New Line Cinema | Release Date: December 13, 2002
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 117 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
89
Mixed:
15
Negative:
13
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
SpangleJul 26, 2016
About Schmidt is a terrific film with a killer lead performance from Jack Nicholson. As with all of Alexander Payne's films, this one is one that really resonates with the human condition. A film about aging and loss, About Schmidt is trulyAbout Schmidt is a terrific film with a killer lead performance from Jack Nicholson. As with all of Alexander Payne's films, this one is one that really resonates with the human condition. A film about aging and loss, About Schmidt is truly beautiful at times in his musings on life and also quite funny at times, as is typical with Payne's works. Well-written and well crafted, this melancholy little comedy-drama has a unique approach to its topic that separates it from similar films, while also never becoming boring. Excellently paced, I thought it was possible it could slack of at times, but it luckily never did and kept the feels and laughs coming from beginning to end. Overall, About Schmidt is yet another great addition to Payne's filmography. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CalibMcBoltsMay 30, 2016
The way it is presented is the main flaw with this film. Everywhere you look this movie is labeled as a ''comedy'' which is awfully misconceiving. Sure ''About Schmidt'' as funny moments and is sometimes full of light hearted fun, but thatThe way it is presented is the main flaw with this film. Everywhere you look this movie is labeled as a ''comedy'' which is awfully misconceiving. Sure ''About Schmidt'' as funny moments and is sometimes full of light hearted fun, but that isnt the main theme of the movie, it really isnt. Because of how this movie is labeled people expected a comedy, starring old man Jack Nicholson, who wouldn't want to see that, i sure would, but instead they got an incredibly powerful, emotional character study on a broken man's life. It's an incredible movie, i will say that, but because it's billed as a comedy, audiences probably left the theatre upset and disappointed, hence the ''low'' score on each movie site i looked at, which is a shame, because "About Schmidt'' is truly an incredible film.
Jack Nicholson proves us yet again that he truly is one of the best actors to have ever lived, even as an old man he still shines with this brilliantly nuanced and subtle performance.
The story is touching, the detail is impeccable, the score is truly affecting, and the cinematography is seamless. There really isnt alot to complain about it, except the marketing flaws and maybe the slow pace this movie has, which bothered a lot of people, but not me, i thought it was perfect for a movie about an old man, just like i think the slow-pace in a movie like ''The Straight Story'' where the pace of the movie is truly as fast as Mr. Straight's lawn mower. Which was perfect.

All in all ''About Schmidt'' is a beautiful character study with yet another great performance by late and great Jack Nicholson
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticAug 12, 2014
Of retirement, of loss, of soul-searching. Of life. Alexander Payne creates the most natural films films can produce. This, is what should have been Jack Nicholson's most deserving Oscar. He pulls himself away from his cocky, intimidating andOf retirement, of loss, of soul-searching. Of life. Alexander Payne creates the most natural films films can produce. This, is what should have been Jack Nicholson's most deserving Oscar. He pulls himself away from his cocky, intimidating and sometimes arrogant charm that he has added to so many of his movies, and has given us a truly human role: a man with limits, faults, and weakness'. Kathy Bates makes you want to piss your pants, so to speak. The film is great. Jack Nicholson: so amazing it's surreal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
talisencrwJan 17, 2014
I loved seeing this at the theatres when it was released. At the time I hadn't seen anything by Alexander Payne, but made a mental note that I'd keep an eye on his work, and with good reason. Nicholson was excellent as I had come to expect,I loved seeing this at the theatres when it was released. At the time I hadn't seen anything by Alexander Payne, but made a mental note that I'd keep an eye on his work, and with good reason. Nicholson was excellent as I had come to expect, the writing was exemplary, Bates was hilarious and the ending was very poignant: I was quite surprised it didn't get any Oscars, though it achieved other merits. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Jack Nicholson gives a truly dynamic performance as the titular character in Alexander Payne's poignant, clever, and idyllic dramedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
john24Jun 25, 2012
Really good .
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
pkgadersonsJun 10, 2012
I just love this! Jack Nicholson is my all time favorite actor. He plays so well all of his roles in every movie he does, great movie, it is really sad
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
anothercoolguyJun 10, 2012
This is a great movie, i loved jack nicholson´s performance as i always do, it is very sentimental and good, one of my favorite movies from nicholson, i really recomend it
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
D-SliceDec 24, 2010
I think to fully appreciate About Schmidt we have to first view it as a drama, then as a comedy. It excels at both heartbreak and humor, but when you get down to it, you are given a great theme (not given away too easily as to be a cliche;I think to fully appreciate About Schmidt we have to first view it as a drama, then as a comedy. It excels at both heartbreak and humor, but when you get down to it, you are given a great theme (not given away too easily as to be a cliche; some of the humor is, though), compelling and interesting characters acted pitch perfectly and a quite original plot line. Awesome screenplay and an awesome movie overall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KennyM.Mar 28, 2008
Incredibly funny and sad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SimonS.Dec 5, 2007
Great, touching movie. I'm now a huge fan of Alexander Payne. Election is also great and of course Sideways. Even his short in Paris J'taime was soo well done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveCDec 20, 2006
This movie is so special becuase it does not insult your intelligence. Please be careful- it's not Ricky Bobby or Adam Sandler. Don't see it if you are looking for mindless entertainment. You won't like it. As far as the point This movie is so special becuase it does not insult your intelligence. Please be careful- it's not Ricky Bobby or Adam Sandler. Don't see it if you are looking for mindless entertainment. You won't like it. As far as the point of the movie, I'd say it is summed up by Thoreau "Most men lead lives of quiet desperation." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyB.Apr 28, 2006
This movie reaked of excellence. The way this film was written the directing the acting the story. However it may not appeal to everyone because it has the tendancy to lag at points,however for me i found it very entertaining, well written, This movie reaked of excellence. The way this film was written the directing the acting the story. However it may not appeal to everyone because it has the tendancy to lag at points,however for me i found it very entertaining, well written, and very sad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamKJan 11, 2006
Out of the despair of a life of disposable accomplishments and artificial emotion, in the end all that remains is faith, hope and love.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MIkeG.Dec 7, 2005
This is a movie that failed to mix the funny scenes and the serious scenes well. The funny scenes were certainly funny, and Nichollson's delivery is certainly dead on. But the supposedly poignant scenes are greatly blunted by the way This is a movie that failed to mix the funny scenes and the serious scenes well. The funny scenes were certainly funny, and Nichollson's delivery is certainly dead on. But the supposedly poignant scenes are greatly blunted by the way this movie is paced. Is Payne making fun of these characters or does he want you to embrace them? It's unclear, and the result is a film that left me feeling dissatisfied with the results, unconcerned about what would happen to any of the characters, and not invested in the performances. The movie also really doesn't have an ending for Schmidt - he's just kind of an afterthought that gets lost in the Davis/Mulroney storyline. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful