Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 189 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: At the age of 21, Tim Lake discovers he can travel back in time, but as his unusual life progresses, Tim finds out that his unique gift canâ
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Oct 31, 2013
    89
    The movie moves episodically, leisurely, through roughly a decade, and that feels like a gift: to nestle in with these extraordinary, ordinary people and get to know them.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Oct 30, 2013
    75
    Gleeson and McAdams make a touching, lifelike couple, but by the time the movie starts telling us to live each day as if we were going back and doing it all over again, you may feel Curtis has mistaken hokum for wisdom.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Nov 1, 2013
    75
    What results is amusing, gently entertaining and might induce a tear or two.
  4. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Sep 25, 2013
    63
    A surprisingly thoughtful romantic comedy that shirks a great deal of reason and consequence in the name of love.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Nov 1, 2013
    58
    There’s a creepy subtext to all this, especially when Tim uses his time-travel gifts to woo an American girl without her assent.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Oct 31, 2013
    50
    Like a doggie in a window, this romcom relentlessly wags its tail so you'll fall in love and take it home. Not this time, puppy.
  7. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Sep 24, 2013
    25
    About Time, inadvertently, reveals itself to be About Men, and how they devise lies in order to create the illusion that all women supposedly want to see.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 43
  2. Negative: 5 out of 43
  1. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    Whoever gave this review less than 11/10, is a complete idiot because this is one of the best movies ever created. I laughed, I cried (a lot)Whoever gave this review less than 11/10, is a complete idiot because this is one of the best movies ever created. I laughed, I cried (a lot) and I'm a male....and straight...I only created this account on Metacritic to rate this movie...will also probably rate others. While I'm here, Inception and Butterfly effect were awesome Expand
  2. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    About Time is a sweet movie, lives to its joyous script and direction. It's a film that doesn't waste your time but does make it. Have aAbout Time is a sweet movie, lives to its joyous script and direction. It's a film that doesn't waste your time but does make it. Have a second chance in life, so have it. The acting was great and Bill Nighy doesn't dissapoint but makes it better. Watch it, and love it. One of the best comedies of this year yet. Expand
  3. Dec 8, 2013
    9
    In regards to the film “About Time”...

    In this age of out-of-this-world ridiculous visual effects, computer graphics, action stunts and
    In regards to the film “About Time”...

    In this age of out-of-this-world ridiculous visual effects, computer graphics, action stunts and massive Hollywood blockbuster productions worth hundreds of millions of dollars, we get this subtle little film “About Time”, which offers us the complete opposite of what we, as an audience, have come to expect from Hollywood to entertain us. The film is exquisitely scripted, backed by tremendous performances by the actors, especially by Bill Nighy, and most of all, the film gives us a dose of deep, meaningful emotional roller coaster.
    At the beginning, we find that the central character’s family has a deep secret: the men of that family are able to travel back in time. This makes one skeptical of the entire movie: haven’t we already had a story like this before? From this point on, it seems as though the plot and the dialogue of the rest of the film are like a subtle closing argument as to why that time travel aspect is not really an important aspect of the film, although it does affect the story.
    Another misconception of this film is that while it seems like a story of a man and a woman falling in love, it really is about the relationship between a father and a son. Their storyline pretty much outclasses and overshadows every other storyline of the film. From that prior skepticism when we first hear about the time travelling ability, as the story unfolds and the plot thickens, the audience becomes emotionally manhandled. Why? Because of love.
    We see the chase for love, the choices that are made for and because of love, the consequences of love, and finally, the hardest part for us humans when we deal with love: knowing when to let go and have the courage to move on after losing love. That skepticism that I mentioned about at the beginning of the film? It dramatically changes into support, with the audience longing for the son to use his abilities more and more. You can sense, hear and feel the emotional wreckage going on in the theater, not because of the romance between a husband and wife, but because, for most of us, we don’t have that loving relationship depicted here between father and son.
    This movie couldn’t have come to Korea at a better time. With Christmas almost here, it’s almost as though this film has come to remind us that with the time we have, maybe we need to focus on what is really important to us. Even in a materialistic society like Korea, maybe this movie can remind us and help us move in the right direction little by little.
    Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    Just so everyone knows, my last username was "man", but the account was deleted. So this is my new username. But anyway, I was very satisfiedJust so everyone knows, my last username was "man", but the account was deleted. So this is my new username. But anyway, I was very satisfied with how well this movie turned out. The chemistry between Domnall Gleeson and Rachel McAdams was a pure delight to watch onscreen! The rest of the supporting cast, including old school English actor Bill Nighy also did superb! It's the characters in this movie that really bring out the emotions I felt while watching this. They really make you feel something! The story felt a little "Been there, done that" at times. However, it couldn't defeat the true charm and joy this movie made me feel! So overall, this movie really was an absolutely delightful and charming experience! For me, it was quite possibly this year's best romantic comedy as well! Expand
  5. May 11, 2014
    8
    A film you fall in love with even knowing their are some small time travel issues. The acting is top notch the music is great and the filmA film you fall in love with even knowing their are some small time travel issues. The acting is top notch the music is great and the film left me really adoring it. A- Expand
  6. Jun 2, 2014
    7
    It turns out that the movie is not about a love story. It’s more about fatherhood. It’s a shame it had to sell the love story part in itsIt turns out that the movie is not about a love story. It’s more about fatherhood. It’s a shame it had to sell the love story part in its promotion to get people watching this movie.

    The directing and the cinematography is absolutely beautiful. In terms of directing, this is a wonderful swan song for Richard Curtis’ directing career.

    However, the story lacked strong conflict. The love story in this movie did not have any conflict at all. It seemed like it’s too much of a perfect romantic story, which felt unrealistic.

    And the plot holes in this story is very noticeable. To get my point, I had to list down the time traveling rules, applied in the movie.

    1-)Only male members of the family can travel in time.: This rule was broken when Tim traveled way back in time from the beginning of the movie with his sister, Kit Kat. The question why Kit Kat was allowed to time travel as long as she is with her brother is not answered.
    2-)Only travel to the past is possible: This rule was broken when Tim arrives in the past and then goes back to the present time. The question why Tim cannot go to the future, but can go back to the present is not answered.
    3-)It is impossible to go back in time before you were born: The first rule that wasn’t broken.
    4-)Traveling back to a time before your child is born will cause a different child to be born and the original child will be lost: And the last rule that wasn’t broken either.

    With these plot holes and the story lacking conflict makes the movie a bit boring to watch.

    The humor, however, saved the movie. It was funny and smartly written.

    While this time traveling romantic-comedy movie is not memorable, its humor, charm and beautiful setting will remain you to watch the movie until the credits roll.
    Expand
  7. Jan 3, 2014
    0
    this a story of a guy who for some reason can not find a girlfriend while living in London. To get one this poor sod has to resort to timethis a story of a guy who for some reason can not find a girlfriend while living in London. To get one this poor sod has to resort to time travel Sounds like it can be a funny movie except for it tries to be a drama and completely fails at that as no one in the right mind can take this story seriously nor is there any emotional attachment to any of the main characters. Expand

See all 43 User Reviews

Trailers