. There is none here! Just a overrated film by the professional critics that is not worthy of your time or money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LassisterP.Jan 7, 2003
Kathy Bates nude is all I could take. I walked out at that point. This is dull boring movie about nothing that is so slooooow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
IggyZ.Jan 7, 2003
If I never see or hear another professional opinion again that would be fine by me. Schmidt is a horribly overrated film that is so slow in developing that I actually had trouble keeping my eyes open. It is as boring as the character's If I never see or hear another professional opinion again that would be fine by me. Schmidt is a horribly overrated film that is so slow in developing that I actually had trouble keeping my eyes open. It is as boring as the character's life Nicholson portrays. Rent it if you must watch this garbage. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JanetS.Jan 9, 2003
So uninteresting, so boring, and so slow that I fell asleep in the theater. You have been warned.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GrimReaperMar 10, 2003
One of the most boring films ever made. Way overrated. So Jack Nicholson can act, you think? We already know that. I'm sorry but watching Jack tinkle in the toilet is not my cup of tea and Kathy Bates nude, please! Don't waste your money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LarryG.Mar 26, 2003
I went to see About Schmidt because it would appear that the Metacritic reviewers either loved or hated it. Jack is fantastic but the subject matter is too slow moving and uninteresting. I had all that I could do to stay awake and watch. I went to see About Schmidt because it would appear that the Metacritic reviewers either loved or hated it. Jack is fantastic but the subject matter is too slow moving and uninteresting. I had all that I could do to stay awake and watch. Just not my cup of tea. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JackrabbitApr 13, 2003
Horrible horrible horrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
StephenT.Apr 14, 2003
After watching this simplistic boring movie, I believe that Elliot is in need of Anger Management. Without a doubt About Schmidt is a movie about nothing without any redeeming feature. Kathy Bates nude in a hot tub? I will have nightmares After watching this simplistic boring movie, I believe that Elliot is in need of Anger Management. Without a doubt About Schmidt is a movie about nothing without any redeeming feature. Kathy Bates nude in a hot tub? I will have nightmares for a long time. Pleeeezzzze? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AaronApr 1, 2003
If you like bathroom humor about Jack tinkling, or Kathy Bates walking into a hot tub bearing it all (a horrible sight), then About Schmidt is for you. Otherwise is it just a boring film about nothing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
HarleyD.Apr 17, 2003
Possibly one of the most boring unflattering movies ever made. It depicts life in the midwest as dull, prosaic and not worth living. Having come from the midwest nothing could be further from the truth. This movie is a lie and absolute bore.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DelroyT.May 20, 2003
Possibly one of the most overrated movies I have ever seen. Painfully slow, boring and dreadful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JeffB.Jun 15, 2003
This is the movie that keeps you watching because you are sure it will become very interesting during the next scene. Trouble is it never does. Nicholson is once again the same character, with the same expressions, as always (with the This is the movie that keeps you watching because you are sure it will become very interesting during the next scene. Trouble is it never does. Nicholson is once again the same character, with the same expressions, as always (with the exception of The Shining, only after he turns). Boring and barely watchable, don't become stuck waiting for the movie to turn into a great comment on life - it doesn't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlS.Jul 1, 2003
I'm all for realism and I don't mind slow moving films, but this went no where. My wife fell asleep and I couldn't even finish the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JamesL.Jan 15, 2003
Until I saw "Adaptation," I thought this was the most overrated movie of the year. Nichelson's facial expressions were not enough to hide the blandness, boredom, and disappointment that he must have felt for being involved in this rv Until I saw "Adaptation," I thought this was the most overrated movie of the year. Nichelson's facial expressions were not enough to hide the blandness, boredom, and disappointment that he must have felt for being involved in this rv trip to nowhere. Tragic is correct in that it is tragic that the critics sell us on this movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JulianR.Oct 30, 2003
This is probably the worst film I have ever watched. Its too long, its crap, the acting's crap, the story has no meaning, and its crap. It too slow and I cannot see anyone enjoying it. I bought it because of the reviews and stuff and it This is probably the worst film I have ever watched. Its too long, its crap, the acting's crap, the story has no meaning, and its crap. It too slow and I cannot see anyone enjoying it. I bought it because of the reviews and stuff and it was cheap it was 2 for a 10er but I really regret it. Whoever made it should get a life because it was appauling, he should give up his job cause hes going no where. I cant see how this movie was commedy it was just a movie about some sad guy witha miserable life. I felt sorry for him, didnt think it was funny at all. yeah thats about it thats why i give it a 0. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GypsyL.Mar 17, 2003
Adam, Jack might still have it, but the rest of this movie passed away while it was being made. Watching Jack pee and seeing Kathy Bates nude is more than I need to know. In one word...Booooring!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JaredH.Mar 20, 2003
Absolutely dull boring movie that paints middle America in a very bad light. So Jack can act? It still doesn't make up for a trailer trash movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
WarrenMar 23, 2003
Jack Nicholson is marvelous. As for the movie this was not entertainment in any way. Horribly dull. I had all that I could do to stay awake. Life in middle America cannot be this mundane?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JackieS.Apr 7, 2003
What the hell was About Schmidt about. Can you spell dull and boring?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JanetaS.Apr 8, 2003
This was the worst most boring movie I have ever seen. I want a refund.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
NoahS.Dec 23, 2002
Condescending and awful. the characters are all caricatures of "midwestern types" played for laughs to self-satisfied, superior, smug urban audiences. not one thing here is real and the entire experience, especially the audiences snarkyCondescending and awful. the characters are all caricatures of "midwestern types" played for laughs to self-satisfied, superior, smug urban audiences. not one thing here is real and the entire experience, especially the audiences snarky laughter was just plain depressing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JohnnaZ.Mar 11, 2003
The answer to insomnia? About Schmidt. Absolutely lame.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AppleMar 22, 2003
This is pure trailer trash without any redeeming characters. If this represents life in the midwest, I hope that I am never transferred there as I would seriously consider suicide. The only thing that could have saved this movie is if This is pure trailer trash without any redeeming characters. If this represents life in the midwest, I hope that I am never transferred there as I would seriously consider suicide. The only thing that could have saved this movie is if someone had called Dr. Kerovkian before this movie was released. Boooorrrrrring! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RayL.Mar 24, 2003
After watching AS I think that Chinese Water Torture dripping on my head might be more fun? I would rather go to the dentist then be subjected to watching this tedious dull film again. Who writes this crap?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
WandaMar 29, 2003
Aboout Schmidt = Tedius boredom.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DavidK.Apr 11, 2003
Elliot, phone home. You have watched moss grow on a rock one too many times. Without a doubt the most boring movie ever made. I would rather have bamboo shoots placed under my nails then watch that crap again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MIkeG.Dec 7, 2005
This is a movie that failed to mix the funny scenes and the serious scenes well. The funny scenes were certainly funny, and Nichollson's delivery is certainly dead on. But the supposedly poignant scenes are greatly blunted by the way This is a movie that failed to mix the funny scenes and the serious scenes well. The funny scenes were certainly funny, and Nichollson's delivery is certainly dead on. But the supposedly poignant scenes are greatly blunted by the way this movie is paced. Is Payne making fun of these characters or does he want you to embrace them? It's unclear, and the result is a film that left me feeling dissatisfied with the results, unconcerned about what would happen to any of the characters, and not invested in the performances. The movie also really doesn't have an ending for Schmidt - he's just kind of an afterthought that gets lost in the Davis/Mulroney storyline. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful