Columbia Pictures | Release Date: September 14, 2007
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 252 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
175
Mixed:
33
Negative:
44
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
jetpackulleySep 8, 2012
A musical is a movie where music is used as a piece of constancy, not as utensil for buying the viewers easy boredom. That's what musicals nowadays don't understand (like High School Musical, Camp Rock, etc.) But Across the Universe trulyA musical is a movie where music is used as a piece of constancy, not as utensil for buying the viewers easy boredom. That's what musicals nowadays don't understand (like High School Musical, Camp Rock, etc.) But Across the Universe truly makes a difference. It isn't the lame, disturbing-to-see type of musical: In fact, this is the first of the two musicals where I actually get impressed and potently pleased with what the movie delivers, othe other one being Hairpsray. It's groundbreaking, spectacular, extraordinarily rare and crazy, but not for the faint of heart. I loved it! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
bartzfact0rNov 14, 2010
Across the Universe is quite a ride, but your experience is largely dependent on how much you love The Beatles. The first third of the movie is pretty great, the energy and acting there is perhaps the most superb in the entire film. TheAcross the Universe is quite a ride, but your experience is largely dependent on how much you love The Beatles. The first third of the movie is pretty great, the energy and acting there is perhaps the most superb in the entire film. The second third loses me a bit, as it goes to a mood similar to LSD and is filled with missing plot points and irrelevant numbers. However, what does happen there is essential to the final third, in which the movie picks itself up after tripping to finish well with respectable songs, good acting and a satisfying though clichéd ending. The music covers range from outstanding to simply "meh"; for every marvelous "I've Just Seen a Face" or "While My Guitar Gently Weeps" there is a stiff "Being For the Benefit of Mr. Kite!" or "I Wanna Hold Your Hand". The storyline is present, but seems to be mainly abandoned in the distracting second third, though that may perfectly reflect the confusion and turmoil of the era. Acting overall is quite good-Jim Sturgess stands out as an excellent lead with Bono, Martin Luther McCoy and Joe Anderson also contributing.
*I can basically cut the crap now and just say that the movie is well made, although some sections will make you want to cringe with their overwhelming length and irrelevance. The beginning is great, the middle stumbles over itself and the end comes back just in time to save the film. There are some great moments in this film and is an excellent tribute to the band that taught the world to sing. If you enjoy the Beatles or a good musical, watch it and see for yourself. It certainly has faults and areas you just want to skip over, but so does life. Perhaps there's some reason for that.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JfandangoDec 1, 2011
Best movie ever.Best movie ever.Best movie ever.Best movie ever.Best movie ever.Best movie ever.Best movie ever.Best movie ever.Best movie ever.Best movie ever.Best movie ever.Best movie ever. Go and see it. Now
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
KimO.Oct 8, 2007
Fantastic film-a must see on the big screen. One of the best film I've ever seen actually. Loved the visuals, the symbolism, it was a real "trip".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrianO.Sep 20, 2007
I found this movie often exhilarating and emotionally satisfying. The acting and singing were first rate. And it certainly was a visual feast. I listened and understood many of the Beatle's songs in an altogether different way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidH.Mar 1, 2008
Julie Taymor hits a home run with her incredibly creative adaptation of the Beatles catalog to the times from which the songs were born. This movie isn't for everyone, clearly that's the case judging by some of the harsh reviews, Julie Taymor hits a home run with her incredibly creative adaptation of the Beatles catalog to the times from which the songs were born. This movie isn't for everyone, clearly that's the case judging by some of the harsh reviews, but if you've a liberal mind, I think it will appeal to you. Remember, these are the flower children days, so pro war supporters will be naturally turned off at having images tied to some songs they may have tolerated listening to in the past. When viewed as a love story set in the turbulent 60's with dashes of historical events or references to those events, and accompanied by Beatles songs, it's hard to see this film not earning a place in the hearts of those open to its nostalgic charm. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JinxS.Mar 26, 2008
I'm kind of disgusted at what some of your reasons were for not liking this film, negative critics. Someone didn't like it because of a "little Asian lesbo"? Honestly. This film was fantastic in every which way. It brought back the I'm kind of disgusted at what some of your reasons were for not liking this film, negative critics. Someone didn't like it because of a "little Asian lesbo"? Honestly. This film was fantastic in every which way. It brought back the feel of a time when we needed change, rebellion, and heart. Taymor, my hats off to you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MorganFJun 23, 2009
One of the most orginal, imaginative movies I've ever seen. The musical numbers were simply mindblowing. Sure to please Beatles fans, and perhaps make new ones. My only complaint was that sometimes you had to work hard to piece together One of the most orginal, imaginative movies I've ever seen. The musical numbers were simply mindblowing. Sure to please Beatles fans, and perhaps make new ones. My only complaint was that sometimes you had to work hard to piece together the jigsaw puzzle of a plot. Overall, a very enjoyable, entertaining film that captured the spirit its subject. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JustineB.Oct 10, 2007
This film moved me at a visceral level. I don't care that we've heard this message before and that the plot lines are cliche. The eye candy is fun to watch and the beautifully simple, catchy Beatles lyrics have been updated for our This film moved me at a visceral level. I don't care that we've heard this message before and that the plot lines are cliche. The eye candy is fun to watch and the beautifully simple, catchy Beatles lyrics have been updated for our generation. At its core, this anti-war film wonders why our society has made the same mistakes this decade as we did during the Vietnam War. In an interview Director Julie Taymor asked "Where is the outrage about the Iraq War?" Where indeed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisP.Oct 12, 2007
Astonishing. The Beatles shared their music with the world - all of us. Their music is inseparable from the soundtrack to so many of our lives. This film is a lush, beautiful and powerful parallel of what is happening RIGHT NOW. One reason Astonishing. The Beatles shared their music with the world - all of us. Their music is inseparable from the soundtrack to so many of our lives. This film is a lush, beautiful and powerful parallel of what is happening RIGHT NOW. One reason the Beatles are so timeless and good is because they convey emotional, social and political messages that are clear eyed, compassionate, strong and also subtle. We have always had to read between the lines. John, Paul, George and Ringo wrote music that asked us to look around and see what is going on in the world in the present, in the now, in the moment. Julie Taymor isn't a historian - she is a talented filmmaker that makes movies communicating with current images, signs and symbols that are the language of our world. This film is a beautiful way of sharing awareness, love and the state of the world today: "Living is easy with eyes closed." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EnriqueOct 13, 2007
A strange experience. During the first 20 minutes (aproximately) I was hating this movie. When I was about to live, an extremely imaginatively and well choreographed scene made me stay. Very soon I fell in love with it and I stay during the A strange experience. During the first 20 minutes (aproximately) I was hating this movie. When I was about to live, an extremely imaginatively and well choreographed scene made me stay. Very soon I fell in love with it and I stay during the whole show. I left the theatre with a pleasant feeling, in spite of a naive and almost silly ending. Visually stunning, excellent music background, and with the exception of Evan Rachel Wood, the cast is fine. Julie Taymor is a superficial director that obviously come from a Broadway background, but knows how to deliver her goods. With the exception of "Titus," she has done nothing relevant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FantasyOct 23, 2007
Absolutely brilliant. Never was it truer that it was the best of times and also the worst of times back in the 60's. The Beatles music comes to life as their lyrics take on a crystal clear meaning. The age of innocence followed by the Absolutely brilliant. Never was it truer that it was the best of times and also the worst of times back in the 60's. The Beatles music comes to life as their lyrics take on a crystal clear meaning. The age of innocence followed by the Viet Nam War, the Civil distress and all the mayhem that followed. The cast is brilliant, the acting and directing superb. This is definitely a movie that is a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmberM.Oct 23, 2007
This movie was great in every way! I thought to myself what a perfect time for a movie like this one to expose itself! We need more like it during this time in our world! Awesome movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MartyO.Oct 25, 2007
One of the most visually audacious and wildly imaginative movie musicals probably ever filmed. Although its flighty tongue-in-cheekness and psychedelic vision may throw off viewers expecting a more realistic view of the 60s and One of the most visually audacious and wildly imaginative movie musicals probably ever filmed. Although its flighty tongue-in-cheekness and psychedelic vision may throw off viewers expecting a more realistic view of the 60s and interpretation of Beatle opus, actually the movie succeeds at capturing the poignancy and beauty of the songs reimagining them in the context of the American youth's cultural and political movements. Drollness and irreverence were some of what the Beatles and the 60s were about and the movie tries this while also portraying the hopes and darkness that surrounded the era in all its youthful exuberance. Despite a goofy story line and lack of chronological order - musical and otherwise - which undoubtedly will enrage purists, the movie its a must see for Beatle fans, boomers, those interested in the 60s and pyschedelia,and those interested in contemporary movie musicals and special effects. Far superior to other rock musicals such as "Tommy" and "The Wall," it should be Oscar-nominated for its music, cinematography and choreography. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarrieOct 30, 2007
Brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveZOct 4, 2007
To say it simply... I fell in love with this movie. Who would've thought upbeat songs like "I want to hold your hand" or "It won't be long" can be a tear jerker.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RachelOct 7, 2007
This was a beautifully made movie. The cinematography was stunning, the effects were creative, and the plotline was moving. Overall, this was my favorite movie so far this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AliciaOct 8, 2007
The best movie I have ever seen I love that movie I really really really love it a lot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnnSep 15, 2007
I was moved, swept away, utterly smitten. SEE THIS MOVIE!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DennisL.Sep 15, 2007
Captured the 60's perfectly The dance numbers are wonderfull and what could anyone say about the Bealtes score except brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Sep 17, 2007
I was hesitant to see this movie, having been a huge Beatles fan for so many years. However, I must say that I was absolutely blown away on so many levels. It's a very emotional experience, with the songs used in very creative ways. The I was hesitant to see this movie, having been a huge Beatles fan for so many years. However, I must say that I was absolutely blown away on so many levels. It's a very emotional experience, with the songs used in very creative ways. The choreography and conceptual use of the songs is stunning. I can't recommend it highly enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MeganO.Sep 23, 2007
Amazing!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RonG.Sep 24, 2007
Your liking of this movie will be mostly proportional to the love of the Beatles and your interest in the 60s. The movie is really a series of music videos, though the term is somewhat demeaning to these mostly fabulous montages. I Your liking of this movie will be mostly proportional to the love of the Beatles and your interest in the 60s. The movie is really a series of music videos, though the term is somewhat demeaning to these mostly fabulous montages. I personally enjoyed the musical covers. The characters didn't need to be called Lucy, Sadie, Rita, Prudence. It helps to have a little inside knowledge of the 60s and the New York scene. The Cafe Wha for example has been changed to the Cafe Huh. The Village Gate though is still the Village Gate. And the singing from a rooftop is reminiscent of another band's rooftop performance... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickV.Sep 29, 2007
By no means perfect, but I still give it a 10. "Across the Universe" is the most playful and creative American film I've seen since "Boogie Nights." It is passionate, inventive film-making; a welcome bit of fresh air in an industry By no means perfect, but I still give it a 10. "Across the Universe" is the most playful and creative American film I've seen since "Boogie Nights." It is passionate, inventive film-making; a welcome bit of fresh air in an industry dominated by stale, predictable, and safe films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayelSSSSSJan 5, 2008
A movie that entertained, informed, and made you think! A great combination in this day and age.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SamanthaKFeb 10, 2008
A fabulous movie. Some scenes are so cheesy you'll want to barf, but the scenes that give the Beatles songs you've come to love a COMPLETELY new meaning make up for it- really really cool. There are probably one or two songs that A fabulous movie. Some scenes are so cheesy you'll want to barf, but the scenes that give the Beatles songs you've come to love a COMPLETELY new meaning make up for it- really really cool. There are probably one or two songs that will bother you... but when is the last time someone did something like this perfectly? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SusanL.Mar 1, 2008
Don't let the critics fool you. This is a good trip.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlakeW.Mar 18, 2008
A favorite for any Beatles fan. The soundtrack is phenomenal, adding new life to the great Beatles tracks. The story itself is a great love story and really reflective of life in the 1960s and 70s. I think there is a lot of symbolism in the A favorite for any Beatles fan. The soundtrack is phenomenal, adding new life to the great Beatles tracks. The story itself is a great love story and really reflective of life in the 1960s and 70s. I think there is a lot of symbolism in the movie. I have watched this over 20 times already, and every time I view it I catch something new. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulB.Mar 26, 2008
Not only the best movie of 2007, one of my top ten of all time. Julie Taymor rules!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CathyRMar 26, 2008
A fabulous movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful